Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Race Face Piper Women's Riding Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Piper Women's Jersey and Shorts”

C138_race_face_piper_womens_jersey
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman There’s hole worn in this pair of shorts, this other pair is coming apart, this one jersey doesn’t fit well, this other one is stained and has a tear in it… Going through my drawer of riding clothes, this is the common theme. It appears to be time for some new gear. Despite their frequent usage, I have yet to find a pair of shorts or a jersey that really fit the way I want or prove durable enough over time. Enter Race Face, a brand with a deep heritage in MTB and a wide product range including riding gear specifically made for us women – fist pump for the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 13 1

Race Face Piper Women's Shorts

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Piper Women's Jersey and Shorts”

C138_race_face_piper_womens_shorts
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman There’s hole worn in this pair of shorts, this other pair is coming apart, this one jersey doesn’t fit well, this other one is stained and has a tear in it… Going through my drawer of riding clothes, this is the common theme. It appears to be time for some new gear. Despite their frequent usage, I have yet to find a pair of shorts or a jersey that really fit the way I want or prove durable enough over time. Enter Race Face, a brand with a deep heritage in MTB and a wide product range including riding gear specifically made for us women – fist pump for the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 13 1

Shimano SLX M666 Disc Brake

“Best brake...for this price...”

C138_br258c01

The Good:

Not drastically different from XT, great stopping power, weight, looks

The Bad:

Not XTR, little to no modulation.

Overall Review: For the money I don't think you can find a better brake. Totally simple to bleed and they look sharp. Could be better... But hey, it's called xt and xtr. So... Again...for the money it is a pretty good brake. I have used juicy, Hayes and others and I personally believe shimano is the easiest to maintain. You could have these on your bike for years.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Snoopshomes
22234 Snoopshomes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22234/avatar/c50_Ride_Em_Hard_Logo_1367265653.jpg?1367265195 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Snoopshomes,22234/all 02/20/13 13 4

Loaded Precision AMX Signature CroMo Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Loaded Precision AMX Signature CroMo Flat Pedal”

C138_loaded_usa_amx_signature_cromo
by Nick Zuzelski There are two crucial points of control you have with your bike - your hands, and your feet. Loose either by accident and it's usually not pretty. If you are one of the many riders out there running flats, you know that flat pedal design has recently evolved towards a thinner, sleeker, and wider platform with plenty of pins to keep your feet glued on at all times. Loaded Precision's latest offering, the new AMX Signature pedals, fall into this category and our feet were excited to take them on a date to see what kind of trouble the two of them could get into. AMX Signature CroMo Pedal Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 23

Transition Bank Frame

“favorite bike i have owned”

C138_bank_v2_4

The Good:

light, stiff, great geo and changeable dropouts

The Bad:

pretty long chainstays, bad rotor clearance on the caliber when installing the wheel but can easily be fixed with one washer.

Overall Review: Awesome frame, i bought one of these after i retired my TOP and i love it soo much more. It was noticeably stiffer than my steel TOP. The first time i rode it made me feel like a better rider and who doesn't want to better them self's with riding! The geo is so good for fast, flowey trails. This Frame is super light, it weighs 24 pounds even with a super burly wheelset. Im sure you could easily drop 2-3 pounds with a lighter build than mine. another super cool thing with V5 and newer is that it has changeable drop outs from 12x142 thru axle (what it comes with) and 10x135 horizontal and 10x135 vertical. Note if you plan on running it SS without a chain tensioner you need to buy the 10x135 horizontal and Transition sells each side individually on there website.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

2013 Chromag Ranger Stem

“great stem”

C138_ranger_80_blue

The Good:

Super light, pretty strong and stiff and it has a large option of lengths and colors

The Bad:

nothing...

Overall Review: awesome stem, its super light and looks great on any rig . its nice to have all the length options with this stem so you can really dial in the felling for your bike and it has a wide option of colors
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

Magura MT8 Disc Brake

Vital Review

“Tested: Magura MT8 Disc Brakes”

C138_magura_mt8_disc_brake
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins With the MT8, it's clear Magura set out to make one of the lightest, high performance brakes available. Introducing what Magura calls Carbotecture, a new carbon material produced in-house to construct the lever-body along with other weight shedding materials and design used throughout the MT8's construction, the MT8 is one of the lightest XC/Enduro brakes we've laid our hands on. Utilizing the first-ever full carbon master-cylinder, a full carbon lever-blade and aluminum hardware, the MT8 weighs in at a claimed weight of 278g (including 160mm Storm SL Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 133 3 255 167 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 29 202 56 40

Bontrager Rhythm Pro TLR Disc 27.5/650b Complete Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Bontrager Rhythm Pro TLR 27.5 Wheelset”

C138_650b_complete_wheel_front
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Ian Collins Bontrager has impressed us lately with the newer crop of components we've had the chance to test. So, when asked to give the new Rhythm Pro TRL wheelset a spin, we jumped on the opportunity. Featuring carbon hoops and Rapid Drive hubs for a total weight of only 1585 grams for the 27.5 wheelset, we wondered if Bontrager's claim of “ripping technical trail ascents while handing the nastiest descents” would turn out to be too good to be true. Could such a light wheelset really handle the rigors of aggressive all-mountan and Enduro riding? Rhythm Pro TLR Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 133 3 255 167 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 29 202 56 40

Chromag Brandon Semenuks' 'Overture' Signature Model Saddle

“Chromag Overture Semenuk Saddle”

C138_92492180_1273304652

The Good:

The Chromag Overture saddle is one of the most widely used saddles by dirt jumpers slopestyle riders and freeriders alike. The seat can be spotted on the bikes of a large number of pros and can look good on any bike. The saddle itself is extremely high quality. It is extremely comfortable and it provides a great pinch for suicide no handers or barspins. Though the saddle does look nice, Chromag also put some grippier material on the sides of the seat to achieve a better pinch which is going above and beyond any other companies efforts as far as seats go. The shape is perfect because it stays out of the way but is there when you need it. On top of sheer performance, the seat will instantly make any bike look way nicer, adding a splash of color, or a clean looking addition to a top end build.

The Bad:

The overture isn't surprisingly strong. I have had friends Overtures creak from the moment that they were purchased and I had one develop a small bit of movement that I cannot seem to fix. They also seem to break more than other saddles. Both of these issues I have never heard of with any seats from Deity or other brands making seats. The color on the Overture also fates a bit. Colored ones will turn more gray gradually, and the gummy material on the sides has begun to peel off on my own.

Overall Review: Overall, this seat is the best they come. Any high end DJ or slope bike needs one. They are the absolute best and truly have raised the bar as to the standard for saddles. Though there are some apparent problems present, I will continue to have the overture as my saddle of choice. This is really just the best you can use hands down.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Race Face Flank Knee/Shin Pads

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Flank Knee/Shin Guard”

C138_race_face_flank_leg
by Andy Holloway The Race Face Flank Leg Guards aren't new on the scene, they were first introduced back in 2010 and three years later the same basic design is still going strong. With a few years of feedback under their belt, the Race Face crew have made further improvements to material and construction for 2013. The core concept remains the same, with open-back construction for ease of removal and D3O pads for protection, in a full-length design that extends well down onto the shins. We were eager to get these on the trail to see what the improvements would bring to an already successful design. Flank Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member 970biking
307 970biking http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/307/avatar/c50_11110451_10102277742308143_8701777566279777981_n_1435152886.jpg?1435152470 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/970biking,307/all 08/03/09 4 37 12 2173 1 16 1 116 11 10