Latest Product Reviews

RSS

RockShox Dart 2 Fork

“Starter Fork”

C138_fk291a00_100

The Good:

If you're getting into sport, especially XC this is good fork. Has a turnkey lockout and really isn't hard to turn while driving or getting into climb.

The Bad:

Well, if you care about weight don't go for this fork. Personal: My trails often have a lot of mud on it and rebound adjustment is really problematic without cleaning. After big drops you will have a felling that fork doesn't work on smaller rocks.

Overall Review: I'm giving it 4 stars looking from aspects of beginner XC rider. You won't need anything more for XC hard tails, so if you're not obsessed by the weight go for it. If you break it, you haven't used it right.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Dorianl98
27797 Dorianl98 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Dorianl98,27797/all 10/06/13 2 13 19 22 3

RockShox Recon Silver TK Fork

“recon silver: workhorse fork for a rider with a budget”

C138_rockshox_recon_tk

The Good:

this was one of the first forks i ever ran. When i started biking we did it all. XC races, skills parks with ladder bridges, street riding, home made skinnys and drops local singletrack. everything. This fork took it all even when we got into dirt jumping. it begged for more rock gardens, skateparks, and grueling xc races for a year and a half with no service at all.

The Bad:

a bit heavy

Overall Review: For the price, this fork is a no brainer. it is widely adjustable, plush, affordable and versatile. It really brought me to a new level and gave me what i needed to become a more and more dedicated rider.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Deity Compound Flat Pedal

“Rider owned”

C138_deity_compound

The Good:

these pedals are extremely light, really strong and have an incredible feel to them. they will take a beating and come back begging for more. these will not let your feet slip ever.

The Bad:

the pins are very very sharp but what pedals arent really?

Overall Review: these pedals are an affordable, light, dialed addition to anyone's arsenal of parts on their bike, it will make a positive impact on any build.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Chromag Ranger Stem

“BC masterpiece”

C138_88953010_1273302814

The Good:

This stem is light, stiff and clean. it gives your bike a north shore feel while also having extensive color options.

The Bad:

The stem liked to move a bit during crashes and eventually began to strip

Overall Review: This stem is fantastic for someone who wants the absolute best, quite honestly it is in a category with very few others for some of the nicest products around.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

2013 Specialized P.3 Bike

“Shred ready from the start”

C138_91e9_32_p_3_blk_soder_claw

The Good:

The bike packs more punch than any other at this price. the fork and the crankset stand out for sure. The frame is light, stiff and feels so nice on the jumps slope or park. extremely versatile

The Bad:

Im not a particular fan of the p series bars stem and seat, and a nicer wheel set would go a long way. but again at this price everything specialized has done just makes sense

Overall Review: Overall the bike is absolutely nuts. top of the line products where you need them, a fantastic frame, and a bike that is shred ready from day one.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring”

C138_wide_black
by Joel Harwood Race Face started producing mountain bike components back in 1992. They originally gained notoriety for their Diabolus offering, which at that time was one of the few product lines that could withstand serious abuse. For nearly twenty years Race Face produced some of the highest quality components available. In 2011, the company faced bankruptcy and many thought Race Face products were about to become collectors' items. Nevertheless, the company made it through the rough patch and came back swinging with a number of new, refined and innovative components... with a variety of colors and graphics to Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 16 17

Lowepro DryZone BP 40L Backpack

Vital Review

“Tested: Lowepro DryZone BP 40L Backpack”

C138_dryzone_bp_forward.j
by Lee Trumpore Few things can ruin a photographer's day faster than water, and getting enough of it even on completely "weather-proof" sports-specific camera bodies and lenses can spell disaster and a big bill at the repair shop. Yet some of the most iconic images of our sport have been captured in some of the worst possible conditions. While photographers will always have to battle the elements while shooting, the last thing they need to worry about is the rest of their gear getting soaked. Lowepro has long made camera bags for everyone from the enthusiast to the working professional, but the new DryZone series Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 64 244 21

Novatec Diablo 26 Complete Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Novatec Diablo Wheels”

C138_diablo26
by Steve Wentz and David Howell With Enduro and aggressive trail riding gaining in popularity with every passing minute, the need for a wheelset that is durable enough to keep you rolling but light enough to tackle epic rides grows too. Novatec offers the Diablo wheelset specifically to meet this need. While not the cheapest wheelset on the market with an MSRP of around $750 USD, these wheels complement any bike with subtle and simple rim graphics and red anodized hubs that go well with most color schemes. Curious to see if they would match their easy-on-the-eye looks and good specs with performance on the trail, we threw Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 68 820 1743 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 48 295 3522 83 27

Five Ten Freerider VXi Shoes

“Problems with the sole: FIVE TEN have been in touch and want the shoe to study, so I am being dealt with.”

C138_285_fivfv3_chr_0

The Good:

Sturdy uppers. Very grippy and comfortable.

The Bad:

Didn't last. They developed a hole in the 3mm thick sole. Holes mean wet feet in the UK. SINCE POSTING FIVE TEN HAVE BEEN IN TOUCH AND WANT TO TAKE THE SHOES BACK. I'M HOPING THAT THEY WILL GLEAN SOME INFORMATION ABOUT WHY I ENCOUNTERED THIS PROBLEM WITH MY SHOES.

Overall Review: The other reviewers have listed all the good attributions of this shoe and i wholeheartedly agree with them. I thought this would be a shoe I would buy again, due to it's great grip, comfort and good looks. However, one of my shoes developed a pea sized hole in the sole after 4 - 5 months equalling 70 hours of usage (I Strava all my rides). This was due to the central pins on my HT pedals, which ironically, Vital has used for their photo shoot. I guess movement from my feet has picked away at the stealth rubber, which I guess are 3-4mm thin! I contacted the UK distributor who pointed me at the shop I bought Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lev
797 lev http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/797/avatar/c50_89341830_1252229392.jpg?1290151629 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lev,797/all 09/06/09 2 10 102 3 2

Schwalbe Hans Dampf Tire

“Enduro in it´s maximun way”

C138_schwalbe_hans_dampf_tire

The Good:

Cornering, weight, rolling resistance, comfort, predictable

The Bad:

Wear, not recommendet for muddy terrain, price

Overall Review: I have mounted the snake skin tubeless version on my Cannondale Jekyll and the result coudnt be better, the first thing i noticed descending in rockie singletracks is the great confort even rolling fast, is easy to keep the confidence when cornering because is a predictable tire thanks to a soft knobs, big volume it also helps in a way, i compared with a Conti Mountain King 2.4 and the difference is visible to the naked eye.Despite its appearance when pedalling it behaves even better like some trail tires, so your legs gonna apreciate. The main enemy of this excellent tire is the mud, the small space between the knobs dont Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Bacalardo
28201 Bacalardo http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28201/avatar/c50_Imagen1_1383183796.jpg?1383183755 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Bacalardo,28201/all 10/30/13 1