Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Specialized Roval Traverse SL Complete Wheel

Vital Review

“Tested: Specialized Roval Traverse SL Wheels”

C138_kola_specialized_roval_traverse_sl_142_2013
by Jeff Brines When considering top shelf wheels, Specialized may not be the first company that comes to mind. However, it appears the Big S is trying to change that with the introduction of their all mountain oriented carbon-hooped Roval SL wheelset. With over 150K of descending (and ascending) under our belt on the 26-inch version, it’s time for an in depth look at how these (more) wallet friendly carbon wheels have fared so far. Specialized Roval Traverse SL Highlights Carbon rim Internal Rim Width: 22mm, External 29mm Tubeless Ready out of the box Radial/3-cross front spoke pattern, 3-cross (1:1) rear Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 5 107 244 12 2

Maxxis Monorail Tire

“A fast, light, hard wearing rear tire”

C138_31264

The Good:

Fast rolling, hard wearing, comes TR and LUST

The Bad:

Descending and braking traction at 35psi plus, would prefer a bit more volume and a tad more width

Overall Review: I bought this tire because I need to ride road and climb before I can open up and have real fun and descend.I teamed this up with a Maxxis Minion single ply 2.35 EXO on the front because they are both ERTO 52. It went on easy on my TR rim tubeless with a floor pump first try, no soap, removing the valve or Stans on the sidewall. The Monorail climbs really well. The only fault I found was braking traction especially on loose over, that is if you stick to the recommended 35psi or more. However if you drop the pressure to 25-30 range there is much more bite. I'd certainly consider buying again although I probably try something Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

2013 GT La Bomba 2.0 Bike

“Gt la bomba 2.0”

C138_bike_gt_la_bomba_2.0

The Good:

Solid frame, awesome tires, decent price, and decent components.

The Bad:

Basic avid brakes leave something to be desired. Crankset is not that great.

Overall Review: First off, I bought this bike to use for cruising around town, and messing around with on jumps. I immediately put some Tioga Powerblock tires on, as they don't make as much noise cruising on pavement. The stock dirt tires are awesome though, and I kept them, in case I wanna do some dirt riding with this bike in the future. This bike is a slopestyle bike, made to take massive abuse from huge jumps, so it is more than strong enough for my purposes. The avid elixer 1 brakes are not the best, but they work well for cruising around. I'll probably upgrade them in the future. The drivetrain is an ok spec. It works well, but I plan on Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ben_Kotrba
26985 Ben_Kotrba http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26985/avatar/c50_fb_picture_12127826_1377085880.jpg?1377085742 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ben-Kotrba,26985/all 08/21/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ben-Kotrba,26985/setup 1 1

2013 Mondraker Foxy RR Bike

“MONDRAKER FOXY RR FRAME”

C138_bike_mondraker_foxy_rr

The Good:

coming from a DW LINK frame to this FOXY, this frame really has all the good things that my old DW LINK frame had. and it feels better. more progressive. better angles,

The Bad:

none so far. maybe just a mud guard could be nice to have...

Overall Review: built this frame with a revelation 150 mm fork. and all my favorite parts. Easton bar carbon "light bicycle" rims Maxxis minion 2.35 f tires great bike!!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Yossi_Sarusi
14977 Yossi_Sarusi http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14977/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1174243275.jpg?1334936469 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Yossi-Sarusi,14977/all 04/20/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Yossi-Sarusi,14977/setup 2 27 1

Teva Pivot Clipless Shoes

Vital Review

“Tested: Teva Pivot Shoes - A Love/Hate Experience”

C138_1002980_blk_1
by Noah Sears The Pivot is Teva's first foray into the clipless shoe world. Aimed at the piping-hot enduro and trail markets, the Pivot blends skate shoe styling with cycling shoe performance. Teva Pivot Highlights Designed for trail, all-mountain and enduro use PedalLINK clipless outsole Composite midsole plate Spider365 Rubber sole Lugs at the toe and heel for off the bike traction Compatible with all major 2-bolt attachment systems Optional cleat attachment from top to protect hardware Hook and loop strap keeps laces out of the chain Sizes 3-15 US Black and light grey colors Weight: 446 grams/15.7 ounces (Size 11) MSRP Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member NoahColorado
128 NoahColorado http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/128/avatar/c50_88160290_1258334763.jpg?1290150194 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/all 08/01/09 1 3 364 29 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/setup 4 91 399 6

2013 Giant Reign 2 Bike

“Excellent all around bike!!”

C138_2013_reign_2

The Good:

This bike is great on the uphills, destroys the downhills, and (with the correct shock tuning) absolutely flys through the rough stuff without a hitch.

The Bad:

In all honestly I have nothing bad to say about this bike.

Overall Review: Sweet bike. It climbs, descends, transitions between the two with ease, and jumps great. This bike has eaten up every type of terrain that I have put it through, and has been really fun to ride.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member idahofreerider94
26448 idahofreerider94 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26448/avatar/c50_Pink_Bike_Wallpaper_1_1374300242.jpg?1374299783 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/idahofreerider94,26448/all 07/19/13 1

MRP G3 Chainguide

“lasted six short runs”

C138_mrp_mega_g3_carbon

The Good:

looks awesome and did run smooth

The Bad:

made from plastic that breaks easy.

Overall Review: Mine broke in the same place as mentioned in the review. It cant be blamed on using unapproved cleaners or lubricants because the whole transmission was new.Should last more than six runs at the ski hill for the price. I think they need to go back to the drawing board on this one and make the slider out of alloy or Al. I hope the customer service is better than the product.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member erockjmet
26864 erockjmet http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26864/avatar/c50_IMG_8475_1_1376230781.jpg?1376230075 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/erockjmet,26864/all 08/11/13 1

2013 GT Sensor 9R Expert Bike

Featured Review

“2012 GT Sensor 9r Expert”

C138_bike_gt_sensor_9r_expert

The Good:

I-drive suspension works well. Formula RX brakes and levers are excellent.

The Bad:

Stand-over clearance will have you singing soprano.
Crazy long wheelbase.
Rock Shox Recon Gold mates choppy travel with lots of lateral play.
Alex XD-Lite rims are weak.
Maxxis Aspen tires not ideal (regional consideration).

Overall Review: [Note: This review is of the 2012 model which appears to be identical to the '13.] Without burying the lead, I will start by saying that I consider GT to be an iconic bicycle brand and I have ridden many GT's in the past including my first mountain bike, a 1993 GT Tequesta. I wanted to love the Sensor 9r so badly but after about three weeks and 15 rides I ended up returning it. Here's why: On paper the Sensor 9r Expert seems like a good value with Fox's Float CTD shock, RockShoz Recon Gold fork and Formula RX brakes. One thing I noted from the moment I climbed on the bike is that at 5'10" with a 30" inseam, the size Medium Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Arkstorm
26789 Arkstorm /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Arkstorm,26789/all 08/08/13 2 4

2013 Kona Hei Hei 29 Bike

“Rapid bike”

C138_2013_kona_hei_hei

The Good:

Moves rapidly over Tahoe trails and rocks. plenty stiff rear thru axel. Good components.

The Bad:

Little heavy on steep climbs

Overall Review: Got this bike as first 29 er after demoing tallboy long travel carbon. This bike oat like a sixth of at bike but still does justas good a job. I like locking out suspension for climbs fire roadscandvpavement. The giants don't even have lockout. This bikealsodoes fine in the twists. Just gotta maneuver it. Liked better than tallboy cause it was a better, size. Got the 20 inch. Sc rep thank you but the xl u put me on was a little too big combined with 29 er. No joy. This ones perfect. Also climbing while standing is like on a hardtail cause of lockout. The giants and specialized must not climb the greatest if u can't lockout the maestro suspension and it starts getting bad pedal bob when u stand. Of course when locked out u need to climb like on a hardtail to keep traction to rear wheel!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Rydeordie
26752 Rydeordie /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Rydeordie,26752/all 08/07/13 1 1 1

Race Face Indy Shorts 2012

“2012 shorts were excellent”

C138_69737

The Good:

Light, comfortable, long lasting, zippered front pocket, look good

The Bad:

2013 shorts not as good

Overall Review: 2012 Indy shorts were excellent, have easily done a year and are still going strong. Tried the 2013's I didn't like the fabric, the size was very much on the smaller size and there is no zippered front pocket essential for keeping valuables safe.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey