Accessibility Widget: On | Off

What's Your Opinion on Downhill in the Olympics?

Create New Tag

1/15/2016 1:46 PM

Photo

When we did the Forum Hot Seat w/ Stik a few weeks ago, this topic came up. I used to think DH in the olympics would be the end-all, be-all of DH having "made it." now i'm not so sure. i think i can see the pros and cons, but my gut says no. stik didn't think it was a good thing, others think it would be great. the XC course for the 2016 games in Rio is already having issues.

what are your thoughts on DH being in the olympics? good? bad? who cares?

|

1/15/2016 2:28 PM

I say good thing. XC racing generally suits a dirt roadie, Andorra and a select few riders being the exception to this. I don't think this is the way that "mountain biking" as a whole should be presented to the world. I started riding because I saw a freeride video on youtube and thought "That's awesome" I certainly didn't watch people that looked like roadies on superlight bikes pedal for an hour, that doesn't look fun. As long as the courses could be made gnarly enough this could help inspire more people to view the most extreme side of our extreme sport and then ride trail at the weekend. To me that's not a bad thing

|

1/15/2016 3:17 PM

Bad thing. DH must not become a commercialized sport, I don't care how many people start riding because of bringing the sport closer to them... When a sport goes big it changes, big companies putting money trough it, people that don't really know it start watching... Right now it's mostly riders watching other riders. The general attitude of many people who don't really participate in a sport that they watch is "my team has to win because 'xyz whatever', all the others can go f##k themselves". I don't feel this attitude in MTB in general and would like it to stay that way. It's a sport that's not for everyone but it's ok that way.

|

1/15/2016 3:24 PM
Edited Date/Time: 1/15/2016 3:27 PM