Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Smith Forefront Helmet

Featured Member Review

“Looking for a light, vented, and comfortable helmet? Look no more!”

C138_smith_forefront_helmet_neon_orange

The Good:

Light, very vented, good grip on the head, crazy colors, very adjustable

The Bad:

Very expensive

Overall Review:

I've had the Smith Forefront Helmet for a week (after a lot time of waiting), and after four rides in hot weather here are my impressions. You can really feel the air coming in and out of the helmet shell and you hardly feel the helmet on top of your head. I was previously riding the Specialized S-works MTB helmet for 2 years and was looking for a new lid to give me the same ventilation capabilities but with more protection. I bought the Troy Lee A1 helmet, which was comfy as hell but had poor ventilation, so for me in hot weather the sweat was oozing out on my eyes and sunglass and that was disturbing while riding. Read More »

Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sparky.lab
19565 Sparky.lab https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19565/avatar/c50_737979_10151641016479951_747204901_o.jpg?1359476804 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/all 11/04/12 2 1 4 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/setup 20 4 1

iXS Trail RS Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: IXS Trail RS Helmet”

C138_ixs_trail_rs_helmet_blue

Review by Jessee Maule // Photos by Colt Maule Speed on two wheels: That has been iXS's core business right from the start, providing functional sportswear and protection created from high-tech materials that you can rely on. The Trail RS Helmet is a contemporary trail helmet which attempts to provide the perfect blend of style and quality in a design that covers a large part of the head. The Trail RS boasts ‘Dual-compound head ring for highest comfort and optimized fit, a dual-inmould, lower 360 degree inmould shell to prevent front damage, Y-clip adjustable strap system, ratchet safety closure, crash release visor, Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member projekt roam
3232 projekt roam https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/3232/avatar/c50_colt_berm_bend_2_bw_s.jpg?1332358737 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/projekt-roam,3232/all 06/28/10 3 8 236 21 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/projekt-roam,3232/setup 1 5 5

Loaded Precision AmX Flat Handlebar

“Love it! Great bar”

C138_ewb_4e8cef0a48a2d_product_front_screens

The Good:

colors, affordable, strong, really wide!

The Bad:

Nothing, definitely a great bar

Overall Review: <p>These are some great bars! They've held up for a while. I just bought my second pair since I just bought a blue frame and wanted to match. I really love the Loaded product that I'm running on my downhill bike. I like the color options that they have and the logo looks pretty sweet. I actually put these on my slopstyle bike as well since I prefer the flat bars over their riser bars. Just my preference. But overall I think it's a good bar </p>

FSA Step-Up Crank With Bottom Bracket Oe

“Heavy, Heavy, and Heavy!”

C138_cr264a02

The Good:

they pedal

The Bad:

heavy, cheaper alloy construction, limited ability to modify

Overall Review:

These cranks came as OEM on my bike, as it seems they do on many other mid-level bikes. I have ridden them for two yours with no major problems, but also haven't fallen in love with them. The crank arms are really thick which puts on the very heavy side for a double ring and bashguard. I have also had very limited luck with changing these in anyway from how they came. While I understand that the cheaper the product, the less you can do with it, I can't even find a good way to remove the bashguard to lose a little weight. I've looked around and can't even find a shim or spacer from FSA that allow for Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

WTB Pure V Race Saddle

Featured Member Review

“Comfortable and Lite - Poor Construction”

C138_sa403a61chr

The Good:

Comfortable and lite

The Bad:

tears easily

Overall Review:

Have ridden on WTB seats for 10+ years and have always loved them. Picked this seat up on sale and to replace an old seat that getting uncomfortable. When I got it I was happy with the construction, comfort, and weight. On rides it feels good and when you are in the saddle it soft enough to not hurt, substantial enough you don't feel like you'll fall off, but thin enough in the right places that it doesn't rub and you are able to slide around on it when you need too. The big problem has been the poor construction. The model I have came the "diamond" corners on the rear that are supposed to be tear/rip proof; this isn't Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Hayes Stroker Ryde Disc Brake

“Cheap Price and Cheap Quality”

C138_br270c01blk_fr

The Good:

Inexpensive

The Bad:

Low quality, no power, cheap alloy construction, wiggly handles

Overall Review:

Came as OEM and were one of the first items to go. These brakes have no modulation and the only way to get any feelings is to pull them to the bars. And since the handles have a really wobbly, wiggly feel I felt like I was always going to break them. Since they were OEM I thought that maybe there was a bit of air in the lines and that was causing the modulation/power issues so I bleed them. Bleeding did little to nothing at all. Another problem I ran into was the cheap alloy handlebar clamp bolt. The head of the blow is extremely thin and takes absolutely nothing to strip. When trying to make a Read More »

Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

RockShox Domain 302 Fork

“Not the Worst. But Definitely Not the Best.”

C138_41012

The Good:

Thru-axle, rebound adjustment, travel adjustment, 35mm sanctions, smooth travel down

The Bad:

bouncy, no compression adjustment, bottoms out in lowest height setting

Overall Review:

This came as the OEM on bike and I haven't the money to purchase a new fork. I don't hate this work, but I definitely don't love it or would buy it as an aftermarket choice. The overall looks and feel are good, minus the very bland chrome sanctions. Fork travel is smooth when compressing, but bouncy on the rebound. I made adjustments to both the travel and rebound, great to have those available, but haven't found a sweet spot that really works well for me. This fork is also very bouncy while pedaling, both on flatter ground and when going up hill. I try not to do to much pedaling up hill, but when I do have to Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Race Face Respond Handlebar

Featured Member Review

“Great Bar, Great Price from Iconic Brand”

C138_2011_hbr_rsd_rs

The Good:

Wide, lite, strong, very little flex (if any), clean graphics, rise options

The Bad:

more color options would be great

Overall Review:

Love this bar! Was looking for something with a low rise and a bigger width, but didn't have the money to drop on the more expensive Atlas or Turbine models. When I got the bar I was a tad skeptical if it would live up the Race Face name for the low price; I am not skeptical anymore. The width is great; not crazy wide, but not XC skinny and the low rise is a perfect feel and position. The width opens up the cockpit a bit and feels great for turns. The added width gives some good added leverage to get up and over things. The bars are strong and lite and I have never felt any flex in them whatsoever. I wouldn't Read More »

Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

ODI Rogue Lock-On Grip

“Too BIG a Grip!”

C138_odi_mtb_rogue_lo_d30rgb_b_02_web_green_black

The Good:

Grippy, wear well

The Bad:

Too thick and very hard compound, very little feeling, cause hand, arm fatigue, scary small lock-on bolts, spinning on bar

Overall Review: <p>Rode with the Rouges for two years and was always happy until I switched. Found after switching that these grips were too much. The grip compound is hard and thick which translates to very little feeling while riding. The thickness and hardness, I found after changing, actually made me grip the bars harder which caused more hand and arm fatigue while riding. Also found that, that extra grip caused these to loosen up the lock rings and start to spin overtime. I always tightened down to suggested torque, but still has issues and always was a little concerned about over tightening the small bolts ODI uses on the lock rings. I ended up changing to ODI Ruffians and would not go back to these again. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

DEITY Enoki Grips

Featured Member Review

“Best Grips Ever”

C138_deity_enoki_grips

The Good:

Mushroom style supper grippy, comfortable, lock-rings hold strong, included bar end caps

The Bad:

flanges can get in way of shifters

Overall Review: <p>Like many have always run with ODI, but I thought I would give the Deitys a shot. Was totally worth it! Mushroom grip is great. Never feel like I am going to lose grip and are just as comfortable on a short and long ride. Lock-rings are strong and use a larger bolt compared to ODI, so don't worry about stripping them. Love that Deity includes the bar end caps, like that the just fill in bar hole instead of cover over the entire bar end; lock-ring and all. And you can't beat the price! $20 is inexpensive and replacements grips are even cheaper! Love these and will be staying with Deity for the long haul. </p>
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 https://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 https://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33