Accessibility Widget: On | Off

British Cycling has today announced the team selected to represent GB in the Downhill, Four-Cross and Trials disciplines at the 2011 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships, taking place in Champéry, Switzerland from 31 August – 4 September 2011. The riders representing GB in the Cross Country and Relay events were announced last month.

Current World Champion Tracy Moseley will be looking to defend her title in the Downhill event and has also been selected for the Relay, an event which scores Olympic qualifying points for GB. Steve Peat (2010 World Champion) and Gee Atherton (World Cup Series Champion 2010) will both be looking to put in strong performances in the elite men’s category. Junior rider Manon Carpenter is currently leading the Junior World Cup series, whilst both the junior men riders have had a fantastic World Cup season and they are all looking on good form ahead of the World Championships.

Fionn Griffiths will represent GB in the Four Cross having had a podium performance this year. In the Trials James Hyland has bounced back from an ankle injury to make his mark on the British scene.

GB Performance Manager Shane Sutton said: “We have a massive pool of mountain bike talent in Great Britain and this is reflected in the size of the squad we have selected for the World Championships. The Downhill guys perform consistently well year-on-year and it’s exciting to see the young talent, like Danny Hart, up there on the Podium alongside the best elite riders in the World.

“From an Olympic perspective, I believe we’re gaining momentum as we approach 2012 and we’ve seen some promising performances from all the riders. Annie Last in particular has done the country proud by riding up an age category this year in the World Cup series and recently winning the silver medal at the U23 Euros. For the World Championships, she must ride within her U23 category and it would be great to see her back on the World Champs podium like she was last year.”

Elite Men
Gee Atherton
Marc Beaumont
Josh Bryceland
Ruaridh Cunningham
Brendan Fairclough
Danny Hart
Steve Peat

Elite Women
Rachel Atherton
Fionn Griffiths
Tracy Moseley

Junior Men
Lewis Buchanan
Mark Scott

Junior Women
Manon Carpenter

Elite Men
Scott Beaumont
Will Evans
Scott Roberts

Elite Women
Fionn Griffiths
Create New Tag
Show More Comment(s) / Leave a Comment