Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Crankbrothers Klic HV Gauge + Co2

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Klic Handpump and F15 Mini Tool”

C138_klic_hv_hose_gauge_co2

Quality tools make all the difference when you’re working on your pride and joy, and that holds true out on the trail as well. Finding out that a vital tool is missing or that your old pump no longer works can be all that stands between a rad ride and a long walk of shame back to the carpark. Crankbrothers didn’t want to run the risk of your favorite MTB journalists getting stranded out in the woods, so they sent over a couple of their latest portable workshop goodies for us to test. The results are in! Crankbrothers Klic HV Handpump Highlights Crankbrothers F15 Mini Tool Highlights High-volume Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1152 1685 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 407 4388 120 31

Crankbrothers F15 Multi-Tool

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Klic Handpump and F15 Mini Tool”

C138_soldier_f15_tool_case_with_logo

Quality tools make all the difference when you’re working on your pride and joy, and that holds true out on the trail as well. Finding out that a vital tool is missing or that your old pump no longer works can be all that stands between a rad ride and a long walk of shame back to the carpark. Crankbrothers didn’t want to run the risk of your favorite MTB journalists getting stranded out in the woods, so they sent over a couple of their latest portable workshop goodies for us to test. The results are in! Crankbrothers Klic HV Handpump Highlights Crankbrothers F15 Mini Tool Highlights High-volume portable Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1152 1685 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 407 4388 120 31

2013 Intense Tracer 275

“Great Do Everything Bike”

C138_intense_tracer_275

The Good:

Light weight, durable, bullet proof, does everything well.

The Bad:

Pricey but not bad for a boutique bike, not the best climbing bike.

Overall Review: <p>I built one of these up from scratch. I loved this bike, did trail riding as well as gravity asset riding.  I basically beat the hell out of this thing and it kept coming back for more.  I never had any issues with it.  For what it was it was very light but not comparable to all the helium filled carbon fiber bikes out there now.  The geo is confidence inspiring esp when you point it down a hill.  Stable on climbs but not as good as say an dedicated XC bike.  I would get again if I was in the market for another Enduro type bike.   </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Spank Spike 777 Bearclaw Handlebar

“Great Bar, Stiff, Light, Comfortable, Look No Further”

C138_spike_777_bear_vibro

The Good:

Stiff (yes I said stiff) Light and Comfortable. Many Color Options.

The Bad:

Price but can find deals online or just go with the non Bear Claw edition like I did.

Overall Review: <p>I purchased bars for new build. Love the bars, I got black because they matched the rest of the build.  Price was right, bars are stiff and dripping with confidence (once installed of course).  I did end up trimming an inch off after about 6 months of owning them.  I used them for trail riding as well as downhill but one of my local trails just had a really tight section where I was clipping the bars every time.  Half inch off either side made the difference.  I would highly recommend these and would definitely get them again.  </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

SDG Bel-Air RL Saddle

“Great Seat, Comfortable, Non Chafing”

C138_bel_air_rl_cro_mo_black

The Good:

Light, comfortable, non-chafing, many color options

The Bad:

a bit pricey

Overall Review: <p>I purchased this saddle because I had gone through about half a dozen WTB saddles and could not find one that was comfortable and didn't chafe while pedaling. Weight was not really a concern but this thing is light (I had the titanium version).  I like the saddle so much that when I sold my bike I took it with me. </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

RockShox Reverb Stealth B1 Dropper Post

“Great Dropper Post”

C138_2017_rockshox_reverb_stealth_b1

The Good:

Low maintenance, improves ride experience, will change the way you ride if you have never ridden with one.

The Bad:

Price, weight, hit or miss reliability, the lever ergonomics (but I guess they just changed that recently).

Overall Review:

I am on my 3rd Rockshox Reverb dropper post. I am NOT on my 3rd post because of problems but on my 3rd post because of bike changes. Everyone I have had has always worked flawlessly. I did demo a bike once that had a faulty one but I imagine they were not well cared for. The post MSRP is expensive but if you do some research on the interwebs you can find them for cheap or check online for new take offs. The price is a bit high but on par with other similar dropper posts. It does add weight to the bike but what dropper post doesn't! I like the fact that this post is hydraulic, it means it is a sealed Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Sun Ringle Charger Expert Wheelset

“Under Rated”

C138_63320

The Good:

Great on the trail, great on rock gardens, great on everything you can throw at them, great at the gravity park, price is right, low maintenance. comes with adapters for diff axle sizes, tubeless ready.

The Bad:

They are a bit loud

Overall Review: <p>I purchased these, this is my second time purchasing, I have owned both the 26" and 27.5" versions. I bought these for a new build based off others reviews I found online.  I felt that for the price they were the best bang for the buck.  I have put these things through the ringer and they always hold their true.  I don't like how loud the rear hub is but there are pros and cons to that.  If you were are looking for a quite early morning ride in the woods, not so good.  If you are out riding with lots of hikers they are good as it lets the hikers know you are coming. There is no sneaking up on anybody.  I would get these again.  </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

SRAM X9 10-Speed Rear Derailleur

“Great Budget Derailleur”

C138_sram_x9_10_speedrear_derailleur_grey_without_roller_bearing_clutch

The Good:

Price, color options, maintenance is low, East to Adjust, I like the cage lock for maintenance.

The Bad:

The shifting was a bit hard but not unbearable. I would not be against using it again.

Overall Review: <p>I purchased this for my Intense Tracer build. My main reason was because it was 10 speed and came in a med cage which is what I was looking for at the time mainly due to clearance issues.  I rode with this for several years and it did not give me any issues.  </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Shimano Deore XT M785 Trail Pedal

“Great Trail Pedals”

C138_shimano_deore_xt_m785_trail_pedal

The Good:

Look Great, Durable, Spin Great, Low Maint Req, Adjustable

The Bad:

It would be cool of the accent pieces came in a variety of colors but that his Shimano for you, once you go black....

Overall Review: <p>I have had these pedals for over a a year now. I switch between platforms and clipless depending on what and where I am riding.  I love these pedals though, I have had Crankbros in the past and while those were good these are just better.  They inspire confidence (no fear of falling out) and no problems getting in.   </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Race Face Atlas Flat Pedal

“Great Platform Pedals”

C138_race_face_atlas_flat_pedal_pins

The Good:

Full Bearing, Free Spinning, Look Great, Light Weight, Great Traction, Come in Plenty of Colors, Good Availability.

The Bad:

They Are a Bit Pricey But on Par w/ Other Pedals. They Are Not As Grippy As My E13 Pedals But Those Don't Have Bearings and Don't spin Freely.

Overall Review: <p>These look great and are light weight and spin freely which was my main concern. So many new pedals with IGUS bushings that are great but don't spin freely.  I would recommend these if you want something with lo-drag, grip great, look great and come in many colors.  </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31