Latest Product Reviews


POC Trabec Open Face Helmet

“Maximum protection with comfort and style?! SOLD”


The Good:

Easily adjustable. Maximum protection without feeling bulky. Extremely durable and stays looking clean even after some Gnar and carnage!

The Bad:

uh is there a multi colored one yet?

Overall Review: POC started showing up last season on my friends heads and I loved how they looked! I knew I wanted something different then whats been on the market year after year, not only did they all start to look the same, but after having a good crash in my previous helmet and experiencing the lack of protection it had for me I was in search of a new piece of open face head gear. I had picked up a Trabec and after just one ride I was sold. I have a few different colors in this specific style because, I have found no other open face helmet that has great coverage and still feels light. You name it and I will be wearing my Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbfemme
28717 mtbfemme,28717/all 12/05/13 1 34 3

Urge 2014 Veggie Archi-Enduro Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Urge Veggie Archi-Enduro Helmet”

by Noah Sears The Urge Archi-Enduro bridges the gap between traditional full-face DH helmets and all-mountain half-lids, call it the "tweener" helmet if you like. As the name implies, it's designed for Enduro racing where full face helmets are often compulsory. The granola-friendly Veggie model reviewed here features a 100% natural linen fiber in place of the fiber glass more commonly used in this and other helmets. On my scale, the size small weighs in at 820g. The Veggie model tested here will set you back $224.95, a $35 premium over the standard (fiberglass) model. Urge Veggie Archi-Enduro Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NoahColorado
128 NoahColorado,128/all 08/01/09 1 3 364 29,128/setup 4 93 402 6

Canfield Brothers DH Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Canfield Brothers DH Wheelset”

Review by Ian Collins // Photos by Ian Collins and Fred Robinson When it comes to wheels on my downhill bike, I'd have to say I'm a bit of a creature of habit. For the last decade or so I haven't really strayed from my tried and true Hadley hub/Mavic 721 rim combo. Whether I ran them tubed or ghetto tubeless they've treated me well and as long as I don't put off the occasional hub rebuild or truing I usually get a few years out of them. I like utilitarian things. But when I got a chance to test out the new Canfield DH wheelset I was pretty excited just to try something new on my bike. At only Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ian Collins
140 Ian Collins,140/all 08/01/09 6 154,140/setup 2 6 148 14 2

Canfield Brothers Jedi Frame

“Absolutely insane!”


The Good:

Bottomless suspension, lightning fast, jumps great, tight turns, sexy

The Bad:

Can't think of one..

Overall Review: I just started riding this past summer and this bike has dramatically accelerated my progress. The Jedi is such a smooth ride, the build quality and attention to detail the Canfield brothers put into this frame is incredible. Whether you're blasting through a flowy section and hitting jumps or destroying a rocky technical section, the Jedi inspires pure confidence. Nothing slows this thing down, it just wants to go faster and faster! Nothing feels better than trusting this animal, letting off the breaks and blazing past friends that have been biking for years. Props to the Brothers for this one, definitely a customer for life.

Avid HSX Heat-Shedding Rotor

Featured Review

“The Finest Rotor Avid EVER Made”


The Good:

~160mm rotor is a scant 99g
~Titanium bolts are just 7g total
~ No noise
~ Powerful bite, at lever pull
~ Alloy rotor hub carrier is a one large heat sink
~ Thick, standard 2mm steel rotor surface
~ Perforated surface effectively sheds water and heat

The Bad:

~ Not cheap, but true QUALITY never is!

Overall Review: After making hydraulic disc brakes for over a decade - Avid has finally collected all their years of research and race-inspired wisdom to produce what I call their finest rotor. The HSX is silent and stops on a dime. I realize there is lots of Avid hate out there....but this rotor simply does not warrant such product animosity. Avid took an already fine-performing rotor(HS1) and increased its descending ability threefold. The new hub carrier acts as a huge heat sink and "floating" type rotor construction(ala' motorbikes) makes the disc stop with ruthless efficiency, under all conditions. End of story....
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zachariah
26432 Zachariah,26432/all 07/18/13,26432/setup 1 6 5

Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal

“Canfield Crampon's Magnesium”


The Good:

Everything! Can't find a single thing bad...

The Bad:

Just wished I was able to give these away to my bro's as Christmas stocking stuffers..

Overall Review: incredibly Light, beefed up where needs to be, just the right amount of pedal surface area, well-thought out pin placement and choice of pins, superior bearings, ultra thin, sexy look, can take a beating, and most importantly, they work amazing! Tried all other pedals. Canfield has the midas touch, their products are top notch! You won't regret investing in a pair of these!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member theartiist
28605 theartiist /images/default/avatar/c50.png,28605/all 11/26/13,28605/setup 3 1

Hutchinson Squale Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Hutchinson Squale Tire”

by Matt Thompson Hutchinson's Squale tire is offered in a couple of different configurations. A 2.3-inch which was originally co-designed by ten-time DH World Champion Nicolas Vouilloz, and a 2.5-inch version which has been subsequently modified by the Hutchinson UR Team lead by Mick Hannah (the latter is also available in 2.6-inch width). With such a storied pedigree, and sporting relatively low weight, we were excited to lay our hands on the 2.3-inch version of this tire with the intent of testing it on both the DH and XC rigs. Would it be up to the task at hand? Squale Highlights Co-designed by Nicholas Vouilloz and the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ballr
12 ballr,12/all 07/23/09 3 20 3 1,12/setup 2 19 99 4

Deity Decoy Flat Pedal

“Finally a product that lasts”


The Good:

Virtually indestructible. Grip like melted sugar Popsicle on summer day.

The Bad:

Eventually broken pins get tough to replace

Overall Review: I will never ride with clips again. I road clipped in for ten years. Once I made the switch to flats... Life changing.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Snoopshomes
22234 Snoopshomes,22234/all 02/20/13 13 4

Avid Elixir R Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

“Adequate all around brakes”


The Good:

1) reach adjust
2) modulation
3) price

The Bad:

1) contact pad adjust
2) braking power (compared to Shimanos)

Overall Review: These are decent brakes for the price... definitely a better option than the Juicys they replaced. Even through the Rs also have Taperbore, they don't quite have the stopping power as the CRs.  Modulation is good, not on/off like the Shimano XT/XTR/Saint brakes I tried in the past. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member microfiz
28586 microfiz,28586/all 11/25/13 10,28586/setup 1

Race Face Women's DIY Glove

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Women’s DIY Glove”

Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman You know the point when your riding gloves are either so worn and so dirty no washing can get them clean, some of the fingers are torn, or the palms are full of hard little pills rubbing your hands raw on long rides? Well, all my gloves have reached some combination of these stages. My “this pair isn't so bad yet, I’ll keep it as a back up” gloves don’t even work as back ups anymore. Who’s got two thumbs, eight fingers, and is ready for a new pair of gloves – me. One of the popular names out on the trails these days for components as well as clothing is Race Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 13 1