Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Race Face Respond DH/AM Stem

“Great Stiff Stem”

C138_45108

The Good:

Have had this on my dirt jump bike for 2 years. It's been great. Stiff and solid. Never have to mess with it. I have the white version and it has a durable finish. Black is probably even better. Nice looking stem too. Never worry about, it just works.

The Bad:

Maybe a few more length options. nit-picking here, Can't think of a bad thing.

Overall Review: <p>Great stem and would not hesitate to recommend it. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

DT Swiss Competition Spokes

“Nice Spokes”

C138_sn308a01

The Good:

Have had them for several years in 2 different wheel sets and have had no problems at all and they have seen a lot of use and some jumps and drops and rough terrain. mine have always been built with brass nipples. I had a third wheel set with straight gauge spokes and I had a bad case and broke several spokes. These seem much tougher.

The Bad:

Nothing i can think.

Overall Review: <p>Nice strong spokes i will continue to use and when I get new wheels I will use these spokes again. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Avid BB5 Disc Brake

“Average Brakes”

C138_205a3756_750a_4e2c_9b41_783177fa3eb2

The Good:

Easy to set up. Once dialed in they work nicely. Lever feels pretty good. Rotor seems fairly strong.

The Bad:

Mine would be all set up and work good but it only last a month or so and then they felt terrible. lever pulled to bar and no stopping power. After I would re-set them up they would be good again but only for a short while. Tired new pads but no difference. Might have been cable constantly stretching and maybe should have tried a new cable but ended up just getting something else.

Overall Review: <p>OK basic brake for light use. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

2013 Scott Scale 930 Bike

“Scott Scale 930 = FAST!”

C138_bike_scott_scale_930

The Good:

This bike climbs like a billy goat! It is incredibly responsive.

The Bad:

The Rocket Ron tires are very light, but tend to wash out easily in off-camber turns. They are fine for the back, but replace the front asap or your face will hurt. The handlebars could also be lighter.

Overall Review: <p>I LOVE this bike. After dealing with the annoying maintenance issues of Specialized's Brain shock, I was ready for a hard tail. I love how simple it is - you just go outside and ride...that's it...as it should be. Back to the joys of riding like you are a 10-year-old. Basically, if you aren't riding down mountains all day and can shell out the cash, pick one of these up - it will be worth it. And if you have trouble climbing hills like me, be prepared to be shocked how easy climbs become. </p>

2014 Diamondback Mason FS Pro 29

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Diamondback Mason FS Pro”

C138_2014_diamondback_mason_fs_pro_29_bike

Reviewed by Jess Pedersen and John Hauer // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller Inspired by the aggressive Mason 29er hardtail, Diamondback's 140mm Mason FS entry into the mid to long-travel full suspension 29er trail bike market serves up a rowdy looking package. Curious to see how recent improvements to the suspension and frame design played out, we pointed the Mason FS up and down some of the rowdiest trails in Sedona, Arizona during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Mason FS Pro Highlights 6061-T6 weapons grade aluminum frame 29-inch wheels 5.5-inches (140mm) of rear wheel travel Knuckle Box suspension Tapered Read More »

Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1116 96 6155 939 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 280 1361 2353 169 41

Guerrilla Gravity Megatrail - 2014 Frame

Vital Review

“First Ride: Guerilla Gravity MEGATRAIL”

C138_2014_guerrilla_gravity_megatrail_frame

by Dave Trumpore We recently had a chance to visit the folks at Guerrilla Gravity in Denver, Colorado for a tour of the shop and to take a look at their newest trail bike project, the Megatrail. In a day and age where most manufacturing, welding, and assembly happens far overseas, it was quite refreshing to see the inner workings of a more homegrown operation right here in our backyard. Guerrilla Gravity truly keeps it local by doing all of the work in house. The only exception being the CNC bits that are contracted out, but even those are produced just down the road. While I toured the shop, Matt Giaraffa, 1/3 Read More »

Rate review: +14 Up Down
Vital MTB member davetrumpore
1982 davetrumpore https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1982/avatar/c50_89971110_1266365822.jpg?1290155202 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/davetrumpore,1982/all 02/16/10 5 7 710 1 1 9 2 92 7

Intense Tire Systems MK2 Microknobby Tire

“Fast Rolling Tire”

C138_89372090_1266961519

The Good:

They are fast and grip great on pavement, concrete, dry hard dirt and wood. I run them at Rays indoor park and have no trouble.

The Bad:

Only small issue is stopping. Sometimes on smooth surfaces the brake will lock up the wheel but you'll still slide along a little ways since the overall tire is so smooth.

Overall Review: <p>A cheap, nice fast tire for it's intended purpose. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Spank Subrosa AM/FR Saddle

“Spank Seat”

C138_92717930_1289427512

The Good:

Have been running it for about 3 years on a dirt jump bike. Comfortable to sit on but can't say how it would be on a long AM ride. It still looks almost new and i have the white version. Has survived some crashes at Rays indoor park without any issues.

The Bad:

Only thing I can think of is rails are painted and are a little chipped around seat clamp. Very minor cosmetic issue only.

Overall Review: <p>Strong solid seat. I would recommend it to a friend. </p>
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

2013 GT Ruckus Dj Zero Bike

Featured Member Review

“Great bike with a lot of pop.”

C138_bike_gt_ruckus_dj_zero

The Good:

Smooth ride, relatively light, pops off jumps nicely, GT brand components are surprisingly nice.

The Bad:

At this price point, the fork is pretty decent, but on tall jumps that are short front-to-back, it could benefit from being a bit stiffer. Very nice for longer, flowy jumps though. The seat is horrible.

Overall Review:

I ride at Ray's MTB Cleveland every week or so and have rented the Trek Ticket for the past 2 years. I loved the way the Ticket rode, but could not quite stomach the price of it so I compared its geometry to virtually every bike I could think of (crazy-looking spreadsheet)! I found that the GT Ruckus DJ Zero had as close of a geometry as I could get at a reasonable price and went for it, although I was a bit nervous about the potential weight. The bike turned out far better than I could have ever expected! It arrived weighing 28.9 lbs. I dropped a little weight by switching the seat/seatpost (fixed seat/seatpost was Read More »

Easton Haven 27.5 Wheels

Vital Review

“Tested: Easton Haven 27.5 Wheels”

C138_easton_haven_27

by Ian Collins A few years back when Easton dove into the proprietary wheelset market they came in pretty strong. With a carbon rim boasting a lifetime warranty, and a sleek, sexy overall package at competitive prices they definitely barged into the game and made a name for themselves straight away. There were a few small hiccups initially such as bearing play in early hub iterations as well as some isolated incidents with hub shells stripping out where the rotor attaches. Easton addressed the issues diplomatically and have moved towards a foolproof system that now appears to be free of any glaring flaws. A couple of Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ian Collins
140 Ian Collins https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/140/avatar/c50_92535430_1249143201.jpg?1290150211 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/all 08/01/09 6 154 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/setup 2 6 149 14 2