Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Giro Bravo LF Gloves

“Great glove with excellent ride qualities...”

C138_giro_bravo_lf_gloves_black_highlight_yellow

The Good:

fit, fabrics, construction and feel on the bars

The Bad:

Nothing yet but I've only got a handful of rides on them. The stitching and panels are all looking and performing as good as day 1.

Overall Review: Ok to start off I bought these from jensonusa.com and was super pumped on how they handled the transaction and timing on the standard shipping, I got them right away. About the gloves: Giro offers a solid glove design. I have always been a Troy Lee XC glove guy which are still fantastic. That being said these have some outstanding ride qualities that helped them stand tall. I really like the feel on the hand, it's like a compression wrap for your hand that does not fatigue or stress your grip in anyway. They feel lighter than my TLD, I'm not a weight weenie and NO, I didn't not put them on a scale. Standard features Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Christian Peper
1131 Christian Peper http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1131/avatar/c50_88173630_1260934116.jpg?1290152491 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Christian-Peper,1131/all 10/22/09 6 22 8 4 26 211 11

2016 Giant Trance 27.5 3 Bike

“Fun bike but left unimpressed.”

C138_trance_275_3_black

The Good:

The larger wheels pedal uphill great and the bike love long sweepers, stable in gravelly stuffs.

The Bad:

This bike is afraid of anything remotely downhill, despite having suspension set up by Giant Factory tech the suspension never felt like it worked right.

Overall Review: I normally ride a 2010 giant reign x1, which I love, I've owned multiple Giant bikes which is part of the reason I was so mistakenly excited to ride the trance 27.5. I may be a bit biased as I do a lot of enduro riding, ome downhill, and park. However I had been super excited to ride the new trance 27.5 because lately I've been focusing on enduro and enduro racing. I had the opportunity this summer to ride the trance 27.5 during a Giant demo at Deer Valley Resort in Utah, where I was actually riding my dad's 2006 giant reign because my reign x was in the shop. After taking a few laps of various trails, including the famed Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member cliff.hardle
23846 cliff.hardle http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23846/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1386545481.jpg?1366728947 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/cliff-hardle,23846/all 04/23/13 33 2

2014 Specialized Enduro Expert EVO Bike

“Black Beauty Bike”

C138_bike_specialized_enduro_expert_evo

The Good:

The girls will stare at you when you ride this bike..

The Bad:

The climbing ability..

Overall Review: A real bike, strong and love the X design on the frame! Fast, good handling. This bike actually made to down the mountain, across the forest, and not for the street. The price is quite expensive but worth for all the technology.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 10 35 105 9

FUNN Fatboy Riser Bar

“FUNN Badboy, Ups Fatboy”

C138_hb409a51_black

The Good:

Impressive, Cheap, Light, Complete color choice

The Bad:

I can't find the bad of this stuff

Overall Review: The best handlebar that I have ever used, and also impressive. First time I saw this handlebar, it attracts me with its bright color, it like diamond in the mud. The conclusion is, this is high quality handlebar with the reasonable price, not only sell the brand, but the quality has proven.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 10 35 105 9

X-Fusion Slant RL2 Suspension Fork

“All good so far”

C138_mt13slant_rl_b_gold

The Good:

Having run Velvets for a year and found them to be amazing i thought i'd try the slants on my new bike. so far they been amazing. Light, well made, proper internals, easy to maintain.

The Bad:

Decals are crap. needs new design for all x-fusion forks

Overall Review: Thoroughly recommend these puppies. run them at 160mm. brilliant. and way way cheaper than the so called top brands.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member slamman
8146 slamman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8146/avatar/c50_slam_logo.white_1447572004.jpg?1447571789 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/slamman,8146/all 05/16/11 56 1 1 1

2013 Giant Trance X3 Bike

“No Trail too Hard”

C138_2013_trance_x_3

The Good:

This is a great all around bike. I have rode this bike in some decent downhill trails in Pennsylvania and I haven't had any problem on technical climbs and descents. I can still kill climbs going up and also can handle heavy descents in the same ride. The brakes perform great, makes it easy to get that front wheel up.

The Bad:

No ICGS tabs, Stock Pedals are garbage. Stem is too long.

Overall Review: Overall this bike is a great do it all bike. I've done some nice DH on it as well as alot of climbing. Its quick in the corners and is very easy to manuver in tight singletrack. I mostly ride enduro. So far this bike has been everything I need for the way I ride. I'd like for it to have ICGS tabs but that can be remedied with an aftermarket mount from Clutch. The first thing I changed out was the stock pedals. I ditched them for the Crank Bros. Mallet DH. Another great upgrade is to replace the bushing in the top eye of the shock with needle bearings from AWS. It makes the actuation of the shock so much smoother. I can hardly Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Mekanysm
28970 Mekanysm /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Mekanysm,28970/all 12/24/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Mekanysm,28970/setup 1

Formula C1 Hydraulic Disc Brake

Vital Review

“Tested: Formula C1 Disc Brakes”

C138_formula_c1_master_cylinder_white
by Andy Holloway Looking for reliable brakes that won't vaporize your wallet? At $159, Formula's new C1 brakes may be your answer. Developed as the entry-level counterpart to the popular R1, the C1 is a bit heavier and lacks adjustments such as the "Feeling Control System" found in the more expensive big brother. We put the C1 to the test to see how much is left in the tank after this feature diet. Formula C1 Brake Highlights Master Cylinder Cartridge Technology SpeedLock Hose Quick Connect Inline One-piece caliper body 140mm - 203mm depending on rotor mount (1-Piece Rotor 6 Bolt IS or Center Lock, 2-Piece Rotor 6 Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member 970biking
307 970biking http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/307/avatar/c50_11110451_10102277742308143_8701777566279777981_n_1435152886.jpg?1435152470 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/970biking,307/all 08/03/09 4 39 12 2167 1 16 1 116 11 10

2011 Black Market Contraband

“Contraband: Bmx feel with mountain bike forgiveness”

C138_126665970_1287610868

The Good:

This bike is way more versatile than the 24 inch, steel build would let on. It is light stiff and provides a completely bombproof build right out of the box. The Contraband has a short wheelbase but somehow achieves the balance needed to supply a stable feel. The bike is unbelievably playful in street and skatepark applications yet is able to feel like a 26 inch dirt jump bike on the larger, more technical jumps. The bike will simply disappear underneath the rider and supply some unreal control.

The Bad:

The stock tires are pretty heavy and truthfully, the entire stock build leaves some to be desired. The frame alone might be the better purchase if you are a rider who knows what they want. If you are not a rider who knows what they want, then you will notice fairly quickly what you like and dislike about the stock build.

Overall Review: Overall this bike is perfect for BMx riders making the transition into MTB or for slopestyle riders looking to mob around the streets and skateparks with a more interactive bike than a normal 26inch DJ bike. This will serve as a workhorse on any level and certainly makes a good addition to any riders collection or bikes, or a beginner's garage. The price makes this bike indisputably one of the best freestyle mountain bikes out there, despite being rather specialized to certain riding.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Cane Creek Double Barrel Rear Shock

“Worlds greatest shock!?!?!?”

C138_db_coil_vertical_lo_res

The Good:

Everything!

The Bad:

Nothing!!!! maybe price but the tech in it is worth it.

Overall Review: So basically with out going all technical this shock makes you think. Now don't think of this as a bad thing but say you ride in Wissler one week and your riding your very mellow forest trail the next, instead of a set and forget you will have to tinker with it but this allows for a higher overall speed. keep a binder and write down compression and rebound figures so you can easily switch and this shock already over did itself a small tool is nothing. Another thing would defiantly be two rebound adjustments it helps with big hits and mellow trails!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member connnordoll21
27873 connnordoll21 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27873/avatar/c50_IMG_2937_1408396954.jpg?1408396744 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/connnordoll21,27873/all 10/11/13 1 24 125 47 2 1

X-Fusion Slant RL2 Suspension Fork

“Will fail quickly but perform well. Syntace 15mm skewer is fantastic”

C138_mt13slant_rl_b_gold

The Good:

Excellent on the trail, buttery smooth, superbly damped

The Bad:

Will break or fail somehow within a month. X-Fusion will then take like 2 months to repair it because this way they can 'sit out' out their 2 year warranty period. Please test your products before you bring them to market, we are not idiots.

Overall Review: I tried this fork, borrowed from a friend for a few weeks. I have a Velvet, he has a Slant. We both found the same thing, the fork is quite excellent on the trail but doesn't last we've had countless warranty issues. Somehow X-Fusion rushed their R&D or something and made a bunch of hideously unreliable extremely excellent performing forks. If you ride everyday, it's 1 star. If you have a specific race rig, then these will match up well with your Schwalbe Nobby Nic 5 ride racing tires and Crank Bros pedals. If you only have the time to ride once a week you might be OK too. 5 stars of racing provided they survive the race. 3 stars for a once a week rider and 1 star for everyday riders. 'X-Fusion the Crank Bros of Suspension minus the customer service'.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1