Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Wellgo MG-1 Flat Pedal

Featured Review

“Great value if on sale”

C138_90051470_1266802904

The Good:

Light weight
High quality bearings
Decent grip and size of platform
Awesome bang for your buck if looking for a new, high quality pedal but on a budget.

The Bad:

Magnesium is lighter weight than other metals but is also more likely to dent, bend, or break

Overall Review: These pedals came with my 2015 Trek Session and after a few months of riding, here are my impressions. Dimensions In terms of platform pedals, the Wellgo MG-1 doesn't compromise on size. Although they aren't huge like the Spank Oozy Trail Pedal (110mm x 110mm), they certainly aren't small either. Measuring in at 96mm x 93mm, I felt like my size US 12 shoe didn't have any attachment issues while even on the roughest of terrain. Owning a pair of Canfield Crampon Ultimates, I have become accustomed to ultra thin (6mm) pedals. The Wellgo MG-1 have a average thickness to them at about 22mm. Given the fact that I prefer a thinner Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 15 44

Park Tool Professional Wheel Truing Stand

Featured Review

“Pretty much the best money can buy.”

C138_parktool_ts_2_inuse_08_m

The Good:

Strong, high quality build
Plenty of useful accessories
You'll never spend money to get your wheels trued again!

The Bad:

$250 is a lot to spend at first, but I promise it's worth it.

Overall Review: Everybody has one on their shop related tool wish-list but it’s usually the last thing anyone actually buys. At least that was the case for me when I purchased my Park Tool TS-2.2 truing stand. Spending $250 on something that only makes your wheels straight is something difficult to justify until a bike shop charges you $12-$20 per wheel to do it. I’m not trying to persuade anyone from supporting their local bike shops but why feed a man one meal when you can teach him to fish? Justifying that I would most likely spend far more than $250 on wheel trues, I manned up and bought the TS-2.2. Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 15 44

Park Tool Parktool Professional Micro-Adjust Clamp

Featured Review

“ The easiest and most durable clamp on the market”

C138_tl278j00_25d

The Good:

Micro adjustability for infinite clamping strength
Phenomenal Cam Action Clamp design
Durable and built to last
Narrow Clamp width
Huge range of clamping shapes and size.

The Bad:

Absolutely Nothing

Overall Review: The Park Tool 100-25D Clamp came on a PRS-25 stand I purchased over a year ago. Although I have been very impressed with the stand itself, I think I am even more impressed with this clamp that came with it. Owning several stands from different companies, there were some things I likes and some things I absolutely disliked about the previous ones. After using the 100-25D clamp, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back to something less superior. First impressions The Micro Adjust Clamp is an absolute game changer. It’s super easy to use and offers great control on how tight it will Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 15 44

Park Tool Team Issue Stand - PRS25

Featured Review

“ THE stand to have for any serious cyclist.”

C138_park_tool_team_issue_stand_prs25

The Good:

Huge adjustability
Phenomenal Clamp design
Durable and Stable
Light Weight and folds up next to nothing
Has tons of accessories that integrate into the stand

The Bad:

Very expensive.
Doesn’t come with Traveling bag.

Overall Review: After owning several middle grade bike stands over the years, I finally decided to man-up and purchase the Park Tool PRS-25 Team Issue Repair stand. After my wallet had a few months to recuperate, I can say that this is one of the best decisions I’ve made, tool wise. (Note: JensonUSA is currently listing this stand at 10% off) Upon initial use, I was surprised how easy the stand was to erect and put away. The clamps are very easy to use and the tubing seams to glide almost effortlessly. Now, after over a year of use, I can gladly say the tubing glide just as smooth as the first day I bought it. I was Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 15 44

2016 Canyon Spectral CF 9.0 EX

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Canyon Spectral CF 9.0 EX”

C138_2016_canyon_spectral_cf_9.0_ex_bike
Reviewed by Steve Wentz and Brandon Turman // Photos by Lear Miller In the last few years, Germany-based Canyon has jumped from relative obscurity to one of the foremost players in direct sales of high-end bicycles. Mountain, road, kids, city... They've got it all, and while not available in the USA just yet, they're on the way soon. The Spectral CF 9.0 EX stands out as one of the biggest bang for the buck specs you can find anywhere. At just 4199, the bike has a smattering of most rider's dream parts, all put onto a 140mm travel carbon frame with angles tailor-made for charging. We put it to the test during the 2016 Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5848 1058 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 258 1112 2086 125 39

2016 Trek Fuel EX 9 29

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Trek Fuel EX 9 29”

C138_2016_trek_fuel_ex_9_29
Reviewed by AJ Barlas and Fred Robinson // Photos by Lear Miller Trek's Fuel EX range of bikes are aimed at the honest trail rider - those looking for a quality, fun bike that can handle a good variety of trails, but not necessarily something for super rowdy terrain. We previously tested the Fuel EX 27.5, so it was fun to jump aboard the bigger wheeled brother and see how it compared. For 2016, the Fuel EX 29 sees several changes for the better - it's slacker, offers adjustable geometry, has shorter chainstays thanks to the new Boost rear axle standard, and the rear shock has been updated to no longer feature Trek's DRCV. This Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5848 1058 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 258 1112 2086 125 39

WTB Silverado Team Saddle

Featured Review

“Flat and narrow with good flex in the shell”

C138_wtb_silverado_team_saddle

The Good:

Narrow and long profile promotes changing positions while riding. Doesn't catch shorts, and has softer foam with a conforming shell to be a very comfortable saddle.

The Bad:

Slightly flexible rails.

Overall Review: Looking for a replacement for a worn out WTB Laser V, I mounted up a WTB Silverado Team to my dropper and never looked back. It's slender profile provides an long area to sit allowing the rider to slide up on the saddle for those steep climbing efforts. When descending, the narrow rear of the saddle stays out of the way and is round enough to not catch your shorts. The foam is of a lower density of some of their other models which I found to work well in conjunction with it's firm, but compliant shell. The saddle cover itself is a leather replacement kind of material that offers enough grip for you to maintain your Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member whilgenb
39385 whilgenb http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/39385/avatar/c50_Fall_Bike_8_1455598960.jpg?1455598852 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/all 02/08/16 11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/setup 3

Troy Lee Designs SE Pro Bike Jersey Jersey

“Not that exciting”

C138_13tld_seprobike_jersey_bluorg

The Good:

Good with a t-shirt underneath
Easy to wash

The Bad:

Too thin
Too warm for summer in Australia
Fabric can easily rip
Not the greatest colour scheme

Overall Review: I have had the blue/orange jersey for 3 years now. I love wearing the jersey on a winter ride, however it isn't the best jersey for freezing cold days and it is fairly bad for the warmer days. It is well ventilated but the long sleeves can keep you too warm on a 20+ degree Celsius day. The fabric is very very thin and thus the jersey isn't great when wearing a backpack due to it rubbing on your shoulders and back too much. I have tried this with multiple hydration packs/backpacks. I usually wear a t-shirt underneath the jersey which works great on winter rides. As the fabric is thin and has many Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FastNate
11331 FastNate http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11331/avatar/c50_IMG_5323_1381499179.jpg?1381498894 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FastNate,11331/all 10/30/11 5 1 5 55 8

WTB Rocket V SLT Saddle

“Good Shape, Hard Foam”

C138_sa278a12_black

The Good:

Shape is very neutral
Durable cover
Strong rails

The Bad:

Stiff foam
Longer break-in period

Overall Review: After multiple years of riding a WTB Laser V saddle, it was finally time to accept that a replacement was needed. Unfortunately, WTB ceased to manufacture this model of saddle. In pursuit of a replacement, the WTB Rocket saddle was purchased and mounted up. The Rocket was recommended as a replacement as the shape was similar. However, the foam was changed and the overall saddle ended up being much stiffer than the Laser V it replaced. After multiple rides, the saddle hadn't become the comfortable replacement that I was looking for. Rather, it retained it's stiffness and caused numbness in the lower extremities on Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member whilgenb
39385 whilgenb http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/39385/avatar/c50_Fall_Bike_8_1455598960.jpg?1455598852 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/all 02/08/16 11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/setup 3

WTB Trail Boss Tire

Featured Review

“Predictable and Well-Rounded Tires”

C138_wtb_trail_boss

The Good:

Rounded profile
Predictable grip
Excellent cornering

The Bad:

Easy to slice the tire in the thinner compound
Difficult to mount and remount on certain rims

Overall Review: Up until recently, tire design has been focused on providing substantial side knobs for plenty of grip. However, these kinds of configurations require quick transitions to lean angles and often break away without much communication. In pursuit of a tire with a more predictable transition and break away, I mounted up a set of Trail Bosses to my bike to see how they would do. Setup and Ride Conditions Initially I ran a 27.5 X 2.4 front and rear in the TCS Light / Fast Rolling sidewall and tread compound. However, multiple sidewall cuts in the rear tire meant switching to the tougher TCS Tough sidewall. While nearly doubling the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member whilgenb
39385 whilgenb http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/39385/avatar/c50_Fall_Bike_8_1455598960.jpg?1455598852 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/all 02/08/16 11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/whilgenb,39385/setup 3