Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Fox Racing Rampage Full Face Helmet

“Affordable protection from Fox”

C138_l139487

The Good:

A good looking helmet for the price, light, fairly comfortable, easy to use thanks to a clip instead of buckle, easy to wash

The Bad:

Does not work very well with a Leatt, liner above forehead slides down, cheapish interior, the plastic peak nob is not strong enough, rubber trim peels off

Overall Review: A sturdy, affordable beginner helmet. It saved my head from a substantial rock hit. It did what it was supposed to. Unfortunetly the price reflects some build quality issues-it is not that comfortable and things start to break after a couple months. Its a helmet, it does what its needs to do, but nothing more.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Truvativ Descendant DH Crankset

“Worthy Cranks”

C138_truvativ_descendant_dh_crankset

The Good:

Simple, relatively light weight compared to other non-carbon downhill cranks, stiff, tough

The Bad:

The paint wears off after while

Overall Review: Really great crank from Truvativ. If their World Cup Team riders ride these, they must be good. I ride them on my Morewood Makulu and they really make the bike. You barely notice them - they just do their job. Dont know if it was just me, but I had to take the BB apart and clean in the first two weeks to stop an annoying creek, but once put back together I have had absolutely no trouble. Another thing I noticed is that because they have a flat outside surface with no ribs, your ankles rarely get hit or hurt. Overall, a reliable, strong, lightweight crank worthy of any build.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

SRAM X.0 Rear Derailleur

“Great shifting from Sram”

C138_90369700_1266800680

The Good:

Light, extremely crisp shifting, strong spring keeps the chain from slapping around, good looking

The Bad:

Price, but it's definitely worth it. The logo/decal rubs off after a couple of washes, unfortunately.

Overall Review: Really crisp shifting, there is no lag at all. So precise. Work in all conditions, easy to service, very simple. Spares are readily available, but I have not had to order one. Great for any use. I use it on my 1X9 DH rig and it works perfectly. Very fast shifting.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

e*thirteen Guidering Chainring

“A Chainring fit for any Rig”

C138_98529870_1265249248

The Good:

Lightweight, good looking, long teeth to really hold onto the chain, comes in many sizes and colors

The Bad:

Nothing, possibly quite expensive

Overall Review: Have not had any issues with it, great ring, looks good, has not dropped a chain.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

FOX DHX RC4 Rear Shock

“A Shock that will change your bike-for the Better!”

C138_97854910_1265256421

The Good:

Smooth and plush, progressive, extremely responsive throughout the stroke, easy to tune, so many settings, easy to buy springs

The Bad:

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

Overall Review: This is how you want a shock to feel, it will completely change your bike. Very responsive over the rough, easy to get diald in, progressive bottom out, hard when you need it to be. A great benchmark. Best shock Ive ridden, by far! The only reason I give it 4.5 stars, is because I hear the Cane Creek is great...but costly. This is the shock you need.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Shimano PD-M647 Pedals

“Shimano DX”

C138_pe703a09

The Good:

Large platform provides plenty support, chunky and strong enough to survive big hits and a lot of abuse, easy-to-use tensioning system, simple

The Bad:

HEAVY, so heavy, Im considering changing.

Overall Review: A great pedal for Downhill, but too heavy for trail. Really tough and simple to use. They take some abuse!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Deity Enoki Grip

“Deity Enoki for the Win!”

C138_97354370_1278699377

The Good:

Really, really comfortable, great shape, the fins are quite big so they provide a lot of cushioning as well as an ergonomic grip, flange is the perfect size to work together with brakes/shifters

The Bad:

Nothing at all.

Overall Review: Having always ridden ODI, specifically the flanged ruffian, I thought i would never change, these grips changed that. These grips are definitely the best on the market. So comfortable, and best grip pattern for sure. I really love flanged grips, so if you do too, these are the grips to buy.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

Zoic Antidote Riding Shorts

Vital Review

“Tested: Zoic Guru Jersey and Antidote Shorts”

C138_antidote_black_front
by Nick Zuzelski San Diego-based clothing company Zoic has been in the industry for nearly 20 years. Boasting a grassroots, organic brand, the company has some new threads to show off for 2013, and recently sent over one of their new kits to get some ride time on. Antidote Shorts Highlights Detachable RPL Essential Liner with ZO-Tech chamois pad Outer shell constructed of abrasion resistant nylon Stretch fabric inseam panels Integrated Air Flow mesh ventilation panels across the back and down legs, as well as zippered inseam ventilation Microfiber sunglass wipe secured with elastic strap inside pocket Locking zippers stay Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 22

Zoic Guru Riding Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Zoic Guru Jersey and Antidote Shorts”

C138_guru_black_front
by Nick Zuzelski San Diego-based clothing company Zoic has been in the industry for nearly 20 years. Boasting a grassroots, organic brand, the company has some new threads to show off for 2013, and recently sent over one of their new kits to get some ride time on. Antidote Shorts Highlights Detachable RPL Essential Liner with ZO-Tech chamois pad Outer shell constructed of abrasion resistant nylon Stretch fabric inseam panels Integrated Air Flow mesh ventilation panels across the back and down legs, as well as zippered inseam ventilation Microfiber sunglass wipe secured with elastic strap inside pocket Locking zippers stay Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 22

Renthal FatBar Riser Bar

“Best Bar I've Ridden”

C138_63501

The Good:

Lightweight, rigid yet forgiving for optimum control, great shape and no taper allows for custom positioning of brakes for anybody, great look and color, perfect width for downhill

The Bad:

Nothing. If given the choice however i would swop for a 30mm rise

Overall Review: Really great bar, no negatives. You are buying a bar that has heritage so it wont disappoint. I would definitely go for a bigger rise though, getting your head up and allowing you to really look forward. I have the 10mm rise and its a little too low. The only reason i gave it 4.5 stars is because theres possibly something better...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11