Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Troy Lee Designs Air Gloves

Featured Review

“Troy Lee Designs Air Gloves”

C138_13tld_air_glove_black

The Good:

Good fit, Comfortable, Durable, Breathe well, Come clean in wash

The Bad:

Silicone comes off finger tips pretty quick

Overall Review: Gloves are gloves right? Well in a way yes, but in many ways no. Gloves needs to feel natural and forgotten about while riding, breathe well in the summer, give good grip on the bars and brake levers, and last. I believe finding the right gloves for your hand is important and the TLD gloves fit me great. Their finger length and overall size is good for my average hands. I prefer lighter weight type gloves with a single layer palm that breathe well. Knowing what I like, the TLD Air Gloves sounded like the right fit for me. These gloves have Velcro backed TPR wrist closures and light/breathable lycra spandex mesh Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 14 24

X-Fusion Hilo SL Seatpost

Featured Review

“X Fusion Hilo Strate (SLS)”

C138_hilo_sl_125

The Good:

Costs about $270, Is on the lighter side for a dropper, Smooth action and remote works well with 1X set-ups, Simple 2 bolt head

The Bad:

Would like it to be more user serviceable, I did have an issue, but it was taken care of quickly

Overall Review: I like to think out of the box a little bit and try different things than the mainstream when it comes to many things and give the smaller guys a go, and the X-Fusion dropper post is no different. The SLS is replacing the original Hilo 125 I have had trouble free for 2.5 years with just a single rebuild performed by myself. This one is the 125mm version in the 31.6 flavor. It goes for about $270 right now which puts it on the cheaper side of the market. First Look: I had to order the post directly from X-Fusion as it is extremely hard to find anywhere else at the time. This is the stealth routed version and is over 100 Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 14 24

2014 Jamis Trail X 650 Bike

“heavy in the wrong places”

C138_bike_2014_jamis_trail_x_650

The Good:

The selling price is 100 dollars less than retail

The Bad:

Tires are very heavy, very very low end parts, should only be sold in box stores, the frame is very heavy as well, the handlebar is heavy steel.

Overall Review: This bike is so low end it will not meet the needs of a regular XC Rider. The front fork does not have damping as stated and this too is very heavy. All components are the bottom of the barrel, no branding on many parts, It's so heavy it's not that much fun to ride. I will never look at a Jamis again.

SR Suntour Durolux 27.5 R2C2 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 SR Suntour Durolux R2C2 Fork”

C138_2016_sr_suntour_durolux_fork
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Hoshi Yoshida and Brandon Turman When SR Suntour sat down to redesign their Durolux fork, they set out to meet the same high level of performance as their big competitors while also ensuring consistency in the production process. Lofty goals no doubt, considering the competition is pretty dang dialed these days, but the brand has much more experience than many of us may think, including what it takes to make high-end products. Like all of their forks, the new Durolux was built with the "Quick Service Product" philosophy in mind, which boils down to "less wrenching and more riding." Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1141 92 5472 1045 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 235 1020 2001 111 40

Novatec Factor 327 Complete Wheel

Vital Review

“Tested: Novatec Factor 327 Wheelset”

C138_factor_f90
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord There is no shortage of options in the current carbon wheelset market. Ranging from almost “cheap” to “more than you’d pay for a really good used bike”, we’re nearly at a point where there’s a carbon wheelset for every budget, if you take into account the direct sales brands out of China. Where does that leave us as consumers though? Carbon wheels have traditionally been one of those areas of the bike where you could spend a lot for what appears to be marginal gains in weight and performance, and with most high-end offerings still commanding a premium price tag Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 745 52 684 1650 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 31 251 3084 72 23

MRP G2 Chainguide

Featured Review

“Old Faithful”

C138_l38799

The Good:

Burly, reliable.

The Bad:

Bulky, not the lightest option.

Overall Review: To truly appreciate the success I've had with this chainguide, you need to know that the other half helping retain the chain was a Sram X5 long-cage derailleur. And yes, this setup was actually mounted on a DH bike. That's how companies get low prices on their lower-spec bikes. Cutting corners. Except in this case, the corner being cut hasn't caused issues in three years of downhill slamming and grating. MRP no longer produces the G2, but carried over the reliability of it to the G3; a refined successor. I will make some statements on the older guide and let you put faith in the progression of MRP's products. The G2 is a Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member WhiteBreadGravity
38187 WhiteBreadGravity http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38187/avatar/c50_IMG_20150417_230926_1447320345.jpg?1447319984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/WhiteBreadGravity,38187/all 11/12/15 1 1 8

Fly Racing Transfer Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: Fly Racing Transfer Shoe ”

C138_fly_racing_transfer_shoe_in_black_white
by Justin Schroth Already established in the motocross world and with a growing MTB presence, Fly Racing continues to expanded their cycling product line for 2015. One of their new products is the Fly Racing Transfer Shoe, a skate-style clipless shoe that offers some of the key features most look for in a shoe at an affordable price. Fly Racing Transfer Shoe Features Skate-style SPD compatible shoe Stiff mid sole Velcro lace enclosure Ventilated side panels Colors: Black/Hi-Vis (pictured) & Black/White MSRP $99.95 US Initial Impressions The Transfer shoe has all the makings of a solid skate-style SPD shoe: an Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 2 22 8 213 21 1

Five Ten Freerider Women's Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: Five Ten Freerider Women's Shoe”

C138_freerider_women
Review by Monica McCosh / Photos by Ryan Grani We hate glossy reviews – they seem untruthful. While the following may come across as glossy, we think you’ll appreciate the facts. We’ve been wearing the Freerider, Five Ten's new women's specific shoe, for over a year now. From dusty Sedona trails to mucky, wet Pacific Northwest days, concrete floors to longboards to pubs and meetings. The new women’s Freerider shoe proves to be as durable as it is stylish. The ultimate “trail-to-ale” shoe was put to the test. Five Ten Freerider Women's Shoe Highlights Non-marking Stealth Phantom rubber outsole Split grain Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member monicosh
29213 monicosh http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29213/avatar/c50_IMG_3808_1396387469.jpg?1396386850 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/monicosh,29213/all 01/13/14 1 61 1 2 7 1

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

“Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

Good all around, Keeps chain clean and quiet, Competitively priced,

The Bad:

Not as easy to apply if cold

Overall Review: It is hard to say a lot about a chain lube, but when you find one that works good , you know it! I have been using this lube for several years and it is always my go-to. I have tried others in the past and I am never as happy with them due to reasons such as application or chain cleanliness. The Gold Lube just needs a slight shake before using to mix the ingredients together. Apply it on the chain like any other lube and wipe excess away. It seems to keep my chain very clean even in muddy conditions. It will last through a long day in the rain/mud on the DH bike no problem. It seems to be a waxed based lube, Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 14 24

Troy Lee Designs Moto Shorts

Featured Review

“Heavy Duty Shortpants”

C138_sp267b47_black

The Good:

Thick and durable. Comfortable- stretches in all the right places. Good pocket size.

The Bad:

Thick and heavy. Warm up fast. Pockets can lint up your phone screen if you get sweaty (Oh wait, no I forgot my Whistler lift pass in the pocket and they went through the wash. This is paper pulp on my phone. Nevermind.)

Overall Review: These have been the go-to DH shorts for a long time, and there's good reason. These guys have held up to abuse for two years and are still going strong. With multiple crashes (and rocky ones at that) cleared without a scratch, I recommend these shorts for any downhill rider. There are a few reasons why that stand out. The outer material of these baggies is a very heavy fabric that very visibly explains the shorts' friction-fighting properties. Ever rub sandpaper on sandpaper? Me neither, but I assume you get two smooth surfaces fast. The black yoke you can see on the front of the shorts is where the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member WhiteBreadGravity
38187 WhiteBreadGravity http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38187/avatar/c50_IMG_20150417_230926_1447320345.jpg?1447319984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/WhiteBreadGravity,38187/all 11/12/15 1 1 8