Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Avid Elixir CR Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

“Avid Elixir Brake Review”

C138_89416660_1266801193

The Good:

Amazing power
Excellent modulation and 'feel'

The Bad:

The brakes spit out some brake dust, but nothing bad about performance at all

Overall Review: <p>I had Stroker Ace brakes on my DH bike last year, and they were pretty good overall. I get onto these brakes and they were amazing. More power, more modulation and they are lighter. When pulling the lever, the brake gets progressively more powerful. I had to adjust to this for a few days, but now I'm spoiled. Really soft feel at the lever, and good finish work. I'm pleasantly surprised, and that doesn't happen too often with me.</p>
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member TRex
328 TRex https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/328/avatar/c50_91632150_1249393996.jpg?1290150582 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TRex,328/all 08/04/09 10 2 45 247 9 11

RockShox BoXXer World Cup

“2010 World Cup”

C138_91093390_1266891815

The Good:

Extremely controllable via damping
Light for DH forks
Exceptional bottom out resistance
Air preload offers as many spring rate adjustments as you need.

The Bad:

None yet, owned for a couple months only.
I would say price, but it is on par with everything else.

Overall Review: <p>I've ridden the 2010 40 extensively and the new Dorado a few times for comparison. The damping controls are top notch compared to everything else on the market. For the Boxxer, I try to run a bit lower pressure (air preload) and set up the damping to keep the fork from bottoming, and the range is so great that I am only half way into the compression adjustment (low speed). The low and high speed rebound offer more options than any other fork too, so after a couple days of playing with adjustments, I'm pretty set. I'll change it up if a track dictates that.</p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member TRex
328 TRex https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/328/avatar/c50_91632150_1249393996.jpg?1290150582 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TRex,328/all 08/04/09 10 2 45 247 9 11

Morewood Bicycles Ndiza Frame

“Morewood Ndiza ST”

C138_93723600_1270500557

The Good:

Ndiza ST is a great all around frame. I find it to handle great on he bmx track, single track, small downhill runs, even street. Like spankthewan said" the single pivot works flawlessly! Richard and Geritt are awesome. They always give great advice.

The Bad:

Only thing i would like to see if a sorter chainstay.

Overall Review: <p>Overall, i highly recommend this frame for anyone who wants a bike that can do just about anything.</p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member EMC2
588 EMC2 /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/EMC2,588/all 08/25/09 1 3 4

Morewood Bicycles Ndiza Frame

“2007 Ndiza”

C138_93723600_1270500557

The Good:

It looks amazing.
It rides like a champ.
It can take hits like a freeride bike.
Great geo and minimal servicing - thanks to the single pivot.
Richard is the man, and he is on top of things.
No need to remove masterlink to take the chain on and off.

The Bad:

No lifetime warranty.

Overall Review: <p>This bike has served me well....dirtjumping, 4x, and DS. Hopefully 4x tracks in the US start getting rougher, like the one at Sol Vista Nationals, because this bike offers a major advantage...Plus, it looks a lot better than the SX, and it is a lot stronger and more suited to dirtjumping than the Staats or Foes competition.</p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member spankthewan
623 spankthewan https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/623/avatar/c50_92086990_1251269642.jpg?1290151304 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/spankthewan,623/all 08/25/09 1 32 5 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/spankthewan,623/setup 14 106 129 3 3

Shimano PD-MX30 Flat Pedal

“Old favourite”

C138_99639010_1267164894

The Good:

Good if you want to wear normal trainers, and just cruise around the streets etc. Has a nice subtle concave shape to it, so your feet sit snugly into the pedal. Also has adjustable pins, if you need the added grip.

The Bad:

A bit chunky if you prefer the more slimline look. And a bit dated, and also a tad on the heavy side.

Overall Review: <p>Excellent all-round pedal with a history and a pedigree. Perfect if you don't want to shred your trainers up.</p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Smartiboo
2048 Smartiboo /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Smartiboo,2048/all 02/25/10 2 4 1

Specialized SX Trail Frame

“sx trail frame/bike”

C138_screen_shot_2011_12_26_at_1.45.47_pm

The Good:

rips and rides like dylon. loves to huck. can handle 90mph and up when flying off roof of car on freeway.

The Bad:

little steep , run some spacers.

Overall Review: <p>booyah, akoo koo kachoo.</p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Indain Chief Productions
1279 Indain Chief Productions https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1279/avatar/c50_89416680_1258133746.jpg?1290152930 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Indain-Chief-Productions,1279/all 11/13/09 5 1 43 1 2

Gravity Light Handlebar

“Shore Riding”

C138_100418800_1267163318

The Good:

WIDE! So much leverage, super stiff, awesome bar for someone tall looking for a nice bar, or just wider bars (me)

The Bad:

WIDE! Hahaha, I always clip my bars on trees. It certainly keeps you on your toes when you're trying not to break your fingers

Overall Review: <p>WIDE! Great bar, ergonomics are spot on, very similar backsweep compared to the Gravity 777's. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ocsrider
2010 ocsrider https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2010/avatar/c50_90374770_1266726657.jpg?1290155325 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ocsrider,2010/all 02/20/10 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ocsrider,2010/setup 1 1 1

Race Face Atlas Cinch Cranks

“RF atlas FR cranks.”

C138_2015_crk_atlas_dm_black_5

The Good:

Tough, Fairly light wieght, Looks pretty sweet.

The Bad:

The price, and no steel threaded pedal insert may concern some.

Overall Review: <p>I like them. I was at first concerned about the lack of a steel insert. I've torn out pedals from cranks that don't have them so I was a little worried. However I've had these for almost a year and no issue yet. I got them in Black and the finish is holding up really well.</p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member djjazzy
2228 djjazzy /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/djjazzy,2228/all 03/16/10 2 2 3

Thomson Elite Seatpost

“Best post money can buy.”

C138_thomson_elite_seatpost_straight_black

The Good:

Light, strong, clean, beautiful

The Bad:

A bit on the spendy side.

Overall Review: <p>The best post. Super strong, it has an ovalized inner diameter (more material where needed less where not), and a "one piece" design. But perhaps one of the best features is the finish. It is tough. I hate when post paint fades and wheres through after a few times of moving the post (fsa). looks crappy and cheap. And the OD of the post always seems to be perfect, no forcing into the seat tube should be nessasary.</p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member djjazzy
2228 djjazzy /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/djjazzy,2228/all 03/16/10 2 2 3

Race Face Atlas 35 Handlebar

“Awesome bar!”

C138_2014_hbr35_atlas_rs_20_blk

The Good:

Looks and feels great(2010 bar looks even better than the 2009 bar)

The Bad:

might be a tiny bit heavy if you are a weight winnie.

Overall Review: <p>Best bar I have ever ridden, plenty of space to get the most comfortable brake placement and it has a very high quality feel.</p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member CJPerry
1598 CJPerry https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1598/avatar/c50_88937010_1263555443.jpg?1290153988 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/CJPerry,1598/all 01/05/10 2 17 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/CJPerry,1598/setup 3 18 8 2