Latest Product Reviews

RSS

100% Hydromatic Jacket

Vital Review

“First Ride: 100% Hydromatic Jacket and Short”

C138_39500_006_alternative1

How much effort do you give? That is the question that 100%’s founder would often ask, and the answer became the brand’s name of course. Giving 100% implies riding not only when it’s sunny, so naturally the company decided it needed to offer something to cover up with for those rainy days as well. Enter the Hydromatic line, a jacket and short made out of lightweight, waterproof and breathable fabrics that will keep you dry even if the heavens should open up on you mid-ride. We’ve had them out for a spin, read on to find out how we got along. 100% Hydromatic Jacket Highlights 100% Hydromatic Short Highlights Polyester/Elastane Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1473 1679 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 409 4444 123 31

2018 Santa Cruz Nomad Carbon CC X01 Reserve

Featured Member Review

“Most Fun Bike I've Ever Owned”

C138_nomad_cc_x01_reserve

The Good:

Fun, fast, and forgiving.

The Bad:

Pricey, but that's it.

Overall Review:

Rider and Bike History Bikes I've owned: Univega Dual Action Sport Cannondale SuperV 900 with the carbon rear Kona Stinky Dee-Lux with Shivvers Specialized Enduro '06 with Fox 36 Talas Nomad N2 Carbon Bronson 2 CC, 160 float 36 up front and dhx2 coil in rear (coil for sale) i9 hubs. Nomad N4 CC X01 Reserve Size L with the Superdeluxe RCT. I ride flat pedals too. Been saving my $ to buy and ride mountain bikes since I was 12 mowing lawns, 22 years ago. I am not mowing lawns anymore, but still saving to buy the best toys. I want to review my build as a whole package because I think the reserve wheels really add a Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hittheshowers13
2487 Hittheshowers13 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2487/avatar/c50_IMG_0573_1493524303.jpg?1493523960 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hittheshowers13,2487/all 04/09/10 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hittheshowers13,2487/setup 1 53 422 1

Five Ten Hellcat Pro Clipless Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: Five Ten Hellcat Pro Clipless Shoes”

C138_five_ten_hellcat_pro_mens_clipless_mtb_shoe

If you’re in the market for a new clipless shoe, we’d suggest you grab a beverage and read this little piece about an extensive redesign for the Five Ten Hellcat Pro. With the help of Greg Minnaar, Five Ten has taken an already popular shoe and addressed previous issues while increasing performance and comfort. Sound too good to be true? Keep reading and we’ll tell you how they did it. Strengths Weaknesses Lighter, more comfortable and more breathable than previous model Excellent performance in wet conditions with less mud build-up on sole Improved toe box protection Orthopedically-correct liner with EVA midsole Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member @mattyswenson
9703 @mattyswenson https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/9703/avatar/c50_matt_HS_valhalla_1463510644.jpg?1463510539 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mattyswenson,9703/all 07/19/11 1 7 2 1 1 19 3 1

2018 Specialized Enduro 27.5 Comp Bike

“A one day review of the bright red bomber”

C138_2018_specialized_enduro_comp_27_5_rktred_blk_hero

The Good:

Looks great especially in red. Beefy frame construction with added reach. No fuss components including a quality dropper post and excellent, almost plus sized tyres. Pedals well for such a capable DH oriented bike. Set and forget suspension. Value for money.

The Bad:

weight - in XL it tops 15kg.

Overall Review: <p>An initial impressions based on a short set up ride. I have come off an older 26" Enduro. This one feels like more of the same, only better. </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Headshot
24048 Headshot https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24048/avatar/c50_enduro_106_1417113471.jpg?1417112494 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Headshot,24048/all 05/02/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Headshot,24048/setup 8 44 2 1

Bontrager Line Pro 30 TLR Boost Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager's High-Value Line Pro 30 Carbon Wheelset”

C138_bontrager_line_pro_30_tlr_boost_01

When you think of carbon wheelsets, you're usually talking about an exponential price jump to almost unobtainable prices for most riders' budgets. When does the madness stop? What if it didn’t have to be that painful? Bontrager set out on a mission to give you the benefits of high modulus hoops and precise engagement hubs with the Line Pro 30 wheels – all for hundreds less than the vast majority of the competition. We put the working man’s carbon wheelset to the test on both 27.5 and 29-inch bikes to see how they stack up after a long season on the trail. Highlights Available in 27.5 and 29-inch sizes OCLV Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 27

2015 Cannondale Trigger 27.5 Carbon Black Inc.

“Ultimate trail bike”

C138_2015_cannondale_trigger_27.5_carbon_black_inc.

The Good:

Travel/geometry adjustability

The Bad:

Proprietary parts/old axle standard

Overall Review:

I have been warming up to this bike on several epic bike rides including Big Sky bike park, Buffalo Creek Colorado, and Moab, Utah after selling my Santa Cruz Hightower and I am impressed. The bike is so pretty and expensive that I feel the need to injure myself vs hurting the bike. I must say I wasn’t a fan of either 29er or 27+, both of which I ran on the Hightower. 27.5 is my vote for best all around wheel size(stronger wheels, less tire roll than 27+, and lively quick handling). The Lefty Supermax 140 is awesome (buttery smooth, stiff, and sure tracking.) As far as components you can’t beat the spec Read More »

Santa Cruz Reserve Carbon Wheels

Vital Review

“Tested: Santa Cruz Reserve Carbon Wheels”

C138_27.5_rims

Carbon wheels are a polarizing component in the mountain bike world. On one hand they offer promises of performance increases, weight reduction, and that unmistakable "wow" factor. Conversely, some have commented their durability, overly stiff nature, and price point leave a lot to be desired. Santa Cruz set out to build the best wheelset on the planet some three years ago, and finally released their Reserve Carbon creation this spring. Most notably, the wheels feature a true lifetime warranty – the first in the business to do so. Not a company that simply regurgitates what is already out there, Santa Cruz tested Read More »

Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 11 252 481 18 2

2018 Transition Sentinel X01 Bike

Featured Member Review

“Sentinel - Short Test Ride ”

C138_transition_sentinel_black_x01

The Good:

___________________

The Bad:

____________________

Overall Review:

NOTE: This is not a Vital Review, I am simply following the format, as I think it is well structured, and would like to use it to allow a common read of a review. So a few weeks back Transition released a video detailing their new SBG geometry, (seen HERE) where they described how lengthening the top tubes, and increasing seat-tube angle can improve rider. But the thing that really peaked my interested was the last item integral to SBG, the reduction of fork offset from 56mm to a 44mm offset. As described in the video, this is suppose to improve stability and assist with cornering, as it forces the rider to Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Rconroy
2805 Rconroy https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2805/avatar/c50_Yeti_Big_1403290056.jpg?1403290025 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Rconroy,2805/all 05/13/10 1 6 21 11

Banshee Prime Frame

“Banshee Prime Review”

C138_primesideframeraw

The Good:

Have you ever put on a pair of new shoes, stood up and thought “oh hey, that’s really nice”? That’s what the first ride on the Prime was like for me. It just worked well from day one. From the initial setup, I’ve made few changes. The seat has been moved forward a few mm, bars rotated back a few degrees, but that’s about all. Except for the shock.

The Bad:

The stock Rock Shox Monarch shock does not handle square edged hits all that well. Replaced it with a DVO Topaz and all is well.

Overall Review:

Many moons ago, I was deep into the analysis paralysis zone of choosing a new bike to replace my Ibis Mojo HD. Eventually, I settled on the Banshee Prime after riding Banshee'sSpitfire a few times last summer. I had thrown a leg over a few plus bikes as well, and wanted a certain amount of future-proofing, which the Prime delivered - 27+, 29 and 29+ wheel setups were all doable with various dropout options. I knew what I liked from my previous bikes and also what needed to change, so I took the plunge and ordered up a large frame... The Banshee Prime For 2017, Banshee updated the Prime by hydroforming various frame tubes [top and Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member YYCMTB
43838 YYCMTB https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/43838/avatar/c50_YYCMTB_5_x_5_1488295258.jpg?1488294319 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/YYCMTB,43838/all 02/28/17 3 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/YYCMTB,43838/setup 1 5 2

Lizard Skins Logo Lock-On Grips

Featured Member Review

“Lizard Skins Logo Lock-On Grips”

C138_lizard_skins_logo_lock_on_grips

The Good:

Look great, come in multiple colors, dual lock-on clamps, last a really really long time.

The Bad:

Sacrifice comfort for longevity.

Overall Review:

There are countless ways to increase performance and improve the feel of your mountain bike, from spending thousands of dollars on new suspension to lowering PSI levels in your tires. One of the less expensive ways to feel better connected to your bike is simply replacing your grips. Theres hundreds of options out there and picking the perfect ones can be hard to do. I've picked up the Lizard Skins Logo Lock-On grips with a recent bike build and with a few months of them, here are my impressions: Specs: Multiple color ways Dual Lock-on clamps Length: 130 mm Weight (with plugs): 120grams (119 grams actual) Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 8 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 2 46 108