Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Renthal FatBar Riser Bar

“Bring back the Biff(BRAAAAAP)”

C138_63501

The Good:

Competitive weight in Aluminum DH/Trail Bars
Bar width between the two offerings (Fatbar and Lite)
Several offering in heights (30 & 38 being the obvious choice)
Clean asthetics
Sweep / Rise allows for major earth raping

The Bad:

Only one colorway, would prefer a black option
Bar Graphics (alignment)

Overall Review: I've had the opportunity to ride for a wonderful competitor of Renthal for two years prior to 2013 but didn't continue the relationship this year, because of that, I wanted to try a different offering and I decided I'd Renthalize. In my time riding for the previous sponsor, I began to develop hand cramps between my thumb and forefinger and could never figure out what the problem was. I tried several different offerings of the company but always developed this pain. Speaking with colleagues, we hypothesized that it was the handlebar's sweep / rise causing the pain due to my hands' contact point in this area. I Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bstens
2366 bstens /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bstens,2366/all 03/29/10 2 4 29 209 4

ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grip

“ODI TroyLeeDesigns Lock On Grip”

C138_gr272a00

The Good:

Very Grippy, Looks good, Lasts long.

The Bad:

Price could be a little lower.

Overall Review: Grip lasts long and looks great. Grip pattern is good. Hand fits on grip very well. Not the cheapest grip out there but I would say its worth the money.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kaelmarkledh
22035 kaelmarkledh http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22035/avatar/c50_IMG_1418_1430540193.jpg?1430539890 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/all 02/12/13 2 5 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/setup 1 13 3

2014 Santa Cruz V10 Carbon Bike

“Santa Cruz V-10c 2014”

C138_2013_v10catalogflat

The Good:

Smooth as butter, Jumps amazingly, Handles the gnarly stuff amazingly

The Bad:

Needs lots of down tube protection for shuttling. (If you shuttle over a tale gate.)

Overall Review: Very smooth, rides through rock gardens like its a paved road. In my opinion the 10inch rear is only good for super gnarly courses, otherwise it feels sluggish. Jumps like a freeride bike. Cornering becomes very natural with the bike.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kaelmarkledh
22035 kaelmarkledh http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22035/avatar/c50_IMG_1418_1430540193.jpg?1430539890 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/all 02/12/13 2 5 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/setup 1 13 3

Bell Full-9 Helmet

“Bell Full 9”

C138_aaron_gwin_signature

The Good:

Comfy, Good fit, Good looking, Carbon/Light, Strong.

The Bad:

Gets hot, not many vents.

Overall Review: Quite light and not very bulky. Moto style is pretty cool. Looks sick. Very strong, had a few hits on it and no real damage to the helmet besides a few scratches. Not the best on very hot days, as it doesn't have very many vents and it gets sort of hot. Works good with a neck brace, doesn't smash against it. Overall - Awesome Helmet, worth the money.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kaelmarkledh
22035 kaelmarkledh http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22035/avatar/c50_IMG_1418_1430540193.jpg?1430539890 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/all 02/12/13 2 5 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kaelmarkledh,22035/setup 1 13 3

2013 Specialized P.3 Bike

“Ripper Bikes”

C138_91e9_32_p_3_blk_soder_claw

The Good:

Weight, Build, Looks, Ride

The Bad:

Price, Brand Premium

Overall Review: ***I only rode this bike for 2 days in the bike park, this is not a thorough review*** With that said, we got along great. I got the chance to ride the 2014 P3 at Winterberg Bike Park, in Germany for a weekend in October 2013, and i really liked it. I rode it on the pumptrack, dirt jumps, and on two of the jump trails, the Bell Freecross and the Continental track. Things I liked: -Handled great. I'm not 100% sure what it was, but even at (relatively) high speeds it was fairly stable, and the Specialized Slopestyle tyres it comes with a grippier than they look. I managed to scare myself a few times on the faster, higher speed Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ben.nolan.779
26092 ben.nolan.779 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26092/avatar/c50_fb_picture_742824772_1372704230.jpg?1372703365 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ben-nolan-779,26092/all 07/01/13 6 2

Answer ProTaper 780 DH Handlebar

“Answer Protaper DH,”

C138_99727920_1267162626

The Good:

Strong, well priced, nice and wide, comfortable hand position.

The Bad:

Lighter options available (but more expensive)

Overall Review: STATS. So, Answer have been around for a while, they make a bunch of Moto stuff, and their bike stuff isn't half bad either. The 780mm Protaper DH is, as the name suggests, their downhill/FR (does FR even exist anymore?) bar. It weighs in around 335gm, so its not super light, but it's not as heavy as some offerings either, and it's price is definitely competitive. The Protaper DH utilises a slightly flatter and straighter design (8 degree backsweep, 4 degree upsweep) compared to most bars (9 degree x 5 degree) and at 780mm wide are on the restrained side of the width war (some brands have made it out to 830mm). I'm Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ben.nolan.779
26092 ben.nolan.779 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26092/avatar/c50_fb_picture_742824772_1372704230.jpg?1372703365 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ben-nolan-779,26092/all 07/01/13 6 2

Shimano SLX M666 Disc Brake

Featured Review

“powerful, consistent brakes”

C138_br258c01

The Good:

Powerful, consistent, reliable, durable

The Bad:

routine maintenance is required for peak performance

Overall Review: I ran these brakes hard this season- bike park, dh shuttle laps, aggressive trails. What impressed me most was the consistent braking power even on the longest downhills.   The oversized ceramic pistons and ice tech brake pads keep the system fade free.  The lever design is comfortable for 1 finger braking.   I found the tool free reach adjustment very convenient.   Coming from Avid brakes, I had to get used to the power of the Shimano brakes.  The power comes on more quickly, requiring the rider to not drag their brakes.  SLX brakes require less pressure to engage thereby reducing hand fatigue.  In addition, I feel that I can brake later into corners which increases my speed. At $125 per brake, these are the best performing brakes on the market.  Get them.  You won't regret it.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 12 24

2012 Mongoose Boot'r Comp Bike

“PROS and CONS”

C138_m_12_bootc_wht_5

The Good:

comfortable ride, looks pretty good, smooth gear shifting, great tyres

The Bad:

the fork and rear suspension makes undesirable sounds, heavy, rear suspension rebound adjust feels dodgy when adjusting.

Overall Review: OVERALL, an OKAY bike, but if you had $2.5K buy another bike with less cons
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Eddy Zu
22923 Eddy Zu http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22923/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001398034314_1363771656.jpg?1363771587 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Eddy-Zu,22923/all 03/20/13 2 1

Formula RO Disc Brake

Vital Review

“Tested: Formula RO Disc Brakes”

C138_my13_ro_caliper_cap_side
by Noah Sears The RO brake from Formula promises monster power in a svelte package. Unlike its class competitors which use four pistons, the RO uses two large oval pistons. With half as many pistons, rather puny looking pads, and a complete weight of 360g (claimed, with 160mm rotor), surely, I thought, the RO was a dainty little trail brake masquerading as a big-hit brake? Boy was I wrong. Formula RO Disc Brake Highlights Polished and anodized finish Oval pistons 18% claimed increase in power over "The One" 160mm, 180mm, and 203mm rotor sizes Removable handlebar clamp Flip-flop master cylinder Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NoahColorado
128 NoahColorado http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/128/avatar/c50_88160290_1258334763.jpg?1290150194 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/all 08/01/09 1 3 364 29 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/setup 4 91 399 6

Bontrager G2 Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager G2 Team Issue Tires”

C138_bontrager_g2
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins When the Trek World Racing Team requested a fast, downhill specific tire for hardpack courses like Sea Otter, Bontrager answered with the G2 Team Issue tire. With an almost semi-slick profile, ramped center knobs and some meaty, somewhat familiar looking side knobs, Bontrager's aim was clearly a fast rolling tire that doesn't sacrifice cornering traction. Does it deliver? We snatched a set to find out. G2 Team Issue Tire Highlights 26x2.20-inches Fast rolling, low-knob gravity tire Designed to excel in hard pack conditions Dual-ply casing Low rolling resistance downhill compound Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 136 3 222 201 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 20 178 1 51 36

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey