Latest Product Reviews


2011 Specialized P.1 Bike

“Such a Sick bike”


The Good:

awesome feel to it
super strong
looks awsome

The Bad:

rigid fork

Overall Review: such a sick bike for the price! once you get the chance chuck a 100mm dj fork on and it beats those bikes for around 1000 quid
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member BillieCook97
26937 BillieCook97,26937/all 08/16/13,26937/setup 1 1

2014 Giant Trance Advanced SX 27.5

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Giant Trance Advanced SX 27.5”

Reviewed by John Hauer and Jess Pedersen // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller It’s bold, it’s black and it looks bad ass. When Giant converted the majority of their bikes to the 27.5-inch wheel last year, they also took the time to completely redesign the Trance. Fueled by the Enduro craze (and no-doubt their own squad of shredders), the rowdier than standard Trance Advanced SX 27.5 was born. Sporting 140mm of rear wheel travel, 160mm up front and a list of components that’s certainly race worthy, this one appears ready to rally. Sedona, Arizona served as the perfect place to try out the bike claimed to “climb Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6059 1037,109/setup 267 1159 2142 130 40

Black Market Killswitch Frame

“Absofriginlutely incredible”


The Good:

Efficient, snappy, easy to jump, versatile, playful, stunning looks, beefy frame, Threaded BB, ISCG tabs, dropout options

The Bad:

Standard sliding rear drops

Overall Review: Amazing frame! This is a perfect slope/park/jump frame that's truly versatile. If you live near local tight playful trails the option to run gears and a guide open a world possibilities. I don't have local trails like this but do have some great slope, slalom, and jump lines. If you want to stay planed to the ground this isn't your rig. If you want to fly the Killswitch is incredible. The rear shock does it's job without getting in the way. It's a nearly perfect frame. The only thing I could imagine changing would be to design a tensioner into the sliding dropouts. These are standard and work perfectly a intended so this is a pretty minor quibble. Overall it's tops. Get one. They're amazing
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member corvus1
23743 corvus1,23743/all 04/18/13,23743/setup 2 2 1

2014 Yeti SB75 Race

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Yeti SB75”

Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Evan Turpen and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller For 2014, Yeti Cycles combined their proven Switch Technology suspension platform and some newfangled 27.5-inch wheels to create the SB75. After having a great experience on the SB66 Carbon and watching Jared Graves lay the hammer down on his SB66 time and time again during the Enduro World Series, it goes without saying that we had high hopes for the SB75. Is the new bike a better version of the original Super Bike, or is it an entirely different ride? Sedona, Arizona served as the perfect testing grounds to see what the new rig has Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6059 1037,109/setup 267 1159 2142 130 40

Fox Racing Women's Flygirl Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Fox Flygirl Short Sleeved Women’s Jersey”

by Amanda Richter It was almost spring and I was going a little stir crazy in snowy Colorado. I needed something to hold me over, something to look forward to so I thought “huh, I guess I could get some new kit...” Honestly, I was dreading it - I am not much of a shopper and with women’s cycling clothing there hasn't always been much to motivate me. It was actually my boyfriend who finally sat me down on Fox’s website and made me take a look. That was when I saw the Flygirl for the first time. Could it be? Was it actually possible that this jersey could combine fit and function as Fox claims, all for Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member La Pata
28909 La Pata,28909/all 12/20/13 2 1 6

SR Suntour RUX RC2 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: SR Suntour RUX Fork - UPDATED INTERNALS”

Review by Evan Turpen // Photos by Dave Trumpore It's no secret that the long-travel bike market is a tough one to crack into. The numbers of product produced is much smaller than other areas of the market and the performance and quality demanded is of the highest level, because it has to be. As a result of the highly competitive market, many companies and products have come and gone, and some companies won't even dabble in it for fear of never getting a return on their investment. SR Suntour isn’t one of these scared companies, and for 2014 they’ve made the leap into the long-travel downhill and freeride market with the release Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member E.T.
699 E.T.,699/all 08/31/09 4 8 1 5 47 13

2014 Devinci Troy Carbon SL

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Devinci Troy Carbon SL”

Reviewed by John Hauer and Jess Pedersen // Photos by Lear Miller The all-new Troy is Devinci’s first stab at the 27.5-inch wheel market. Sporting 140mm of travel and Dave Weagle’s Split Pivot suspension technology, the Troy took the world by storm last season as Stevie Smith rallied the never before seen bike to the top of the podium at the highly contested Crankworx Whistler Air Downhill race. Instantly the internets filled with the news, and demand was born for a bike that had just made the very best debut possible. Curious to see how this bad boy performs under someone other than the reigning World Cup Downhill Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6059 1037,109/setup 267 1159 2142 130 40

Michelin Wild Rock'R2 Advanced Reinforced Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Michelin Wild Rock'R2 Tire”

by Dave Trumpore Michelin has been quiet for the last few years on the DH and Enduro front, and the Wild Rock'R2 marks their return to the serious gravity and trail bike market. Aimed at today's modern trail bikes, and more specifically Enduro racing this tire is aggressive and especially rugged. Michelin makes three versions of this tire and we tested the top of the line model that retails for $100. Wild Rock'R2 Tire Highlights 2.35" x 26" (Tested), 27.5" (650b), and 29” Tubeless Ready Folding Aramid Bead 50A Magi’X Softer Compound Front // 64A Center, 59A Lateral Gum’X Harder Dual Compound Rear Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member davetrumpore
1982 davetrumpore,1982/all 02/16/10 6 7 710 1 1 9 2 92 7

2014 Giant XTC Advanced 27.5 3 Bike

“2014 Giant XTC 27.5 Advanced 3”


The Good:

Handling, function of components for price (value), compliance (for a hard tail). I really had a lot of fun on this bike and bested previous efforts put in on MUCH more expensive and lighter XC bikes.

The Bad:

Nothing bad. The components are not the flashiest or lightest, but all worked great. The stem and bars were a little longer and narrower than I am used to, but maybe just right for this type of bike and intended purpose. The Reba was very firm, which was good in terms of going where I pointed it, but was a little harsh...probably just not enough time on it to get it dialed.

Overall Review: I have been riding bikes all my life and competing in mostly XC and enduro successfull...y the last few years in Cat 1. I have owned or ridden many of the late model XC and enduro offerings, including the Trek Remedy 29er, Giant Trance SX 27.5, Santa Cruz Highball, SC Tallboy, Tallboy2 and Tallboy LT, and SC Bronson. My experience so far with the variety of wheels sizes we now have led me to the idea that 27.5 is more agile, fun, flickable and capable down, but that 29 is faster rolling and better uphill…i.e. that 29 is better for XC. In fairness, riding a 29lb 150/160mm Bronson back to back with a 26lb 100/120mm Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member argibson
29334 argibson /images/default/avatar/c50.png,29334/all 01/21/14,29334/setup 1 6 1

Axiom Annihilateair G200LE Floor Pump

Vital Review

“Tested: Axiom Annihilateair G200LE Floor Pump”

by Colt Maule Axiom is committed to helping cyclists ride more and live better, and they have been at it for 25 years. Their products are designed and tested by avid cyclists, so every minute detail is painstakingly considered before a final design is approved. Axiom relentlessly pursue new ways to reduce their footprint, using environmentally sensitive processes and materials in all of their products and packaging. With that background, I was curious to see what they can bring to us riders, so I put their Annihilateair G200LE floor pump to the test. Annihilateair G200LE Pump Highlights 13 x 9-inch powder Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member projekt roam
3232 projekt roam,3232/all 06/28/10 4 8 236 21,3232/setup 1 5 5