Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2013 Specialized P.3 Bike

“Ripper Bikes”

C138_91e9_32_p_3_blk_soder_claw

The Good:

Weight, Build, Looks, Ride

The Bad:

Price, Brand Premium

Overall Review: ***I only rode this bike for 2 days in the bike park, this is not a thorough review*** With that said, we got along great. I got the chance to ride the 2014 P3 at Winterberg Bike Park, in Germany for a weekend in October 2013, and i really liked it. I rode it on the pumptrack, dirt jumps, and on two of the jump trails, the Bell Freecross and the Continental track. Things I liked: -Handled great. I'm not 100% sure what it was, but even at (relatively) high speeds it was fairly stable, and the Specialized Slopestyle tyres it comes with a grippier than they look. I managed to scare myself a few times on the faster, higher speed Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ben.nolan.779
26092 ben.nolan.779 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26092/avatar/c50_fb_picture_742824772_1372704230.jpg?1372703365 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ben-nolan-779,26092/all 07/01/13 6 2

Answer ProTaper 780 DH Handlebar

“Answer Protaper DH,”

C138_99727920_1267162626

The Good:

Strong, well priced, nice and wide, comfortable hand position.

The Bad:

Lighter options available (but more expensive)

Overall Review: STATS. So, Answer have been around for a while, they make a bunch of Moto stuff, and their bike stuff isn't half bad either. The 780mm Protaper DH is, as the name suggests, their downhill/FR (does FR even exist anymore?) bar. It weighs in around 335gm, so its not super light, but it's not as heavy as some offerings either, and it's price is definitely competitive. The Protaper DH utilises a slightly flatter and straighter design (8 degree backsweep, 4 degree upsweep) compared to most bars (9 degree x 5 degree) and at 780mm wide are on the restrained side of the width war (some brands have made it out to 830mm). I'm Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ben.nolan.779
26092 ben.nolan.779 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26092/avatar/c50_fb_picture_742824772_1372704230.jpg?1372703365 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ben-nolan-779,26092/all 07/01/13 6 2

Shimano SLX M666 Disc Brake

Featured Review

“powerful, consistent brakes”

C138_br258c01

The Good:

Powerful, consistent, reliable, durable

The Bad:

routine maintenance is required for peak performance

Overall Review: I ran these brakes hard this season- bike park, dh shuttle laps, aggressive trails. What impressed me most was the consistent braking power even on the longest downhills.   The oversized ceramic pistons and ice tech brake pads keep the system fade free.  The lever design is comfortable for 1 finger braking.   I found the tool free reach adjustment very convenient.   Coming from Avid brakes, I had to get used to the power of the Shimano brakes.  The power comes on more quickly, requiring the rider to not drag their brakes.  SLX brakes require less pressure to engage thereby reducing hand fatigue.  In addition, I feel that I can brake later into corners which increases my speed. At $125 per brake, these are the best performing brakes on the market.  Get them.  You won't regret it.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 12 24

2012 Mongoose Boot'r Comp Bike

“PROS and CONS”

C138_m_12_bootc_wht_5

The Good:

comfortable ride, looks pretty good, smooth gear shifting, great tyres

The Bad:

the fork and rear suspension makes undesirable sounds, heavy, rear suspension rebound adjust feels dodgy when adjusting.

Overall Review: OVERALL, an OKAY bike, but if you had $2.5K buy another bike with less cons
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Eddy Zu
22923 Eddy Zu http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22923/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001398034314_1363771656.jpg?1363771587 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Eddy-Zu,22923/all 03/20/13 2 1

Formula RO Disc Brake

Vital Review

“Tested: Formula RO Disc Brakes”

C138_my13_ro_caliper_cap_side
by Noah Sears The RO brake from Formula promises monster power in a svelte package. Unlike its class competitors which use four pistons, the RO uses two large oval pistons. With half as many pistons, rather puny looking pads, and a complete weight of 360g (claimed, with 160mm rotor), surely, I thought, the RO was a dainty little trail brake masquerading as a big-hit brake? Boy was I wrong. Formula RO Disc Brake Highlights Polished and anodized finish Oval pistons 18% claimed increase in power over "The One" 160mm, 180mm, and 203mm rotor sizes Removable handlebar clamp Flip-flop master cylinder Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NoahColorado
128 NoahColorado http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/128/avatar/c50_88160290_1258334763.jpg?1290150194 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/all 08/01/09 1 3 364 29 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/setup 4 92 400 6

Bontrager G2 Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager G2 Team Issue Tires”

C138_bontrager_g2
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins When the Trek World Racing Team requested a fast, downhill specific tire for hardpack courses like Sea Otter, Bontrager answered with the G2 Team Issue tire. With an almost semi-slick profile, ramped center knobs and some meaty, somewhat familiar looking side knobs, Bontrager's aim was clearly a fast rolling tire that doesn't sacrifice cornering traction. Does it deliver? We snatched a set to find out. G2 Team Issue Tire Highlights 26x2.20-inches Fast rolling, low-knob gravity tire Designed to excel in hard pack conditions Dual-ply casing Low rolling resistance downhill compound Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 134 3 254 182 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 27 199 1 56 40

9point8 Pulse Stepper Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: 9point8 Pulse Stepper Seatpost”

C138_the_pulse_seatpost
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins With trail, all-mountain, and enduro riding progressing over the past couple of years, innovations like the dropper post have become a standard on an increasing number of bikes. With the demand high, dropper post manufactures have approached the problem of a bike designed for both climbing and descending in a number of ways. This makes your adjustable post choice a difficult one as there are quite a few viable options on the market. 9point8, a new company based in Ontario, might stir the pot a bit when the time comes to make that decision. We were intrigued when Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 134 3 254 182 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 27 199 1 56 40

FOX 36 Talas 180 R Fork

“2014 Fox Talas 180/140”

C138_fk259a13

The Good:

New Talas cartridge is amazing in both settings and throughout the stroke

The Bad:

Nothing yet. I suppose we'll see how often it needs service.

Overall Review: Ok, my experience with a Fox Talas was with a 34 100/120/140 so I'm not comparing apples to apples. This fork however is amazing!! In 140mm the shock performs amazing with a feel of eveness throughout, my old fork in the lower settings felt like a pogo stick, way too much compressed air or something?? This one though is the same in both setting with zero need to adjust. I love the ability to point down hill with 7.1" of travel, then turn around and climb with 5.5" of travel and have it perform just as well.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member digthemlows
20220 digthemlows /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/digthemlows,20220/all 12/04/12 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/digthemlows,20220/setup 1 2

Knolly Chilcotin Frame

“2012 Knolly Chilcotin in XL”

C138_knolly_chilcotin_frame_white

The Good:

Amazing All Around AM Frame with a DH bikes heart

The Bad:

Fireroads and general XC not as fun

Overall Review: Looks are about personal preference and I'll start by saying I think this frame looks as good or better than any other, but again, that's what I prefer. On to performance. I'll say that the reviews out there about technical climbing, and performs like a DH on the descent are spot on.......in fact, I'm no pro, I'm just a 6'7" 220lb 40 year old out to have as much fun on "one" bike as I can. The first time I rode this bike was on a local XC type loop that has some spots for technical climbing and decending and let me tell you, it was amazing how well the bike stays planted and in it's place. Climbing boulders, droping down rocky Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member digthemlows
20220 digthemlows /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/digthemlows,20220/all 12/04/12 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/digthemlows,20220/setup 1 2

Troy Lee Designs Ruckus Riding Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Troy Lee Designs Ruckus Shorts”

C138_ruckus_short_black
Review by Joe Schneider // Photos by Brandon Turman Troy Lee Designs dubs the Ruckus short the "jack of all trades," meaning they complement riders who dabble in everything. I'm one of those riders, and I've spent over seven months riding anything and everything in them. During that time the look has changed slightly, but these shorts deserve a chance in the spotlight. Ruckus Short Highlights Two-way stretch, lightweight, breathable 92% Polyester / 8% Spandex mix material Removable chamois liner Full waist and hip height adjustment via micro fiber waist adjusters High quality ribbed Spandex stretch panel Unique Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member SchneiderTrucking
22113 SchneiderTrucking http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22113/avatar/c50_Ska_Zia_Pic_2.5.jpg?1366689625 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SchneiderTrucking,22113/all 02/15/13 4 6