Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Chromag Brandon Semenuks' 'Overture' Signature Model Saddle

“why use any other seat”

C138_92492180_1273304652

The Good:

feels great, looks great

The Bad:

mine has a little bit of play on the rails and has always had it.

Overall Review: <p>Great seat, feels great when your sitting on it and it is also good for pinches. It also looks amazing it is defanitly a must get for dirt jumpers and free riders! </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

Troy Lee Designs D3 Carbon Full Face Helmet

“The Best Full Face Helmet”

C138_tld_d3_carbon_helmet_reflex_yellow

The Good:

fits great, looks great, light, and the extra visor is nice

The Bad:

Pretty pricy but worth it

Overall Review: <p>awesome helmet, fits and feels as great as it looks, it is also extremely light. another cool this is that it comes with an extra visor just in case you go down and you break it off. Its defanitly worth it to get the extra money to buy one! </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

Profile Racing Elite MTB Hubs

“Like a Swarm of Killer Bees”

C138_screen_shot_2013_06_24_at_7.51.17_pm

The Good:

The sound, the great engagement, very smooth and crisp feeling, the color options, the size options and GREAT customer service!

The Bad:

Pawls can start to skip if water gets in them

Overall Review:

Awesome hub! I love the sound (although some people dont) it sounds great while doing anything. i will constantly be riding down the street and have people staring at me in awe. It is defanitly attracts attention. the engagement is so chrisp and quick. It also rolls so much quicker than most hubs, i can defanitly see what this hub is commonly used in the BMX racing scene. the only problem i have had with mine is that if water gets into the pawls and teeth it can dry them out and it can stat to skip but it is a VERY easy to pull it out, clean the inside and drop a couple more drops of teflon dry lube (what is Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

Sombrio Women's Artemyde Jacket

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio Women’s Artemyde Jacket”

C138_artemyde_jacket_ac_slate_fromme_print

Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman "That's it!" I had enough of trying to get by in the rain with a hand-me-down rain jacket that just wasn’t cutting it. On more than one occasion I missed rides because it was more than sprinkling out and I knew my jacket wouldn't suffice - it didn't breath well, the hood was useless with a helmet on, and the cut just wasn't right for riding. And so began my search for a legit rain jacket for mountain biking. Designed for women, Sombrio's Artemyde jacket looked like it would fit the bill. With a focus on freeride mountain biking, Sombrio made it their Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 4 2 13

Race Face Piper Women's Riding Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Piper Women's Jersey and Shorts”

C138_race_face_piper_womens_jersey

Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman There’s hole worn in this pair of shorts, this other pair is coming apart, this one jersey doesn’t fit well, this other one is stained and has a tear in it… Going through my drawer of riding clothes, this is the common theme. It appears to be time for some new gear. Despite their frequent usage, I have yet to find a pair of shorts or a jersey that really fit the way I want or prove durable enough over time. Enter Race Face, a brand with a deep heritage in MTB and a wide product range including riding gear specifically made for us women – fist pump for the Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 4 2 13

Race Face Piper Women's Shorts

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Piper Women's Jersey and Shorts”

C138_race_face_piper_womens_shorts

Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman There’s hole worn in this pair of shorts, this other pair is coming apart, this one jersey doesn’t fit well, this other one is stained and has a tear in it… Going through my drawer of riding clothes, this is the common theme. It appears to be time for some new gear. Despite their frequent usage, I have yet to find a pair of shorts or a jersey that really fit the way I want or prove durable enough over time. Enter Race Face, a brand with a deep heritage in MTB and a wide product range including riding gear specifically made for us women – fist pump for the Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 4 2 13

Shimano SLX M666 Disc Brake

“Best brake...for this price...”

C138_br258c01

The Good:

Not drastically different from XT, great stopping power, weight, looks

The Bad:

Not XTR, little to no modulation.

Overall Review: <p>For the money I don't think you can find a better brake. Totally simple to bleed and they look sharp. Could be better... But hey, it's called xt and xtr. So... Again...for the money it is a pretty good brake. I have used juicy, Hayes and others and I personally believe shimano is the easiest to maintain. You could have these on your bike for years. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Snoopshomes
22234 Snoopshomes https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22234/avatar/c50_Ride_Em_Hard_Logo_1367265653.jpg?1367265195 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Snoopshomes,22234/all 02/20/13 13 4

Loaded Precision AMX Signature CroMo Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Loaded Precision AMX Signature CroMo Flat Pedal”

C138_loaded_usa_amx_signature_cromo

by Nick Zuzelski There are two crucial points of control you have with your bike - your hands, and your feet. Loose either by accident and it's usually not pretty. If you are one of the many riders out there running flats, you know that flat pedal design has recently evolved towards a thinner, sleeker, and wider platform with plenty of pins to keep your feet glued on at all times. Loaded Precision's latest offering, the new AMX Signature pedals, fall into this category and our feet were excited to take them on a date to see what kind of trouble the two of them could get into. AMX Signature CroMo Pedal Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 26

Transition Bank Frame

“favorite bike i have owned”

C138_bank_v2_4

The Good:

light, stiff, great geo and changeable dropouts

The Bad:

pretty long chainstays, bad rotor clearance on the caliber when installing the wheel but can easily be fixed with one washer.

Overall Review: <p>Awesome frame, i bought one of these after i retired my TOP and i love it soo much more. It was noticeably stiffer than my steel TOP. The first time i rode it made me feel like a better rider and who doesn't want to better them self's with riding! The geo is so good for fast, flowey trails. This Frame is super light, it weighs 24 pounds even with a super burly wheelset. Im sure you could easily drop 2-3 pounds with a lighter build than mine. another super cool thing with V5 and newer is that it has changeable drop outs from 12x142 thru axle (what it comes with) and 10x135 horizontal and 10x135 vertical. Note if you plan on running it SS without a chain tensioner you need to buy the 10x135 horizontal and Transition sells each side individually on there website. </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

2013 Chromag Ranger Stem

“great stem”

C138_ranger_80_blue

The Good:

Super light, pretty strong and stiff and it has a large option of lengths and colors

The Bad:

nothing...

Overall Review: <p>awesome stem, its super light and looks great on any rig . its nice to have all the length options with this stem so you can really dial in the felling for your bike and it has a wide option of colors </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7