Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Magura TS8 R 150 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: Magura TS8R 150 Fork”

C138_magura_ts8_r_150_27
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas Magura has a long and storied history in mechanical engineering, hydraulic engineering and plastics. Best known for brakes, Magura has been working their way into suspension for the last handful of years. Magura’s initial offerings such as the Thor and Wotan were not as well-received as they would have hoped for. With the feedback they received, Magura took their damping platform back to the drawing board and have produced a new cartridge designed to excel in burly terrain and under aggressive riders. A new damping system, shim tuning and volume spacers are all intended Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 92 4 24 18

2014 Marin Mount Vision Carbon XM Pro

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Marin Mount Vision Pro XM”

C138_2014_marin_mount_vision_carbon_xm_pro
Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Evan Turpen and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller Born in Marin County, California in 1986, Marin Bikes has a long and rich history in the mountain bike world. Over the years they've produced many rides as iconic as the trails in their backyard. In recent years, however, they've fallen off the radar of many riders. That's all set to change with the introduction of several new bikes and a rebranding. Leading the charge is the Mount Vision, a bike with 140mm of travel, 27.5-inch wheels, and a do-it-all attitude. Interested to see how the new rig rides, we hit the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 989 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1231 2250 159 41

Race Face Atlas Cinch Cranks

“Race Face Atlas Cranks”

C138_2015_crk_atlas_dm_black_5

The Good:

Great super stiff cranks. have been running a set for years that are 3x9 configuration. Have held up to a lot of riding from XC to freeride and lift accessed terrain. Solid feeling and you don't have to think about them at all. just ride.

The Bad:

A bit expensive and a little heavy but maybe not a really a bad thing? Have never gotten a long life out of a Race Face bottom bracket.

Overall Review: Nice solid long lasting durable crank set.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Hadley 20mm Dowhill Front Hub

“Very Nice Hubs”

C138_100953510_1265405472

The Good:

Low maintenance durable hubs. Have them on my dirt jump bike and the rear has the same engagement feel as the Kings on my XC bike. Have been great hubs and plan on running them for a long time. Have had zero issues with them and they just work great. They are at the top of my list for future wheel builds.

The Bad:

I wish Hadley had a website with all their hub info available.

Overall Review: Great durable long-lasting American made hubs.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Chris King ISO Disc Rear Hub

“Awesome hub!”

C138_screen_shot_2012_02_15_at_1.45.35_pm

The Good:

Have been running these for at least 7 years and have had them professionally serviced twice and I partially serviced them twice. They have been flawless. Near instant engagement and tough. they have seen a lot of miles in all conditions and I have no doubt they will be running smooth for years to come. Have been laced to 2 different rims and seen some hard riding including a bad landing that broke some spokes. Silver finish is still nice too.

The Bad:

Kinda loud and once you have been running them it sucks to ride anything with lesser engagement.

Overall Review: Great hubs that will last a long time if you take care of them.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

SixSixOne Evo Knee Guards Knee/Shin Pad

“EVO knee pads”

C138_2012_sixsixone_evo_knee

The Good:

I have been using these for a 2-3 years now. At Rays indoor park I have needed them a couple times that i fell on larger jumps to a concrete floor. They worked really well. Without them my day would have been over and maybe a trip to the Urgent Care? Walked away and kept riding. Totally worth the price. I wear them under jeans with no problems and with shorts. Have also worn them on trail rides on my XC bike. Maybe overkill for that but they were fine and after 10 minutes you forget they are on. Can't really say how they are in really hot weather but indoors under jeans and 2-3 hours of riding they don't get very sweaty that you notice and remain comfortable.

The Bad:

Now that they are a few years old they don't want to stay in place quite as they used to. The velcro straps are too stretchy. to keep them tight I am almost at the end of usable vecro. It's not a huge problem and i will replace them with these same pads next year.

Overall Review: Well made comfortable pads that work really well.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Chris King No Thread Headset

“Awesome Headset”

C138_96606890_1265403554

The Good:

Smooth and trouble free. Have had one on 3 frames over 10 years and it's still super smooth and in great condition. It's the silver color and still looks great as well. Not cheap but for all the use mine has seen it's been totally worth every penny. Probably less than buying lesser headsets every couple years.

The Bad:

Nothing comes to mind.

Overall Review: Great trouble-free part that will last a long time.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Deity Topsoil Handlebar

“Topsoil Bars”

C138_deity_topsoil_6

The Good:

Solid stiff bars. have had them on my dirt jump bike for 2 years now. no complaints or problems. I'm a kinda big guy and ride fairly hard and these bars have been great. Durable finish. Bend and upsweep numbers are comfortable as well. Same as Easton bars.

The Bad:

Can't think of anything.

Overall Review: Great bars, one of those set it and forget parts you don't have to worry about.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbschrader
25759 mtbschrader /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/all 06/19/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbschrader,25759/setup 3 4 9 16

Loaded Precision X-Lite v.2 Front Front Hub

“Good Front Hub”

C138_black

The Good:

Affordable, holds up well, colors to select from. I had my old hub and had to purchase new ones after it broke so I went with Loaded's hub. So far I've lived it. No issues whatsoever.

The Bad:

No complaints

Overall Review: I run these on both my XC and my dh rig and they're worked well. Hold up nicely. Can't really complain. I had loaded build up my wheels for me and they run great. I also have the Amx rims with their white spokes and the set up looks nice together. These hubs were affordable for my price range. I was going to go with profile racing hubs but the noise began to irritate me when I went riding with my riding group. These are much quieter.

Alpinestars RP-5 Rain MX Pants

“MX Pants from Alpinestar ”

C138_38548

The Good:

comfortable, fit well, affordable, breathable

The Bad:

color but other than that they are fine

Overall Review: I've had problems finding good rain pants but these work out really well. Enjoy riding in them. They're comfortable

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey