Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Five Ten Maltese Falcon (2012) Shoes

“Great Shoe”

C138_five_ten_maltese_falcon_2012_clipless_shoes

The Good:

sticks like glue, good design, great fit, comfortable

The Bad:

Needs different color options

Overall Review: My only complaint is that it would be nice to see more color options, but other than that, this is a great shoe! It sticks your feet to the pedal like none other

Loaded Precision X-Lite Carbon 29" Rim

“Strong carbon rim”

C138_x_lite_carbon

The Good:

Strong and sturdy, perfect for xc racing, tubeless ready, affordable, Lite,

The Bad:

Nothing that I could find

Overall Review: I have been searching for a light weight rim for a while. These rims were better than some of the other brands I was considering. The carbon is strong, I feel super confident on them. I got these for my race bike but will probably get some for my all around every day training bike as well. For a while, I was debating on going tubeless. Now that I have them and am using their orange tubeless system, I think it's been one of the greatest transitions! My race bike is super light. I want to get more carbon components as soon as I have more funding. Just don't want to break the bank. But I love Loaded components. I Read More »

Teva Links Flat Pedal Shoe

“Teva Links Wins!!!”

C138_4304_links_ulvi

The Good:

good appearance, good performance, the grip is excellent.

The Bad:

the heat increases in long riding, the sole is stiff enough, a bit uncomfortable for walking.

Overall Review: Okay, I got this shoes about a week ago, after a big confusion about: Teva Links or Five Ten Freerider VXi. This is my first my MTB shoes and I decide to buy Teva after thought about 2 days. And I really satisfied with this shoes, my feet is very comfortable with this shoes, the grip also excellent; like its logo on the sole, spider. I just feel my feet a bit warm in long riding. I use this shoes for XC by the way. And the sole is quite rigid and a bit uncomfortable for long walking. But the rest is excellent, I really love this shoes. Below is my comparison with another flat pedal shoes, the famous Freerider VXi. Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 11 35 106 10

2014 BH Lynx 6 27.5

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: BH Lynx 6”

C138_bh_lynx_6_27.5_8.5
Reviewed by Evan Turpen and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller While the BH Bikes brand may be a new name to riders in North America, they’ve actually been creating finely crafted bikes for more than 100 years. The Lynx 6 is the Spanish company's all-mountain/enduro bike designed for aggressive riders seeking slack angles and great suspension performance via Dave Weagle’s well regarded Split Pivot system. For 2014 the bike comes in the 27.5-inch (650b) wheel variety at a reasonable price of $3,499. We spent some time aboard the Lynx 6 in Arizona during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Let’s see how it Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 989 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1231 2250 159 41

Royal 2014 Women's Cruiser Shorts

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Women's Cruiser Short & Jersey”

C138_girls_cruiser_short_cyan_f
by Amanda Richter Let’s start this off by being honest with one another. It is important to look good while on your bike, right? Try to deny it if you want, but I certainly appreciate looking put together when I ride. So when I was given the chance to test out a matching kit from Royal Racing I was beyond psyched. I couldn’t wait to get it. Conveniently I had a trip planned to Sedona so I thought that would be a great way to start off the test. As the days ticked by leading up to the trip I checked my tracking information and planned out locations for photos. However, UPS had a different plan. I went to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member La Pata
28909 La Pata http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28909/avatar/c50_Me_biking_1387565935.jpg?1387565116 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/La-Pata,28909/all 12/20/13 2 1 6

Royal 2014 Women's Cruiser 3/4 Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Women's Cruiser Short & Jersey”

C138_girl_cruiser_black_berry
by Amanda Richter Let’s start this off by being honest with one another. It is important to look good while on your bike, right? Try to deny it if you want, but I certainly appreciate looking put together when I ride. So when I was given the chance to test out a matching kit from Royal Racing I was beyond psyched. I couldn’t wait to get it. Conveniently I had a trip planned to Sedona so I thought that would be a great way to start off the test. As the days ticked by leading up to the trip I checked my tracking information and planned out locations for photos. However, UPS had a different plan. I Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member La Pata
28909 La Pata http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28909/avatar/c50_Me_biking_1387565935.jpg?1387565116 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/La-Pata,28909/all 12/20/13 2 1 6

X-Fusion Vector Coil HLR Rear Shock

“X-Fusion Vector HLR Rear Shock (Super Plush)”

C138_vector_coil_hlr

The Good:

This is an excellent example of how a proper coil shock should perform. With the high and low speed compression and rebound adjustments, coupled with the air bottom out, the ability to dial this shock in is practically limitless.

The Bad:

None other than it is heavier than an air shock, but show me a good coil sprung shock that isn't. Not a breaking point for me at all.

Overall Review: I am beyond stoked with this shock! I was running a Fox RP23 w/ Pro Pedal on my XL ibis Mojo HD (running at 160mm), and could never find the sweet spot with this shock. Keep in mind that I am 6'4" and tip the scale at 235.lbs fully geared up, so with the Fox it was either too soft (supple on the tiniest of ripples, yet blowing through the stroke on the big stuff), or far too firm (handled big hits without bottoming, but pummeled my kidneys like I was tapping 5th gear on washboards on the small stuff). The X-Fusion Vector Coil HLR, in my personal opinion, is easily the very best match for the Mojo HD platform. Climbing Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member 831nagrom77
30156 831nagrom77 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/30156/avatar/c50_Devo_1395350994.jpg?1395350828 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/831nagrom77,30156/all 03/20/14 1

2014 Cannondale Trigger 29 Carbon 1

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Cannondale Trigger 29 Carbon 1”

C138_2014_cannondale_trigger_29_carbon_1_bike
Reviewed by John Hauer and Jess Pedersen // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller New for 2014, the Cannondale Trigger 29 is offered in a carbon version. By switching to carbon from aluminum, they were able to save an impressive 550 grams (1.2-pounds) off the frame weight. Sporting the rather unorthodox looking Lefty SuperMax fork and a FOX DYAD RT2 pull shock, it’s sure to make others look twice. With the flip of a switch, the custom shock transforms the ride from a 130mm trail crusher to one with just 80mm of rear travel and steeper angles ready to haul you up the hills. Curious to see how the uniqueness of the Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 989 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1231 2250 159 41

2014 Santa Cruz 5010 Carbon XX1 AM 27.5 with ENVE Wheels

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Santa Cruz 5010 Carbon”

C138_2014_santa_cruz_5010_carbon_xx1_am_27.5_with_enve_wheels
Reviewed by Brandon Turman and Steve Wentz // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller The 125mm travel Santa Cruz Solo - excuse us, Santa Cruz “5010” - enters the 2014 lineup as a smaller brother to the Bronson. Compared to the well-regarded Blur TRc, at first glance you’re sure to notice the new wheel size, but there’s much more to the story. The bike sees updates to the geometry, suspension tweaks, feature updates and more. As one of the most memorable videos of 2013 showed, the bike was designed to take to cover some serious ground on your adventures, but also to be a capable rig that’s at Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 989 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1231 2250 159 41

Gamut Trail SXC Chainguide

Vital Review

“Tested: Gamut Trail SXC Chainguide”

C138_gamut_trail_sxc_chainguide_rear_closeup
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins Gamut lives up to its name's definition by providing a full range of chain retention systems for almost every discipline of off road cycling. Recently, Gamut released the Trail SXC guide, which is designed around the 1X drivetrain platform that more and more riders are running these days. We first gave you a sneak peek of the Trail SXC guide back in early January, and now that we've had the chance to give it a proper go-around, it's time tell you guys how it fared. Gamut Trail SXC Guide Highlights 32 to 40 tooth chainring range SRAM XX1 / X01 compatible, as well as all Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 767 82 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 69 55 1