Accessibility Widget: On | Off

suspension set up

Related:
Create New Tag

11/6/2011 2:44 AM

I just got a new DH bike and I am not totally sure how my suspension should feel.
I weigh around 51kg, I put a XS spring in my forks and a 300 pound spring in the rear, The springs feel good but its my rebound that I am not sure about.

Thoughts.

|

11/6/2011 8:54 AM
Edited Date/Time: 11/6/2011 8:56 AM

My technique is to dial in a bit too much rebound so that when you stand over the bike and quickly compress and then pull up on the shock or fork the wheel lifts off the ground. Then I slowly speed up the rebound a click at a time until the tire just stays on the ground when you pull up. That way, the shock is working to control the wheel, but not so much that it "Packs up" or squats through stutter bumps. Now, I'm not a suspension pro, and it seems like all the professionally tuned suspensions that I've felt use way too much rebound for my taste.

|

11/6/2011 10:37 AM

First off, make sure your sag is actually set correctly - http://www.trails.com/how_872_set-suspension-sag-mountain-bike.html (note that you want ~30% sag on a DH bike, not the 20% they mention)

|

11/6/2011 2:06 PM

Big Bird wrote:

My technique is to dial in a bit too much rebound so that when you stand over the bike and quickly compress and then pull up on the shock or fork the wheel lifts off the ground. Then I slowly speed up the rebound a click at a time until the tire just stays on the ground when you pull up. That way, the shock is working to control the wheel, but not so much that it "Packs up" or squats through stutter bumps. Now, I'm not a suspension pro, and it seems like all the professionally tuned suspensions that I've felt use way too much rebound for my taste.