MTB Shoes

sinjinl
Edited Date/Time 8/18/2014 2:43am
Hey everyone, I am just getting into mountain biking and have a question. I was wondering if the Fly mountain bike shoes are any good. I want a good pair of mountain bike shoes but don't want to spend an arm and a leg. Any opinions would help, thank you.

|
7/3/2014 12:14pm
Are you referring to the Talon RS/Talon II? I don't have direct experience, but appear to be around the same quality as similar priced XC shoes. If you plan to ride XC, then give them a go, and report back in 6 months. If you plan to DH, I would recommend something with a more secure toe box.

Mr. P
7/3/2014 12:20pm Edited Date/Time 7/3/2014 12:37pm
One feature that is key for me, is a softer rubber on the cleats. That rubber needs to grip bare rock. Some shoes have a hard plastic that makes bare rock slip like ice - and it will change your decision to try technical bits if you can't count on your shoe sticking.

Shimano has the rubber on the cleats. A few others do as well. Those Talons above look to have plastic cleats.
Here is what the rubberized cleats look like:
http://www.racycles.com/assets/productimages/large/Shimano_SH_M162_Sole…

Try on in a shop - and buy at that shop. Don't try to buy shoes online. I've done it and came up short.

P
7/3/2014 12:23pm
Just for the same of comparison, the SH-XC50N from Shimano is almost identical but retails for a couple bucks more. Unless we happen across someone who has owned both (or similar), you'll have to take a chance.

7/3/2014 12:28pm
Mr. P wrote:
One feature that is key for me, is a softer rubber on the cleats. That rubber needs to grip bare rock. Some shoes have a hard...
One feature that is key for me, is a softer rubber on the cleats. That rubber needs to grip bare rock. Some shoes have a hard plastic that makes bare rock slip like ice - and it will change your decision to try technical bits if you can't count on your shoe sticking.