Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Onza IBEX Tire

“Ibex for different riding styles”

C138_onza_tires_ibex

The Good:

last long
grip in all kinds of conditions
light
"cheap"

The Bad:

prone to flatties

Overall Review: I've been riding the Ibex on my DH bike as well as my Enduro. I have to admit that those Tyres were the best allround tyres I'Ve had on my Enduro. They were light and have excellent grip in all weather conditions. They had more grip than the Highroller II on my DH rig but the biggest problem was the prone to flat tyres. I had flats almost every time I went to a bikepark. Even on tours I was the one who had to problems while maxxis riders didn't have one puncture. A friend switch to ghetto tubeless with the 2.4 Ibex and hadn't haf a single flat since then. Time to change a few things
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hoshi
27207 Hoshi /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hoshi,27207/all 08/31/13 2 1 1

Crank Brothers Iodine 3 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Crank Brothers Iodine 3 Wheelset”

C138_iron
by Mihai Moga Mountain bike equipment is currently evolving at an unbelievable pace. In the last few years, featherweight full suspension frames have appeared and proven themselves to be far tougher and hardier than their much heavier alloy predecessors. Suspension designs have become incredibly efficient and reliable. Bike weights have plummeted and durability has increased in almost every area of the bike. However, this evolution has come at a price, namely, the price. If you try just a bit, you can now spend more on an all mountain trail bike than on a brand new motocross bike. The Crank Brothers Iodine 3 Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Mihai
359 Mihai http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/359/avatar/c50_99551560_1279167483.jpg?1290150634 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Mihai,359/all 08/04/09 9 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Mihai,359/setup 9 4

RockShox Vivid R2C Rear Shock

Vital Review

“Tested: RockShox Vivid R2C Rear Shock”

C138_rs_vivd_r2c_m_222x70_8.75x2.75.a21w
Review by Evan Turpen // Photos by Dave Trumpore The RockShox Vivid has been a popular choice for downhill racers, freeriders, and bike park shredders since its introduction in 2008. With external beginning stroke rebound, ending stroke rebound, and low speed compression, it is one of the simpler, yet surprisingly adjustable shocks on the market. Over the years the Vivid has proven itself as a reliable performer that is a great “set and forget” item on any bike. The newest version of the Vivid aims to take this rock solid performance one step further by including some unique new features and internal trickery to eek Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member E.T.
699 E.T. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/699/avatar/c50_91530530_1251770096.jpg?1290151465 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/E-T,699/all 08/31/09 4 8 1 5 47 13

X-Fusion Vengeance HLR DLA Suspension Fork

“Great, cheap performance.”

C138_my13vengeance_hlr_w_dla_gold

The Good:

One of the best forks i have ever ridden. Takes the big stuff almost as well as a 40 with kashima coating, easy to adjust, lots of adjustment knobs and an overall great performance both up and downhill.

The Bad:

Broke after one visit to a bikepark. For some reason it dropped like 40 mm's of travel after taking on a rather rough rockgarden followed by a big gap, which i overshoot a bit.

Overall Review: I have ridden it the entire season without any problems untill a visit at Hafjell Bikepark. Douring the season I have been using it for AM in Schweiz and Italy, where i have been doing one day rides with around 1500-2000 meters of climbing and the same ammount of descending on pretty rough terrain. The climbs were smooth with the lowest travel settings, and the fork allowed me to push myself to the limit while descending. I have also been using it at Braunlage and Winterberg bikepark, where it performed even better than i expected. No problems at big drops, gaps, rockgardens and extremely steep sections. But for some Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member simon.bruun.3
19295 simon.bruun.3 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19295/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1329066865.jpg?1351263586 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/simon-bruun-3,19295/all 10/26/12 2 1

2014 Trek Remedy 9 29

Vital Review

“Tested: 2014 Trek Remedy 9 29”

C138_2014_trek_remedy_9_29
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas and Brad Martyn The Trek Remedy 9 29 is promoted as Trek's "ultimate technical trail bike." What better place to put that statement to the test than the Coast Mountains of British Columbia? With all of the hoopla around the word "enduro," bike manufacturers are doing their best to claim their share of the market. Truthfully, bike companies have been building enduro bikes for quite some time, but that's neither here nor there. The 2014 Remedy 9 29 is Trek's first foray into the segment using a 29-inch wheel platform. I have to admit that I'm not very well versed in the battle of the Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 16 17

Deity Compound Flat Pedal

“Deity Compound Pedal Review”

C138_deity_compound

The Good:

Light, cheap, rebuildable

The Bad:

Could use a few more pins for grip in rugged terrain

Overall Review: I’ve always been somewhat skeptical of plastic pedals. As a BMX and hardtail rider they've always seemed sufficient, but do they provide enough grip for trail use? A few months ago I was introduced to the Deity Compound platforms, which have since dusted all of my notions that plastic pedals don’t belong on the trail. They have to be done right, of course... Spec Highlights Nylon fiber composite body Heat treated Cr-Mo spindle DU bushing and double micro sealed bearing system Replaceable Cr-Mo pins Black, purple, green, and red color options Weight: 339 grams MSRP $48 Right out of the box, I was fascinated with the nylon Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member chuck.finlay
10554 chuck.finlay http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/10554/avatar/c50_1016063_10201380050804240_201738707_n_1_1374954411.jpg?1374953774 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/chuck-finlay,10554/all 09/03/11 1 9 1

2014 Haro Steel Reserve 1.3 Bike

Vital Review

“Tested: Haro Steel Reserve 1.3 - Shred Ready”

C138_haro_steel_reserve_1.3
by Andy Holloway With a long history in the BMX scene, it came as no surprise that Haro created a BMX-style inspired dirt jumper for the big wheel market. But most noteworthy is the price tag - for around $1,300 you get a complete bike that doesn't really require upgrading for more progressive riders. Gone are the days when an entry level bike was just a jumping-off point on the way to a custom setup. Haro writes on their website, "The Steel Reserve 1.3 is a custom built bike without the custom built price tag…" and while that might sound like carefully worded marketing copy, I can honestly say that's the impression this Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member 970biking
307 970biking http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/307/avatar/c50_11110451_10102277742308143_8701777566279777981_n_1435152886.jpg?1435152470 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/970biking,307/all 08/03/09 4 35 12 2176 1 16 1 116 11 10

Onza IBEX Tire

Featured Review

“ONZA Tires IBEX 2.4 FR”

C138_onza_tires_ibex

The Good:

Mega traction, supple and durable

The Bad:

Availability is not widespread yet in the USA

Overall Review: So a few months back, I was asked by my friend Bill of gretnabikes.com to test out a set of tires from Onza (onzatires.com). You may remember the Onza name from the 90's, the classis Porc's tires, the bar ends, etc. These days Onza is back with a strong presence in the European market and their tires are designed in Switzerland. Gretna Bikes is slated to be the North American distributor. Being that I am one of the few remaining 26" wheel riders in our local riding group, I was asked to test the 26" IBEX DH 2.40 FRC-120 RC2 55a Tires on my 2011 Cannondale Jekyll. Specs on these babies state they are: MTB FREERIDE/DH TIRE with Read More »

Schwalbe Hans Dampf Tire

“Next Generation Enduro/Downhill Tire”

C138_schwalbe_hans_dampf_tire

The Good:

Fast Rolling, Light Weight (compared to 2 ply DH tire), Tubeless Ready, All around tread pattern

The Bad:

Price. All around tread pattern not the best for loose conditions.

Overall Review: The Super Gravity Hans Dampf (26in x 2.35) tire is an evolutionary step forward in downhill tire construction. The innovative carcass, reinforced folding bead, snakeskin protection and tubeless ready design creates an enduro/dh tire that is 250 to 300 lighter than a comparable 2 ply tire. I was eager to find out if this tire was tough enough to handle real world downhill trail conditions. I've ridden these tires (Trail Star Front, Pace Star rear set up tubeless) on rocky, loose downhill trails, super fast single track and bike park jump lines. What I noticed right away was how fast these tires rolled compared to my 2 ply Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 12 24

RockShox Vivid Air R2C Rear Shock

Vital Review

“Tested: RockShox Vivid Air R2C Rear Shock”

C138_rs_vivdair_r2c_l_222x70_8.75x2.75.a26w
by Jeff Brines Earlier this year, an air shock equipped Commencal took the win at what some are calling the gnarliest track on the UCI World Cup circuit. Suffice it to say, downhill specific air shocks are here to stay. Additionally, Enduro racing is placing even more emphasis on shocks that strike a balance between light weight and descending prowess. With this in mind, we took a look at the new and improved 2014 RockShox Vivid Air R2C to see how it stacks up. RockShox Vivid Air R2C Highlights WEIGHT: 530g (for a 216x63mm without hardware) DAMPING: External beginning stroke rebound, ending stroke rebound, low Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 7 131 266 11 2