Press Release

Press Release: Canada Announces UCI World Championship Team 0

2011 UCI Mountain Bike and Trials World Championships held in Champéry, Switzerland

The Canadian Cycling Association is pleased to announce the roster selected to compete for Canada in the downhill and four-cross races at the 2011 UCI Mountain Bike and Trial World Championships in Champéry, Switzerland from August 31-September 4, 2011.

Amongst the group of talented riders, we find Lauren Rosser of Squamish, British Columbia, who will be defending her World title in the women’s junior downhill race. Last season, on home soil in Mont-Sainte-Anne, Rosser surprised everyone – including herself- as she sped down the course to post the fastest time for the World Championships title. This season, Rosser won the Canada Cup title in the women’s Elite category, with two victories on the tour.

In the men’s elite race, we find Steve Smith, silver medallist at the 2010 World Championships and World Cup medallist this season on the UCI World Cup tour. The defending Canadian Champion Andrew Mitchell will join Olympic ski-cross rider Chris Del Bosco who will be racing at his first MTB World Championships for Canada.

Rob Fraser, the 2011 Canada Cup Champion in downhill, Yann Gauvin and Dean Tennant will round out the Elite Men's group. Fraser won the Canada Cup by a mere five points in the very last race of the season in Panorama Mountain Village.

On the women’s front, Claire Buchar, the defending Canadian Champion, will be joined by Micayla Gatto, Canada’s top ranked rider on the UCI World Cup tour and Miranda Millar amongst others.


Elite Men
Steve Smith (Cassidy, BC)

Andrew Mitchell (Victoria, BC)

Chris Del Bosco (Montreal, QC)

Rob Fraser (Pickering, ON)

Yann Gauvin (Québec, QC)

Dean Tennant (Sidney, BC)

Elite Women

Micayla Gatto (Garibaldi Heights, BC)

Claire Buchar (Whistler, BC)

Miranda Miller (Squamish, BC)

Casey Brown (Revelstoke, QC)

Danice Uyseugi (North Vancouver, BC)

Anne Laplante (Gatineau, QC)

Katarine Short (Halfmoon Bay, BC)

Junior Men

Kyle Sangers (Kingston, ON)

Riley Suhan (Golden, BC)

Luke Stevens (Calgary, AB )

Jorden Hodder (St. Johns, NL)

Junior Women

Lauren Rosser (Squamish, BC)

Kelsey Begg (Langley, BC)

Four Cross (4X)

Elite Men

Harold Woolnough

Matt Zdriulk

Kye Walstrom (Vancouver, BC)

Elite Women

Anne Laplante (Gatineau, QC)

The Latest


The Latest