Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

“Awesome Product not XX1 Priced!”

C138_wide_black

The Good:

Not an expensive option to running a single ring, dont have to buy a whole xx1 or xx0 set up to run a single ring without a chain guide!

The Bad:

Need to make sure that the chain is tensioned properly otherwise losing a chain will occur

Overall Review: I was very impressed with my Raceface narrow wide chainring. I purchased a 32 with hopes to upgrade to a 34 once i started pedalling a bit more.  Stupidly I didn't re tension the chain after switching from a 2x setup,  I used a roller to keep the chain more tensioned and it held up well, I lost a chain twice without it properly tensioned.   Once realizing that I needed to take a few links out of the chain, I was never able to lose a chain.  Considering if you want to run a true 1x setup with no chainring you need to buy a sram xx1 or xx0 setup I was much happier paying the 40 bucks to get this, rather then the grand+ to get the sram setup!
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member coralcorn
31 coralcorn http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/31/avatar/c50_Facebook_20140217_015134_1392674140.jpg?1392673924 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/coralcorn,31/all 07/31/09 8 115 1 17 10 1

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

“Works well with proper chain tension”

C138_wide_black

The Good:

- works
- light
- looks awesome
- way cheaper than a chainguide

The Bad:

you'll lose chains if your tension is too low

Overall Review: I installed a blue 34t narrow-wide on a relatively worn 9-speed SRAM drivetrain with an old X9 derailleur on my GT Distortion (short travel trail/jump/all around fun bike) and immediately went downhilling. The first day I dropped the chain three times in the same rock garden, and once or twice in other technical spots. I was mildly disappointed, but then realized that I was running my chain too long by a good few links. Removed the links and I've since dropped the chain four or five times total (15+ rides, including downhilling at the same and gnarlier spots), and every time I sort of saw it coming because I was Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member s.sheline
6865 s.sheline /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/s-sheline,6865/all 02/20/11 5 110 1

Shimano XT Disc Brake M785

“Perfect middle”

C138_67208

The Good:

Great braking power, fantastic look, minimal noise, impossible to overheat, reach adjust can be adjusted without tool.

The Bad:

Price of ice tech rotors and vented pads is very high.

Overall Review: When I first time looked at this brake I taught: ''There's no difference between this and SLX brakes.'' And that isn't far from truth. Only difference is in final look and in addition of so called ''Free stroke'' mechanism. Some people think this is completely useless, but I was able to see, just like my friends that it has some difference. Main reason I had this brake? Whole bike had XT group so I thought if whole bike is XT group, I will go for it. Is it worth additional money for difference in 20 grams per brake? It's all up to you. I would personally go for it because one group above SLX can mean Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Dorianl98
27797 Dorianl98 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Dorianl98,27797/all 10/06/13 2 13 19 22 3

Crank Brothers Power Pump Pro

“compact but not practical”

C138_7458

The Good:

Compact, light, easy to use gauge

The Bad:

Not much air volume. Takes forever to pump high volume mountain bike tires.

Overall Review: Although compact and beautifully made, the Power Pump Pro is more fashion than function. The lack of air volume requires a lot of effort to pump up high volume mountain bike tires.   Look elsewhere if you are flat prone.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 12 24

Crank Brothers Multi 17 Tool

“long lasting, well designed multi tool”

C138_tl265j04

The Good:

durable, versatile, compact

The Bad:

heavy, prone to rust

Overall Review: The multi tool 17 is a durable, versatile and well designed multitool. Equipped with a chain tool and spoke wrench, this crank brothers tool is ready for all day epics or local trail rides.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 12 24

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

“The days of hanging junk off your crank are over!”

C138_wide_black

The Good:

Nicely machined, great color and size choices, even works with 9 speed. A stupidly cost effective way to lighten your ride.

The Bad:

You might still need a lightweight guide for piece of mind if riding downhill and free-ride. Marginally noisier than a regular chain ring.

Overall Review: I have a full suspension 150mm travel trail/AM bike running 9 speed with a SRAM X7 short cage derailleur. Been running the Raceface Narrow/wide for a few thousand miles on without issue, no chain drops at all. I was worried that I would need a clutch type derailleur, luckily with a short cage regular derailleur this has been fine, but my X7 does have quite a strong spring. I think the chain ring has slightly more rub than my nicely machined Renthal regular ring, but dumping a 250 gram guide has actually made the whole bike a bit lighter and easier to pedal.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Park Tool CT-3 Chain Tool

“Shop quality chain tool, own it for life”

C138_ct3

The Good:

Strong, durable, replaceable pins

The Bad:

CT-3 may not work on 11 speed chains. The newer CT-3.2 works on 5-11 speed chains.

Overall Review: I've used this chain tool for over 15 years without fail. So far, I have replaced one pin.  The steel construction and fine machining is both durable and smooth.   The rubber coated handles are also a plus.   This tool also works loose kinks in the chain.  Not much more to say than buy this tool and you will own it for life.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 12 24

Xpedo Baldwin Clipless Pedal

“Xpedo Baldwin Clip-less Review”

C138_xpedo_bladwin_pedals

The Good:

Light, Durable, Works well, Looks good,

The Bad:

Screws may loosen but its an easy fix, don't take a shiner

Overall Review: When I got my first look at these pedals I was absolutely stoked to test them out. Xpedo did a really good job of putting together a solid reliable pedal. The pedal's body is slightly smaller all around than the Shimano trail pedals as well as the CrankBrother Mallets. This make squeezing in between rocks just that much easier as well as making pedal strikes a rare occurrence. The cleat system is almost identical to the Shimano SPD interface. A cool feature of the Xpedos is that the cleat has the ability to slide a few millimeters side to side while mounting them on your shoe. This makes getting them in the perfect spot Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kylechs5
5080 kylechs5 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/5080/avatar/c50_161a_XL.jpg?1342500993 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kylechs5,5080/all 10/28/10 7 5 28 1 9

Continental Rubber Queen Tire

“Great tires”

C138_62975

The Good:

Great puncture protection, aggressive thread, long lasting.

The Bad:

If you're obsessed with weight is bad for you ( 1kg in steel bead version), thin sidewalls.

Overall Review: These are one of best tires I have ever had. Thread design is very aggressive and is great for climbing lose dirt and loose rocks. In few months I haven't got a puncture. Volume is really big and I was scared will it fit at rear of my hardtail bike. If you aren't racing gravity disciplines this tire is probably too heavy for you, because my 2.2 steel bead weight over a 1kg. Overall great tire for price.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Dorianl98
27797 Dorianl98 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Dorianl98,27797/all 10/06/13 2 13 19 22 3

2013 Kona Unit Bike

“SS Rigid/Rigid”

C138_2013_kona_unit

The Good:

Geometry: HA is 70 degrees with short chainstays and Reynolds tube set .

The Bad:

grips and pedals

Overall Review: Ok I'm riding a SS bike for the fall and winter portion of this year. I chose the Unit because of its geometry and because its steel. It turns out that lot of what you hear about SS is not that far from fiction as you might think. Update 2 months later. This bike has become the stand out bike of my bikes. I grab it for more often than not when going to ride anywhere. It will never match a suspension bike in a DH trail but have been super surprised that my Strava speeds for complete rides( up and down) are really close. Little to no maintenance, wheels are still true:) cheap and you feel manly riding it...hahaha 5 months later update Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Christian Peper
1131 Christian Peper http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1131/avatar/c50_88173630_1260934116.jpg?1290152491 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Christian-Peper,1131/all 10/22/09 6 22 8 4 25 207 11

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey