Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Hayes Stroker Ryde Disc Brake

“Cheap Price and Cheap Quality”

C138_br270c01blk_fr

The Good:

Inexpensive

The Bad:

Low quality, no power, cheap alloy construction, wiggly handles

Overall Review: Came as OEM and were one of the first items to go. These brakes have no modulation and the only way to get any feelings is to pull them to the bars. And since the handles have a really wobbly, wiggly feel I felt like I was always going to break them. Since they were OEM I thought that maybe there was a bit of air in the lines and that was causing the modulation/power issues so I bleed them. Bleeding did little to nothing at all. Another problem I ran into was the cheap alloy handlebar clamp bolt. The head of the blow is extremely thin and takes absolutely nothing to strip. When trying to make a Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

RockShox Domain 302 Fork

“Not the Worst. But Definitely Not the Best.”

C138_41012

The Good:

Thru-axle, rebound adjustment, travel adjustment, 35mm sanctions, smooth travel down

The Bad:

bouncy, no compression adjustment, bottoms out in lowest height setting

Overall Review: This came as the OEM on bike and I haven't the money to purchase a new fork. I don't hate this work, but I definitely don't love it or would buy it as an aftermarket choice. The overall looks and feel are good, minus the very bland chrome sanctions. Fork travel is smooth when compressing, but bouncy on the rebound. I made adjustments to both the travel and rebound, great to have those available, but haven't found a sweet spot that really works well for me. This fork is also very bouncy while pedaling, both on flatter ground and when going up hill. I try not to do to much pedaling up hill, but when I do have to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Race Face Respond Handlebar

Featured Member Review

“Great Bar, Great Price from Iconic Brand”

C138_2011_hbr_rsd_rs

The Good:

Wide, lite, strong, very little flex (if any), clean graphics, rise options

The Bad:

more color options would be great

Overall Review: Love this bar! Was looking for something with a low rise and a bigger width, but didn't have the money to drop on the more expensive Atlas or Turbine models. When I got the bar I was a tad skeptical if it would live up the Race Face name for the low price; I am not skeptical anymore. The width is great; not crazy wide, but not XC skinny and the low rise is a perfect feel and position. The width opens up the cockpit a bit and feels great for turns. The added width gives some good added leverage to get up and over things. The bars are strong and lite and I have never felt any flex in them whatsoever. I wouldn't Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

ODI Lock-On Grip - Rogue

“Too BIG a Grip!”

C138_gr707a07

The Good:

Grippy, wear well

The Bad:

Too thick and very hard compound, very little feeling, cause hand, arm fatigue, scary small lock-on bolts, spinning on bar

Overall Review: Rode with the Rouges for two years and was always happy until I switched. Found after switching that these grips were too much. The grip compound is hard and thick which translates to very little feeling while riding. The thickness and hardness, I found after changing, actually made me grip the bars harder which caused more hand and arm fatigue while riding. Also found that, that extra grip caused these to loosen up the lock rings and start to spin overtime. I always tightened down to suggested torque, but still has issues and always was a little concerned about over tightening the small bolts ODI uses on the lock rings. I ended up changing to ODI Ruffians and would not go back to these again.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Deity Enoki Grips

Featured Member Review

“Best Grips Ever”

C138_deity_enoki_grips

The Good:

Mushroom style supper grippy, comfortable, lock-rings hold strong, included bar end caps

The Bad:

flanges can get in way of shifters

Overall Review: Like many have always run with ODI, but I thought I would give the Deitys a shot. Was totally worth it! Mushroom grip is great. Never feel like I am going to lose grip and are just as comfortable on a short and long ride. Lock-rings are strong and use a larger bolt compared to ODI, so don't worry about stripping them. Love that Deity includes the bar end caps, like that the just fill in bar hole instead of cover over the entire bar end; lock-ring and all. And you can't beat the price! $20 is inexpensive and replacements grips are even cheaper! Love these and will be staying with Deity for the long haul.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Club Ride Wheel Cute Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Club Ride Joy Ride Capri & Wheel Cute Jersey”

C138_club_ride_wheel_cute_jersey_ivory
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman Yay bikes! Yay post-ride food and drinks! Now a third cheer, wait for it, clothes that go straight from the trail to the pub! Some obvious things I love about mountain biking include the fresh air, the adventure, the self-satisfaction of climbing to some great views, and the rush of shredding downhill. Another thing I love about this sport is the culture that seems to go with it. When I started mountain biking, I made some great friends. We’ve raced together, been study buddies, drinking buddies (those two often concurrently), and we have also reunited from far Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 3 2 13

Club Ride Joy Ride Capri

Vital Review

“Tested: Club Ride Joy Ride Capri & Wheel Cute Jersey”

C138_club_ride_joy_ride_capri_caravan
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman Yay bikes! Yay post-ride food and drinks! Now a third cheer, wait for it, clothes that go straight from the trail to the pub! Some obvious things I love about mountain biking include the fresh air, the adventure, the self-satisfaction of climbing to some great views, and the rush of shredding downhill. Another thing I love about this sport is the culture that seems to go with it. When I started mountain biking, I made some great friends. We’ve raced together, been study buddies, drinking buddies (those two often concurrently), and we have also reunited from Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 3 2 13

2014 Trek Fuel EX 9 29 Bike

“The perfect bicycle!”

C138_2014_trek_fuel_ex_9_29_bike

The Good:

Everything

The Bad:

Nothing really

Overall Review: I used to ride downhill and bmx and moved over to xc and road cycling a few years ago. For me this really is the perfect bike, although I did change the cockpit, seat and post to make it suit my endurance riding style. I have used it for everything from road racing(yes I did a 200k race in just over six hours on this thing) to long distance xc and bike park riding. Putting a 50mm stem when playing around at bike parks and it jumps and shreds down technical downhill sections like it was nothing, even keeping up with proper dh bikes. Only problem I've had is round really tight berms where the 29er wheels aren't quite as nimble as 26ers.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member CJPerry
1598 CJPerry http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1598/avatar/c50_88937010_1263555443.jpg?1290153988 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/CJPerry,1598/all 01/05/10 2 17 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/CJPerry,1598/setup 3 18 8 2

OneUp Components 42T Sprocket Cassette Add-On

Vital Review

“Tested: OneUp Components 42T Cassette Add-On”

C138_oneup_components_42t_sprocket_cassette_add_on
by Evan Turpen Over the last couple of years there have been major advancements in the drivetrains of our bikes (clutch derailleurs, mega-wide gear ranges, and almost derail-able chain retention techniques). Everything is simpler, lighter, smoother, and in most cases...more expensive. The OneUp 42-tooth cassette sprocket is a simple and affordable alternative to spending the coin on one of these complete drivetrain systems (in reality there's only one at the moment). It effectively gives you that 1x11 "climb up a wall" granny gear without causing that 1x11 hole in your bank account. For this reason I was Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member E.T.
699 E.T. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/699/avatar/c50_91530530_1251770096.jpg?1290151465 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/E-T,699/all 08/31/09 4 8 1 5 47 13

2014 Felt Virtue Nine 20

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Felt Virtue Nine 20”

C138_virtue_nine_20_5
Reviewed by John Hauer and Jess Pedersen // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller New for 2014, Felt’s Virtue lineup sees the addition of bikes in the 29-inch variety. The Virtue Nine features 130mm of travel out back and 140mm up front, slotting it somewhere between the long-travel 29er crowd and pedal friendly trail rippers. Even so, Felt’s not shy when they state their claims about the ride, saying that it’s a defining bike for the Enduro and Super D racing crowd. Having previously tested out the 26-inch Virtue, we were mighty curious to see if this gold painted rig was truly up to the task during the 2014 Vital MTB Test Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1229 2241 157 41