Accessibility Widget: On | Off
First UCI World Champions for E-Mountain Bike To Be Crowned in Mont-Saint-Anne

The first ever UCI World Champions for E-Mountain Bike (E-MTB) will be crowned this year during the 2019 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships presented by Mercedes Benz.

The E-MTB races will take place on August 28th, the opening day of competition in Mont-Saint-Anne, Canada. They will be raced after the Cross-country Team Relay which traditionally opens the UCI’s leading mountain bike event of the year.

The Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) announced last year that E-MTB had been integrated into the UCI Regulations. The new format joins the Worlds programme for the first time this year alongside cross-country Olympic (XCO) and downhill (DHI).

Julien Absalon (FRA), five-time XCO UCI World Champion and double XCO Olympic Champion

For its first year as part of the UCI World Championships, E-MTB will have two races on the programme: Men Elite and Women Elite. The races are open to athletes aged 19 and over who are registered with, and selected by, their National Federation.

In Mont-Saint-Anne the riders will tackle a 7.3km cross-country course for a duration of 1h30 to 2h.

Under the UCI Regulations, an E-MTB is a bike operated by two energy sources: human pedal power and an electric engine. The engine must only provide assistance while the rider is pedaling, except for start-up assistance when a speed not exceeding 6km/h is permitted.

The bike’s engine must produce a maximum of 250 watts, providing assistance of no more than 25km/h. Additional batteries may not be carried during competition.

As in XCO races, riders may receive assistance in the dedicated feed/technical assistance zone on the course. However, bike and battery changes are not permitted.

Men and women on the E-MTB podium will receive identical prize money and a UCI jersey especially designed for E-MTB, which will be revealed at a later date by the UCI.

The 2019 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships presented by Mercedes-Benz will take place from August 28 to September 1. After the cross-country team relay and E-MTB on the opening day, racing will continue with individual XCO and DHI racing. A total of 13 world titles will be awarded over the five days of racing.

For more information and the full race programme, head over to


Create New Tag
Show More Comment(s) / Leave a Comment