Latest Product Reviews

RSS

fi'zi:k Aliante Saddle 2011

“Good, but 'good' is highly subjective with saddles”

C138_46946

The Good:

Fairly comfortable, rails don't bend.

The Bad:

This saddle might not suit you if you are moderately or very flexible. Regular retail prices are expensive.

Overall Review: Fizik have a guide, this saddle is for 'Bulls'. That doesn't mean you should only buy if you are overweight, it's an indication of your flexibility. If you can't touch your toes than this is the saddle is for you, one of my friends isn't very flexible and he loves this saddle. I bought it and for me it's solid and alright, but I also have a Tundra 2 and I find that more comfortable, as I'm somewhere between snake and chameleon, which means somewhere between very and quite flexible. As the underside of the saddles are fairly similar, are Fizik saddles worth it? IMHO, yes, if you can get one cheaply, the full retail Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Gamut P20s Chainguide

Vital Review

“Tested: Gamut P20s Chainguide”

C138_gamut_p20s_chainguide
by Kevin Shiramizu Any product that can stick another nail in the coffin of the obsolete front derailleur is worth a look - it's the single worst part of any bike that has one. But now with XX1 and its slow trickle down the price range, are chainguides soon to be obsolete? No. Don’t be crazy. What Gamut has done for years now is make simple, light weight, and great working chainguides, and they will continue to do so well into the future despite whatever hot new jillion dollar integrated chain/chainring/16-speed system comes out down the road because mountain biking (at least the way I ride) is about smashing over bumps, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member k.shiz
14 k.shiz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14/avatar/c50_image.jpg?1292282110 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/k-shiz,14/all 07/24/09 75 23 52 591 101 164 1 260 18 12

Fly Racing Default Full Face Helmet

“Helmet protected my face today from a massive high speed OTB!! Great protection for the price!!!”

C138_fly_default_product_image

The Good:

Excellent value, relatively light , have had it on for long periods in heat and have never felt the need to take it off because of over heating.
Looks really good, and gets a lot of complements. Very comfy

The Bad:

Maybe not the best finish, but it is a budget helmet so maybe be expected, but still the feeling when holding and wearing the helmet is really good.

Overall Review: The face piece ended up cracked today after a massive OTB at high speed. It really did protect me, no sign of itcompletely breaking and causing further injury.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Aviator29
23969 Aviator29 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23969/avatar/c50_p4pb5843133_1367270623.jpg?1367269717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Aviator29,23969/all 04/29/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Aviator29,23969/setup 3 1

Sun Ringle Charger Pro SL Wheels

Vital Review

“Tested: Sun Ringle Charger Pro SL Wheelset”

C138_sunringle_charger_pro_sl_wheels
by Steve Wentz You have probably all heard this before, and you will keep hearing it. Great wheels are like magic for your bike. They can make you accelerate better, hold a tough line and they will hopefully also last for a good long while. When the Charger Pro SL wheels from Sun Ringle showed up looking like just the ticket, we were eager to find out if they were up to the task, so into the grinder they went. Charger Pro SL Wheelset Highlights Stan’s NoTubes BST Technology (w/Rim Tape) 27-mm Rim Width 26″/27.5″/29" Premium, Cartridge Bearing, Straight-Pull Hubs Quick Release, QR15, 20-mm Thru-Axle Front Axle Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member TRex
328 TRex http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/328/avatar/c50_91632150_1249393996.jpg?1290150582 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TRex,328/all 08/04/09 10 2 29 189 9 11

2013 Diamondback Recoil 29 Bike

“Good first trail bike but a money pit longer down the line.”

C138_2013_recoil_29

The Good:

Very user friendly and comes with a rear lockout which I would have never thought you would get one for it being under $1000.

The Bad:

Like the title says a money pit. I've already had to repair it once and don't even mention the brakes(had to replace those too).

Overall Review: I like the bike but I feel like I am going to spend more money fixing it than it is actually worth. As a first time mountain bike owner I don't think I would have chose anything else.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ChrisandMcEvoy
26198 ChrisandMcEvoy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26198/avatar/c50_2013_05_28_11.30.47_1373156905.jpg?1373156883 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ChrisandMcEvoy,26198/all 07/06/13 1

SDG Bel Air RL Ti Rail Saddle

“Another excellent product from SDG”

C138_51913

The Good:

Weight. I'm no weight weenie but this thing is pretty light, for those that care. Comfort. Very comfortable saddle that I take on long rides. Titanium rails are actually pretty compliant, great for my hardtail. Padding is enough to make 20+ miles bearable.

The Bad:

None that I can spot.

Overall Review: I have had this saddle on my hardtail for the past 5 years. It has stood up very well, still comfortable. I just started to develop a hole in the kevlar side a few months ago, which I consider a huge win for the number of miles this thing has. Wish I could find it for the cliamed $72.35here in the states, I'd pick up 2 of them!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Max_Power
26294 Max_Power http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26294/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001792373735_1373485867.jpg?1373485475 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Max-Power,26294/all 07/10/13 2

WTB Rocket V Race Saddle

“Excellent Saddle for the money”

C138_sa298a28_black

The Good:

Saddle shape "propels" you forward, I literally feel faster with this saddle.. Comfortable enough for the long rides. Stitching on the front of the saddle provides good traction when doing technical climbs.

The Bad:

Bit heavy. Not my first choice for an epic ride. CroMo rails need to be tweaked occasionally

Overall Review: Bottom line: This is an excellent saddle for the money. I have had several over the years and continue to be impressed.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Max_Power
26294 Max_Power http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26294/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001792373735_1373485867.jpg?1373485475 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Max-Power,26294/all 07/10/13 2

SDG Ti-Fly Saddle

“Surprisingly Very Comfortable and Slim”

C138_98552110_1265400329

The Good:

Slim, not disturbing when going back over the rear wheel.

The Bad:

Price is high, and only fit to a narrow Pelvic area.

Overall Review: After Few rides on this saddle i was surprised how comfy it is. I used lots of saddles in the past but this skinny saddle just perfect . Narrow enough so it notdisturbing and supporting enough so your private part won't hurt. To a summery a great saddle with a good Weight and support.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sparky.lab
19565 Sparky.lab http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19565/avatar/c50_737979_10151641016479951_747204901_o.jpg?1359476804 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/all 11/04/12 2 1 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sparky-lab,19565/setup 19 4 1

WTB Silverado Team Saddle

“A Saddle that suites all Riding Styles”

C138_sa265a04

The Good:

Light, great shape, comfortable, simple design and color scheme, wide rear platform, rounded shape does not snag shorts

The Bad:

Weak rails

Overall Review: I really liked this saddle, until a single fall ended its career by bending it WAY out of shape. I now have a Fizik Tundra and its taken the same sort of spill with no damage. It has a nice shape and design to work with any build. really comfortable when you need it, thanks to the wide rear and flat front. Does not snag shorts. Really nice saddle, apart from the weak rails. If you do anything other than Dh and Extreme Trail, this is the saddle to buy.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member JamesSavage
24840 JamesSavage http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24840/avatar/c50_935_3_1373188777.jpg?1373188522 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/all 05/31/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/JamesSavage,24840/setup 2 11

DMR Bolt Frame

“Do-It-All Bike”

C138_63047

The Good:

Cro-Mo Frame, Real sturdy, 9 lbs, Interchangeable dropouts, Single pivot point, Air sprung, Pedals nicely

The Bad:

nothing i can think of

Overall Review: Great do it all bike it rides more or less like a hard tail but when you need the suspension its there for you.I have just started doing 360's and the first one itried on this bike I landed. A real flick-able bike and i would definitely recommend this bike to anyone wanting a full suspension Dirt jumper or just a bike to do it all.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member HarveyRides
26260 HarveyRides http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26260/avatar/c50_facebook_1683847959_1373394161.jpg?1373393803 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/HarveyRides,26260/all 07/09/13 1