Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Straitline Silent Guide Chainguide

“best chain guide I have ever used”

C138_cg264b00bkg_3236

The Good:

silent and reliable.

The Bad:

maybe a little bit heavy due to the aluminum bash ring, this is not a negative for me.

Overall Review: The name says it all. This guide is in fact silent, I have been using it all season and have yet to have a problem.  The chain stays on , and the best part is there is no roller bearing to go bad. some people may feel it is too heavy due to the aluminum bash ring. This is not a negative for me , I have a habit of breaking taco style guides, this guide is rock solid.
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member casey.coull.56
25936 casey.coull.56 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25936/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000353426506_1372255816.jpg?1372255574 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/casey-coull-56,25936/all 06/26/13 1

Profile Racing Elite MTB Hubs

Vital Review

“Tested: Profile Elite MTB Hubs”

C138_screen_shot_2013_06_24_at_7.51.17_pm
Review by Sean "Griz" McClendon // Action photos by Ian Collins Profile Racing’s humble roots began in 1968, as a race car chassis shop based in New Jersey. Fast forward a few years and the company made the transition to BMX when the founder's children got hooked on racing. In 1979 the brand created their tried and true three-piece BMX cranks, which continue to set the standard for the industry 'til this day. In the mid-1990s, Profile Racing got its start in mountain biking, offering hubs, cranks and even chainrings. More recently, they introduced the Profile Elite MTB hubs, building off the proven performance Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26griz
258 26griz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/258/avatar/c50_rockblitz1_1380306368.jpg?1380305975 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26griz,258/all 08/02/09 3 1 15 18 1 88 10

Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_magnesium_2
by David Howell Some say you only get one chance to make an initial impression. Well, Canfield Brothers nailed it with the Crampon Magnesium pedal. Sleek lines, a generously sized platform and super thin leading edges combine together to create one of the most attractive pedals I have had the chance to lay my eyes on. With the magnesium pedals coming in at around $200, they may not be cheap, but you get what you pay for. Crampon Magnesium Pedal Highlights 6-10mm Thick Magnesium Body DU Bushings Chromoly Axle Replaceable Dual Sided 10mm Steel Traction Pins Durable painted finish Black, Gray, Blue, Red, Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member AceHouston
2058 AceHouston http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2058/avatar/c50_73933_10100336831359119_2949514_n_1372187932.jpg?1372187380 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/all 02/25/10 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AceHouston,2058/setup 20 4 4

Gamut P30 Dual Chainguide

“BEST CHAINGUIDE EVER !!!”

C138_50908

The Good:

Very light weight, half the weight of the stock one on a 2013 specialized Enduro

The Bad:

Chain ring bolts like to back out ( use loctite )

Overall Review: Ive been running gamut for the past few years and have never had an issue. I just replaced the stock guide on my 2013 Enduro. Gamuts guide was half the weight and twice as strong. Super smooth and quiet, very easy to adjust i also run gamut guides on my downhill bike and dual slalom bike. They have been problem free race after race.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member drfter240
24997 drfter240 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24997/avatar/c50_164470_687778401479_1326845696_n_1370480498.jpg?1370480286 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/drfter240,24997/all 06/05/13 7 2

Gamut P30 Chainguide

“SOLID AND RELIABLE !!!”

C138_cg299b06blk_36t_bb_m

The Good:

Simple, light weight, easy to install and adjust. VERY smooth

The Bad:

bash guard can crack if improperly tightened

Overall Review: This is the best guide i have ever ran. I run one on my 2012 Demo 8 race bike and on my 2011 Specialized p3 dual slalom bike. I have never had an issue or dropped a chain on either bikes. I have beaten the hell out of both bikes through rock gardens or hucks to flat. For the price they cant be beat
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member drfter240
24997 drfter240 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24997/avatar/c50_164470_687778401479_1326845696_n_1370480498.jpg?1370480286 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/drfter240,24997/all 06/05/13 7 2

e*thirteen SRS+ Chainguide

“One of the best”

C138_42429

The Good:

-Easy to install
-adjustable
-strong on impacts

The Bad:

if you over tighten the bolts you can crack it and then it break on impacts or by the wrench. Just dont go all jackie chan on it when you put it on and its sick

Overall Review: Ive used this on my last three bikes and wouldn't want to go any other way. Best for the Money
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member freeskieratp83
8605 freeskieratp83 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8605/avatar/c50_Screen_shot_2013_05_22_at_8.13.24_AM_1374629571.jpg?1374628793 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freeskieratp83,8605/all 06/03/11 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freeskieratp83,8605/setup 1 9 1

MRP Mini G2 SL Chainguide

“Great Guide ... the Taco and the Roller are one so if you lost the taco you lost your chain device.”

C138_minig2slcolors600

The Good:

Light works Great and quiet. easy to install

The Bad:

the Poly is mounted on the taco so if the taco got broken you lost your chain device :-\

Overall Review: I had this chain-Device for almost 6 months... it did a great job until it had a few rocks in the taco. the eyelet that holds itTogether just snap and was holding there only with the pressure of the nut. after a ride on some rocky terrain i started to hear my chain rattling and when i got down i saw that the taco and poly where M.I.A the upper skid is very touchy to pressure if you are Fastening the bolt little to much it's starts to crack. I just got the MRP Micro and i notice that the Materials is different and much better. so i guess that in the G3 they also improved the Upper Skid. Overall a Good, but very Fragile Chain Device. if you are looking for more bling  then durability it's a good choice.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sparky.lab
19565 Sparky.lab http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19565/avatar/c50_737979_10151641016479951_747204901_o.jpg?1359476804 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/all 11/04/12 2 1 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/setup 19 4 1

e*thirteen LS1 Chainguide

“On the Budget Chain device. require allot of spacers when installing with a PF BB”

C138_50666

The Good:

Cheep, Sturdy and do the job Great .... comes with a BB to ISCG adepter.

The Bad:

Comes only in 2 sizes 32-36 and 36-40 the back plate is huge and if you are using 32 Ring the back plate and the skid plate are pooping out and not in a good way.

Overall Review: Was on my Bike for 6 months . i was doing some wight reduction to my rig so i replace it with somethinglighter and smaller. but in the end it did a great job! i love E-13 Products and its a shame they don't have any chain devices that are design for smaller then 32 Ring. Installation wise.... it toke me some Playing and try and error Whileinstalling it with my PF30-BB i replace the bolts that came with it with some longer ones because it needed a 6MM spacers to be installed on the bike. that allot of spacers :-) the skid plate id sturdy and strong even after some pavement  hit and some rocks its still staid strong with a little marks to see. the upper skid was big Enough to deal with 10 Gears and not let the chain run away from it place.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sparky.lab
19565 Sparky.lab http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19565/avatar/c50_737979_10151641016479951_747204901_o.jpg?1359476804 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/all 11/04/12 2 1 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/setup 19 4 1

MRP G3 Chainguide

“MRP G3 from Tazer255's opinion”

C138_mrp_mega_g3_carbon

The Good:

The guide is a huge improvement from the G2. the hinged uper and lower guides are very nice and make for easy chain install

The Bad:

bolts are very weak. I went to torque to specific torque value provided by MRP however the head snapped off. MRP replaced in a very quick and professional manner

Overall Review: The guide is a huge improvement over their previous one the G2 and has allot of cool features. the bolt kinda sketched me out when i was torquing to their own specs the head snaps of (Bad bolt of the line i suppose). would be nice to be able to use any chainlube you want rather that "MRP approved ones" kinda annoying. I have been having a real problem with finding a chain lube that works here in socal that doesn't dry out that also works with this guide. If you are looking for an improvement over your G2 but don't want to run anything other than MRP than this is a great upgrade and it is also very light. The guide is also alot Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member tazer255zm
14211 tazer255zm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14211/avatar/c50_GOPR1449.jpg?1354558825 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tazer255zm,14211/all 03/15/12 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tazer255zm,14211/setup 1 1 22 1

e*thirteen LS1 Chainguide

“good enough if you have a small budget”

C138_50666

The Good:

Very cheap and works ok. Keeps your chain on the rings most of the time.

The Bad:

Quite heawy. Back plate is steal and quite big.

Overall Review: I'm riding this type of chain guide since two season. It worked out good.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member sebastian.schelker
25528 sebastian.schelker http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25528/avatar/c50_fb_picture_614400054_1371188830.jpg?1371188612 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/sebastian-schelker,25528/all 06/13/13 4 2