Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2013 Scott Voltage FR 30 Bike

“Awesome bike”

C138_screen_shot_2013_06_25_at_6.57.36_pm

The Good:

Easy to adjust rear shock
Frame is nice
Nice graphics
Jumps amazing

The Bad:

Suspension quality
Brakes

Overall Review: I have been riding this bike for a while and it is my favorite bike to ride. It pops super nice off the jumps and drops. It also handles through rock gardens and roots. All around great bike! Plus the price is great!

iXS Flow Knee Pads

Vital Review

“Tested: iXS Flow Knee Pads”

C138_flow_knee_guard_front
by Lee Trumpore iXS has answered the call of the growing all-mountain, adventure, and enduro crowds with the new ultra-light Flow Knee Pad. Developed at the request of Hans Rey, the Flow Knee Pads take minimal protection to a whole new level weighing in at about 300 grams per pair, but still have enough padding for serious abuse. Flow Knee Pad Highlights Designed in collaboration with Hans Rey Ideal for trail riding and enduro racing Super lightweight and super compact design (+/- 300g pair) "X-Matter" - high impact absorption, energy absorbing, open cell, slow rebound foam compound 360 all-around, breathable, moisture Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 58 226 20

Straitline Silent Guide Chainguide

“best chain guide I have ever used”

C138_cg264b00bkg_3236

The Good:

silent and reliable.

The Bad:

maybe a little bit heavy due to the aluminum bash ring, this is not a negative for me.

Overall Review: The name says it all. This guide is in fact silent, I have been using it all season and have yet to have a problem.  The chain stays on , and the best part is there is no roller bearing to go bad. some people may feel it is too heavy due to the aluminum bash ring. This is not a negative for me , I have a habit of breaking taco style guides, this guide is rock solid.
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member casey.coull.56
25936 casey.coull.56 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25936/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000353426506_1372255816.jpg?1372255574 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/casey-coull-56,25936/all 06/26/13 1

Profile Racing Elite MTB Hubs

Vital Review

“Tested: Profile Elite MTB Hubs”

C138_screen_shot_2013_06_24_at_7.51.17_pm
Review by Sean "Griz" McClendon // Action photos by Ian Collins Profile Racing’s humble roots began in 1968, as a race car chassis shop based in New Jersey. Fast forward a few years and the company made the transition to BMX when the founder's children got hooked on racing. In 1979 the brand created their tried and true three-piece BMX cranks, which continue to set the standard for the industry 'til this day. In the mid-1990s, Profile Racing got its start in mountain biking, offering hubs, cranks and even chainrings. More recently, they introduced the Profile Elite MTB hubs, building off the proven performance Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26griz
258 26griz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/258/avatar/c50_rockblitz1_1380306368.jpg?1380305975 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26griz,258/all 08/02/09 3 1 15 18 1 88 10

Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_magnesium_2
by David Howell Some say you only get one chance to make an initial impression. Well, Canfield Brothers nailed it with the Crampon Magnesium pedal. Sleek lines, a generously sized platform and super thin leading edges combine together to create one of the most attractive pedals I have had the chance to lay my eyes on. With the magnesium pedals coming in at around $200, they may not be cheap, but you get what you pay for. Crampon Magnesium Pedal Highlights 6-10mm Thick Magnesium Body DU Bushings Chromoly Axle Replaceable Dual Sided 10mm Steel Traction Pins Durable painted finish Black, Gray, Blue, Red, Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member AceHouston
2058 AceHouston http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2058/avatar/c50_73933_10100336831359119_2949514_n_1372187932.jpg?1372187380 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/all 02/25/10 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/setup 20 4 4

Gamut P30 Dual Chainguide

“BEST CHAINGUIDE EVER !!!”

C138_50908

The Good:

Very light weight, half the weight of the stock one on a 2013 specialized Enduro

The Bad:

Chain ring bolts like to back out ( use loctite )

Overall Review: Ive been running gamut for the past few years and have never had an issue. I just replaced the stock guide on my 2013 Enduro. Gamuts guide was half the weight and twice as strong. Super smooth and quiet, very easy to adjust i also run gamut guides on my downhill bike and dual slalom bike. They have been problem free race after race.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member drfter240
24997 drfter240 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24997/avatar/c50_164470_687778401479_1326845696_n_1370480498.jpg?1370480286 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/drfter240,24997/all 06/05/13 7 2

Gamut P30 Chainguide

“SOLID AND RELIABLE !!!”

C138_cg299b06blk_36t_bb_m

The Good:

Simple, light weight, easy to install and adjust. VERY smooth

The Bad:

bash guard can crack if improperly tightened

Overall Review: This is the best guide i have ever ran. I run one on my 2012 Demo 8 race bike and on my 2011 Specialized p3 dual slalom bike. I have never had an issue or dropped a chain on either bikes. I have beaten the hell out of both bikes through rock gardens or hucks to flat. For the price they cant be beat
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member drfter240
24997 drfter240 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24997/avatar/c50_164470_687778401479_1326845696_n_1370480498.jpg?1370480286 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/drfter240,24997/all 06/05/13 7 2

e*thirteen SRS+ Chainguide

“One of the best”

C138_42429

The Good:

-Easy to install
-adjustable
-strong on impacts

The Bad:

if you over tighten the bolts you can crack it and then it break on impacts or by the wrench. Just dont go all jackie chan on it when you put it on and its sick

Overall Review: Ive used this on my last three bikes and wouldn't want to go any other way. Best for the Money
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member freeskieratp83
8605 freeskieratp83 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8605/avatar/c50_Screen_shot_2013_05_22_at_8.13.24_AM_1374629571.jpg?1374628793 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freeskieratp83,8605/all 06/03/11 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freeskieratp83,8605/setup 1 9 1

MRP Mini G2 SL Chainguide

“Great Guide ... the Taco and the Roller are one so if you lost the taco you lost your chain device.”

C138_minig2slcolors600

The Good:

Light works Great and quiet. easy to install

The Bad:

the Poly is mounted on the taco so if the taco got broken you lost your chain device :-\

Overall Review: I had this chain-Device for almost 6 months... it did a great job until it had a few rocks in the taco. the eyelet that holds itTogether just snap and was holding there only with the pressure of the nut. after a ride on some rocky terrain i started to hear my chain rattling and when i got down i saw that the taco and poly where M.I.A the upper skid is very touchy to pressure if you are Fastening the bolt little to much it's starts to crack. I just got the MRP Micro and i notice that the Materials is different and much better. so i guess that in the G3 they also improved the Upper Skid. Overall a Good, but very Fragile Chain Device. if you are looking for more bling  then durability it's a good choice.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sparky.lab
19565 Sparky.lab http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19565/avatar/c50_737979_10151641016479951_747204901_o.jpg?1359476804 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/all 11/04/12 2 1 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/setup 19 4 1