Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Avid HSX Heat-Shedding Rotor

“Much better than other Avid rotors”

C138_br255c00

The Good:

Light, stays true

The Bad:

None found

Overall Review: I first used these rotors with my old Elixir 5 brakes about three years ago. I changed over from the regular Avid rotors you get for free with the brakes, to try to help eliminate that hideous 'turkey warble'. These rotors are infinitely better and went some way to eliminate the problems with the old Avid rotors. Since then I have moved these on to the back of two different bikes where they perform flawlessly with Shimano SLX 666 brakes. Three years, no pitting and still completely true, very impressed. I'll probably never buy Avid brakes again, but don't overlook these rotors foe AM, trail and XC duties, they seem better than the Shimano rotors.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Bontrager XR4 Team Issue Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager XR4 Team Issue Tire”

C138_bontrager_xr4_team_issue_tire
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins Claiming it will “out-corner any XC tire on the market,” Bontrager sounds pretty confident in their XR4 Team Issue tire. With an aggressive tread pattern on a relatively lightweight tire, it's fair to assume Bontrager is targeting the Enduro crowd with the XR4, aiming it more specifically at those who enjoy riding their trail-bike more like a mini-downhill bike than an XC bike. We put it to the test to see just how it stacks up. XR4 Team Issue Tire Highlights Bold and aggressive tread pattern Excels in loose and rocky conditions Tubeless ready (TLR) - Tire is ready to Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 131 3 255 166 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 31 212 58 46 1

SRAM Rail 50 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: SRAM Rail 50 Wheelset”

C138_sram_rail_50_wheels
Review by A.J. Barlas // Photos by A.J. Barlas and Jon Anthony There's a lot to consider when seeking a new wheelset for your favourite bike: weight, lateral stiffness, durability, tubeless ready, UST compatible or not, looks, just to name a few. And nowhere is the competition as strong across all of the aforementioned aspects as in the 'all-mountain', 'trail', or dare I say, 'Enduro' segment. In addition to requiring wheels to be light, stiff, and strong, this segment also has to cover anyone from the weekend warrior through to the semi- or factory-sponsored professional racer, all of which add to the complexities and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

Bell Transfer-9 Full Face Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Bell Transfer-9 Full Face Helmet - The Sweet Spot”

C138_transfer9_blkbluwhtquantum
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord 2012 saw the introduction of a flurry of new high-end helmets, among them the Full-9 from Bell. Built from exotic materials and featuring all the innovation Bell could muster, it was certainly an impressive piece of equipment, but as such, it came with a fairly impressive price tag too. Fast-forward a few months to the arrival of the Transfer-9, the Full-9’s little brother. Offering many of the features found on the Full-9, it checks in at exactly half the price, which should put it right near the top of the old value for money pyramid. We were lucky to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 820 1730 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 51 321 3674 85 28

2014 Lapierre Spicy 327 Bike

“Performance is Great”

C138_spicy_327

The Good:

Suspension

The Bad:

Color combination

Overall Review: Done several trails and the performance is really great compared to other fullsus bikes I have tried. Good job to Lapierre team.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryo
28796 ryo http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28796/avatar/c50_WP_20131211_001_1386771088.jpg?1386770940 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryo,28796/all 12/11/13 1

2013 Cannondale Jekyll MX

“I love my Jekyll MX”

C138_2013_cannondale_jekyll_mx

The Good:

Laterally stiff, comfortable geometry, Dyad shock adds versatility, great parts spec (including light wheels, beefy Fox 36 fork and Reverb)

The Bad:

A bit heavy at 31.9 lbs with pedals, the fork's damping is basic, a tool-free rear axle would be nice

Overall Review: I’ve been riding my Jekyll MX for about 6 months and have been really pleased. My impressions right out of the box were similar to what the Vital review said, but with a few tweaks to setup, the bike feels absolutely dialed. I live in Vancouver, BC and this is my one and only bike. My riding includes a bit of everything, from laps on the Shore to all-day XC epics in Squamish and a few enduro races. The bike feels lively, stable and laterally stiff. While some bikes like to keep wheels on the ground and soak up everything, the Jekyll feels a bit firmer and more progressive, riding higher in its travel. The rear suspension Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member D(C)
24430 D(C) /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/D-C,24430/all 05/15/13 2 12 2

2014 Specialized Enduro Expert EVO Bike

Vital Review

“Tested: 2014 Specialized Enduro Expert EVO - Up For It”

C138_bike_specialized_enduro_expert_evo
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Specialized has been making a bike named “Enduro” since well before the term got adopted by the internet as the next big thing. Throughout the years, each generation of the Enduro brought something new to the table, but the core concept always remained the same: these were bikes designed both for pedaling efficiency and for having fun. Proper fun, that is. For 2014, there are several different versions of the Enduro to choose from featuring aluminum or carbon frames available with 26- or 29-inch wheels. At the rowdiest end of the scale we find the new Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 820 1730 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 51 321 3674 85 28

2014 Giant Trance Advanced SX 27.5

“Trail Slayer”

C138_trance_advanced_sx_27.5_rt

The Good:

FAST! Great pedaling, excellent cornering, good componants.

The Bad:

Seat dropper needs more travel, the seat is not very comfortable.

Overall Review: This is the bike I have been waiting for. So fast and it corners extremely well even in the tight trails I ride on. I keep it in the 140mill position unless it gets rowdy. Not quite as easy to manual or hop as a 26" bike. Probably easily fixed with a shorter stem. Giant has really hit the Enduro jackpot with this bike. I am  faster on every trail with much less effort. 27.5 fits this category very well.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member pete.jelinek
24803 pete.jelinek http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24803/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1577171508_1369938147.jpg?1369938041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/pete-jelinek,24803/all 05/30/13 2

Dirty Jane 3/4 Sleeve by Royal Racing Jersey

“Perfect fit!”

C138_4_sleeve_jersey_by_royal_racing

The Good:

three quarters sleeve. not bulky. room to layer. Light and ventilated well. Great design.

The Bad:

can it come in pink?

Overall Review: This women's specific Jersey is in my top favorites. The shape and design fits various body types in a very flattering way while offering amazing comfort! The design around the arms is perfect for a great range of motion, I never feel restricted in any area.This piece of riding gear has proven over and over again to be very durable through extensive use and washing. The three quarters sleeve are nice in the summer for keeping cool along with the good ventilation and since I have two sizes I use the larger one in the winter so I am able to layer underneath. The design and appearance is so easy to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbfemme
28717 mtbfemme http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28717/avatar/c50_IMG_1969_1386276423.jpg?1386275766 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbfemme,28717/all 12/05/13 1 34 3