Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Troy Lee Designs Sprint Jersey

“Comfortable and nice looking jersey, but could use a few minor tweaks”

C138_tld_sprint_jersey_yellow_back

The Good:

Fit, breathability, styling

The Bad:

loose threads, cuffs

Overall Review:

I have always been a fan of Troy Lee’s jerseys, although I will admit some of the designs are a little much for me. The sprint jersey however seemed to be a good balance of bright colors, without making you look like a clown, which was a bonus. My favorite part of the jersey has got to be the fit and feel. It has a slightly slimmer fit to it, so it does not look out of place on a trail ride, but also still works as a DH jersey. I do not wear any body armor on my chest or arms, but it does fit a slimmer back protector under the jersey if you want, and I am sure elbow pads would fit fine as well. I always Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

DEITY Compound Flat Pedal

“Flat pedals win medals”

C138_deity_compound

The Good:

Price, durability, decent grip, thin profile, metal pins

The Bad:

Not concave

Overall Review:

I am definitely a clipless guy in general, but I can see the merits of riding flat pedals from time to time. I recently became an IMBA certified instructor, and one of the requirements for taking the course was that you ride with flat pedals. I figured I would only really use them for the course, so I bought a pair of these pedals on sale. I gotta say though these pedals have converted me to some degree. Now when I go to the dirt jumps, am practicing a new skill, and often when I am leading a group I will grab these pedals instead of my SPDs. They come in various cool colors, and unlike many plastic pedals they actually Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

Fox Racing Dirtpaw Gloves

Featured Member Review

“Durable and comfy but styling is a bit outdated”

C138_bk_d1

The Good:

Price, comfort, durability

The Bad:

Velcro can wear out, styling is a bit outdated

Overall Review:

Growing up on a moto, the dirtpaws were always my go to glove as they were comfortable, provided good knuckle protection and they held up great. When I got into MTBs these were the obvious choice and I knew they would not let me down. I prefer a tight fitting glove that does not bunch up alot, and so I went a size down from my normal glove size and they fit perfect. gloves are comfortable on the bike, but thin enough that you can grab stuff out of your pack, work on your bike, etc. without too much issue. In terms of durability, I have gone through a few pairs of the gloves, but that is after over a year of hard use Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

Lizard Skins Peaty Lock-On Grips

“Almost as good as Ruffians”

C138_thumb_3834_2000x2000_0_0_auto_f0f0f0

The Good:

Durable, hard-wearing and solid looking grip

The Bad:

Not quite as comfy as half waffle Ruffians (in my opinion)

Overall Review:

If you have not ridden with lock on grips yet, you are really missing out, as much as I like to feel like I am riding a moto, twisting grips suck and lock ons fix that issue. Lizards skins has always been my go to choice for frame protection (downtube and chainstay) as I feel like they are pretty thick and durable, but until recently I had not tried their grips. Now that that is out of the way we can get to the grips. In terms of look and feel, they have the same lock on clamps as ODI (think they are made by ODI in fact) which have yet to give me issues as long as I do not overtighten them. I like the laser engraved Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

Park Tool Ruler

Featured Member Review

“For the Mechanic that has everything… Except a fancy ruler”

C138_16786

The Good:

Surprisingly useful for measuring bearing sizes and spokes

The Bad:

Most home mechanics won’t use it often

Overall Review:

The Park Tool ruler is the tool that someone that truly has everything else might think is a necessary purchase to round out their tool collection. That is what I thought at least when I saw it hanging up in the shop where I worked at first. If you are a person that works on wheels fairly often, or older bikes that may have odd bearing sizes, this is actually a useful tool. Fixing up old or odd bikes, I used the tool numerous times to double check bearing size and you can do so much faster and easier than using a set of calipers. I also used the tool to double check spoke length and the hole that you hook spokes Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

Five Ten Kestrel Lace Clipless Shoe

Featured Member Review

“Solid XC/ trail shoe”

C138_five_ten_kestrel_lace_shoe_black_red

The Good:

Lightweight, decent looking, stiff sole

The Bad:

Stiff sole, cleat height

Overall Review:

I have been a clipless guy for some time now, and although I switch to flats when learning a new skill or just messing around, it is safe to say I am not going back to flats fulltime. I have tried the gamut of Five-Ten clipless shoes looking for the sweet spot between light and stiff for efficiency, and comfortable and protective for more DH style of riding. I have ridden with two generations of the Maltese Falcon, (enduroish shoe) the Hellcat (DHish shoe) and the Kestrel lace (XCish shoe). Although each had its merits, I have settled on the Maltese Falcon as it fits the best of both worlds in my opinion. As for Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

100% Strata Goggles

“Solid Goggles for the Weekend DHer”

C138_arkon_mirror_silver_lens

The Good:

Price, quality, tons of color options

The Bad:

Lacks a few of the features of the higher end offerings

Overall Review:

I’ll start off by saying I am not a hardcore DH rider that is smashing laps five days a week, so I did not feel like I needed a super high end goggle. I hit up the bike park when I can as well as a few local DH trails. I was looking for a stylish google to replace my scratched up Spy goggles, but one that would not break the bank. The Strata has the feel of a higher end goggle and seems like it will hold up well. The graphics on the strap are a nice touch and I like the contours on the frame itself. I did not have any issues with the lense fogging up, but I haven't ridden in any colder temps yet so time will tell. I like the bag Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

Race Face Next 35 Handlebar

“Race Face Next 35 bars”

C138_2014_hbr35_next_rs_20

The Good:

Light, stiff, provides some damping

The Bad:

Pricey, can chip fairly easily

Overall Review:

I have always been a hard charging rider and I tend to break pretty much everything I own without prejudice. For that reason I have never been much of a carbon guy, I always tend to go with the burliest option without worrying too much about weight. That being said after riding a set of carbon bars and realizing how stiff my current setup was and how little damping they provided, I wanted to try a set of carbon bars. The next 35 bars I used were in a 760mm width and were comfortable in terms of width, rise and backsweep and I didn’t have any issues getting them setup. I immediately noticed that they do take Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

Five Ten Freerider Shoe

“Five ten freerider shoes”

C138_five_ten_freerider_shoe_maroon

The Good:

Comfortable and stylish enough to wear as everyday shoes, sweet color options, durable, stiff yet comfortable, Super grippy sole

The Bad:

A bit warm on hotter days, can be a bit too stiff for longer hike a bikes

Overall Review:

I recently became an IMBA certified bike instructor, and for the course you had to ride flat pedals. Picked up a pair of freeriders, and have never looked back. These shoes offer a semi stiff sole which aids in pedal feel and grip, but aren't so stiff that walking around is awkward and uncomfortable. Although I have noticed that for longer hikes they can be a touch stiff. I have the freeriders with the standard black sole, and they offer legendary grip, but I can still shift my foot without too much issue. It did take a bit of getting used to as I do have to lift my foot a bit at times if I am cemented to the Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 40

Wellgo MG-1 Flat Pedal

“Excellent choice for an entry level flat pedal”

C138_90051470_1266802904

The Good:

Lightweight magnesium design with good quality seals

The Bad:

End caps are fragile and painted finish is easily chipped

Overall Review:

After my old, clunky flat pedals finally bit the dust, I decided to try something made with a more modern design and materials. I am a blossoming flat pedal rider unsure of what I really need so I didn't want to spend much money either. I picked up this pair of Wellgo MG-1 pedals on sale for about the same price as you would spend on a couple of good hamburgers, two beers and a healthy tip for the awesome wait staff. It was a great price! After they arrived, I was immediately impressed with the feather weight and the overall manufacturing quality feels very good. The body is cast from magnesium and the spindles are chromoly Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member thinkbike
31436 thinkbike https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/31436/avatar/c50_Vital_road_canyon_1_1470540894.jpg?1470540036 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/thinkbike,31436/all 06/14/14 23 8