Latest Product Reviews

RSS

SR Suntour RUX RC2 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: SR Suntour RUX Fork - UPDATED INTERNALS”

C138_rux_lubrication_hole_2e4b1901
Review by Evan Turpen // Photos by Dave Trumpore It's no secret that the long-travel bike market is a tough one to crack into. The numbers of product produced is much smaller than other areas of the market and the performance and quality demanded is of the highest level, because it has to be. As a result of the highly competitive market, many companies and products have come and gone, and some companies won't even dabble in it for fear of never getting a return on their investment. SR Suntour isn’t one of these scared companies, and for 2014 they’ve made the leap into the long-travel downhill and freeride market with the release Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member E.T.
699 E.T. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/699/avatar/c50_91530530_1251770096.jpg?1290151465 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/E-T,699/all 08/31/09 4 8 1 5 47 13

2014 Devinci Troy Carbon SL

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Devinci Troy Carbon SL”

C138_2014_troy_carbon
Reviewed by John Hauer and Jess Pedersen // Photos by Lear Miller The all-new Troy is Devinci’s first stab at the 27.5-inch wheel market. Sporting 140mm of travel and Dave Weagle’s Split Pivot suspension technology, the Troy took the world by storm last season as Stevie Smith rallied the never before seen bike to the top of the podium at the highly contested Crankworx Whistler Air Downhill race. Instantly the internets filled with the news, and demand was born for a bike that had just made the very best debut possible. Curious to see how this bad boy performs under someone other than the reigning World Cup Downhill Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 96 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2223 147 41

Michelin Wild Rock'R2 Advanced Reinforced Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Michelin Wild Rock'R2 Tire”

C138_michelin_wild_rockr_advanced_tubeless_reinforced_tire
by Dave Trumpore Michelin has been quiet for the last few years on the DH and Enduro front, and the Wild Rock'R2 marks their return to the serious gravity and trail bike market. Aimed at today's modern trail bikes, and more specifically Enduro racing this tire is aggressive and especially rugged. Michelin makes three versions of this tire and we tested the top of the line model that retails for $100. Wild Rock'R2 Tire Highlights 2.35" x 26" (Tested), 27.5" (650b), and 29” Tubeless Ready Folding Aramid Bead 50A Magi’X Softer Compound Front // 64A Center, 59A Lateral Gum’X Harder Dual Compound Rear Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member davetrumpore
1982 davetrumpore http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1982/avatar/c50_89971110_1266365822.jpg?1290155202 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/davetrumpore,1982/all 02/16/10 5 7 710 1 1 9 2 92 7

2014 Giant XTC Advanced 27.5 3 Bike

“2014 Giant XTC 27.5 Advanced 3”

C138_xtc_advanced_27.5_3_black

The Good:

Handling, function of components for price (value), compliance (for a hard tail). I really had a lot of fun on this bike and bested previous efforts put in on MUCH more expensive and lighter XC bikes.

The Bad:

Nothing bad. The components are not the flashiest or lightest, but all worked great. The stem and bars were a little longer and narrower than I am used to, but maybe just right for this type of bike and intended purpose. The Reba was very firm, which was good in terms of going where I pointed it, but was a little harsh...probably just not enough time on it to get it dialed.

Overall Review: I have been riding bikes all my life and competing in mostly XC and enduro successfull...y the last few years in Cat 1. I have owned or ridden many of the late model XC and enduro offerings, including the Trek Remedy 29er, Giant Trance SX 27.5, Santa Cruz Highball, SC Tallboy, Tallboy2 and Tallboy LT, and SC Bronson. My experience so far with the variety of wheels sizes we now have led me to the idea that 27.5 is more agile, fun, flickable and capable down, but that 29 is faster rolling and better uphill…i.e. that 29 is better for XC. In fairness, riding a 29lb 150/160mm Bronson back to back with a 26lb 100/120mm Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member argibson
29334 argibson /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/argibson,29334/all 01/21/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/argibson,29334/setup 1 6 1

Axiom Annihilateair G200LE Floor Pump

Vital Review

“Tested: Axiom Annihilateair G200LE Floor Pump”

C138_axiom_annihilateair_g200le_floor_pump
by Colt Maule Axiom is committed to helping cyclists ride more and live better, and they have been at it for 25 years. Their products are designed and tested by avid cyclists, so every minute detail is painstakingly considered before a final design is approved. Axiom relentlessly pursue new ways to reduce their footprint, using environmentally sensitive processes and materials in all of their products and packaging. With that background, I was curious to see what they can bring to us riders, so I put their Annihilateair G200LE floor pump to the test. Annihilateair G200LE Pump Highlights 13 x 9-inch powder Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member projekt roam
3232 projekt roam http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/3232/avatar/c50_colt_berm_bend_2_bw_s.jpg?1332358737 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/projekt-roam,3232/all 06/28/10 3 8 236 21 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/projekt-roam,3232/setup 1 5 5

2014 Intense Carbine 29

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Intense Carbine 29”

C138_2014_intense_carbine_29
Reviewed by Evan Turpen and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller Introduced in late 2013, the Carbine 29 is the first long-travel enduro 29er from Intense Cycles. It has a full carbon front triangle and carbon swingarm linked together by two counter-rotating CNC’d aluminum VPP links with options for either 127 or 140mm of rear travel. Complete with the well-regarded 160mm RockShox Pike fork, this rig is designed to tackle anything you can throw at it. With that in mind, we pedaled up and pointed it down some of the rowdiest descents Sedona, Arizona has to offer during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 96 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2223 147 41

Shimano M162 SPD Shoes

“Good shoes but durability issues”

C138_sh254b02_black

The Good:

Good medium width, good heel hold due to cam buckle, reasonably stiff sole, good walking grip

The Bad:

The neoprene on both top strap began tearing after about a month of use, resulting in a less precise fit

Overall Review: I really like these shoes. They can be had for under $100 online and are a good shoe for trail riding, striking a balance between an XC-style fit and friendly walking performance. The sole is stiff enough but has some give when walking around. Unfortunately the neoprene on both top straps tore after about a month. The shoes are still usable but I need to crank the top strap quite a bit to get the fit I'd like, while the strap used to be more elastic right up against the ankle, making for a precise fit without the same tension. Other than the top strap durability issue, these are great shoes, especially given the price. Unfortunately I would not buy another pair and will looking for something with similar performance but better longevity.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member D(C)
24430 D(C) /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/D-C,24430/all 05/15/13 2 13 2

MarshGuard Stash Fork Fender

Vital Review

“Tested: MarshGuard Fender and Stash Add-On”

C138_marshguard_stash_fork_fender
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas Ah winter... The sun seems to set before I leave work and the trails have reached maximum saturation, with consistent rain to boot. Regardless, I have been night riding fairly consistently and making the most of winter here in the Northwest. But nothing ruins a wet weather ride like a face full of mud, or the realization that all the slop surrounding your fork bushings will require diligent removal. The tube and zip-tie fender is a nearly free and simple solution to unwanted muck on one's face, but it doesn't reduce the slop around fork stanchions nor does it last for more Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 23 17

MarshGuard Fork Fender

Vital Review

“Tested: MarshGuard Fender and Stash Add-On”

C138_marshguard_fork_fender
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas Ah winter... The sun seems to set before I leave work and the trails have reached maximum saturation, with consistent rain to boot. Regardless, I have been night riding fairly consistently and making the most of winter here in the Northwest. But nothing ruins a wet weather ride like a face full of mud, or the realization that all the slop surrounding your fork bushings will require diligent removal. The tube and zip-tie fender is a nearly free and simple solution to unwanted muck on one's face, but it doesn't reduce the slop around fork stanchions nor does it last for more than a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 23 17

Canfield Brothers Jedi Frame

“Canfield Jedi”

C138_canfield_brothers_2014_jedi_black_black

The Good:

Best frame I've ridden, hands down.

The Bad:

I really can't think of one, other than no carbon option yet.

Overall Review: I can’t say enough about this bike… The rumors and claims are true, this thing eats the gnarliest lines and feels like it’s accelerating through them! The rearward axel path really does work as intended, allowing the forward momentum to pull the rear wheel up and over square rocks and deep roots without losing any speed. Going off of drops or jumps, any time you get deep in the suspension the bike just rockets forward. This might seem dangerous or frightening if it weren’t for how amazingly stable the bike is at speeds. There were many times this last season that I had a solitary moment of “oh no this won’t end Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 20 5