Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Michelin Wild Rock'R2 Advanced Reinforced Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Michelin Wild Rock'R2 Tire”

C138_michelin_wild_rockr_advanced_tubeless_reinforced_tire
by Dave Trumpore Michelin has been quiet for the last few years on the DH and Enduro front, and the Wild Rock'R2 marks their return to the serious gravity and trail bike market. Aimed at today's modern trail bikes, and more specifically Enduro racing this tire is aggressive and especially rugged. Michelin makes three versions of this tire and we tested the top of the line model that retails for $100. Wild Rock'R2 Tire Highlights 2.35" x 26" (Tested), 27.5" (650b), and 29” Tubeless Ready Folding Aramid Bead 50A Magi’X Softer Compound Front // 64A Center, 59A Lateral Gum’X Harder Dual Compound Rear Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member davetrumpore
1982 davetrumpore http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1982/avatar/c50_89971110_1266365822.jpg?1290155202 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/davetrumpore,1982/all 02/16/10 6 7 710 1 1 9 2 92 7

2014 Giant XTC Advanced 27.5 3 Bike

“2014 Giant XTC 27.5 Advanced 3”

C138_xtc_advanced_27.5_3_black

The Good:

Handling, function of components for price (value), compliance (for a hard tail). I really had a lot of fun on this bike and bested previous efforts put in on MUCH more expensive and lighter XC bikes.

The Bad:

Nothing bad. The components are not the flashiest or lightest, but all worked great. The stem and bars were a little longer and narrower than I am used to, but maybe just right for this type of bike and intended purpose. The Reba was very firm, which was good in terms of going where I pointed it, but was a little harsh...probably just not enough time on it to get it dialed.

Overall Review: I have been riding bikes all my life and competing in mostly XC and enduro successfull...y the last few years in Cat 1. I have owned or ridden many of the late model XC and enduro offerings, including the Trek Remedy 29er, Giant Trance SX 27.5, Santa Cruz Highball, SC Tallboy, Tallboy2 and Tallboy LT, and SC Bronson. My experience so far with the variety of wheels sizes we now have led me to the idea that 27.5 is more agile, fun, flickable and capable down, but that 29 is faster rolling and better uphill…i.e. that 29 is better for XC. In fairness, riding a 29lb 150/160mm Bronson back to back with a 26lb 100/120mm Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member argibson
29334 argibson /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/argibson,29334/all 01/21/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/argibson,29334/setup 1 6 1

Axiom Annihilateair G200LE Floor Pump

Vital Review

“Tested: Axiom Annihilateair G200LE Floor Pump”

C138_axiom_annihilateair_g200le_floor_pump
by Colt Maule Axiom is committed to helping cyclists ride more and live better, and they have been at it for 25 years. Their products are designed and tested by avid cyclists, so every minute detail is painstakingly considered before a final design is approved. Axiom relentlessly pursue new ways to reduce their footprint, using environmentally sensitive processes and materials in all of their products and packaging. With that background, I was curious to see what they can bring to us riders, so I put their Annihilateair G200LE floor pump to the test. Annihilateair G200LE Pump Highlights 13 x 9-inch powder Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member projekt roam
3232 projekt roam http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/3232/avatar/c50_colt_berm_bend_2_bw_s.jpg?1332358737 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/projekt-roam,3232/all 06/28/10 4 8 236 21 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/projekt-roam,3232/setup 1 5 5

2014 Intense Carbine 29

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Intense Carbine 29”

C138_2014_intense_carbine_29
Reviewed by Evan Turpen and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller Introduced in late 2013, the Carbine 29 is the first long-travel enduro 29er from Intense Cycles. It has a full carbon front triangle and carbon swingarm linked together by two counter-rotating CNC’d aluminum VPP links with options for either 127 or 140mm of rear travel. Complete with the well-regarded 160mm RockShox Pike fork, this rig is designed to tackle anything you can throw at it. With that in mind, we pedaled up and pointed it down some of the rowdiest descents Sedona, Arizona has to offer during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_BT_20150715_untitled_shoot_016_6_2_1478284381.jpg?1478283449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6087 1037 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 271 1172 2156 131 40

Shimano M162 SPD Shoes

“Good shoes but durability issues”

C138_sh254b02_black

The Good:

Good medium width, good heel hold due to cam buckle, reasonably stiff sole, good walking grip

The Bad:

The neoprene on both top strap began tearing after about a month of use, resulting in a less precise fit

Overall Review: I really like these shoes. They can be had for under $100 online and are a good shoe for trail riding, striking a balance between an XC-style fit and friendly walking performance. The sole is stiff enough but has some give when walking around. Unfortunately the neoprene on both top straps tore after about a month. The shoes are still usable but I need to crank the top strap quite a bit to get the fit I'd like, while the strap used to be more elastic right up against the ankle, making for a precise fit without the same tension. Other than the top strap durability issue, these are great shoes, especially given the price. Unfortunately I would not buy another pair and will looking for something with similar performance but better longevity.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member D(C)
24430 D(C) /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/D-C,24430/all 05/15/13 2 12 2

MarshGuard Stash Fork Fender

Vital Review

“Tested: MarshGuard Fender and Stash Add-On”

C138_marshguard_stash_fork_fender
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas Ah winter... The sun seems to set before I leave work and the trails have reached maximum saturation, with consistent rain to boot. Regardless, I have been night riding fairly consistently and making the most of winter here in the Northwest. But nothing ruins a wet weather ride like a face full of mud, or the realization that all the slop surrounding your fork bushings will require diligent removal. The tube and zip-tie fender is a nearly free and simple solution to unwanted muck on one's face, but it doesn't reduce the slop around fork stanchions nor does it last for more Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 17 17

MarshGuard Fork Fender

Vital Review

“Tested: MarshGuard Fender and Stash Add-On”

C138_marshguard_fork_fender
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas Ah winter... The sun seems to set before I leave work and the trails have reached maximum saturation, with consistent rain to boot. Regardless, I have been night riding fairly consistently and making the most of winter here in the Northwest. But nothing ruins a wet weather ride like a face full of mud, or the realization that all the slop surrounding your fork bushings will require diligent removal. The tube and zip-tie fender is a nearly free and simple solution to unwanted muck on one's face, but it doesn't reduce the slop around fork stanchions nor does it last for more than a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 17 17

Canfield Brothers Jedi Frame

“Canfield Jedi”

C138_canfield_brothers_2014_jedi_black_black

The Good:

Best frame I've ridden, hands down.

The Bad:

I really can't think of one, other than no carbon option yet.

Overall Review: I can’t say enough about this bike… The rumors and claims are true, this thing eats the gnarliest lines and feels like it’s accelerating through them! The rearward axel path really does work as intended, allowing the forward momentum to pull the rear wheel up and over square rocks and deep roots without losing any speed. Going off of drops or jumps, any time you get deep in the suspension the bike just rockets forward. This might seem dangerous or frightening if it weren’t for how amazingly stable the bike is at speeds. There were many times this last season that I had a solitary moment of “oh no this won’t end Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 18 5

Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal

“Canfield Crampon Magnesium”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_magnesium

The Good:

Great pedal.. Thin, light, strong grrrrippy!

The Bad:

DU bushings develop loud clank once they wear down, easily rebuilt though and back to normal. Pins need to be snugged down as they can fall out if not tight. On the mags, the paint chips fairly easily.

Overall Review: Just like their predecessor, the Crampon Ultimate, they have a nice big platform, nice and tight to the crank arm. Convex design is very comfortable to ride on, they seem like they cradle my foot better than others. Grip on these is unreal!  When I first got them they were TOO sticky so I had to remove some pins but with some wear they became just right.  Lightest flat pedal out there, and just as strong as any other. Best flat pedal I've owned!  Light, strong, slim and stylish, another winner from the C2 team!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 18 5

Canfield Brothers Crampon Ultimate Pedal

“Crampon Ultimates”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_polished_2

The Good:

Great pedal.. Thin, light, strong grrrrippy!

The Bad:

DU bushings develop loud clank once they wear down, easily rebuilt though and back to normal. Pins need to be snugged down as they can fall out if not tight.

Overall Review: Really nice big platform, nice and tight to the crank arm. Convex design is very comfortable to ride on, they seem like they cradle my foot better than others.  Grip on these is unreal!  When I first got them they were TOO sticky so I had to remove some pins but with some wear they became just right.  Also very light, they work well on everything from the DH rig to the DJ. Best flat pedal I've owned!  Light, strong, slim and stylish, another winner from the C2 team!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 18 5