Latest Product Reviews

RSS

ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grip

“Comfortable and grippy”

C138_gr272a00

The Good:

Grippy and comfortable

The Bad:

Tad expensive

Overall Review: After a season of riding fairly thin grips I decided to switch over to something a bit thicker and try the ODI TLD grips. Although these aren’t too thick they seem to be a happy medium between thin and thick grips. These are now one of my favorite grips, they feel great and overall they are very comfortable. The little knobs on the grips feel comfy and provide great traction; this is even more evident when riding without gloves. I initially thought that the design on the grips didn’t have any purpose but now I see that the design and the little grooves in the grips are specifically designed to offer great comfort and grip. I’ve used them in dusty condition and also in the wet and in both environments they grip well and I have had no issues.  I would strongly recommend these grips.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_20160304_145242_1460152142.jpg?1460151668 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 66 49 1

RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork”

C138_fs_pike_2715_blk_tpr_a17l
Review by Jeff Brines // Photos by Patrick Nelson RockShox has reintroduced the Pike for the 2013 season, and they've aimed it squarely at the Enduro and trail market. Like the kinda-sorta-cute girl who moved away in the 6th grade, she’s back for senior year, fully grown up and turning every head in class. The fork appears to offer an unprecedented blend of feather-like weight, stiffness and trail eating performance. But how did it stack up in real world testing? After several months of riding, here are the results... Pike RCT3 Highlights Travel options: 26 or 27.5-inch 150mm or 160mm // 29-inch 140mm or 150mm Weight: Read More »
Rate review: +10 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 6 118 246 12 2

2012 Trek Session 9.9

“Frame only”

C138_treksession9.9

The Good:

Carries speed through everything, extremely predictable, stable but nimble, and very easy to maintain.

The Bad:

I would rather a double barrel over the Fox RC4.

Overall Review: This is the best frame I have ever owned. Even with some of the heavier parts I chose to build it with it still weighs 24 pounds. This bike carries so much speed and is so predictable that you will drop time off on your favorite trails.You get an amazing amount of feed back through the frame. It does park riding extremely well and you can send any jump comfortably but can also take the rockiest most technical trails and smooth them out (compared to other bikes). I can not say anything bad about this frame.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member freski93
12701 freski93 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12701/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1232590309.jpg?1326562955 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freski93,12701/all 01/14/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freski93,12701/setup 1 2

Specialized Roval Traverse SL Complete Wheel

Vital Review

“Tested: Specialized Roval Traverse SL Wheels”

C138_kola_specialized_roval_traverse_sl_142_2013
by Jeff Brines When considering top shelf wheels, Specialized may not be the first company that comes to mind. However, it appears the Big S is trying to change that with the introduction of their all mountain oriented carbon-hooped Roval SL wheelset. With over 150K of descending (and ascending) under our belt on the 26-inch version, it’s time for an in depth look at how these (more) wallet friendly carbon wheels have fared so far. Specialized Roval Traverse SL Highlights Carbon rim Internal Rim Width: 22mm, External 29mm Tubeless Ready out of the box Radial/3-cross front spoke pattern, 3-cross (1:1) rear Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 6 118 246 12 2

Maxxis Monorail Tire

“A fast, light, hard wearing rear tire”

C138_31264

The Good:

Fast rolling, hard wearing, comes TR and LUST

The Bad:

Descending and braking traction at 35psi plus, would prefer a bit more volume and a tad more width

Overall Review: I bought this tire because I need to ride road and climb before I can open up and have real fun and descend.I teamed this up with a Maxxis Minion single ply 2.35 EXO on the front because they are both ERTO 52. It went on easy on my TR rim tubeless with a floor pump first try, no soap, removing the valve or Stans on the sidewall. The Monorail climbs really well. The only fault I found was braking traction especially on loose over, that is if you stick to the recommended 35psi or more. However if you drop the pressure to 25-30 range there is much more bite. I'd certainly consider buying again although I probably try something Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

2013 GT La Bomba 2.0 Bike

“Gt la bomba 2.0”

C138_bike_gt_la_bomba_2.0

The Good:

Solid frame, awesome tires, decent price, and decent components.

The Bad:

Basic avid brakes leave something to be desired. Crankset is not that great.

Overall Review: First off, I bought this bike to use for cruising around town, and messing around with on jumps. I immediately put some Tioga Powerblock tires on, as they don't make as much noise cruising on pavement. The stock dirt tires are awesome though, and I kept them, in case I wanna do some dirt riding with this bike in the future. This bike is a slopestyle bike, made to take massive abuse from huge jumps, so it is more than strong enough for my purposes. The avid elixer 1 brakes are not the best, but they work well for cruising around. I'll probably upgrade them in the future. The drivetrain is an ok spec. It works well, but I plan on Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ben_Kotrba
26985 Ben_Kotrba http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26985/avatar/c50_fb_picture_12127826_1377085880.jpg?1377085742 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ben-Kotrba,26985/all 08/21/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ben-Kotrba,26985/setup 1 1

2013 Mondraker Foxy RR Bike

“MONDRAKER FOXY RR FRAME”

C138_bike_mondraker_foxy_rr

The Good:

coming from a DW LINK frame to this FOXY, this frame really has all the good things that my old DW LINK frame had. and it feels better. more progressive. better angles,

The Bad:

none so far. maybe just a mud guard could be nice to have...

Overall Review: built this frame with a revelation 150 mm fork. and all my favorite parts. Easton bar carbon "light bicycle" rims Maxxis minion 2.35 f tires great bike!!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Yossi_Sarusi
14977 Yossi_Sarusi http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14977/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1174243275.jpg?1334936469 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Yossi-Sarusi,14977/all 04/20/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Yossi-Sarusi,14977/setup 2 27 1

Teva Pivot Clipless Shoes

Vital Review

“Tested: Teva Pivot Shoes - A Love/Hate Experience”

C138_1002980_blk_1
by Noah Sears The Pivot is Teva's first foray into the clipless shoe world. Aimed at the piping-hot enduro and trail markets, the Pivot blends skate shoe styling with cycling shoe performance. Teva Pivot Highlights Designed for trail, all-mountain and enduro use PedalLINK clipless outsole Composite midsole plate Spider365 Rubber sole Lugs at the toe and heel for off the bike traction Compatible with all major 2-bolt attachment systems Optional cleat attachment from top to protect hardware Hook and loop strap keeps laces out of the chain Sizes 3-15 US Black and light grey colors Weight: 446 grams/15.7 ounces (Size 11) MSRP Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member NoahColorado
128 NoahColorado http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/128/avatar/c50_88160290_1258334763.jpg?1290150194 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/all 08/01/09 1 3 364 29 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/setup 4 92 400 6

2013 Giant Reign 2 Bike

“Excellent all around bike!!”

C138_2013_reign_2

The Good:

This bike is great on the uphills, destroys the downhills, and (with the correct shock tuning) absolutely flys through the rough stuff without a hitch.

The Bad:

In all honestly I have nothing bad to say about this bike.

Overall Review: Sweet bike. It climbs, descends, transitions between the two with ease, and jumps great. This bike has eaten up every type of terrain that I have put it through, and has been really fun to ride.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member idahofreerider94
26448 idahofreerider94 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26448/avatar/c50_Pink_Bike_Wallpaper_1_1374300242.jpg?1374299783 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/idahofreerider94,26448/all 07/19/13 1

MRP G3 Chainguide

“lasted six short runs”

C138_mrp_mega_g3_carbon

The Good:

looks awesome and did run smooth

The Bad:

made from plastic that breaks easy.

Overall Review: Mine broke in the same place as mentioned in the review. It cant be blamed on using unapproved cleaners or lubricants because the whole transmission was new.Should last more than six runs at the ski hill for the price. I think they need to go back to the drawing board on this one and make the slider out of alloy or Al. I hope the customer service is better than the product.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member erockjmet
26864 erockjmet http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26864/avatar/c50_IMG_8475_1_1376230781.jpg?1376230075 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/erockjmet,26864/all 08/11/13 1