Helmet suggestions

Spade
Edited Date/Time 8/14/2014 3:11am
I’m a design intern at Pro-Tec looking for suggestions on how protective gear (helmets/pads) can be improved.

I'd appreciate it if you could leave some quick comments on your gear- or anything you want to see in future gear.

1 Do you own / wear protective gear (Helmet/ pads/ protectors)
2 What brand/ model?
3 Why did you choose it?
4 What do you like about it?
5 What problems have you noticed about it?
6 Have you injured yourself with or without the gear, what did you injure?

What comes to mind when you hear Pro-Tec? Anything you associate the brand with?

Thanks for your help.

|
1/25/2010 7:52pm
Hey, please let me know if they are looking for any other interns. I am an industrial design student looking for a job just like this. I am currently living right outside of LA.

1. YES
2. Troy Lee, Pro-Tec, Fox
3. price, quality, looks, fit, protection
4. i love the looks of the D2, the pro tec classic helmet is cheap and fits low like i like it, the fox leg guards are really protective and last a long time
5. the fox pads stink like hell and rub near the ankle, the pro tec helmet top pad came out, the troy lee d2 is expensive and the strap hardens and is impossible to loosen
6. scraped knees and elbows, minor concussions

when i hear pro-tec i think old school...my first bmx helmet was a pro tec in 1988. they make a quality product that stands the test of time.
Simcik
1/26/2010 9:51am
1 Yes
2 TLD, Pro-Tec, TSG
3 Fit, price, appearence, weight
4 Fit, appearence, protection, weight, certifications (I typically ride in a Moto helmet)
5 I will agree with Shawn, the TLD strap hardens, helmet pads and all pads hold too much moisture and smell
6 Cuts, broken elbow, concussion, compressed disc, broken heel (twice)

When I think of Pro-Tec I primarily think of half shell, skate and BMX helmets. I havent seen enough of the stuff on the shelves beyond that to check out.
gmark
1/26/2010 3:05pm
1 Yes