Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Loaded Precision AmX Direct Mount Stem

“Beautiful stem”

C138_ewb_4ecd6726d4619_amxdirectg5

The Good:

Has a sweet design, they're strong, easy to install, light weight, sturdy. Love the color options as well.

The Bad:

Can't complain

Overall Review: <p>If you're looking to get a direct mount, this is by far one of the best ones out there. Compared to other brands, I've found that they're reasonably priced for the quality you get. I've been running mine for a while now and it's held up strong. The little design is pretty cool as well. </p>

Loaded Precision AmX Flat Handlebar

“Amazing wide bar”

C138_ewb_4e8cef0a48a2d_product_front_screens

The Good:

It's perfect for Dh or trail since I like running my bars wide. It's strong and I really appreciate the flat bar since I can get lower to my bike. Loaded has a lot of colors which is cool if your into colorful bikes. It's affordable which really helps the bank

The Bad:

No complaints

Overall Review: <p>I run these bars on my DH rig and dirt jumper as well. I really like having flat bars so they've worked for me. They seem to be a lot stronger than other bars since I've ran a couple of other brands but switched over to loaded's since I needed some gold ones. Really love them so far. </p>

Michelin Wild Rock'R2 Advanced Reinforced Tire

“impressive tyres!”

C138_michelin_wild_rockr_advanced_tubeless_reinforced_tire

The Good:

Grip and fast rolling

The Bad:

scoops sand

Overall Review: <p>I got the 26 2.35 Magi X for front and Gum X for rear. At first, i thought this is a heavy pair of tyres. Almost 2KG as per the weight indicated by the packaging. Magi- X really feels sticky and the Gum-X somewhat sticky in texture.Took it for a ride yesterday and I'm really impressed. If was rolling fast and grippy on the trail. Never had been confident using my last tyres. The traction is great. I felt more control over my bike.The only thing that annoyed me was the sand that gets scooped up. Well, too much grip i'd say but I can live with it.</p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jecc.terr
22762 jecc.terr https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22762/avatar/c50_017A85CE_4685_4CAB_809F_0607F8AFF60B_1509370881.jpg?1509370232 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jecc-terr,22762/all 03/14/13 5 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jecc-terr,22762/setup 27 1

Royal 2014 Quantum Glove

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Quantum Glove”

C138_quantum_grey_green

Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow Royal Racing has put a lot of work into its glove range over the past few years, and there’s a pretty impressive selection on offer from the UK-based outfitters today. For 2014 there’s a brand new model in the catalog, and given the spec we were eager to try it out. Here’s our report after a good couple of months of trail time with the Quantum glove. Royal Racing Quantum Glove Highlights 0.75mm AX perforated stretch palm material Minimal cuff closure with expander v panel Aggressive ergonomic pre-curving to avoid bunching Microfiber thumb wipe Lycra fourchettes Technical Read More »

Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1473 1679 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 65 409 4440 123 31

Marzocchi 888 CR Fork

Featured Member Review

“Good budget dual crown fork”

C138_fk257a32

The Good:

low maintenance, smooth feel

The Bad:

a bit heavy, few dials for fine tuning

Overall Review:

Last summer I purchased a cheap dh bike for bike park days and it came with a single crown fork. I soon ditchedthe fork in favor for the Marzocchi 888 cr. The relatively good priceand my previous experience with Marzocchiforks sealed the deal. Once I had sold off the single crown fork I was looking at about a $350 upgrade which was staying true to the "budget" part ofmy new dh rig. I was really hoping that the fork would be like a big brother to the bomber 66 single crown fork, which I have had a few times on different bikes over the years. I was pleased to find out that was the case after getting it set-up and taking it Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 1 15 90 48

Hincapie Tour LTX Pants

“Hincapie Tour LTX pants”

C138_hincapie_tour_ltx_pants

The Good:

Stretch fabric keeps you feeling unrestricted. Wind proof material

The Bad:

Could use a few small zipper pockets // No chamois provided

Overall Review:

Tour LTX Pant Features 4-way stretch Adavanced LTX Wind Repel fabric moves with the body while providing unparalleled wind protection RegulatorTek with Thermocool optimizes body temperature regardless of activity level Ergonomic articulated knees for a tailored fit and freedom of movement Auto-locking, zippered leg openings facilitate easy layering over shoes Seamless gusset eliminates short seam overlap Elastic draw cord adjustable waist Reflective treatments for high visibility MSRP $110 As you can see from my epic Van Halen inspired split kick, the pants were anything but restricting. As far as warmth goes, the wind Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

Hincapie Black Ice Gloves

“Hincapie Black Ice Gloves”

C138_hincapie_black_ice_gloves

The Good:

Warmth of a winter glove without the bulk

The Bad:

Runs slightly big // Overkill for fall riding, best used for winter/cold rides

Overall Review:

Black Ice Glove Features Insulated, windproof/water-resistant laminate blocks out the elements Special Dry Hand lining helps move internal moisture away from skin Chamude palm with silicone logo gripper provide excellent feel and a more secure grip on the bars Silicone gripper wraps around side panel for no slip shifting and braking Reflective piping across glove top for improved low light visibility Anti-pill fleece nose wipe area on thumb Glove clip helps keep gloves together for easy storage MSRP $70 The Black Ice gloves gave the warmth of a winter glove without feeling like I was wearing hockey gloves. The perfect Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

Hincapie Arenberg Zero Jacket

Featured Member Review

“Hincapie Arenberg Zero Jacket”

C138_hincapie_arenberg_zero_jacket_back

The Good:

Cut perfectly for riding position // Very warm

The Bad:

Would benefit from two zippered pockets // No use for rear pockets if riding with a pack

Overall Review:

As I packed up the car and filled my Camelback, my wife looks at me and says "You're wearing just THAT to go riding?!". The mercury read 37F as I loaded up, so I figured if this Hincapie gear could keep me somewhat warm on a cold day like this, it would perform amazing on a crisp fall day! Hincapie has a strong reputation in the road cycling & triathlon industry for manufacturing high end bibs, tights, jerseys, etc. and their XC gear isn't any different. At first glance all the gear looked solid and well made, but we all know the real test happens on the trails. For me, the true sign of great cold weather gear is Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

Hincapie PowerCore Merino LS Baselayer

“Hincapie PowerCore Merino LS Baselayer”

C138_hincapie_powercore_merino_ls_baselayer_riding_jersey

The Good:

Cut perfectly for the riding position // Very warm

The Bad:

Merino Wool is pricey

Overall Review:

As I packed up the car and filled my Camelback, my wife looks at me and says "You're wearing just THAT to go riding?!". The mercury read 37F as I loaded up, so I figured if this Hincapie gear could keep me somewhat warm on a cold day like this, it would perform amazing on a crisp fall day! Hincapie has a strong reputation in the road cycling & triathlon industry for manufacturing high end bibs, tights, jerseys, etc. and their XC gear isn't any different. At first glance all the gear looked solid and well made, but we all know the real test happens on the trails. For me, the true sign of great Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

Nukeproof Snap Frame

Featured Member Review

“A thoroughbred for 4X”

C138_frame_nukeproof_snap

The Good:

Excellent paint, graphics, strength, minimal flex, light weight and stable. Replaceable rear dropouts.

The Bad:

Not ideal for DJ, park or trail. Not a very forgiving or compliant frame.

Overall Review:

The Nukeproof Snap frame is very strong and flex-free making it great for 4X. Fast acceleration and cornering stability are its bread and butter. Those strengths however are it's downfalls, for example the chain stays are fairly long (XC length at 420mm) for a bike like this meaning that manuals can be annoyingly hard to perform. Also the frame is extremely rigid, making it very fast accelerating on hard-pack or on pavement, but mistiming jumps and riding on trails can be a painful filling loosing affair. A 67 degree HA might make you think that the bike could descend quite well and whilst it is capable of descending Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1