Accessibility Widget: On | Off

Albstadt, Germany, 3 May 2022 – For almost a decade now, the idyllic city of Albstadt has been a regular host of Mercedes-Benz UCI Mountain Bike World Cup. This weekend, the southern German city will mark the second stop on the Cross-Country calendar, following the season kick-off in Petrópolis, Brazil. 

Live finals schedule on Red Bull TV:


The Women's Elite final takes place on Friday, 8 April, at 7:30 pm (GMT)

The Men's Elite final takes place on Friday, 8 April, at 8:15pm (GMT)


The Women's Elite final takes place on Sunday, 10 April, at 2:20 pm (GMT)

The Men's Elite final takes place on Sunday, 10 April, at 5:35 pm (GMT)

Looking at the Elite Men’s competition, the names of two long-time rivals appear more than once on the list of winners in Albstadt. Three-time winner Nino Schurter (SUI) and retired two-time winner Julien Absalon (FRA), who Nino recently tied for the most single World Cup wins of now 32 each. With Absalon no longer racing, this gives Schurter the possibility to crown himself as the single record holder in Albstadt this weekend.

“I’m feeling good and am optimistic about Altstadt. Despite that, I’ve had my fair share of experiences there. Won there a few times, but lost by a hair last season. I’m sure it will be an intense battle for the top spot of the podium and I hope to be able to put in my bid for that. We will see.” – Nino Schurter 

With different winners almost each year among the Elite Women, the Cross-Country course in Albstadt has seen legends of the sport like Pauline Ferrand-Prévot (FRA), Kate Courtney (USA) or two time winner Jolanda Neff (SUI) take the crown. This year they are all back and hungry for another victory. However, their competition is strong, featuring young podium threats like last year’s Albstadt winner Loana Lecomte (FRA), who also won the Overall World Cup in 2021, as well as Austrian Laura Stigger and newcomer Mona Mitterwallner, who finished third, fourth and fifth in Petrópolis. Australian Rebecca McConnell, who won her first World Cup ever in the Brazilian jungle, will also be looking to follow up her incredible performance with another winning effort.  

Kate Courtney, former XCO Overall World Cup winner who has competed in every single World Cup race in Albstadt, winning there in 2019, said: “Albstadt is a very special place for me. I got my first World Cup Podium in Europe as a Junior there in 2013. Six years later, on the very same course, I won the first Elite World Cup for the US in 19 years. Beyond my personal experiences, I think this event is special because it has been on the calendar for so long. When we return to places year after year, the riders become familiar with the place and look forward to returning. Similarly, the local fans begin to look forward to it year after year. I think the women’s field is at an incredibly high level at the moment and I expect it to be a very competitive race. It’s pretty awesome to see so many different riders capable of racing at the front and I look forward to giving my absolute all to be back in the battle.”

Looking to Short Track, it has has grown exponentially in significance. Previously used as a seeding run for the Olympic distance, the sprint discipline has now become its own World Cup race as well, with its own ranking and an Overall Champion crowned at the end of the season. The new structure offers a completely different World Cup approach for short distance experts. How and if this will stir up the Cross-Country competition remains uncertain for now. 

Watch the entire 2022 Mercedes-Benz UCI Mountain Bike World Cup season live and for free on Red Bull TV and follow us on and for even more  action.

Current Mercedes-Benz UCI Mountain Bike World Cup Overall Standings:


Women's UCI Cross-Country MTB World Cup:

1.   Rebecca McConnell | AUS | 290 points

2.   Anne Terpstra | NED | 227 points

3.    Laura Stigger |AUT | 215 points

4.    Loana Lecomte | FRA | 198 points

5.    Mona Mitterwallner | AUT | 177 points

Men's UCI Cross-Country MTB World Cup:

1.    Nino Schurter | SUI | 288 points

2.    Maxime Marotte | FRA | 250 points

3.    Alan Hatherly | RSA | 180 points

4.    Sebastian Fini | DEN | 175 points

5.    Thomas Litscher | SUI | 175 points


Women's UCI Cross-Country Short Track MTB World Cup:

1.    Pauline Ferrand-Prévot | FRA | 250 points

2.    Laura Stigger | AUT | 200 points

3.    Evie Richards | GBR | 160 points

4.    Rebecca McConnell | AUS | 150 points

5.    Loana Lecomte | FRA | 140 points


Men's UCI Cross-Country Short Track MTB World Cup:

1.    Alan Hatherly | RSA | 250 points

2.    Thomas Litscher | SUI | 200 points

3.    Maxime Marotte | FRA | 160 points

4.    Henrique Avancini | BRA | 150 points

5.    Nino Schurter | SUI | 140 points

Create New Tag

rasoulution rasoulution 5/3/2022 6:57 AM

0 comments newest first

Show More Comment(s)