Accessibility Settings: On | Off

Properly Bedding in Brake Pads

Related:
Create New Tag

2/22/2016 11:53 AM

Hey Everybody,

I was wondering, if anybody was willing to share their technique for properly bedding in brake pads? I have have heard lots of different techniques, and it seems everybody does it differently.

Specifically, i am trying to bed in shimano ice tech rotors with resin pads, for my dh bike. I have been looking for something official with shimano, but i haven't found anything that helps.

I have been using shimano brakes consistently for the last 4+ years, and it seems i can always get good power, but they are noisy, no matter what try.

A tangential question, is how do racer's prep their brake pads? It seems like there are lots of variables involved, so I'm curious how they manage that.

|

2/22/2016 1:16 PM

The parking lot bed in. Get up to speed pull on the brakes hard without taking to a stop. Repeat for a while.

|

2/22/2016 1:38 PM

same as @adrennan but I prefer to ride down the longest street I can find while doing it, makes getting up to speed easier because it can take a while until you get 100%. (I have read somewhere that you should do it 40 times??)

|

2/22/2016 2:33 PM
Edited Date/Time: 2/22/2016 2:41 PM

As above but I do it on a mild down hill, saves the legs a bit from the dozen or so sprint/stops you need to do, and I get also bed one brake at a time for the 1st few goes, once they start grabbing finish using both.

|

2/22/2016 3:40 PM

In my experience it's always best to start out slow then work your way up to a sprints worth of speed, or eventually a hill. Never just drag your brakes, make sure you get them hot by braking quickly repeatedly. I always found that if you just drag the brakes, even if it's down a hill, it will lead to howling and squealing brakes, no one likes loud brakes...

|

2/22/2016 4:28 PM
Edited Date/Time: 2/22/2016 4:30 PM