Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Teva Links Flat Pedal Shoe

“Teva Links Wins!!!”

C138_4304_links_ulvi

The Good:

good appearance, good performance, the grip is excellent.

The Bad:

the heat increases in long riding, the sole is stiff enough, a bit uncomfortable for walking.

Overall Review: Okay, I got this shoes about a week ago, after a big confusion about: Teva Links or Five Ten Freerider VXi. This is my first my MTB shoes and I decide to buy Teva after thought about 2 days. And I really satisfied with this shoes, my feet is very comfortable with this shoes, the grip also excellent; like its logo on the sole, spider. I just feel my feet a bit warm in long riding. I use this shoes for XC by the way. And the sole is quite rigid and a bit uncomfortable for long walking. But the rest is excellent, I really love this shoes. Below is my comparison with another flat pedal shoes, the famous Freerider VXi. Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 11 35 106 10

2014 BH Lynx 6 27.5

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: BH Lynx 6”

C138_bh_lynx_6_27.5_8.5
Reviewed by Evan Turpen and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller While the BH Bikes brand may be a new name to riders in North America, they’ve actually been creating finely crafted bikes for more than 100 years. The Lynx 6 is the Spanish company's all-mountain/enduro bike designed for aggressive riders seeking slack angles and great suspension performance via Dave Weagle’s well regarded Split Pivot system. For 2014 the bike comes in the 27.5-inch (650b) wheel variety at a reasonable price of $3,499. We spent some time aboard the Lynx 6 in Arizona during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Let’s see how it Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1243 2266 162 41

Royal 2014 Women's Cruiser Shorts

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Women's Cruiser Short & Jersey”

C138_girls_cruiser_short_cyan_f
by Amanda Richter Let’s start this off by being honest with one another. It is important to look good while on your bike, right? Try to deny it if you want, but I certainly appreciate looking put together when I ride. So when I was given the chance to test out a matching kit from Royal Racing I was beyond psyched. I couldn’t wait to get it. Conveniently I had a trip planned to Sedona so I thought that would be a great way to start off the test. As the days ticked by leading up to the trip I checked my tracking information and planned out locations for photos. However, UPS had a different plan. I went to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member La Pata
28909 La Pata http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28909/avatar/c50_Me_biking_1387565935.jpg?1387565116 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/La-Pata,28909/all 12/20/13 2 1 6

Royal 2014 Women's Cruiser 3/4 Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Women's Cruiser Short & Jersey”

C138_girl_cruiser_black_berry
by Amanda Richter Let’s start this off by being honest with one another. It is important to look good while on your bike, right? Try to deny it if you want, but I certainly appreciate looking put together when I ride. So when I was given the chance to test out a matching kit from Royal Racing I was beyond psyched. I couldn’t wait to get it. Conveniently I had a trip planned to Sedona so I thought that would be a great way to start off the test. As the days ticked by leading up to the trip I checked my tracking information and planned out locations for photos. However, UPS had a different plan. I Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member La Pata
28909 La Pata http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28909/avatar/c50_Me_biking_1387565935.jpg?1387565116 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/La-Pata,28909/all 12/20/13 2 1 6

X-Fusion Vector Coil HLR Rear Shock

“X-Fusion Vector HLR Rear Shock (Super Plush)”

C138_vector_coil_hlr

The Good:

This is an excellent example of how a proper coil shock should perform. With the high and low speed compression and rebound adjustments, coupled with the air bottom out, the ability to dial this shock in is practically limitless.

The Bad:

None other than it is heavier than an air shock, but show me a good coil sprung shock that isn't. Not a breaking point for me at all.

Overall Review: I am beyond stoked with this shock! I was running a Fox RP23 w/ Pro Pedal on my XL ibis Mojo HD (running at 160mm), and could never find the sweet spot with this shock. Keep in mind that I am 6'4" and tip the scale at 235.lbs fully geared up, so with the Fox it was either too soft (supple on the tiniest of ripples, yet blowing through the stroke on the big stuff), or far too firm (handled big hits without bottoming, but pummeled my kidneys like I was tapping 5th gear on washboards on the small stuff). The X-Fusion Vector Coil HLR, in my personal opinion, is easily the very best match for the Mojo HD platform. Climbing Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member 831nagrom77
30156 831nagrom77 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/30156/avatar/c50_Devo_1395350994.jpg?1395350828 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/831nagrom77,30156/all 03/20/14 1

2014 Cannondale Trigger 29 Carbon 1

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Cannondale Trigger 29 Carbon 1”

C138_2014_cannondale_trigger_29_carbon_1_bike
Reviewed by John Hauer and Jess Pedersen // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller New for 2014, the Cannondale Trigger 29 is offered in a carbon version. By switching to carbon from aluminum, they were able to save an impressive 550 grams (1.2-pounds) off the frame weight. Sporting the rather unorthodox looking Lefty SuperMax fork and a FOX DYAD RT2 pull shock, it’s sure to make others look twice. With the flip of a switch, the custom shock transforms the ride from a 130mm trail crusher to one with just 80mm of rear travel and steeper angles ready to haul you up the hills. Curious to see how the uniqueness of the Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1243 2266 162 41

2014 Santa Cruz 5010 Carbon XX1 AM 27.5 with ENVE Wheels

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Santa Cruz 5010 Carbon”

C138_2014_santa_cruz_5010_carbon_xx1_am_27.5_with_enve_wheels
Reviewed by Brandon Turman and Steve Wentz // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller The 125mm travel Santa Cruz Solo - excuse us, Santa Cruz “5010” - enters the 2014 lineup as a smaller brother to the Bronson. Compared to the well-regarded Blur TRc, at first glance you’re sure to notice the new wheel size, but there’s much more to the story. The bike sees updates to the geometry, suspension tweaks, feature updates and more. As one of the most memorable videos of 2013 showed, the bike was designed to take to cover some serious ground on your adventures, but also to be a capable rig that’s at Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1243 2266 162 41

Gamut Trail SXC Chainguide

Vital Review

“Tested: Gamut Trail SXC Chainguide”

C138_gamut_trail_sxc_chainguide_rear_closeup
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins Gamut lives up to its name's definition by providing a full range of chain retention systems for almost every discipline of off road cycling. Recently, Gamut released the Trail SXC guide, which is designed around the 1X drivetrain platform that more and more riders are running these days. We first gave you a sneak peek of the Trail SXC guide back in early January, and now that we've had the chance to give it a proper go-around, it's time tell you guys how it fared. Gamut Trail SXC Guide Highlights 32 to 40 tooth chainring range SRAM XX1 / X01 compatible, as well as all Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 789 63 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 72 61 1

Loaded Precision X-Lite Stainless Spokes

“Colorful spokes”

C138_ewb_4c2454aca644b_ewb_4c244794cbd5f_direct_lg

The Good:

these spokes add some bling to any wheelset. They're strong and the anodizing is thick so they have lasted me a while.

The Bad:

Nothing. I really enjoy the color options.

Overall Review: I ordered these spokes in white, with gold nipples on blue rims. The wheelset looks sweet! They're inexpensive, color lasts a long time so far. I'm happy with them.

2014 Intense Tracer T275 Carbon Pro

Vital Review

“Tested: All-New 2014 Intense Tracer T275 Carbon”

C138_intense_cycles_tracer_275_carbon_pro
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Tim Bardsley-Smith and Intense Cycles On January 14, journalists from the World’s leading mountain bike media outlets gathered in Temecula, California for a special event touted as the “Intense Experience.” As we admired Shaun Palmer’s 1996 World Champs M1 downhill bike, shook hands with skilled machinists, chatted about the next day’s ride over beers, and at last sat down for the big unveiling, we honestly didn’t have much of an idea of what was in store. Then Jeff Steber took the stage. Behind the podium, Jeff recounted founding Intense Cycles back in 1991 alongside Marv Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1243 2266 162 41