Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Shimano PD-MX30 Flat Pedal

“Shimano DX Pedals”

C138_99639010_1267164894

The Good:

Grippy with long pins installed. Pedals come with short pins in pedals and long pins in a bag.look good after years of riding and non damaged pins can be replaced. I have had 2 sets of these pedals over several years on a Blur LT I ride for everything but DH and DJ. Work good in all conditions and replacement pins are available and i have done that. have a set on a dirt jump bike as well that are still perfect after a few years of riding.

The Bad:

Pins can get ripped out and become un-replaceable. Rock strikes have taken their toll on my current set. I'm missing a few pins on each pedal right now and looking for something different in the spring. The older pedals I had seemed to last a lot longer than the newest set under same riding conditions.

Overall Review: <p>Great for my dirt jump bike but not the best for trail or bike bike park use, especially if it's rocky. </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Spank Subrosa Grip

“Spank Grips”

C138_129433760_1289428262

The Good:

When new they feel great and very grippy and they have a fairly small diameter. nice comfortable width without much extra on either side of hand. I'm 6'2" and had them on both a trail bike and a dirt jump bike.

The Bad:

They wear down to smooth very fast. A couple months and you can see where my fingers fit on the grip and a lot of surface has become smooth. Seems a lot to spend all the time on grips.

Overall Review: <p>Would be good for a season if you don't ride that much. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Spank Subrosa 30AL EVO Rim

“Spank Subrosa Rim”

C138_subrosa_evo_30al_white

The Good:

Rode these rims on my jump bike for a year and they have been flawless. Super stiff and solid feeling. I needed new rims for my Blur LT trail bike and got these for that bike as well. Have rode those for a year and two years now on dirt jump bike with a lot of use and all 4 rims are still like the day I got them. Not the lightest choice and not many rims out there with this width and height combo and my next bike will definitely have them on it.

The Bad:

Nothing that i can think of.

Overall Review: <p>Great super solid feeling rim and I would recommend to anyone looking for rims. Especially trail, enduro or dirt jump applications. </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Banshee Rune V2 - 2016 Frame

“2013 Banshee Rune V2”

C138_rune_medium_green_website_1_of_1

The Good:

A very versatile trail hitting machine. Stiff, playful and can handle most anything that comes your way on trail. Very effiicient climber/pedaller that I often use for XC duties, even though it is more at home on rugged AM/FR kind of terrain

The Bad:

Exposed bearing races at pivots making them more susceptible to increased wear especially if riding in wetter/damper environements. Most of my bearings were seized after first season with minimal wet riding. Managed to crack rear end after 8-9 months of hard trail use.

Overall Review: <p>Great bike that is extremely verstaile. I currently use it as my "one bike" that frequents run of the mill XC/trail riding regularly with big elevation changes to more AM/FR stuff with lots of jumps, gaps, burms.  This bike can pretty much do it all.  A few qualms with bearing/pivot design due to more exposure to elements and did manage to break frame the first year, but overall very well pleased with this bike and has served me quite well over the past year.  I definitely feel I got my money's worth out of this frame and Banshee is an awesome company that will to go to great lengths to take care of the end user.  Nothing but praises for this AM bike that is head and shoulders better than earlier versions. </p>
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member jgusta
29068 jgusta https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29068/avatar/c50_Bend_Enduro_2013_1388726811.jpg?1388726604 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jgusta,29068/all 01/02/14 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jgusta,29068/setup 1 15 1

Banshee Spitfire V2 - 2013 Frame

“Amazing Trailbike”

C138_2013_banshee_spitfire_frame

The Good:

Climbs well & lets you pin downhills. Feels like more travel than it has. Never too much travel. Stays amazingly agile. Just Super-Fun to ride.

The Bad:

Weight slightly on the heavy side. Nothing for weight-weenies.

Overall Review: <p>If you go down to the cellar and pick a bike - it's the spitty.... You just love it. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kijan
12099 kijan /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kijan,12099/all 12/11/11 1 7 1

Canfield Brothers Crampon Ultimate Pedal

Featured Member Review

“Simply Amazing Pedals”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_polished_2

The Good:

Super thin pedal body
Aluminum construction with machined pedal body surface
Threaded traction pins provide ample amounts of traction

The Bad:

Pedal pins can fall out if not loc-tited or kept snug (replacement pins included though)
Pedals develop a bit of side to side movement with heavy use

Overall Review: <p>These pedals are great. I recently did a review on the Crampon Magnesium pedal, and while these are slightly heavier, they performed better for me. I really like the machining on the pedal body - it gives me the extra traction I just couldn't quite get on the magnesium pedals. The shape of the pedal body itself is amazing - it is flat enough that you don't feel like it is a convex pedal but still gives you a very thin leading pedal edge. Overall, these pedals are my go-to favorites and get ridden more than any other pairs of flats I own. Definitely worth the money. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member AceHouston
2058 AceHouston https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2058/avatar/c50_73933_10100336831359119_2949514_n_1372187932.jpg?1372187380 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/all 02/25/10 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/setup 20 5 6

X-Fusion Metric HLR Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: X-Fusion Metric HLR Fork”

C138_x_fusion_metric_hlr_fork

Review by David Howell // Photos by Dave Trumpore Until the last few years, parking lot suspension experts have been talking about how good their “dampening” is, how supple their mid-stroke is and how their suspension wallows when they pin it through the gnar faster than you. We have all heard it. Well, more recently the familiar brands like RockShox, FOX, Manitou and Marzocchi have started seeing competition from less familiar names like X-Fusion, SR Suntour and DVO. And having heard excellent things from my friends that were already on X-Fusion products, I jumped at the chance to nerd out over the newest offering in Read More »

Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member AceHouston
2058 AceHouston https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2058/avatar/c50_73933_10100336831359119_2949514_n_1372187932.jpg?1372187380 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/all 02/25/10 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/setup 20 5 6

2014 Niner ROS 9 with X01

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Niner ROS 9”

C138_ros9_4starxo1

Reviewed by Brandon Turman and Evan Turpen // Photos by Lear Miller Billed as a hardtail for riders that don’t like hardtails, Niner's new ROS 9 brings the simplest form of mountain biking up to speed in a glorious, in your face, 4130 Cro-Mo fashion. Niner isn’t shy about what the bike was intended for, and when questioned about the ROS name you’re likely to hear “RIDE OVER SH*T!” It’s a fitting name, too, because that’s exactly what us bunch of hooligans did during our 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions in Sedona, Arizona. Buried deep in a garage filled with 25 of the latest and greatest $8,000+ carbon dual suspension rigs, the Read More »

Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1116 96 6155 939 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 280 1361 2353 169 41

Kore Torsion Stem

Featured Member Review

“Solid direct mount stem”

C138_torsion_boxxer_black_stem_front

The Good:

great bang for the buck

The Bad:

no adjustability in length or rise

Overall Review:

Kore stems may not have the exotic looks or fancy name brand that will get kids drooling over it in the parking lot. The design of their Torsion Direct Mount stem is simple and the quality is apparent when you handle it and bolt it onto the upper crown of your fork.A good stem does its job dutifully and without a lot ofattention. You could easily pay twice as much for another stem that does the same job. Some direct mount stems allow for multiple lengths or the ability to flip flop for different rise options. Kore's torsion direct mount stem offers noadjustabilityand so you want to make sure that the length and rise are what you Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 1 15 90 48

Loaded Precision Napalm Carbon Stem

“Perfect Race Stem”

C138_ewb_524b50f23c362_napalm_stem

The Good:

Legit! This is such a light weight stem its ridiculous! It's strong at I think about 90 grams. I like the length of it. Mine is 110mm but they offer 90, 100, and 120 as well. Also loaded backs it up with lifetime warranty

The Bad:

I love carbon so nothing bothers me!!!

Overall Review: <p>If your goal is to lighten up your bike, this is the stem to go with! It's been on my race bike along with their other carbon products. For carbon, I think it's priced fairly as well. With a lifetime warranty, nothing to fear. This stem is worth every penny! </p>