Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Shimano M162 SPD Shoes

“Good shoes but durability issues”

C138_sh254b02_black

The Good:

Good medium width, good heel hold due to cam buckle, reasonably stiff sole, good walking grip

The Bad:

The neoprene on both top strap began tearing after about a month of use, resulting in a less precise fit

Overall Review: I really like these shoes. They can be had for under $100 online and are a good shoe for trail riding, striking a balance between an XC-style fit and friendly walking performance. The sole is stiff enough but has some give when walking around. Unfortunately the neoprene on both top straps tore after about a month. The shoes are still usable but I need to crank the top strap quite a bit to get the fit I'd like, while the strap used to be more elastic right up against the ankle, making for a precise fit without the same tension. Other than the top strap durability issue, these are great shoes, especially given the price. Unfortunately I would not buy another pair and will looking for something with similar performance but better longevity.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member D(C)
24430 D(C) /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/D-C,24430/all 05/15/13 2 12 2

MarshGuard Stash Fork Fender

Vital Review

“Tested: MarshGuard Fender and Stash Add-On”

C138_marshguard_stash_fork_fender
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas Ah winter... The sun seems to set before I leave work and the trails have reached maximum saturation, with consistent rain to boot. Regardless, I have been night riding fairly consistently and making the most of winter here in the Northwest. But nothing ruins a wet weather ride like a face full of mud, or the realization that all the slop surrounding your fork bushings will require diligent removal. The tube and zip-tie fender is a nearly free and simple solution to unwanted muck on one's face, but it doesn't reduce the slop around fork stanchions nor does it last for more Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 16 17

MarshGuard Fork Fender

Vital Review

“Tested: MarshGuard Fender and Stash Add-On”

C138_marshguard_fork_fender
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas Ah winter... The sun seems to set before I leave work and the trails have reached maximum saturation, with consistent rain to boot. Regardless, I have been night riding fairly consistently and making the most of winter here in the Northwest. But nothing ruins a wet weather ride like a face full of mud, or the realization that all the slop surrounding your fork bushings will require diligent removal. The tube and zip-tie fender is a nearly free and simple solution to unwanted muck on one's face, but it doesn't reduce the slop around fork stanchions nor does it last for more than a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 16 17

Canfield Brothers Jedi Frame

“Canfield Jedi”

C138_canfield_brothers_2014_jedi_black_black

The Good:

Best frame I've ridden, hands down.

The Bad:

I really can't think of one, other than no carbon option yet.

Overall Review: I can’t say enough about this bike… The rumors and claims are true, this thing eats the gnarliest lines and feels like it’s accelerating through them! The rearward axel path really does work as intended, allowing the forward momentum to pull the rear wheel up and over square rocks and deep roots without losing any speed. Going off of drops or jumps, any time you get deep in the suspension the bike just rockets forward. This might seem dangerous or frightening if it weren’t for how amazingly stable the bike is at speeds. There were many times this last season that I had a solitary moment of “oh no this won’t end Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 18 5

Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal

“Canfield Crampon Magnesium”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_magnesium

The Good:

Great pedal.. Thin, light, strong grrrrippy!

The Bad:

DU bushings develop loud clank once they wear down, easily rebuilt though and back to normal. Pins need to be snugged down as they can fall out if not tight. On the mags, the paint chips fairly easily.

Overall Review: Just like their predecessor, the Crampon Ultimate, they have a nice big platform, nice and tight to the crank arm. Convex design is very comfortable to ride on, they seem like they cradle my foot better than others. Grip on these is unreal!  When I first got them they were TOO sticky so I had to remove some pins but with some wear they became just right.  Lightest flat pedal out there, and just as strong as any other. Best flat pedal I've owned!  Light, strong, slim and stylish, another winner from the C2 team!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 18 5

Canfield Brothers Crampon Ultimate Pedal

“Crampon Ultimates”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_polished_2

The Good:

Great pedal.. Thin, light, strong grrrrippy!

The Bad:

DU bushings develop loud clank once they wear down, easily rebuilt though and back to normal. Pins need to be snugged down as they can fall out if not tight.

Overall Review: Really nice big platform, nice and tight to the crank arm. Convex design is very comfortable to ride on, they seem like they cradle my foot better than others.  Grip on these is unreal!  When I first got them they were TOO sticky so I had to remove some pins but with some wear they became just right.  Also very light, they work well on everything from the DH rig to the DJ. Best flat pedal I've owned!  Light, strong, slim and stylish, another winner from the C2 team!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member TheRage43
28659 TheRage43 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/all 12/01/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TheRage43,28659/setup 4 18 5

Giro Bravo LF Gloves

“All weather miracle glove”

C138_giro_bravo_lf_gloves_black_highlight_yellow

The Good:

Useful in all weather conditions; Excellent wicking on thumbs; effectivepadding placement

The Bad:

Velcro closure straps

Overall Review: I absolutely love this glove. I've used it in the middle of the hottest, humidity soaked summers in the south and my hands never got too bothered by the heat and I've used it in below freezing (25F) on winter rides and my hands stayed warm. I don't know how it managed to perform in two extreme ranges of temperatures, but I'm happy it did. The supple leather fingers grip my bars and brake levers nicely, and the padding (which I usually detest on most gloves) is quite perfect. My only complaint is that it uses velcro to secure the wrist. I much prefer gloves that do not rely on velcro, but this is such a minor thing in the long run. I don't like to give 5 star ratings to anything, but these have really outperformed the price I paid for them, and if/when they wear out, I'll be sure to buy another pair.

Kenda Nevegal X Pro Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Kenda Nevegal X Pro Tire”

C138_kenda_nevegal_x_pro
by AJ Barlas A few years ago, partially from boredom and partially thanks to new developments from manufacturers in the industry, I decided the time had come to try some of the different tires that were hitting the market. Today the waters are still being tested. There have been some great tires in that time and some new faves, so when the chance to skid about on the updated Kenda Nevegal came up I figured, why not? Maybe they've improved. After all, quite a bit has changed since the original version was introduced. The original Nevegal was a popular tire, though not so much with those that, shall we say, have high Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2014 Devinci Troy Carbon RC Bike

“Devinci Troy RC - Great Buy”

C138_2014_troy_carbon_rc

The Good:

Very good parts spec, pretty on the money for the build, and frame, but man LIFETIME warranty on the frame... unheard of. Basically SLX parts all around, which for 90% of people is more than they would need, CTD rear shock, which feels pretty standard compared to the previous versions of the fox float, and the fox float 34 which is a solid mid/upper-range fork. Lastly this is one of the few companies that actually gets the cockpit correct, spec-ing the bike with 780mm wide bars and a short 70mm (I think) stem.

The Bad:

Wheels are a bit flexy, I was surprised, they didnt follow the typical over-under pattern you see on most wheels which didn't make a ton of sense to me. Additionally the bike comes with a XT long cage derailuer which i thought was a bit dumb since it ships with a double in the front. Also not a huge fan of the Hans Dampf, I would have been allot more jazzed with a pair of highroller II, or ardents.

Overall Review: Overall I think this bike as a whole is a great package! Pretty short chainstays, real slack head angle, adjustable geo of 67.5 in the high setting to 67 degree in the low, big burly fork, and a great build kit. The SLX brakes, are awesome, I would say back to back compared to the XT's I honestly could not tell the difference in stopping power. Shifting with the SLX, XT drive train was again solid and without issue. Rear end of the bike was very stiff and never seemed to give any trouble while riding. Only complaint about the build of the bike was that the wheels were pretty floppy, and they flexed laterally quite easily. Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Rconroy
2805 Rconroy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2805/avatar/c50_Yeti_Big_1403290056.jpg?1403290025 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Rconroy,2805/all 05/13/10 1 5 20 9

Cole Wheels IBEX 29

Vital Review

“Tested: Cole IBEX 29 Carbon Wheelset”

C138_dsc_6788
by Jeff Brines Lesser known Cole threw their hat into the carbon wheel ring last season with the introduction of their IBEX line. I’ve had my hands on a set for the better part of four months in a 29er application. How did the wheels fair? Take a look… IBEX Wheelset Highlights High-compression carbon rim material 27.5mm external, 20.5mm internal (measured) rim profile 24 straight pull, double butted 2.0/1.8/2.0mm spokes per wheel EZ-Snap tool-free end cap replacement - 15mm front, 135 QR or 142x12mm rear included with wheelset Traditional 36 tooth, 3 pawl system with 10-degree engagement Hard anodized alloy freehub Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 9 149 289 11 2