Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Avid Elixir R Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

“Adequate all around brakes”

C138_88901820_1266939844

The Good:

1) reach adjust
2) modulation
3) price

The Bad:

1) contact pad adjust
2) braking power (compared to Shimanos)

Overall Review: These are decent brakes for the price... definitely a better option than the Juicys they replaced. Even through the Rs also have Taperbore, they don't quite have the stopping power as the CRs.  Modulation is good, not on/off like the Shimano XT/XTR/Saint brakes I tried in the past. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member microfiz
28586 microfiz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28586/avatar/c50_me_and_peanut_1385419876.jpg?1385419189 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/microfiz,28586/all 11/25/13 10 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/microfiz,28586/setup 1

Race Face Women's DIY Glove

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Women’s DIY Glove”

C138_race_face_piper_womens_diy_glove
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman You know the point when your riding gloves are either so worn and so dirty no washing can get them clean, some of the fingers are torn, or the palms are full of hard little pills rubbing your hands raw on long rides? Well, all my gloves have reached some combination of these stages. My “this pair isn't so bad yet, I’ll keep it as a back up” gloves don’t even work as back ups anymore. Who’s got two thumbs, eight fingers, and is ready for a new pair of gloves – me. One of the popular names out on the trails these days for components as well as clothing is Race Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 13 1

Onza IBEX Tire

“26" IBEX Onza 2.4 FR 120 tpi”

C138_onza_tires_ibex

The Good:

Lightweight, soft but durable, sticky/grippy, all-terrain

The Bad:

Nothing so far

Overall Review: Received a set of these rippers from www.gretnabikes.com and these tires from www.onzatires.com really do climb and descend the roughest terrain better then any tire I've used. Ibex is a good name for these tires because they give you traction and stability just as the wild Ibex goat needs while climbing in the European Alps. I ride a 26"all-mountain style machine and enjoy riding all styles especiallytechnical rooty/rocky sections and fast flowing single track and these rubbers have held up incredibly well. I set them up tubeless out of the box without any problem and havebeen running about 25ish pounds. Before these tires I Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down

Avid Elixir R Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

“Good for budget brakes.”

C138_88901820_1266939844

The Good:

These oddly came stock on my sram build 951 in 2010. I used them for a year then upgraded to formula "the one" brakes on the DH bike and bolted these up to my old Enduro. The stock pad life is ok. The weight isn't bad. The power is not great but much improved with ebc DH race pads installed. I spent a few years riding these on the trail bike and have to say they are maybe the best avid brakes but take that for what it is.

The Bad:

These brakes will get hot and fade or pump on long steep descents. The key is to bled them often and use high quality brake fluid with a high boiling point. I would hate these brakes if I didn't own a bled kit. I think most of the avid hate comes from people who don't bled their own brakes. Also you need to learn how to true rotors because they don't retract a lot.

Overall Review: These are not bad brakes. They get the job done. There are far better brakes for DH (formula & shimano = less fade, more power) and there are far better options for all mountain (xtr, xt, slx). If you don't have $300 a set of shimano brakes don't worry, just buy a bled kit, some high quality brake fluid, and some softer pads. These can feel quite good if you do the work and keep it up.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member GotShovel
26774 GotShovel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26774/avatar/c50_image_1392622255.jpg?1392621495 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/GotShovel,26774/all 08/07/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/GotShovel,26774/setup 1 45 1

SR Suntour Auron RC2 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: 2014 SR Suntour Auron RC2 Fork”

C138_2014_sr_suntour_auron_fork
Review by Evan Turpen // Photos by Dave Trumpore Last year I had the opportunity to test my first ever SR Suntour suspension product in the form of the 32mm Epicon-X1 trail/XC fork. The fork showed a lot of promise, especially at its $599 price point, and it left me pondering the potential for future SR Suntour products as more time and energy was put into development. When I first heard of the 34mm Auron fork I was excited to give it a try. At 150-160mm of travel it suits the bikes I enjoy riding most these days - they're much closer to their downhill ancestors than XC. Because of this I personally prefer high and low-speed Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member E.T.
699 E.T. http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/699/avatar/c50_91530530_1251770096.jpg?1290151465 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/E-T,699/all 08/31/09 4 8 1 5 47 13

Manitou Minute Pro Fork

“Minute Pro 120mm = Excellent fork”

C138_57825

The Good:

Highly tuneable
plush
stiff
lightweight
reliable

The Bad:

None so far...

Overall Review: Highly adjustable! Can be as plush or as stiff as you want it to be. Initial compression is handled by the spring (which you can switch out to set proper sag) then the remaining compression is controlled by the MARS system. Reliable and tracks terrain well.  Best buy for the money.  You can pay hundreds more and not get this level of performance.  Very good fork!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FreonMTB
26698 FreonMTB http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26698/avatar/c50_DSC_8171_1375543333.jpg?1375542979 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FreonMTB,26698/all 08/03/13 1 1

SRAM XX Cassette 10sp

“The Holy Grail of MTB Cassettes”

C138_42785

The Good:

~Spools-up extremely fast
~Sub 210g weight is consistent
~Incredible wear, from machined, inner 8 cogs
~Smooth, instant telepathic shifts, rivals Shimano XTR
~Materials science at its finest
~High resale value

The Bad:

~Pricey
~SRAM lied about replaceable 36t cogs, in their ad campaigns

Overall Review: Upgrading from my hefty, 355g SRAM PG-1070 cassette - the 207g XG-1099 spins up so fast, it's almost like losing four additional teeth on your granny chainring. The 148g difference CAN BE FELT...the moment you spin the cranks. Climbs that normally petered me out can finally be cleared, due to the reduction of rotating axial weight. If you are strong enough to stay away from using the alloy 36t cog - you can also expect 3-4 seasons of hard trail riding, on this cassette. Just be sure to religiously monitor your chain wear and this cassette will easily outlast many lower-end cogs by 3:1...making this component a decent Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zachariah
26432 Zachariah http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26432/avatar/c50_mtb_murraypk_1374164148.jpg?1374163184 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/all 07/18/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/setup 1 6 5

Cane Creek DBair CS Rear Shock

Vital Review

“Tested: 2014 Cane Creek DBair CS Rear Shock”

C138_dbair_cs_hori_white_sml
by Dave Trumpore Cane Creek's highly rated Double Barrel Air shock recently received a new climbing assist feature dubbed the "Climb Switch" or CS for short. After hundreds of miles putting it through its paces, it’s time for us to weigh in on the addition. 2014 DBair CS Shock Highlights Weight: 509 grams (weight varies by size) Damping: Twin-tube independent compression and rebound in two high-speed and four low-speed damping circuits Adjustments: High speed compression, Low speed compression, High speed rebound, Low speed rebound, Air spring rate, Climb Switch on/off Shaft Material: Induction-hardened 4130 steel Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member davetrumpore
1982 davetrumpore http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1982/avatar/c50_89971110_1266365822.jpg?1290155202 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/davetrumpore,1982/all 02/16/10 6 7 710 1 1 9 2 92 7

Magura MT8 Disc Brake

“No good For DH”

C138_magura_mt8_disc_brake

The Good:

Very light, great modulation and feel at first.

The Bad:

Not durable or reliable in the slightest.

Overall Review: So I originally started with the older Martas on my Glory, sold it, and replaced the Saints on my Fury with MT8s because the Martas were sick and I figured the MT8s would be also. HOWEVER, first weekend on them I warped both 8 inch rotors really badly, so I replaced them with older Magura two-piece rotors that are badass and I still use with my current Saints. Flash forward 2 years later and I have just burnt through my 3rd brake. I had one master cyclinder go, one cracked piston, and the latest one is the most infuriating, I crashed or bumped my bike or something because the rear caliper has a scuff mark Read More »
Rate review: -2 Up Down
Vital MTB member jlucchesi
28433 jlucchesi http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28433/avatar/c50_zazoosh_990191896_smjpeg_1384322016.jpg?1384321206 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jlucchesi,28433/all 11/12/13 9 1 3 1

2014 Niner WFO 9

Vital Review

“Tested: 2014 Niner WFO 9 - Cake Gnomin Good”

C138_niner_wfo_9_2014
Review by Jeff Brines // Photos by Patrick Nelson It took me an inordinate amount of time to understand the meaning of the phrase “have your cake and eat it too”. I just didn’t understand who these people were who were so obsessed with cake. Don’t get me wrong, I like cake as much as the next guy but don’t I always have cake while I’m eating it? I guess you could say I wasn’t the sharpest knife in the drawer as a youngster. But I digress. The Niner WFO 9 seems to play off this old adage of having the best of both worlds. What rider doesn’t want a bike that monster-trucks through the chunkiest of terrain, holds an immense amount of Read More »
Rate review: +8 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 8 135 271 11 2