Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Park Tool CT-3 Chain Tool

“Shop quality chain tool, own it for life”

C138_ct3

The Good:

Strong, durable, replaceable pins

The Bad:

CT-3 may not work on 11 speed chains. The newer CT-3.2 works on 5-11 speed chains.

Overall Review: I've used this chain tool for over 15 years without fail. So far, I have replaced one pin.  The steel construction and fine machining is both durable and smooth.   The rubber coated handles are also a plus.   This tool also works loose kinks in the chain.  Not much more to say than buy this tool and you will own it for life.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 12 24

Xpedo Baldwin Clipless Pedal

“Xpedo Baldwin Clip-less Review”

C138_xpedo_bladwin_pedals

The Good:

Light, Durable, Works well, Looks good,

The Bad:

Screws may loosen but its an easy fix, don't take a shiner

Overall Review: When I got my first look at these pedals I was absolutely stoked to test them out. Xpedo did a really good job of putting together a solid reliable pedal. The pedal's body is slightly smaller all around than the Shimano trail pedals as well as the CrankBrother Mallets. This make squeezing in between rocks just that much easier as well as making pedal strikes a rare occurrence. The cleat system is almost identical to the Shimano SPD interface. A cool feature of the Xpedos is that the cleat has the ability to slide a few millimeters side to side while mounting them on your shoe. This makes getting them in the perfect spot Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kylechs5
5080 kylechs5 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/5080/avatar/c50_161a_XL.jpg?1342500993 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kylechs5,5080/all 10/28/10 7 5 28 1 9

Continental Rubber Queen Tire

“Great tires”

C138_62975

The Good:

Great puncture protection, aggressive thread, long lasting.

The Bad:

If you're obsessed with weight is bad for you ( 1kg in steel bead version), thin sidewalls.

Overall Review: These are one of best tires I have ever had. Thread design is very aggressive and is great for climbing lose dirt and loose rocks. In few months I haven't got a puncture. Volume is really big and I was scared will it fit at rear of my hardtail bike. If you aren't racing gravity disciplines this tire is probably too heavy for you, because my 2.2 steel bead weight over a 1kg. Overall great tire for price.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Dorianl98
27797 Dorianl98 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Dorianl98,27797/all 10/06/13 2 13 19 22 3

2013 Kona Unit Bike

“SS Rigid/Rigid”

C138_2013_kona_unit

The Good:

Geometry: HA is 70 degrees with short chainstays and Reynolds tube set .

The Bad:

grips and pedals

Overall Review: Ok I'm riding a SS bike for the fall and winter portion of this year. I chose the Unit because of its geometry and because its steel. It turns out that lot of what you hear about SS is not that far from fiction as you might think. Update 2 months later. This bike has become the stand out bike of my bikes. I grab it for more often than not when going to ride anywhere. It will never match a suspension bike in a DH trail but have been super surprised that my Strava speeds for complete rides( up and down) are really close. Little to no maintenance, wheels are still true:) cheap and you feel manly riding it...hahaha 5 months later update Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Christian Peper
1131 Christian Peper http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1131/avatar/c50_88173630_1260934116.jpg?1290152491 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Christian-Peper,1131/all 10/22/09 6 22 8 4 26 211 11

Specialized P.3 Frame

“simplicity meets perfection”

C138_2015_specialized_p.3_frame

The Good:

The frame is low and light, giving an initial impression much like a 4X bike. The speed is there but dont be fooled. the short chainstays and high bottom bracket make this thing as much of a street and park machine than any other. a steep headtube and long top tube balance the need for a responsive, playful geometry with the need for stability and room for barspins. The frame can handle any abuses and will simply beg for more.

The Bad:

The chain tensioners work great for the most part but they need to be very very tight or they like to slip. this caused some frustration initially but now that the bike is dialed there are no real complaints.

Overall Review: This is simply the best dj frame around. load it up with your favorite components and its a bike that anyone will envy. Tough, reasonably priced, light, clean, absolutely dialed.
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

2013 Scott Voltage FR 10 Full Suspension Bike

“Ultimate Fun machine”

C138_scott_voltage_fr_10_bike

The Good:

The Voltage can cater to anyone and anything. With small and large options you can decide weather you want snappy race feel or a playful trick machine. The bike itself also has two phenomenal features in regard to how adjustable it is. The headtube is a 1.5 straight which allows for literally any fork configuration available to be an option given the correct headset. The voltage also comes with a variety of shock mounts allowing for a setup tunable for any build from a light slopestyle bike up to a heavy duty big mountain killer. with every given shock mount, the voltage also has an easily accessible short and long travel adjustment, allowing the rider to dial in the rear end with nothing more than an allen key. The specs on the bike are fantastic and leave very little to be desired. The frame is extremely light, and with the adjustments, can cater to a riders every need.

The Bad:

The voltage, in my opinion, is the perfect park bike. The frame is light and responsive so the fact that scott would spec it with components less than the very very best is beyond me. I think that it would be genius to sell a frame option as well because all of the tunability means very little if the rider has to purchase it complete.

Overall Review: Overall, the Voltage FR has been my dream bike for a while, and after extensive abuse, progression and close calls, I can say the voltage is a bike for the rider who wants every last bit of fun they can possibly have on a mountain bike. If you want a slope and a dh bike but dont have the money, look no further. Want a perfect bike park bike? Or something to destroy the local freeride zones or carve snow in the off season? This is the bike. This bike kills it all. Masterpiece
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Park Tool CT-3 Chain Tool

“works how it should”

C138_ct3

The Good:

Works exactly as advertised. I have replaced multiple chains and it has been perfect. Even the dreaded shimano link pops in very simply. I thought it was worth the price.

The Bad:

I have no bad issues with this. As of now no problems whatsoever.

Overall Review: I would recommend purchasing this item. I always think it is worth it to have quality tools in your arsenal.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Snoopshomes
22234 Snoopshomes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22234/avatar/c50_Ride_Em_Hard_Logo_1367265653.jpg?1367265195 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Snoopshomes,22234/all 02/20/13 13 4

RockShox Dart 2 Fork

“Starter Fork”

C138_fk291a00_100

The Good:

If you're getting into sport, especially XC this is good fork. Has a turnkey lockout and really isn't hard to turn while driving or getting into climb.

The Bad:

Well, if you care about weight don't go for this fork. Personal: My trails often have a lot of mud on it and rebound adjustment is really problematic without cleaning. After big drops you will have a felling that fork doesn't work on smaller rocks.

Overall Review: I'm giving it 4 stars looking from aspects of beginner XC rider. You won't need anything more for XC hard tails, so if you're not obsessed by the weight go for it. If you break it, you haven't used it right.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Dorianl98
27797 Dorianl98 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Dorianl98,27797/all 10/06/13 2 13 19 22 3

RockShox Recon Silver TK Fork

“recon silver: workhorse fork for a rider with a budget”

C138_rockshox_recon_tk

The Good:

this was one of the first forks i ever ran. When i started biking we did it all. XC races, skills parks with ladder bridges, street riding, home made skinnys and drops local singletrack. everything. This fork took it all even when we got into dirt jumping. it begged for more rock gardens, skateparks, and grueling xc races for a year and a half with no service at all.

The Bad:

a bit heavy

Overall Review: For the price, this fork is a no brainer. it is widely adjustable, plush, affordable and versatile. It really brought me to a new level and gave me what i needed to become a more and more dedicated rider.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Deity Compound Flat Pedal

“Rider owned”

C138_deity_compound

The Good:

these pedals are extremely light, really strong and have an incredible feel to them. they will take a beating and come back begging for more. these will not let your feet slip ever.

The Bad:

the pins are very very sharp but what pedals arent really?

Overall Review: these pedals are an affordable, light, dialed addition to anyone's arsenal of parts on their bike, it will make a positive impact on any build.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1