Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Race Face Ambush Knee Pad

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Ambush Knee and Elbow Guards - As Solid As They Come”

C138_ambush_product_shot

Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord Kneepads are an essential piece of protective equipment, worn by almost every rider who likes to get a bit rowdy from time to time. Elbow pads are perhaps a slightly less common sight on the trail, but many riders will still reach for them when things get a bit hectic, or just for a little extra peace of mind. Race Face has been producing a line of pads (or guards) for a number of years already, offering a full range of protection for different applications. The Ambush line sits on the heavy duty side of the catalog, ready for pretty much anything you can Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1152 1679 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 409 4431 123 31

Crankbrothers 5050 XX Flat Pedal

“Crank bro's. pedals”

C138_99924120_1267167095

The Good:

Look cool,great grip.

The Bad:

Constantly loose parts and small allen bolts that strip if you look at them wrong.

Overall Review: <p>Every other CB product Ive own from pumps to wheel sets have been awsome.These on the other hand didnt live up to the hype/price tag. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bloghogs
46 bloghogs https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/46/avatar/c50_bh_1.jpg?1348714690 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bloghogs,46/all 08/01/09 5 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bloghogs,46/setup 9 76 5 58 3

2013 Giant Reign 1 Bike

“The "one" bike?”

C138_2013_reign_1

The Good:

Looks great, love the blue/black/white frame colours and matching fork and wheels. Decent wide bars (730mm) , MRP chain guide, dropper post and full slx 2x10 drivetrain are the component highlights. The bike pedals like a champ and defies its weight on the climbs - its deep suspension soaks up the bumps and it cruises the climbs. On the downs, the bike is stable thanks to the slack head angle (67 deg) and rails the corners. The bike has stacks of grip and is easy to control even when sliding. The TALAS fork is brilliant for climbing. With the right tyres it is huge fun on the downs and can be pushed hard in corners.

The Bad:

The bike is let down by the CTD shocks I think. I am still tweaking the fork and have added float fluid to the airchamber to make it more progressive and not dive too much in descend mode. Not quite there yet though. The shock is better, but the bike does not always feel as if it has 150 mm travel. I think it also requires a more progressive air spring and am waiting for a spacer kit to tune it. Off drops and jumps it sometimes feels harsher than I think it should (comparing it to the 100mm bike I used to use on the same terrain). Only other gripe I had initially was the low BB - i solved the problem by adding air to the shock and running it in trail mode. The stock tyres are weak and not up to being run tubeless with an agressive rider. They tried to burp off the rim on several ocassions and I eventually destroyed the rear tyre after 5 rides. Now running a Purgatory and Hans Dampf Super Gravity on the front.

Overall Review: <p>Overall this is a pretty amazing bike - the rear suspension design allows efficient pedalling and uphills are easy despite the weight -which with decent tyres is around 14.5 kg. Desceding the rough stuff was not the revelation I had hoped it would be but the bike is extremely competent.After 14 rides, I am still sorting the suspension  and I think it will be a great descender once I am finished with it. It definitely has the capacity to be the One bike that does everything. I would race an XC/marathon race on it with a longer stem and lighter tyres. Best of all, this is the last of the 26" Reigns and possibly the last Reign ever! </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Headshot
24048 Headshot https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24048/avatar/c50_enduro_106_1417113471.jpg?1417112494 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Headshot,24048/all 05/02/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Headshot,24048/setup 8 44 2 1

Sombrio N'Fluence Shorts

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio N'Fluence Shorts & Disciple Jersey”

C138_ss13_nfluence_shorts_blacktastic_front_main_grande

by Kevin Shiramizu Sombrio has been around for a long time, so obviously they must be doing something right with their clothing. I've had a pair of shorts from them for several years now and they have lasted really well. They were hand-me-downs from a friend, and after my time in them, they got passed off to another friend and are probably still going out for rides. That said, bike clothing has changed a lot in the last decade, so how does the new stuff from Sombrio stand up? N'Fluence Short HIghlights Ultra durable custom printed 4-way stretch fabric with DWR and soft inner face Wicking hand pocket Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member k.shiz
14 k.shiz https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14/avatar/c50_image.jpg?1292282110 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/k-shiz,14/all 07/24/09 75 23 52 591 101 167 1 261 20 12

Sombrio Disciple Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio N'Fluence Shorts & Disciple Jersey”

C138_ss13_disciple_jersey_mineral_grey_front_main_grande

by Kevin Shiramizu Sombrio has been around for a long time, so obviously they must be doing something right with their clothing. I've had a pair of shorts from them for several years now and they have lasted really well. They were hand-me-downs from a friend, and after my time in them, they got passed off to another friend and are probably still going out for rides. That said, bike clothing has changed a lot in the last decade, so how does the new stuff from Sombrio stand up? N'Fluence Short HIghlights Ultra durable custom printed 4-way stretch fabric with DWR and soft inner face Wicking hand Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member k.shiz
14 k.shiz https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14/avatar/c50_image.jpg?1292282110 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/k-shiz,14/all 07/24/09 75 23 52 591 101 167 1 261 20 12

DT Swiss XM1501 Spline ONE 26 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: DT Swiss XM1501 Spline ONE Wheelset”

C138_pho_xm_1501_spline_one_26_black_ta_12_142_rw_rgb

by Joe Schneider The new Spline ONE wheels from DT Swiss combine several innovative features with some standby technology to create an excellent wheelset, at least on paper. From the unique Squorx nipples to the Ratchet Freewheel System, they look to be among the most advanced aluminum hoops available at the moment. Curious how they'd hold up, I mounted up a pair of the tubeless ready XM1501 wheels, which are designed for all-mountain and enduro use. XM 1501 Spline ONE Wheelset Highlights 26, 27.5, and 29-inch versions 22.5mm internal rim width Tubeless ready 28 double-butted DT Competition spokes per wheel DT Read More »

Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member SchneiderTrucking
22113 SchneiderTrucking https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22113/avatar/c50_Ska_Zia_Pic_2.5.jpg?1366689625 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SchneiderTrucking,22113/all 02/15/13 4 6

Yeti SB-66 Bike

“Super Bike”

C138_bi258b00_black

The Good:

The best 6" all mountain bike on the market. (I rode the others too)

The Bad:

Comes with float 32 fork , get the float 34 upgrade for a bit more $ and a ton of confidence.

Overall Review: <p>If you want a bike that is "faster than you" this is it.  I've had this thing for 4 months and I take it to the trails, pump tracks (you'd be surprised how it preforms) and raced it downhill at Beech Mtn. last weekend.  It was my first dh race and i finished 8th of 24 in cat2.  My point is the faster I got the better the bike responded.  Obviously, a dh bike is the preferred choice for dh riding but the SB really held its own and wasn't in over it's head.  If you want 1 bike to take anywhere this is it.  It's simply lively.  That being said if you ride it under 80%ish you won't experience the SB's true personality.  Oh yeah the switch technology works too, it climbs like a mtn. goat.  I didn't give it 5 stars because it wasn't free. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iRossum
22199 iRossum https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22199/avatar/c50_DSC9014_1385054135.jpg?1385053622 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iRossum,22199/all 02/19/13 1 4 28 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iRossum,22199/setup 3 24 1

Contour Flex Strap Camera Mount

“Most usefull mount!”

C138_f777992a_faed_404f_8a08_2b1e97c36f21

The Good:

Great product quality. Allows you to be really creative.

The Bad:

I haven't found any yet.

Overall Review: <p>This is my go to mount whenever I use the camera. Really secure mount and gives you a lot of flexibility because it can be wrapped around almost anything. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Matias
11734 Matias https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11734/avatar/c50_fb_picture_725322929.jpg?1321623327 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Matias,11734/all 11/18/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Matias,11734/setup 3 5

Contour ROAM Wearable Camcorder

“Great Budget Action Camera”

C138_7eb56e9c_8f03_45dd_8a90_7ab55649cd79

The Good:

-Great product quality.
-Great picture/video quality.
-Lots of mounting options.

The Bad:

-No option to switch modes without a PC.
-No preview screen.

Overall Review: <p>I was debating between this camera and the Go Pro Hero2 when I received an amazing deal on the Contour so that made my decision. I have never regret it! The camera works flawlessly. The only thing I miss is that you can not switch the recording mode without connecting the camera to the PC. Battery life is OK, great construction quality for the camera an mounts. </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Matias
11734 Matias https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11734/avatar/c50_fb_picture_725322929.jpg?1321623327 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Matias,11734/all 11/18/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Matias,11734/setup 3 5

2013 Kona Process

“Solid fun descender, but weight and component choices questionable.”

C138_2013_kona_process

The Good:

Tapered head tube, nice geometry, 142 x12

The Bad:

Heavy wheels and tires, 2x10 and bash, Elixir brakes

Overall Review:

At first look at the stats the bike seems too heavy to be a contender, espcially when there are way lighter 160mm travel machines on the market, but somehow you just don't notice the weight until you pick it up. It climbs OK, but it could climb so much better, on the descents it is fun, but this is mostly due to the tire width and slack HT angle becuase the RS suspension is adequate, but not great, but could have been tuned by Kona or RS to be really good. I feel the process could be a little better with some smarter component choices. If the bike had lighter tubeless tires like Hans Dampf 2.35 heck of a lot of weight could be Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1