Accessibility Widget: On | Off

Red Bull Pumptrack World Championship Announced 2

Get your pump on! Winners of qualifier rounds get an all-expenses-paid trip to the World Championship.

Red Bull Pumptrack World Championship Announced

A new-for-2018 global series has been launched to crown a Pumptrack World Champion. In partnership with Velosolutions, the Red Bull Pumptrack World Championship will culminate in the season finale in Lenzerheide, Switzerland in September.

Here’s all you need to know about the high-octane new championship:

  • The qualifiers begin in Rosendaal in the Netherlands on the weekend of March 10-11.
  • A total of 23 qualifying rounds have been scheduled on the provisional calendar from March to August with the UCI Championship then ensuing on September 7.
  • Claudio Caluori, one of the brains behind the project, describes the series as something to “give riders from around the world the chance to be a World Champion and make their country proud.”
  • Pumptracks are already all over the world and combine rolling jumps with banked turns, riders using the track features to gain momentum and attack the track as fast as possible.
  • Racing will either take place in a head-to-head battle or a time trial, the format varying depend on the track.
  • Each qualifier begins with a seeding run from which the top 32 men and women will progress to the knockout heats.
  • The top four men and women from each round will advance to the aforementioned World Championship, and each winner will get an all-expenses-paid trip to said championship.


Provisional Calendar

  • March 10/11 - Rosendaal, The Netherlands
  • March 31 - Kerobokan, Bali
  • April 7 - Manila, The Philippines
  • April 7 - Wellington, New Zealand
  • April 21 - Hyderabad, India
  • April 28 - Durban, South Africa
  • April 28 - Kotaix, Puerto Varras, Chile
  • May 1 - Roma, Lesotho
  • May 5 - Neunkirchen, Austria
  • May 19 - Oklahoma City, USA
  • May 19 - Riga, Latvia
  • May 26/27 - Leavenworth, USA
  • June 10 - Pärnu, Estonia
  • June 23 - Aranyaphrathet, Thailand
  • June 30 - Carpentras, France
  • June 30 - Glasgow, Scotland
  • July 7/8 - Brugg, Switzerland
  • July 14 - Gross-Umstadt, Germany tbc Wals, Austria
  • August 4 - Nanaimo, Canada
  • August 5 - Akaigawa, Japan
  • August 19 - Balzers, Liechtenstein
  • August 25/26 - Siror, Italy
  • September 7 - Lenzerheide, Switzerland (Final)

Visit for entry and event details.


Create New Tag
Show More Comment(s) / Leave a Comment