Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Yeti SB-66 Bike

“Super Bike”

C138_bi258b00_black

The Good:

The best 6" all mountain bike on the market. (I rode the others too)

The Bad:

Comes with float 32 fork , get the float 34 upgrade for a bit more $ and a ton of confidence.

Overall Review: <p>If you want a bike that is "faster than you" this is it.  I've had this thing for 4 months and I take it to the trails, pump tracks (you'd be surprised how it preforms) and raced it downhill at Beech Mtn. last weekend.  It was my first dh race and i finished 8th of 24 in cat2.  My point is the faster I got the better the bike responded.  Obviously, a dh bike is the preferred choice for dh riding but the SB really held its own and wasn't in over it's head.  If you want 1 bike to take anywhere this is it.  It's simply lively.  That being said if you ride it under 80%ish you won't experience the SB's true personality.  Oh yeah the switch technology works too, it climbs like a mtn. goat.  I didn't give it 5 stars because it wasn't free. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iRossum
22199 iRossum https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22199/avatar/c50_DSC9014_1385054135.jpg?1385053622 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iRossum,22199/all 02/19/13 1 4 28 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iRossum,22199/setup 3 24 1

Contour Flex Strap Camera Mount

“Most usefull mount!”

C138_f777992a_faed_404f_8a08_2b1e97c36f21

The Good:

Great product quality. Allows you to be really creative.

The Bad:

I haven't found any yet.

Overall Review: <p>This is my go to mount whenever I use the camera. Really secure mount and gives you a lot of flexibility because it can be wrapped around almost anything. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Matias
11734 Matias https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11734/avatar/c50_fb_picture_725322929.jpg?1321623327 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Matias,11734/all 11/18/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Matias,11734/setup 3 5

Contour ROAM Wearable Camcorder

“Great Budget Action Camera”

C138_7eb56e9c_8f03_45dd_8a90_7ab55649cd79

The Good:

-Great product quality.
-Great picture/video quality.
-Lots of mounting options.

The Bad:

-No option to switch modes without a PC.
-No preview screen.

Overall Review: <p>I was debating between this camera and the Go Pro Hero2 when I received an amazing deal on the Contour so that made my decision. I have never regret it! The camera works flawlessly. The only thing I miss is that you can not switch the recording mode without connecting the camera to the PC. Battery life is OK, great construction quality for the camera an mounts. </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Matias
11734 Matias https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11734/avatar/c50_fb_picture_725322929.jpg?1321623327 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Matias,11734/all 11/18/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Matias,11734/setup 3 5

2013 Kona Process

“Solid fun descender, but weight and component choices questionable.”

C138_2013_kona_process

The Good:

Tapered head tube, nice geometry, 142 x12

The Bad:

Heavy wheels and tires, 2x10 and bash, Elixir brakes

Overall Review:

At first look at the stats the bike seems too heavy to be a contender, espcially when there are way lighter 160mm travel machines on the market, but somehow you just don't notice the weight until you pick it up. It climbs OK, but it could climb so much better, on the descents it is fun, but this is mostly due to the tire width and slack HT angle becuase the RS suspension is adequate, but not great, but could have been tuned by Kona or RS to be really good. I feel the process could be a little better with some smarter component choices. If the bike had lighter tubeless tires like Hans Dampf 2.35 heck of a lot of weight could be Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Race Face Ambush Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Ambush Jersey and Shorts”

C138_ambush_short_blk_back

by Lee Trumpore Seemingly left for dead a few years ago, Race Face has bounced back in force with a full complement of components and riding gear. The new Ambush shorts and jersey are part of their latest offering for everyone from casual trail riders to racers looking for something a little more subtle than traditional moto-inspired gear. Ambush Jersey Highlights Repreve moisture wicking technology 3/4 length sleeve Flatlock stitching throughout Slight drop back patterning Hidden zip stash pocket located in side panel Faux suede pocket bag doubles as goggle wipe US MSRP: $59.99 Ambush Shorts Highlights Read More »

Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 1 86 270 21

Race Face Ambush 3/4 Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Ambush Jersey and Shorts”

C138_ambush_jersey_blk_back

by Lee Trumpore Seemingly left for dead a few years ago, Race Face has bounced back in force with a full complement of components and riding gear. The new Ambush shorts and jersey are part of their latest offering for everyone from casual trail riders to racers looking for something a little more subtle than traditional moto-inspired gear. Ambush Jersey Highlights Repreve moisture wicking technology 3/4 length sleeve Flatlock stitching throughout Slight drop back patterning Hidden zip stash pocket located in side panel Faux suede pocket bag doubles as goggle wipe US MSRP: $59.99 Ambush Shorts Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 1 86 270 21

2012 Trek Superfly 100 Pro Bike

“This Bike + Good Engine = Podium”

C138_26924

The Good:

Lighter than most 4" travel 26er FS frames/Awesome geometry/51mm offset fork enhances trail/ABP rear pivot is beefy and super stiff/Plush, 4.33" (110mm) of rear travel/Asymmetrical chainstays/Thick downtube and BB equals 100% forward thrust/Carbon frame armor/Equally great climber descender/Stock Bontrager saddle is actually nice/Rock Shox fork with dual air simply rocks

The Bad:

Dated, 2010 tech on front derailleur mount(direct mount/type 2) adds grams/Full-length cable housing for front shifter does not optimize correct cable pull ratio/"Big Sweep" bars feels like a Beach Cruiser/Bontrager RXL 29er wheelset weighs a whopping 2000grams/SRAM XX brakes is unsafe and unreliable - ditch them

Overall Review:

After the first-generation(2010) Gary Fisher Superfly 100 frames were deemed a complete reliability nightmare - Trek took over and corrected everything for 2012, by reinforcing unidirectional carbon layups in all affected areas, without compromising weight. Trek also mandated 142x12 rear axles, further beefing up rear stiffness and stability. The ABP rear pivot works as claimed, greatly minimizing tire skidding and keeps the suspension fully active under hard braking. Overall - the 2012 SF100 Pro is a dream on two wheels; it climbs almost telepathically. When tuned as a Trail bike, this machine is an unreal mixture of Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zachariah
26432 Zachariah https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26432/avatar/c50_mtb_murraypk_1374164148.jpg?1374163184 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/all 07/18/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/setup 1 8 5

Sombrio Shazam Mid-Top Shoes

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio Shazam Shoes”

C138_sombrio_shazam_mid_top_shoes

by AJ Barlas Roughly 10 years ago, a couple of Australian rippers showed up to races with a unique looking, bicycle-specific shoe on their feet - something that hadn't been seen before. Back then the shoe of choice for flat pedal riders was often the Vans Caballero, at least Down Under anyway, but this new shoe intrigued everyone. Maybe it was simply because riders like Chris Kovarik and Nathan Rennie were winning races on them, or maybe it was the fact the shoes were unattainable for the average Joe? No matter what it was, the first Intense flat pedal shoe, a kick developed with the folks at Five Ten, was a Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

RockShox Recon Silver TK Fork

Featured Member Review

“Recon Silver 100mm TK Solo-Air 29er”

C138_rockshox_recon_tk

The Good:

Affordable, easy setup no need to change springs. Rugged enough.

The Bad:

Dated graphics, confusing segment as this shock has features that cross over to the gold (1 step above) and the XC (1 step below)

Overall Review:

I'm not gonna kid myself. I like to be real. Sure a 5-800 dollar or more shock has lots of bragging points, looks cool and makes other riders think you are a highly skilled rider (and you just might be) Just like those 150.00 Nikes aren't going to make me run any faster I will just run in style right? Honestly, those high end shocks are above my skill level and I doubt they would make me a better rider (IMO) and plus I could not afford them anyway. In any-case I think they would look lame on my no name trail rig for what it is worth. However if you are like me and, If you want a good affordable and reliable Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member gzilla
26410 gzilla https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26410/avatar/c50_071213_and_older_011_1374009802.jpg?1374008873 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gzilla,26410/all 07/16/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gzilla,26410/setup 2 3

Continental Mountain King ProTection Tire

“My review for Mountain King II sport tire (Not UST nor Black Chili)”

C138_mountain_king

The Good:

Awesome Grip in hard, loose, loose over hard, loamy and sand (2.4 size). Good over dry roots and rocks. Aesthetically a good looking tire. Not tried tire in mud or wet conditions. Compares to the Nevegal in terms of all purpose traction. Tire rolls very good. Medium lugs spaced apart. Good float. Large carcass and plenty of meat.

The Bad:

The sport tire is very touchy to air pressure. With to much air pressure tire is unforgivably hard and stiff. Not enough air pressure and the tire flexes a lot. Does not have transition knobs. Cannot be setup as tubeless easily.

Overall Review:

The MKII sport tire has thin sidewalls and will be difficult to setup tubeless personally I would not even try just buy the UST tire. Using a tube helps support the sport tire although does add to the already heavy weight of 740-780 grams. I have found that for my weight and riding style and area 45-46 lbs in the rear and 40-42 lbs in the front is the sweet spot for me. I weigh 220 lbs. The MFG recommended pressure is50 - 65 which when inflated to that size I found the tires to be nearly un-rideable at that pressure they lose traction and, are extremely stiff however, if you ride on the street a lot that Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gzilla
26410 gzilla https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26410/avatar/c50_071213_and_older_011_1374009802.jpg?1374008873 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gzilla,26410/all 07/16/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gzilla,26410/setup 2 3