Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Shimano Deore Disc Brake M596

“Good Product with Good Price”

C138_67246

The Good:

This is simple product with good performance..

The Bad:

Nngg.....let me think.....

Overall Review: <p>This is the best choice with the price. This product comes with simple design and doesn't get the modern touch like its brother such as XT or XTR, but Deore brakeset is really good product. Just one finger and the bike will stop... </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 11 35 107 10

Hope Technology Tech 3 E4 Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

Vital Review

“Tested: Hope Technology Tech 3 E4 Hydraulic Brakes”

C138_tech3_e4_caliper_b_587x692

Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord Looking through the history books of mountain bike technology, Hope Technology features prominently and with good reason. They made their first commercially available mountain bike disc brake in 1992, and by the mid-nineties they were seeing massive success with their C2 hydros. Even more ubiquitous than their brakes, the company is also known for its hubs, a staple of many a wheelbuilder’s arsenal, not to mention a multitude of CNCed goodies ranging from seat collar clamps to headsets. “Proudly made in Barnoldswick, UK” reflects Hope’s Read More »

Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1152 1679 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 409 4431 123 31

2013 Scott Gambler 20 Bike

“plowmachine”

C138_227917_31670_tif_zoom_2

The Good:

goes down faster than madonna at a naval base

The Bad:

comes with elixer brakes.....why

Overall Review: <p>Descends, jumps, and corners well, great park bike, not half bad in tight turns on tech trails. I like the low leverage ratio, easy to tune, bearings are huge, main pivot is 25mm. Changed the brakes to shimano zee and works awesome, the stock brakes are the only weak link with this bike. The bike seems a bit heavy at first but just add speed and it just rips! Scott has this bike dialed!! </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member justincs
30268 justincs /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/justincs,30268/all 03/30/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/justincs,30268/setup 3 35 1

Banshee Spitfire - 2010 Frame

“A Downhillers Trailbike indeed!”

C138_2010_banshee_spitfire

The Good:

- really aggressive Geometry for that little Travel
- stiff chassis
- pedals well uphill (not great but still good)
- stable ride downhill

The Bad:

Not much actually.
I have to ride a medium cage derailleur for 1x10spd with a 11-36 cassette, because the rear stretches quite a bit while going through it's travel and the Type 2 derailleurs don't have as much free motion as the normal ones.
A short cage would make the bike quite a bit quieter.

Overall Review:

I've got the bike build with a 160mm fork up front and the Fox Float RP23 it comes with. I ride a fair bit of steep and technical terrain with it and it handles it surprisingly well. The Geometry is spot on and the suspension system works like a treat. On normal "Enduro" kind of trails I never wish for more travel, I think the 160mm up front help greatly, but the chassis is really stiff and makes for a stable ride. It's only on my local DH track, where the speeds are significantly higher that I remember it's only 130mm of travel. Maybe a beefier shock would help, but the system certainly has it's limits somewhere. As a Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 64 97 8

2015 Santa Cruz X01 AM 27.5" Nomad Carbon Bike

“The New Gravity Enduro Beast”

C138_max_2014_scb_nomad_c_3_4_blk_570437

The Good:

Amazingly, you would not know how you could become with this radically progressive geometry: 65-degree head tube angle, 74.2-degree seat tube angle, 13.4-inch bottom-bracket height, 17.1-inch chainstays, and a 46.1-inch wheelbase. This is the perfect Geometry for descendant and cornering trails as well as an excellent Geometry for overall all mountain trails (including ascendant trails). Above are perfectly supported by Two thumbs up 650B's application. The Geometry (especially wheelbase) and weight also confidently pushs your limit on every jumping and dropping. The VPP Technology, suspension and 650B's application help you smoothly stay in the ground on most of rock garden and bumping trails...

The Bad:

The Price and limited Color options.... :-)

Overall Review: <p>WARNING: Little adjustment on how you steering (longer reach than previous Nomad) and how you pedaling or positioning your foots (lower BB high than previous Nomad), then you will be The Scariest Wild Beast on every descendant and crinkle trails.... Trust me, you could not control your smiles on your face...... </p>
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member rizwan.rizal
10179 rizwan.rizal https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/10179/avatar/c50_1463600_10151813387737449_230806780_n_1420452108.jpg?1420451511 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/rizwan-rizal,10179/all 08/20/11 8 2 1 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/rizwan-rizal,10179/setup 2 66 5

2015 Yeti SB6 Carbon with X01

Featured Member Review

“Climb Like a Gazelle, Descend Like a Lion”

C138_2015_yeti_sb6_carbon_turquoise

The Good:

Best bike I've ridden, period. Stable at speed, suspension eats all roughness without changing stance of the bike, light and nimble to the point of unreality (for a long-travel, 65.5 head angle), climbs and sprints amazingly, built kit and construction are first-rate.

The Bad:

Dollars? Bottom bracket feels low...? Although not as low as some other bikes. DT star ratchet in freehub could be the quick-engagement one? I'm REALLY reaching here guys. Oh yeah— if you ride one, you will have to buy one.

Overall Review:

28 Miles on Yeti's New Enduro Beauty (1 Day Demo) The SB6 is ridiculously good. I picked my stealthy demo up on Thursday night, and once the tires, seatpost and suspension were proper I headed to the trail. Never mind that there were only 20 minutes of sunlight left. Pulling into Heil Ranch, I sprinted up the fire road towards the singletrack. This thing pedals nicely, I thought! But climbing the first rock section, the day made a turn towards awesome. First, the rear end smoothed a patch of sharp rocks into nothing, yet the bike's stance seemed to barely move. Not only that, but mistakenly bouncing the front tire off a Read More »

BOS Dizzy Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: 2015 BOS Dizzy Fork”

C138_bos_dizzy_fork

Review by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Courtney Steen BOS is a company whose suspension products have an almost Ferrari-like reputation - high-end, foreign, and ahead of the curve in many ways (and expensive). With a good history in the gravity racing scene and a no nonsense, performance first approach to marketing and design, the French brand is now looking to bring their experience and know how to the cross country scene. The new Dizzy fork was designed to "combine the plushest, most controlled travel available with superior pedaling prowess for the ultimate XC race fork." We've spent the better part of two months pounding Read More »

Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1116 96 6155 939 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 279 1358 2352 169 41

Ion Avic Riding Short

Vital Review

“Tested: ION Avic Short and Helium ¾ Jersey”

C138_47502_5710_ion_bikeshort_avic_saffron_f

ION popped up on our radar in 2013, when we discovered that the watersports apparel company had arrived in mountain biking with a full complement of bike-specific wear and protection and a style all their own. More than just a source of inspiration, the MTB offering draws on materials and construction used in the watersports line, the end result an eye-catching design that we were eager to put to the test. The Scrub range is designed for all types of riding and long days in the saddle, and with that being right up our alley, we set out to see what the fuss (and those colors!) were all about. Read on to find out more. ION Avic Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1152 1679 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 409 4431 123 31

Ion Helium 3/4 Riding Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: ION Avic Short and Helium ¾ Jersey”

C138_47500_5013_ion_tee_ls_34_helium_red_f

ION popped up on our radar in 2013, when we discovered that the watersports apparel company had arrived in mountain biking with a full complement of bike-specific wear and protection and a style all their own. More than just a source of inspiration, the MTB offering draws on materials and construction used in the watersports line, the end result an eye-catching design that we were eager to put to the test. The Scrub range is designed for all types of riding and long days in the saddle, and with that being right up our alley, we set out to see what the fuss (and those colors!) were all about. Read on to find out more. Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1152 1679 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 409 4431 123 31

Knolly Endorphin - 2012 Frame

“Incredible Endo! ”

C138_knolly_endorphin_day_glow_yellow

The Good:

Confidence inspiring, stiff, durable, nimble.

The Bad:

Not available in carbon.

Overall Review: <p>I have my endo built up with a 150mm pike rct3, and a ccdb cs, ks lev, hadley/flow ex wheels. 1x10 32/11-36. The bike can handle almost anything from epics to gnarly dh runs. It's also a very capable climber in the tech, pair it with the a ccdb cs or inline and it's hard to have a better 26" frame. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member monstertiki
12080 monstertiki https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12080/avatar/c50_BSASD_4.jpg?1323481480 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/monstertiki,12080/all 12/09/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/monstertiki,12080/setup 15 1 1