Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Troy Lee Designs Air Gloves

“Solid, simple glove”

C138_13tld_air_glove_black

The Good:

Great feeling palm, strap on top of wrist, color choices

The Bad:

Seems a little bigger than other gloves, but not an issue yet

Overall Review: Picked these up because I saw them in a video I believe and thought they looked cool. My current gloves were starting to fall apart after almost 2 years. I wanted a basic glove this time around, and something about the look of these gloves stuck out to me. I really like the palm, and it seems thick and durable, but not so thick that you lose feel. I also like that the strap is on top of the glove, because my last gloves had issues with the straps getting messed up in crashes and when pulling on the glove. These gloves even have a slightly extended palm and rubber grips on the bottom of the wrist to make it easier to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member StuLax18
24679 StuLax18 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/StuLax18,24679/all 05/24/13 1 21 1

2013 Giant Glory 0

“...entering pursuit mode”

C138_2013_glory_0

The Good:

good geometry (at 176cm body height)
good bottom bracket height and chainstay length

The Bad:

cabelrouting is a bit funny and cables slaped (noise) against the downtube (is gone since I mounted a rockguard downtube protector)

Overall Review: I got the fram only version - so I can not really tell how good the components are. The frame itself is the best I got so far. It took me about 2 rides on the freeride in Leogang to get used to it. After that it was like - wow, that line was not possible before - wow, I went never that fast into that corner before. I do not think that I ride better (until now ;-) ) but the frame and therefore the bike are easy to understand and do what I want without a lot of effort for the rider. On the second day I rode it down the DH in Leogang and it was the same again. It was easier for me to controle the bike and get my lines. Jumping is a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lister_yu
19924 lister_yu http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19924/avatar/c50_stars_1402335895.jpg?1402335629 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lister-yu,19924/all 11/19/12 4 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lister-yu,19924/setup 2 80 48 2

2014 Niner RIP 9

Vital Review

“Tested: 2014 Niner RIP 9 - Alloy Strikes Back”

C138_rip9_ninergreen_bike
Review by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Courtney Steen The Niner RIP 9 is the company's best-loved trail bike, and has been for a number of years. For 2014, they decided to make it even more awesome. They upped travel 5mm to 125mm, shortened the chainstays 5mm, added ISCG tabs, boosted the stiffness with the addition of a 12x142mm rear axle, and moved to an interesting new tubing manipulation process. They also dropped half a pound of weight along the way, bringing the bike right up to speed for the new year. Not too shabby... We've already reviewed the new full-carbon RIP 9 RDO during our 2013 Test Sessions (and loved it), so Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5848 1058 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 252 1090 2071 124 40

Scott Grenade Pro II Knee Guards

Vital Review

“Tested: Scott Grenade Pro II Knee Guards”

C138_2220270001_40458_tif_zoom_4
by Ian Collins After three massive (bones visible) holes in the same square inch of my right knee over the last decade, I became a bit wary of most of the run-of-the-mill kneepads I've tried. Last year I saw some pictures of the Scott Grenade Pro II Knee Gaurds and they looked promising. Nothing way out of the ordinary, but a few refinements, techy features and a moderately higher price tag of $139.95 gave it a greater luster than most of the pedestrian offerings. Over the winter I got to check them out in person while trying to keep Brendog in sight during some shuttles in SoCal. I asked him about them and he Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ian Collins
140 Ian Collins http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/140/avatar/c50_92535430_1249143201.jpg?1290150211 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/all 08/01/09 6 154 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/setup 2 5 147 14 2

Bontrager G5 Team Issue Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager G5 Team Issue DH Tire”

C138_bontrager_g5_team_issue
Review by Matt Thomson // Photos by Dave Trumpore Downhill tires. Not too complicated, right? Well, there are a few things to consider when purchasing a new set of DH meats - let's roll through them quickly, shall we? Does it hold air when ridden in rocky terrain (not some bike parked-out groomer that looks like the felt on a billiard table)? Is the rubber suitable for riding over roots and rocks when it gets wet? How does it corner? How does it brake? How does it roll? Does it clear mud well? How durable is it? Affordability Bontrager's new G5 tire is a fine addition to their lineup. I've been riding on a set for a Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ballr
12 ballr http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12/avatar/c50_91639130_1248750604.jpg?1290149919 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/all 07/23/09 3 20 3 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/setup 2 19 99 3

Specialized Pitch Comp Bike

“All around shredder!”

C138_pitch_comp

The Good:

Nimble, good geometry, pedals like a dream, rips decents

The Bad:

flimsy rear end

Overall Review: I bought a used 2010 bike about 6 months ago and did my own custom build with raceface and sram components. I kept the stock x-fusion shock but upgraded to a Marzocchi 55 to have something a little more beefy up front. The shock has been serving me just fine even without the adjustability that some other shocks on the market have. This bike is awesome! I ride everything from interurban trails with my girlfriend to all mountain to jump trails and even attempted some downhill on it. Overall this bike has taken everything I've been able to throw at it! with the 67 degree head angle this thing just begs to be railed through Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member millsr4
27283 millsr4 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27283/avatar/c50_photo_1378059199.jpg?1378058866 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/millsr4,27283/all 09/01/13 11 1 1 2 1

DT Swiss FX 1950 Tricon 26" Wheelset

“Solid wheelset that looks great”

C138_pho_fx_1950_tricon_black_ta_12_150_rw_rgb

The Good:

strong,stiff and looks amazing

The Bad:

Cost, unique lacing design could lead to issue in the future

Overall Review: This particular wheel set was never on my wishlist simply because of the steep price tag associated with them but luckily I was given a sweet deal so I thought I would give them a try. You could argue that there are a lot of other options and at even cheaper prices for high end wheels but these ones truly are pretty unique. Right out of the box you can see that the wheels are a strong quality build while at the same time being super light, plus they look simply amazing. The black/green color design along with the white spokes makes for an amazing looking wheel set, they definitely have a one of a kind Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down

GoPro HERO3 Silver Edition Camera

Featured Review

“Awesome action camera”

C138_03_h3_silver_camera_inhousing_glam

The Good:

Easy to use, super durable, allows to customize capture settings

The Bad:

none so far

Overall Review: I purchased the GoPro Hero 3 Silver edition shortly after my Contour camera stopped working. After a couple of months of use I can say that I prefer the GoPro quite a bit more. The picture quality seems to be significantly better than that of the Contour and the GoPro also boosts a lot of smart options on how to capture your biking shots. The camera allows the user to configure the video capture resolution along with the frame rates, plus has the ability to take 11 megapixel photos. The photo options also allow for burst mode as well as a time lapse mode allowing you to snap photos every couple of seconds (you can Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_20160304_145242_1460152142.jpg?1460151668 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 64 49 1

Cane Creek Double Barrel Rear Shock

“Amazing shock that sticks to the trail”

C138_db_coil_vertical_lo_res

The Good:

Highly adjustable, smooth, easy to tune/setup with the help of canecreek.com

The Bad:

One of the more expensive shocks

Overall Review: I won’t go into too much technical detail but this shock is buttery smooth and allows for limitless adjustability. I initially was a bit scared about the complexity of this shock but the base tune/fit guide on canecreek.com made setting up the shock a breeze. I does take some time and requires a couple of rides to get that perfect tune but once that is found then you are left with a very impressive shock. No matter how much abuse, brake bumps, flat landings you throw at this thing it just eat everything up. My Double Barrel is currently on a 2013 Specialized and it works perfectly together. Before owning this Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_20160304_145242_1460152142.jpg?1460151668 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 64 49 1

Specialized Demo 8 Frame

“Fast and Fun DH Frame that Just Goes”

C138_specialized_demo_8_frame

The Good:

Stiff, fast frame that just loves to go

The Bad:

Press fit bottom bracket

Overall Review: I am really impressed with the quality of this frame, the first thing I noticed when I sat on the Demo was how stiff it was and how well it keeps its momentum, even in the parking lot as soon as you put the cranks down it just speeds up and wants to keep on going. The welds are beautiful and comparable to some of the high-end boutique bikes. Access to the shock is very good, so when on the trail adjustments are required it results in a very fast and easy process. When you need to remove or insert the shock back into the frame it is a very easy procedure as well. I am riding a small and find the frame perfect for me ( I Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_IMG_20160304_145242_1460152142.jpg?1460151668 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 64 49 1

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey