Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2016 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp Carbon 650b

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp Carbon 650B”

C138_2016_specialized_stumpjumper_fsr_comp_carbon_650b
Reviewed by Fred Robinson and AJ Barlas // Photos by Lear Miller While Specialized may have been a bit late to the 650b wheel game, they're doing it right for 2016. The all-new Stumpjumper FSR gets a ground up redesign for the new year, gaining a more aggressive attitude, an ultra short rear end, updated shock tune, and a wild-looking SWAT compartment hidden in the downtube. We tested the Comp Carbon model during the 2016 Vital MTB Test Sessions, which offers some pretty clever and exclusive tech combined with high value components right out of the box. Highlights Carbon frame with aluminum rear Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1154 92 5810 1055 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 249 1084 2056 122 40

Evil The Insurgent Frame

Featured Review

“2015 Evil Insurgent Review”

C138_evil_bikes_the_insurgent_frame

The Good:

Internal Cable Routing for Stealth Dropper,
Easy cable Routing for Brakes and Shifter,
Custom Carbon Upper Chain Guide,
150mm Rear Suspension,
Full Carbon Frame,
12x142 with Bolt on Axle,
Adjustable Geometry,
DELTA Link,
FSA Headset Included

The Bad:

Low Chain line height with 30t,
Limited Seat tube length,
Chain slap noise can get loud on rowdy trails

Overall Review: Let's be honest. Just from looking at it, this is the bike you want. It’s slimeball yellow is eye catching and will attract the parking lot lizards like teenage girls to a boyband concert. I’ll start with the obvious, it's a slack ( 65.6 in Low and 64.8 in X-low ) with a 160mm fork, I mean why would you run it with less? Drunk, maybe? The flip chip takes 10 minutes or so to change and it's a simple process. The chainstays are a short 432mm and with that, it loves the body english. Evil has thought of the everyday rider by including a 73mm threaded bottom bracket shell, easy cable routing and FSA headset included. Read More »
Rate review: +8 Up Down
Vital MTB member vathana.song
6112 vathana.song http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6112/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000099857126.jpg?1294480103 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vathana-song,6112/all 01/08/11 1 4 49 2

2016 Transition Smuggler 1

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Transition Smuggler 1”

C138_2016_transition_smuggler_1
Reviewed by AJ Barlas and Fred Robinson // Photos by Lear Miller It’s no surprise the good times that can be had on a short travel 29er, especially when it has capable geometry. The combination of big wheels to plough over stuff, short travel for efficiency and precision, a solid parts kit, and aggressive long/low/slack geometry has the potential to create something awesome. Transition’s Smuggler fits perfectly into this party life 29er club, with 115mm of travel out back and a slightly longer 130mm travel fork. Forget your old impressions of 29ers - this is no XC whippet, and is made for riders looking to maximize fun on Read More »
Rate review: +10 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1154 92 5810 1055 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 249 1084 2056 122 40

Maxxis Aggressor Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Maxxis Aggressor”

C138_s1600_tyre_image_aggressor_l
Review by Fred Robinson // Photos by Fred Robinson and Josh Job (action) Maxxis has been setting the standard for high-performance mountain bike tires for years with gravity benchmarks like the Minion DHF, High Roller and more recently the DHR II and High Roller II. Having been the go-to tire for numerous World Cup DH riders, even when they were supported by competing brands, the sight of a "Sharpie'd" Maxxis wasn't uncommon before the rest of the tire brands caught up. Having laid down the yardstick in DH long ago, Maxxis set out to create another benchmark with their new tire, the Aggressor, which they claim to be the new Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 130 3 222 188 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 18 167 1 49 35

DMR Vault Flat Pedal

Featured Review

“Vaults are my go to pedal for gravity riding”

C138_62237

The Good:

The grip and support offered by this pedal is incredible. The large platform size, concave shape and thin profile inspire confidence and the pins offer good grip with most flat-pedal specific shoes. The pedal is robust and has resisted lots of rock strikes, stumps and general abuse without much more than cosmetic damage. As the large platform also sits away from the crank (axle end is proud of the pedal body by 10-12mm) it is more prone to catching in ruts etc. than some other pedals ive tried, it does however stop my foot from rubbing the crank arm quite as much. Overall these are a great pedal for hard riding.

The Bad:

The pedals run on a plastic bush (inside edge) and small cartridge bearing (outer edge)which spin smoothly and last well, I have found that the bush develops a small amount of play quite quickly. Although this doesn’t impact the performance too much it does mean they need servicing and lubricating more regularly than others, otherwise they become noisy.

Overall Review: These pedals have survived weekly abuse for two years and still have plenty of life left in them, despite some minor niggles with the bearing system i would not hesitate to recommend them and they remain my default pedal for most riding. They come in a range of colours and a price comparable with the competition, definately some of the best flat pedals currently on the market.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Finkill
37245 Finkill http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/37245/avatar/c50_IMAG0106_1441264847.jpg?1441264481 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Finkill,37245/all 09/02/15 1

ODI Vans Lock-On Grip

“A PRETTY GOOD GRIP”

C138_odi_vans_grips_black

The Good:

High quality rubber, Very Durable, They lock on.

The Bad:

Not the comfiest grip for bare hands.

Overall Review: Purchased some of these after stock Kona grips gummed up. I got them because ODI has a reputation of using really high quality rubber and this is true for these grips as well. They are pretty much a typical ODI grip that people have learned and loved. Because of their thick lines, they are very durable and mine have shown very little signs of wear. On the flip side, because they are so durable, they don't offer the most comfort and damping when riding without gloves. Verdict: If you ride with gloves and want a grip to last a while, get these! If you ride without gloves, want a comfy grip, and don't care about replacement them once or twice a season, keep looking.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 2 11

Boeshield T-9 Lube

“BEST STUFF DOESN'T GO CHANGING”

C138_boeshield_t_9_lube

The Good:

Excellent for anything that needs to be lubed.

The Bad:

Nothing at all.

Overall Review: This stuff has been around since my dad's dad started biking. Alright, I'm not sure about that but it's been around for a hell of a long time. Since it's still here, that's evidence that it's some pretty good stuff. In the world of Lubes, survival of the fittest is king. If it does it works great, it lives. If it sucks, they sell it to Finishline and sell it for a $1. Boeshields' T9 is King. I'm pretty sure they haven't changed the graphics of the container since it was first in production either. I use this on my chain, derailleurs, shifters, cables, seized bolts, and friend's disc brakes rotors. If you need something to slide freely, this is the stuff to have. I would recommend this product to ANYONE.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 2 11

FOX Factory Series Float DPS Rear Shock

“DEMO'D FOR DA WEEKEND”

C138_fox_factory_float_dps_shock

The Good:

Most plush yet supportive single tubed (non-piggy-back) shock in existence. CTD is on-point.

The Bad:

Lack of complete adjustability, that is if you even need it.

Overall Review: Demo'd this shock on a 2016 Santa Cruz Bronson in Moab, Utah. The trip consisted of a weekend with some friends where we rode and beat the shit out of our demo bikes. Boy was it fun! Impressions: The first thing I noticed while riding was how intelligent this shock was. The new Fox Float Evol makes Specialized's brain look retarded. It literally knew the terrain I was riding as if it had it's own set of eyeballs. Nice and firm while pedaling but super smooth on bumps. From the previous years Float, I noticed it was a lot more linear (consistent) throughout it's entire stroke. I seriously felt like I could Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 2 11

FUNN Python Pedal

“Holy Shizzle These Things Are For Rizzle”

C138_funn_python_pedal

The Good:

Huge platform, Strong, Easy to overhaul, Thin, and light weight (Pretty much everything you want in a pedal!)

The Bad:

Nothing at all.

Overall Review: Got these pedals during an impulsive purchase of a bunch of Funn components which was triggered by a DTR (determine the relationship) break-up with an Ex. Needless to say, these components were/are way more Funn than that relationship ever was. Size Matters: What really drove me to these pedals was the overall size and thinness of the platform. They are super thin which help the bike feel more natural when pedaling like a demon and the platform makes the stability great incase you forget you ride right-foot-forward while doing a no-footer. In short, they are huge and I love it. Durability: After riding them a bit, I have been Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 2 11

Five Ten Freerider Canvas Shoe

“MY SAVING GRACE”

C138_5218_freerider_canvas_2

The Good:

Supportive, Grippy, True to size, and Dope!

The Bad:

Nothing at all dude.

Overall Review: This is my first pair of the Five Ten Freeriders and they are by far my most favorite shoe to go mountain biking in. I've tried going clipless for months and after a few falling-off-cliff situations, I realized that clipless just wasn't for me. I was super bummed because all my favorite DH racers ride clipped in and I realized I would never be anywhere close to them in talent, speed, and awesomeness unless I too clipped in. Right as I was listing my DH bike for sale and about to press the "complete order" button on a 700c town bike, I saw an ad for Five Ten shoes on the sidebar (is that even a thing?) of my Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 2 11