Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Light Bicycle Heavy Duty Carbon Rim

Vital Review

“Do Cheap Chinese Carbon Wheels Last? Two Years of Abuse on Light Bicycle's Carbon Rims”

C138_650b_bicycle_rims

As the banter increases around 29-inch wheels in downhill, we've decided to throw it back to 26-inch days and offer up a very long-term review of Light Bicycle's Heavy Duty Carbon rims designed for downhill and enduro use. With key players like ENVE, Industry Nine, e*thirteen, SRAM, Reynolds and others holding the majority of the carbon wheel market, Light Bicycle has been building steam over the years by creating a price point rim they claim performs like the big names at the fraction of the price. At just $181 per rim, we decided to purchase and abuse a set of rims to see how they would hold up to the others. Read More »

Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member @mattyswenson
9703 @mattyswenson https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/9703/avatar/c50_matt_HS_valhalla_1463510644.jpg?1463510539 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mattyswenson,9703/all 07/19/11 1 7 2 1 1 19 3 1

Five Ten Spitfire Flat Pedal Shoe

Featured Member Review

“ Five Ten Spitfire”

C138_five_ten_spitfire_mens_shoe

The Good:

Cheaper FiveTen option, Durable, Street looks

The Bad:

Not the stickiest*, far from stiffest*

Overall Review:

*not quite a weakness for everyone. It's classic 5.10 flat pedal, skate inspired shoe. The build quality is that of a classic 5.10 too, unlike the latter models suffering from durability and poor build quality reputation. I've been using these for 2 years of trail riding now. And until recently I didn't have to look for other options. Inside and upper sole shows surprisingly little signs of wear. Rubber sole, while visibly getting eaten by pedals and tarmac held up and kept most of its properties and integrity thorough its life. Probably aided by hardest compound 5.10 uses, which on the other hand might not provide Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FilipK
29120 FilipK https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29120/avatar/c50_14397429_1273850875961335_1107589207_n_1485599383.jpg?1485599084 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FilipK,29120/all 01/07/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FilipK,29120/setup 4 13 5

2018 Giant Reign Advanced 0 Bike

Vital Review

“Making it Reign in 2018 | We Ride Giant’s Updated Enduro Machine”

C138_reign_advanced_0_carbon

The Giant Reign is one of the world’s best selling enduro bikes, and it’s been around in one version or the other for almost 13 years by now. Whilst the basic design concepts behind the bike have not really changed over the years, of course everything else has. Materials, geo, suspension, standards, components…mountain biking never stands still! So in the name of keeping up, we headed over to Italy last week to discover the 6th generation of the Reign. Lower, longer, and slacker seems almost like a foregone conclusion here, but if you want to know everything else there is to know about what Giant has come up with, all you Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1473 1679 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 409 4437 123 31

Schwalbe Hans Dampf Tire

“Still looking for MY tires, these didn't hit the mark for me.”

C138_schwalbe_hans_dampf_tire

The Good:

Predictable, light weight (somewhat), multidirectional tread makes installation easy

The Bad:

Price, Durability and sidewall protection

Overall Review:

Coming from a bontrager tire, these Hans Dampf'swere a godsend and saved me from the treacherousXR3's that came stock on my remedy. However, as the season went on I become less and less interested in them. My friend who had the same remedy as me, also got the Hans and those were shredded just by riding down some stairs after having them for a few weeks. Mine tires got a sidewall puncture 3 times in a row when I went to the local bike park which got frustrating real quick. I have ridden these tires as a tubless setup only so it really was down to the weakness of the tire that caused me to hate this company. I have had not Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 144 146 24 1

Black Market MOB Frame Frame

“The Original”

C138_mob_purple

The Good:

Amazing craftsmanship and welds
Good use of True Temper steel vs chromoly steel
Tapered seat and chainstays
Solid stance / poise
The best, the one that started a lot of dirt jump riders interest

The Bad:

Head tube ended up ovaling over time
Downtube wall thickness too thin (dented easily)

Overall Review: <p>Even though this frame is no longer available, it still lives on as the Edit1. But this original is truly original... progressive geometry and smart materials. It was and still could be the best DJ bike ever! </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SCgShoeCo
44826 SCgShoeCo https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44826/avatar/c50_SCgLogo_white_website_1501901591.jpg?1501900710 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SCgShoeCo,44826/all 07/20/17 4 11 5 13 5

DEITY Cavity Stems

“Favorite stem, bar none”

C138_deity_cavity_black

The Good:

Just seems strong
Wide front plate = wider clamping and stiffer feel
Bolts are full size
rounded edges are nice for the times you're just riding in pants/shorts.

The Bad:

A bit pricey for not being Made in US

Overall Review: <p>Been running these stems for years, and now have 1 Cavity, and 1 new Copperhead. With bars and stems especially, feeling good about how solid your parts are is really important. I don't want to be pushing a corner or dropping or something and be second guessing my stuff slipping! </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SCgShoeCo
44826 SCgShoeCo https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44826/avatar/c50_SCgLogo_white_website_1501901591.jpg?1501900710 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SCgShoeCo,44826/all 07/20/17 4 11 5 13 5

Maxxis Forekaster Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Maxxis Forekaster Tire”

C138_maxxis_forecaster_tire

With each passing year, more and more riders are looking to extend their riding season as long as possible. This usually means that trails are more muddy, loose and wet – leaving a lot of compromises to be made when it comes to picking the right tire for the conditions. Maxxis stepped up to the plate to provide trail riders with a tire that bridges the gap between a mud spike and a tire meant for dry conditions. The Forekaster is a tire that allows riders to ride with confidence when trail conditions start to deteriorate. We tested a new 27.5 x 2.6-inch Wide Trail version. Strengths Predictable cornering and excellent Read More »

Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member AceHouston
2058 AceHouston https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2058/avatar/c50_73933_10100336831359119_2949514_n_1372187932.jpg?1372187380 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/all 02/25/10 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/setup 20 5 6

CamelBak Palos LR 4 Hydration Pack

“I'm a fanny packer now”

C138_camelbak_palos_lr_4

The Good:

small, lightweight, keeps your back from getting sweaty, holds everything you need

The Bad:

Cleaning the bit valve, looks dorky to some

Overall Review:

After searching for a fanny pack (since they are soo hot right now) I narrowed it down to 3 options; The dakine, the Source and the Camelbak. Since I have always liked camelbak'sfunctionality and the brand's culture I decided to go with it, not to mention that I got a great deal on it compared to the others. The one I got is very similar to the Palos with just a few small differences that most wouldn't notice. It has about 1.5 liters of water storage in the bladderthat came included and room for all of your crap in the main compartment. I fit in there a multitool, pump, tire levers, first aid bandages, leatherman, Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 144 146 24 1

ODI AG1 Lock-On Grip

“Love these grips”

C138_ag_1_lock_on_grips_135mm_black

The Good:

durability, style, grip, slim profile

The Bad:

nothing here

Overall Review:

I have used ODI grips for a long time (ruffians for DH) but after getting out of DH and more into trail bikes I wanted to try some new brands and see what is out there. I tried the stock bontrager lock on grips that came on my trek remedy, then I switched to the new Ergon fancy grips but I found myself coming back to ODI time and time again. I know that the grip is an often overlooked component for bike manufacturers so upgrading grips when you get a new bike is almost mandatory now. I personally like a slimmer profile grip but one with some texture to it so I can hold it easier when the riding gets rough. The 4 little Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 144 146 24 1

DVO Diamond Fork

“Brief glimpse of brilliance”

C138_dvo_diamond_fork

The Good:

The price, the styling, the plushness, amount of adjustments, ease of changing travel

The Bad:

the time it takes to set up, it attracts dirt and doesn't ever get clean again (I own the black version)

Overall Review:

I only got a handful of rides in on this beauty of a fork but I was very impressed with the limited time I had on it. I got the 27.5 version and put in on my Cannondale jekyll.After considering the pike very heavily for the upgrade (since I've owned it before), I decided to try something different and go with the DVO this time around. I am glad that I did! First, I love how clean and solid looking it is. There are no stickers, the decals are emboldened on the lowers and the stealth black color makes it blend in. The thru axle is great but has 2 tapers in it, so it can be a pain in the ass to get it to seat in compared to the pike. Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 144 146 24 1