Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2014 Santa Cruz V10 Carbon Bike

“Santa Cruz V-10c 2014”

C138_2013_v10catalogflat

The Good:

Smooth as butter, Jumps amazingly, Handles the gnarly stuff amazingly

The Bad:

Needs lots of down tube protection for shuttling. (If you shuttle over a tale gate.)

Overall Review: <p>Very smooth, rides through rock gardens like its a paved road. In my opinion the 10inch rear is only good for super gnarly courses, otherwise it feels sluggish. Jumps like a freeride bike. Cornering becomes very natural with the bike. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kaelmarkledh
22035 kaelmarkledh https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22035/avatar/c50_IMG_1418_1430540193.jpg?1430539890 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/all 02/12/13 2 5 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/setup 1 13 3

Bell Full-9 Helmet

“Bell Full 9”

C138_aaron_gwin_signature

The Good:

Comfy, Good fit, Good looking, Carbon/Light, Strong.

The Bad:

Gets hot, not many vents.

Overall Review: <p>Quite light and not very bulky. Moto style is pretty cool. Looks sick. Very strong, had a few hits on it and no real damage to the helmet besides a few scratches. Not the best on very hot days, as it doesn't have very many vents and it gets sort of hot. Works good with a neck brace, doesn't smash against it. Overall - Awesome Helmet, worth the money. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kaelmarkledh
22035 kaelmarkledh https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22035/avatar/c50_IMG_1418_1430540193.jpg?1430539890 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/all 02/12/13 2 5 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/setup 1 13 3

2013 Specialized P.3 Bike

“Ripper Bikes”

C138_91e9_32_p_3_blk_soder_claw

The Good:

Weight, Build, Looks, Ride

The Bad:

Price, Brand Premium

Overall Review:

***I only rode this bike for 2 days in the bike park, this is not a thorough review*** With that said, we got along great. I got the chance to ride the 2014 P3 at Winterberg Bike Park, in Germany for a weekend in October 2013, and i really liked it. I rode it on the pumptrack, dirt jumps, and on two of the jump trails, the Bell Freecross and the Continental track. Things I liked: -Handled great. I'm not 100% sure what it was, but even at (relatively) high speeds it was fairly stable, and the Specialized Slopestyle tyres it comes with a grippier than they look. I managed to scare myself a few times on the faster, higher speed Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ben.nolan.779
26092 ben.nolan.779 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26092/avatar/c50_fb_picture_742824772_1372704230.jpg?1372703365 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ben-nolan-779,26092/all 07/01/13 6 2

Answer ProTaper 780 DH Handlebar

“Answer Protaper DH,”

C138_99727920_1267162626

The Good:

Strong, well priced, nice and wide, comfortable hand position.

The Bad:

Lighter options available (but more expensive)

Overall Review:

STATS. So, Answer have been around for a while, they make a bunch of Moto stuff, and their bike stuff isn't half bad either. The 780mm Protaper DH is, as the name suggests, their downhill/FR (does FR even exist anymore?) bar. It weighs in around 335gm, so its not super light, but it's not as heavy as some offerings either, and it's price is definitely competitive. The Protaper DH utilises a slightly flatter and straighter design (8 degree backsweep, 4 degree upsweep) compared to most bars (9 degree x 5 degree) and at 780mm wide are on the restrained side of the width war (some brands have made it out to 830mm). I'm Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ben.nolan.779
26092 ben.nolan.779 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26092/avatar/c50_fb_picture_742824772_1372704230.jpg?1372703365 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ben-nolan-779,26092/all 07/01/13 6 2

Shimano SLX M666 Disc Brake

Featured Member Review

“powerful, consistent brakes”

C138_br258c01

The Good:

Powerful, consistent, reliable, durable

The Bad:

routine maintenance is required for peak performance

Overall Review: <p>I ran these brakes hard this season- bike park, dh shuttle laps, aggressive trails. What impressed me most was the consistent braking power even on the longest downhills.   The oversized ceramic pistons and ice tech brake pads keep the system fade free.  The lever design is comfortable for 1 finger braking.   I found the tool free reach adjustment very convenient.   Coming from Avid brakes, I had to get used to the power of the Shimano brakes.  The power comes on more quickly, requiring the rider to not drag their brakes.  SLX brakes require less pressure to engage thereby reducing hand fatigue.  In addition, I feel that I can brake later into corners which increases my speed. At $125 per brake, these are the best performing brakes on the market.  Get them.  You won't regret it. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 13 27

2012 Mongoose Boot'r Comp Bike

“PROS and CONS”

C138_m_12_bootc_wht_5

The Good:

comfortable ride, looks pretty good, smooth gear shifting, great tyres

The Bad:

the fork and rear suspension makes undesirable sounds, heavy, rear suspension rebound adjust feels dodgy when adjusting.

Overall Review: <p>OVERALL, an OKAY bike, but if you had $2.5K buy another bike with less cons </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Eddy Zu
22923 Eddy Zu https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22923/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001398034314_1363771656.jpg?1363771587 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Eddy-Zu,22923/all 03/20/13 2 1

Formula RO Disc Brake

Vital Review

“Tested: Formula RO Disc Brakes”

C138_my13_ro_caliper_cap_side

by Noah Sears The RO brake from Formula promises monster power in a svelte package. Unlike its class competitors which use four pistons, the RO uses two large oval pistons. With half as many pistons, rather puny looking pads, and a complete weight of 360g (claimed, with 160mm rotor), surely, I thought, the RO was a dainty little trail brake masquerading as a big-hit brake? Boy was I wrong. Formula RO Disc Brake Highlights Polished and anodized finish Oval pistons 18% claimed increase in power over "The One" 160mm, 180mm, and 203mm rotor sizes Removable handlebar clamp Flip-flop master cylinder Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NoahColorado
128 NoahColorado https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/128/avatar/c50_88160290_1258334763.jpg?1290150194 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/all 08/01/09 1 3 364 29 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/setup 4 96 416 6

Bontrager G2 Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager G2 Team Issue Tires”

C138_bontrager_g2

Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins When the Trek World Racing Team requested a fast, downhill specific tire for hardpack courses like Sea Otter, Bontrager answered with the G2 Team Issue tire. With an almost semi-slick profile, ramped center knobs and some meaty, somewhat familiar looking side knobs, Bontrager's aim was clearly a fast rolling tire that doesn't sacrifice cornering traction. Does it deliver? We snatched a set to find out. G2 Team Issue Tire Highlights 26x2.20-inches Fast rolling, low-knob gravity tire Designed to excel in hard pack conditions Dual-ply casing Low rolling resistance downhill compound Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 789 63 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 74 61 1

9point8 Pulse Stepper Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: 9point8 Pulse Stepper Seatpost”

C138_the_pulse_seatpost

Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins With trail, all-mountain, and enduro riding progressing over the past couple of years, innovations like the dropper post have become a standard on an increasing number of bikes. With the demand high, dropper post manufactures have approached the problem of a bike designed for both climbing and descending in a number of ways. This makes your adjustable post choice a difficult one as there are quite a few viable options on the market. 9point8, a new company based in Ontario, might stir the pot a bit when the time comes to make that decision. We were intrigued when Read More »

Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 789 63 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 74 61 1

FOX 36 Talas 180 R Fork

“2014 Fox Talas 180/140”

C138_fk259a13

The Good:

New Talas cartridge is amazing in both settings and throughout the stroke

The Bad:

Nothing yet. I suppose we'll see how often it needs service.

Overall Review: <p>Ok, my experience with a Fox Talas was with a 34 100/120/140 so I'm not comparing apples to apples. This fork however is amazing!! In 140mm the shock performs amazing with a feel of eveness throughout, my old fork in the lower settings felt like a pogo stick, way too much compressed air or something?? This one though is the same in both setting with zero need to adjust. I love the ability to point down hill with 7.1" of travel, then turn around and climb with 5.5" of travel and have it perform just as well. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member digthemlows
20220 digthemlows /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/digthemlows,20220/all 12/04/12 7 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/digthemlows,20220/setup 1 2