Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Fly Racing Transfer Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: Fly Racing Transfer Shoe ”

C138_fly_racing_transfer_shoe_in_black_white
by Justin Schroth Already established in the motocross world and with a growing MTB presence, Fly Racing continues to expanded their cycling product line for 2015. One of their new products is the Fly Racing Transfer Shoe, a skate-style clipless shoe that offers some of the key features most look for in a shoe at an affordable price. Fly Racing Transfer Shoe Features Skate-style SPD compatible shoe Stiff mid sole Velcro lace enclosure Ventilated side panels Colors: Black/Hi-Vis (pictured) & Black/White MSRP $99.95 US Initial Impressions The Transfer shoe has all the makings of a solid skate-style SPD shoe: an Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 2 22 8 213 21 1

Five Ten Freerider Women's Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: Five Ten Freerider Women's Shoe”

C138_freerider_women
Review by Monica McCosh / Photos by Ryan Grani We hate glossy reviews – they seem untruthful. While the following may come across as glossy, we think you’ll appreciate the facts. We’ve been wearing the Freerider, Five Ten's new women's specific shoe, for over a year now. From dusty Sedona trails to mucky, wet Pacific Northwest days, concrete floors to longboards to pubs and meetings. The new women’s Freerider shoe proves to be as durable as it is stylish. The ultimate “trail-to-ale” shoe was put to the test. Five Ten Freerider Women's Shoe Highlights Non-marking Stealth Phantom rubber outsole Split grain Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member monicosh
29213 monicosh http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29213/avatar/c50_IMG_3808_1396387469.jpg?1396386850 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/monicosh,29213/all 01/13/14 1 61 1 2 7 1

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

“Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

Good all around, Keeps chain clean and quiet, Competitively priced,

The Bad:

Not as easy to apply if cold

Overall Review: It is hard to say a lot about a chain lube, but when you find one that works good , you know it! I have been using this lube for several years and it is always my go-to. I have tried others in the past and I am never as happy with them due to reasons such as application or chain cleanliness. The Gold Lube just needs a slight shake before using to mix the ingredients together. Apply it on the chain like any other lube and wipe excess away. It seems to keep my chain very clean even in muddy conditions. It will last through a long day in the rain/mud on the DH bike no problem. It seems to be a waxed based lube, Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 14 24

Troy Lee Designs Moto Shorts

Featured Review

“Heavy Duty Shortpants”

C138_sp267b47_black

The Good:

Thick and durable. Comfortable- stretches in all the right places. Good pocket size.

The Bad:

Thick and heavy. Warm up fast. Pockets can lint up your phone screen if you get sweaty (Oh wait, no I forgot my Whistler lift pass in the pocket and they went through the wash. This is paper pulp on my phone. Nevermind.)

Overall Review: These have been the go-to DH shorts for a long time, and there's good reason. These guys have held up to abuse for two years and are still going strong. With multiple crashes (and rocky ones at that) cleared without a scratch, I recommend these shorts for any downhill rider. There are a few reasons why that stand out. The outer material of these baggies is a very heavy fabric that very visibly explains the shorts' friction-fighting properties. Ever rub sandpaper on sandpaper? Me neither, but I assume you get two smooth surfaces fast. The black yoke you can see on the front of the shorts is where the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member WhiteBreadGravity
38187 WhiteBreadGravity http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38187/avatar/c50_IMG_20150417_230926_1447320345.jpg?1447319984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/WhiteBreadGravity,38187/all 11/12/15 1 1 8

SixSixOne Evo Knee Guards Knee/Shin Pad

“The Essential Kneepad”

C138_2012_sixsixone_evo_knee

The Good:

Tried and true- you'll see a lot of these at your local downward trails. Comfy, and fit is easy to determine; it's just what you expect. Solid protection from both abrasive slides, and harsh impacts.

The Bad:

Don't breathe all that well. Lose flexibility over time.

Overall Review: These are what I consider the "standard" set to knee-only knee pads. 661 created a lasting, comfortable, and protective set of guards that really just tick every box. Basically. Knee pads should be comfortable. The Evo knee guards match the silhouette of the aggressively bent knee, only feeling present where it matters; the elastic. That isn't to say your knees will feel vulnerable beneath these pads. There is really a lot of smart material up front in charge, and your knees will take notice. Knee pads should have good protection. Of course the Evo's deliver. With a dense inner padding (visible on Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member WhiteBreadGravity
38187 WhiteBreadGravity http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38187/avatar/c50_IMG_20150417_230926_1447320345.jpg?1447319984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/WhiteBreadGravity,38187/all 11/12/15 1 1 8

Avid Elixir 5 Disc Brake

Featured Review

“A Hit or Miss Classic”

C138_br261c00

The Good:

Stopping power is applicable for downhill shredding. Decent lever feel. Alignment isn't too difficult.

The Bad:

Bleeding is more involved than most brakes, you might decide to make it your bike shop's responsibility. Materials are cheap. Durability and dependability have been put into question by many forum warriors.

Overall Review: I've had a pair of these stoppers for three years, since they came stock on my Glory, and despite what many people would expect, I have had zero issues. The front caliper got really stuck once when I had the wheel off so the bike would fit in the back of my cramped and rack-less vehicle. That's not an exclusive flaw with Elixir 5's or Avid brakes. In three years, you want to know how many times I had to do any maintenance on these slowie-downies? Twice.That's right. One uneventful alignment exercise and one bleed. Just one. After three years of abrupt application and irresponsibly timed chunder-braking, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member WhiteBreadGravity
38187 WhiteBreadGravity http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38187/avatar/c50_IMG_20150417_230926_1447320345.jpg?1447319984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/WhiteBreadGravity,38187/all 11/12/15 1 1 8

Bell Full-9 Helmet

Featured Review

“Bell Full-9 Helmet”

C138_aaron_gwin_signature

The Good:

Good Fit, Lighter Weight, Nice Features, Good Goggle Room, Magnetic Removable Cheek Pads, ICEdot Enabled

The Bad:

Creaking Noise, A Bit Warm

Overall Review: I was excited to get a new helmet after my last one took a good hit causing the carbon to crack in the chin guard area. I wanted to get something a bit different and compared many models online before biting the bullet on the Full 9. As a person who has had many concussions in the past, I look for a safe helmet that does not break the bank. Some of the Highlights Include: Good fit Lighter weight option Works well with Leatt brace Magnetic removable cheek pads for emergencies ICEdot enabled Good fitment with goggles Integrated GoPro mount The Details: There are many options when it comes to noggin protection, and it can Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 14 24

Five Ten Line King Shoes

Featured Review

“Full-face Helmets for yer Feet”

C138_five_ten_line_king_shoes

The Good:

Classic 5.10 grip, massive padding up top and all around, don't even need to be retied every time you put them on.

The Bad:

Can be chunky looking, not the stiffest of soles, can act as kitchen sponges (pro?)

Overall Review: The Line Kings are very versatile shoes if you want them to be; I've used them for nearly every kind of biking just to see if I could. They're best suited to the casual and gravity-oriented rider, who is wary of stubbing his toes on the trail. Seriously, these things have like 3/4 of an inch of just padding. 510 might be using us as guinea pigs for their prototype bullet proof bike shoes. I gladly support the United States bike-mounted police force. DH- These shoes perform best here, being as heavy and sturdy as they are. The grip is what you expect from this company. I am pretty particular about my foot Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member WhiteBreadGravity
38187 WhiteBreadGravity http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38187/avatar/c50_IMG_20150417_230926_1447320345.jpg?1447319984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/WhiteBreadGravity,38187/all 11/12/15 1 1 8

Spy Optic Klutch Goggles

Featured Review

“Minimalist but Effective”

C138_46233

The Good:

-Don't easily fog
-relatively cheap (They're now around $70)
-Fits my Fox Rampage Carbon just fine

The Bad:

-Vertically challenged
-Not easily cleaned/cleared

Overall Review: Motocross and mountain biking goggles are an interesting market. Goggles aren't exactly a vessel for aggressive innovation, and in a sport where aggressive innovation is the core of it all, it can be hard to lose sight of what needs to be done. Goggles are an area designated for refinement, and in the case of Spy goggles I have seen awareness of this. Their goggles are simplistic. I have run their Klutch and Whip models trough the paces in rainy and sloppy conditions, as well as bone dry and sandstorm-threatened conditions. The minimalism is indeed valid. I have a big face, I'll admit it, but the first thing I noticed Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member WhiteBreadGravity
38187 WhiteBreadGravity http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38187/avatar/c50_IMG_20150417_230926_1447320345.jpg?1447319984 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/WhiteBreadGravity,38187/all 11/12/15 1 1 8

2016 Intense M16C Pro Build Bike

Vital Review

“Tested: Intense M16C Pro Build”

C138_m16_pro_red_side
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by @luca_cometti_photo We've all heard that the M16C is here. There hasn't been much talk of how Intense's first production carbon downhill bike actually rides beyond a couple quick articles that barely scratch the surface, like our First Look earlier this month. Well, for the past two months we've been putting the M16C though the paces and feel it's finally time to weigh in on our thoughts about the new bike. While the new carbon M16, which we'll simply refer to as the M16C from now on, shares features like adjustable travel (8.5 to 9.5 inches) and leverage-curve, as well as nearly Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 110 3 222 156 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 12 143 1 43 32