British World Champs DH Team Announced 4

With such a deep talent pool coming out of the UK, it's no surprise to see some bigger names missing from this World Champs roster.

British Cycling just announced their World Champs DH roster and some heavy-weight names are missing from the list. Considering how deep the talent field is coming out of the UK, it's no surprise that difficult choices had to be made. Notably missing is Gee Atherton, who is currently ranked higher in the World Cup DH overall standings (22nd) than Matt Walker (23rd), Mike Jones (30th) or Phil Atwill (32nd). Brendan Fairclough (29th), also not on the list, just trumps Mike and Phil in the overall ranking, too. Phil has had strong upward trajectory the last two World Cup DH races (14th at VDS and 18th at Andorra) and earned a podium finish in Lenzerheide last year, sight of this year's World Champs. Matt Walker has had two Top 10 results in 2018 and missed points at Croatia due to injury. Mike Jones had a very strong showing finishing 8th in Leogang. Bernard Kerr, not on the Worlds team and 31st in the overall, sits in between Mike and Phil in the rankings, but missed Croatia and received no points for that race.

2018 British World Champs DH Team

Elite Men

  • Phil Atwill
  • Adam Brayton
  • Laurie Greenland
  • Danny Hart
  • Mike Jones
  • Matt Walker
  • Reece Wilson

Elite Women

  • Rachel Atherton
  • Katy Curd
  • Tahnee Seagrave

Junior Men

  • Luke Birkett
  • Jamie Edmonson
  • Kade Edwards
  • Henry Kerr
  • George Kerr
  • Riley Scott
  • Morgan Tyrell

Junior Women

  • Maya Atkinson
  • Rosy Monaghan

Full article on


View replies to: British World Champs DH Team Announced


The Latest