Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Troy Lee Designs D2 Composite Helmet

“Poor Quality, Don't Be Mislead”

C138_13tld_d2_airstrike_blk_04

The Good:

It looks nice

The Bad:

doesn't fit well, poor cheek pad and liner adhesion, shallow chin bar

Overall Review: I purchased the newer version of this helmet and was disappointed immediately. I have always purchased a large in all my helmets and this one felt more like a med than a large and after purchasing a TLD A1 Enduro helmet I fell in love.  I figured the same quality and workmanship that was in my A1 I would find in the D2 but I was wrong on all counts.  the cheek pads held in my little velcro buttons one of which was unstuck right out of the box.  The chin bar felt too shallow (not enough coverage for my chin).  Very basic D ring fastener, even my Kali Protectives had a button to manage the excess slack.  The helmet was nice to look at though and it was light for a composite helmet.  Came with a helmet bag, additional padding for fit adjustment and some stickers. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Shimano XT Disc Brake M785

“The gold standard in braking”

C138_67208

The Good:

Reliable, Easy to bleed, Inexpensive, looks cool, Durable, Easy Adjustments

The Bad:

Can come with too long of a cable at the start but better than too short!

Overall Review: I almost always am riding these brakes, they are my standard option on all my bikes for the last 5-6 years. If I get a new bike that has another brake on there or even if it's a shimano brake that is NOT an XT; I will upgrade knowing that it will be worth it everytime. Online stores are selling them for a great price lately and less than $20 more than the SLX version, nothing against the SLX but I'll pay the $18 for the extra adjustments and bling for my bike. I have had to bleed these brakes a few times and even though the process has gotten a bit more complicated than I used to do it, overall they Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

7iDP Covert Knee Pad

Featured Member Review

“Last trail knee pads I need for a LONG TIME!”

C138_k_covert_b_vital

The Good:

comfy, customizable, doesn't move when pedaling

The Bad:

Expensive, need to take off shoes to put them on, black color can be hot in the summer

Overall Review: I bought these knee pads based on the vitalmtb reviews actually. I do a lot of research when getting new knee pads because I don't live in a place where bike shops sell knee pads and even if they do, it is a 100% certainty that they don't have my size or brand in stock. I usually like foxpads but they have grown stagnant in the last 4-5 years and I am sick of my big bulky DH knee pads that don't even stay in place when you crash! I usually don't like the slip on knee pads but since I"m doing more trail riding these days and have no desire to be pedaling for hours with a DH pad on, I decided to get something lighter Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

Five Ten Freerider Pro Shoe

“The gold standard”

C138_five_ten_freerider_pro_shoe_light_granite

The Good:

Personal experience with the fit is great. Great material quality and construction. Clean up is easy (who cleans their bike shoes though?) Unmatched 5.10 grip. Surprisingly breathable. Solid protection in crashes.

The Bad:

Laces could be tailored to the shoe a little better. Not super breathable.

Overall Review: After running several Five Ten flat shoes into the ground, these have definitely earned their place as my favorite. I strive to find mountain bike products that I forget about when I use them. These shoes are number one when it comes to that. Throw on some riding compression socks and these shoes and you'll feel directly connected to your bike like never before. I personally have had issues with 5.10s in the past because their rubber compound can often be too grippy. The problem this has always caused for me is that on the initial foot-to-pedal placement at the start of the ride can get tricky. Putting my off Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member WhiteBreadGravity
38187 WhiteBreadGravity http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38187/avatar/c50_alsea_0916_006_1494728034.jpg?1494727911 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/WhiteBreadGravity,38187/all 11/12/15 1 1 9

Crankbrothers Power Pump Pro

“Still pumping out good times”

C138_power_pump_pro

The Good:

lightweight, affordable, easy to use, no changing of parts required

The Bad:

oddly shaped and doesn't fit in my bottle cage

Overall Review: While online shopping, this pump seemed like the best value for $$ spend and I also think that Crankbros is a pretty cool company with a distinct culture behind them but sadly I haven't had much of a chance to buy their stuff up until now. This is my go-to on trailpump now. It has taken a beating and still works just fine. I love how you don't have to change out any small parts to fill up a schraderor presta valve (most pumps require you to do this btw). I'm not sure if the gauge on it is calibrated correctly but I'm really glad that it has one on there period. This pump also has a setting on the bottom Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

Kali Protectives Durgana Full Face Helmet

“Great Comfortable Helmet”

C138_93111960_1273172586

The Good:

Cheap, Comfortable, Light (but not super light) Good Field of View, Decent Looking to Boot, Removable Washable Liner

The Bad:

Flimsy Visor

Overall Review: I bought this for downhill riding, it is comfortable and light. I have crashed in it several times and I am here to write this review so that should count for something. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

2017 Growler Bikes Mudwasp 27.5+ Bike

“Growler Bikes Rock!”

C138_growler_mudwasp_front_angle_2_white_background

The Good:

Light weight, climbs up everything! One bike frame that can handle just about any size 27+, 29+ or fatty! Custom colors, logos, etc!

The Bad:

I did break a chain after only 2 months (I did stretch it out to its max), but I really can't complain I ride pretty hard!

Overall Review: I have had my custom Growler 27+ (medium frame) for 2 months now and I beat the snot out of it. Light weight, climbs up everything! I went with a Growler because a big box store brand (Trek, GT etc) would have cost me 30% to 40% more!! Plus I would have been stuck with one tire/rim size unlike the Growler where I have one bike frame that can handle just about any size 27+, 29+ or fatty!Its a blast to ride and I would highly recommended one from beginners to even more advanced riders looking for a kick ass hardtail mountain bike!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member waasofoz
44742 waasofoz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44742/avatar/c50_Growler_Bike_1499379425.jpg?1499378737 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/waasofoz,44742/all 07/06/17 3

MRP G3 Chainguide

“Best Chain Guide on the Market”

C138_mrp_mega_g3_carbon

The Good:

strong, light weight, affordable, does what it is supposed to do, adjust to chainline w/ shims

The Bad:

could have more color options but I am nit picking to find a flaw

Overall Review: I have had a couple of these on diff bikes and to be honest, I don't notice it which I think is the point. The chain stays put, it is relatively quiet and maint. free.  has protected my chain and sprocket many times during both DH and AM riding. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Kenda Nevegal Tire

“This Tire is Lacking”

C138_ti509a01_2.5_fold

The Good:

They are cheap, round, they fit the rim

The Bad:

no reasonable amount of traction when compared to a real tire such as Schwalbe Hans Dampf, Magic Mary etc.

Overall Review: I bought these because I was on a budget bike build and I figured I would give them a shot since my options were limited (27.5" tires were kinda new at the time). I usually run 28psi front 30psi rear and I could not find any reasonable amount of traction with these.  They were decent in a straight line but not great for climbing for decending, thought I was going to die on one decent because I had no control or feedback from the front.  I would recommend these if your thing is rails to trails or cycling around the neighborhood with the family but that's about it. 
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Crankbrothers Pica+ Tool

“Sleek Tool Kit”

C138_pica_tool

The Good:

Sleek, Light (as far as tool kits go) covers more than the basics

The Bad:

a bit pricey for my shallow pockets

Overall Review: I purchased this new and still carry it today. I did remove the sockets which just pop out from the back of the tool (I have no need for sockets on any of my bikes).  I have a dedicated set of tools to work on bike while I am in my garage but I do use the chain break on this.  I am used it in the garage and out in the woods.  I have also used the spoke wrench too many times to count (I should prob buy a dedicated spoke wrench).  I love how the items in the tool kit have indexed movement (they don't just fumble around freely).  Not sure what else to say, it's a tool kit, I have never gone to use it and said "shite, this kit doesn't have what I need" I mean I guess if you could figure out how to attach a small torque wrench in there that would be great but not necessary for trail side maintenance. 
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31