Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Canfield Brothers 9t Microdrive Hub

Featured Member Review

“Canfield 9t Micro Drive hub and conversion cogs”

C138_canfield_brothers_9t_microdrive_hub

The Good:

Very simple and effective idea. Gives another option for wide-range gearing on a 1X setup

The Bad:

I got nuttin...

Overall Review:

Enter the Canfield Bro’s 9t Micro Drive Hub. Using this hub with a 10 speed setup, I have a low end of 28x36 and a top end of 28x9, which, if you crunch the numbers, is just shy of the full range of my previous 24/36t x 11-34t. The range on this hub is absolutely amazing for being a 1x system, and I was able to eliminate the weight and clutter of the second ring, FD, shifter and cable. SRAM’s XX1 series is the only thing close to the range currently and is drastically more expensive for the full set. The setup on this hub and cassette conversion was a breeze as well. I used the PG 1070 Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 22 5

Canfield Brothers The One Frame

“Canfield The ONE”

C138_one_2

The Good:

Great pedaling power, DH capabilities. Amazing all around bike. If you can afford just ONE bike, this should be at the top of the list.

The Bad:

The only thing I can say negative about this bike was the Geo on the '11 version was not my favorite. On the '12 and '13 they corrected this though, bringing the geo in line with more AM/trail rather than full on DH. All of this can be changed with different parts though, and is more of a personal preference than anything.

Overall Review:

The pedaling power is what really struck me about this bike. While there was natural pedal bob from the forces of my leg pushing down, there is NONE generated from the actual motion of the crank spinning. I really noticed this when I would change gears from the 36 outer ring to the 24 inner. Different gearing, same ratios, but the smaller ring always has a burst of acceleration as soon as you hit it. I found myself staying in the lower front ring as long as I could most of the time for this benefit. I looked into it and the reason for this is the up and forward curve in the lower suspension link. The design is such to Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 22 5

Giro Bravo LF Gloves

“All weather miracle glove”

C138_giro_bravo_lf_gloves_black_highlight_yellow

The Good:

Useful in all weather conditions; Excellent wicking on thumbs; effectivepadding placement

The Bad:

Velcro closure straps

Overall Review: <p>I absolutely love this glove. I've used it in the middle of the hottest, humidity soaked summers in the south and my hands never got too bothered by the heat and I've used it in below freezing (25F) on winter rides and my hands stayed warm. I don't know how it managed to perform in two extreme ranges of temperatures, but I'm happy it did. The supple leather fingers grip my bars and brake levers nicely, and the padding (which I usually detest on most gloves) is quite perfect. My only complaint is that it uses velcro to secure the wrist. I much prefer gloves that do not rely on velcro, but this is such a minor thing in the long run. I don't like to give 5 star ratings to anything, but these have really outperformed the price I paid for them, and if/when they wear out, I'll be sure to buy another pair. </p>

Kenda Nevegal X Pro Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Kenda Nevegal X Pro Tire”

C138_kenda_nevegal_x_pro

by AJ Barlas A few years ago, partially from boredom and partially thanks to new developments from manufacturers in the industry, I decided the time had come to try some of the different tires that were hitting the market. Today the waters are still being tested. There have been some great tires in that time and some new faves, so when the chance to skid about on the updated Kenda Nevegal came up I figured, why not? Maybe they've improved. After all, quite a bit has changed since the original version was introduced. The original Nevegal was a popular tire, though not so much with those that, shall we say, have high Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2014 Devinci Troy Carbon RC Bike

“Devinci Troy RC - Great Buy”

C138_2014_troy_carbon_rc

The Good:

Very good parts spec, pretty on the money for the build, and frame, but man LIFETIME warranty on the frame... unheard of. Basically SLX parts all around, which for 90% of people is more than they would need, CTD rear shock, which feels pretty standard compared to the previous versions of the fox float, and the fox float 34 which is a solid mid/upper-range fork. Lastly this is one of the few companies that actually gets the cockpit correct, spec-ing the bike with 780mm wide bars and a short 70mm (I think) stem.

The Bad:

Wheels are a bit flexy, I was surprised, they didnt follow the typical over-under pattern you see on most wheels which didn't make a ton of sense to me. Additionally the bike comes with a XT long cage derailuer which i thought was a bit dumb since it ships with a double in the front. Also not a huge fan of the Hans Dampf, I would have been allot more jazzed with a pair of highroller II, or ardents.

Overall Review:

Overall I think this bike as a whole is a great package! Pretty short chainstays, real slack head angle, adjustable geo of 67.5 in the high setting to 67 degree in the low, big burly fork, and a great build kit. The SLX brakes, are awesome, I would say back to back compared to the XT's I honestly could not tell the difference in stopping power. Shifting with the SLX, XT drive train was again solid and without issue. Rear end of the bike was very stiff and never seemed to give any trouble while riding. Only complaint about the build of the bike was that the wheels were pretty floppy, and they flexed laterally quite easily. Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Rconroy
2805 Rconroy https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2805/avatar/c50_Yeti_Big_1403290056.jpg?1403290025 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Rconroy,2805/all 05/13/10 1 6 21 11

Cole Wheels IBEX 29

Vital Review

“Tested: Cole IBEX 29 Carbon Wheelset”

C138_dsc_6788

by Jeff Brines Lesser known Cole threw their hat into the carbon wheel ring last season with the introduction of their IBEX line. I’ve had my hands on a set for the better part of four months in a 29er application. How did the wheels fair? Take a look… IBEX Wheelset Highlights High-compression carbon rim material 27.5mm external, 20.5mm internal (measured) rim profile 24 straight pull, double butted 2.0/1.8/2.0mm spokes per wheel EZ-Snap tool-free end cap replacement - 15mm front, 135 QR or 142x12mm rear included with wheelset Traditional 36 tooth, 3 pawl system with 10-degree engagement Hard anodized alloy freehub Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 11 252 481 18 2

Giro Bravo LF Gloves

“Great glove with excellent ride qualities...”

C138_giro_bravo_lf_gloves_black_highlight_yellow

The Good:

fit, fabrics, construction and feel on the bars

The Bad:

Nothing yet but I've only got a handful of rides on them. The stitching and panels are all looking and performing as good as day 1.

Overall Review:

Ok to start off I bought these from jensonusa.com and was super pumped on how they handled the transaction and timing on the standard shipping, I got them right away. About the gloves: Giro offers a solid glove design. I have always been a Troy Lee XC glove guy which are still fantastic. That being said these have some outstanding ride qualities that helped them stand tall. I really like the feel on the hand, it's like a compression wrap for your hand that does not fatigue or stress your grip in anyway. They feel lighter than my TLD, I'm not a weight weenie and NO, I didn't not put them on a scale. Standard features Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Christian Peper
1131 Christian Peper https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1131/avatar/c50_88173630_1260934116.jpg?1290152491 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Christian-Peper,1131/all 10/22/09 6 22 8 4 26 212 11

2016 Giant Trance 27.5 3 Bike

“Fun bike but left unimpressed.”

C138_trance_275_3_black

The Good:

The larger wheels pedal uphill great and the bike love long sweepers, stable in gravelly stuffs.

The Bad:

This bike is afraid of anything remotely downhill, despite having suspension set up by Giant Factory tech the suspension never felt like it worked right.

Overall Review:

I normally ride a 2010 giant reign x1, which I love, I've owned multiple Giant bikes which is part of the reason I was so mistakenly excited to ride the trance 27.5. I may be a bit biased as I do a lot of enduro riding, ome downhill, and park. However I had been super excited to ride the new trance 27.5 because lately I've been focusing on enduro and enduro racing. I had the opportunity this summer to ride the trance 27.5 during a Giant demo at Deer Valley Resort in Utah, where I was actually riding my dad's 2006 giant reign because my reign x was in the shop. After taking a few laps of various trails, including the famed Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member cliff.hardle
23846 cliff.hardle https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23846/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1386545481.jpg?1366728947 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/cliff-hardle,23846/all 04/23/13 33 2

2014 Specialized Enduro Expert EVO Bike

“Black Beauty Bike”

C138_bike_specialized_enduro_expert_evo

The Good:

The girls will stare at you when you ride this bike..

The Bad:

The climbing ability..

Overall Review: <p>A real bike, strong and love the X design on the frame! Fast, good handling. This bike actually made to down the mountain, across the forest, and not for the street. The price is quite expensive but worth for all the technology. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 11 35 107 10

FUNN Fatboy Riser Bar

“FUNN Badboy, Ups Fatboy”

C138_hb409a51_black

The Good:

Impressive, Cheap, Light, Complete color choice

The Bad:

I can't find the bad of this stuff

Overall Review: <p>The best handlebar that I have ever used, and also impressive. First time I saw this handlebar, it attracts me with its bright color, it like diamond in the mud. The conclusion is, this is high quality handlebar with the reasonable price, not only sell the brand, but the quality has proven. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 11 35 107 10