Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Canfield Brothers DH Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Canfield Brothers DH Wheelset”

C138_canfield_brothers_wheels
Review by Ian Collins // Photos by Ian Collins and Fred Robinson When it comes to wheels on my downhill bike, I'd have to say I'm a bit of a creature of habit. For the last decade or so I haven't really strayed from my tried and true Hadley hub/Mavic 721 rim combo. Whether I ran them tubed or ghetto tubeless they've treated me well and as long as I don't put off the occasional hub rebuild or truing I usually get a few years out of them. I like utilitarian things. But when I got a chance to test out the new Canfield DH wheelset I was pretty excited just to try something new on my bike. At only Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ian Collins
140 Ian Collins http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/140/avatar/c50_92535430_1249143201.jpg?1290150211 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/all 08/01/09 6 154 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/setup 2 6 148 14 2

Canfield Brothers Jedi Frame

“Absolutely insane!”

C138_canfield_brothers_2014_jedi_black_black

The Good:

Bottomless suspension, lightning fast, jumps great, tight turns, sexy

The Bad:

Can't think of one..

Overall Review: I just started riding this past summer and this bike has dramatically accelerated my progress. The Jedi is such a smooth ride, the build quality and attention to detail the Canfield brothers put into this frame is incredible. Whether you're blasting through a flowy section and hitting jumps or destroying a rocky technical section, the Jedi inspires pure confidence. Nothing slows this thing down, it just wants to go faster and faster! Nothing feels better than trusting this animal, letting off the breaks and blazing past friends that have been biking for years. Props to the Brothers for this one, definitely a customer for life.

Avid HSX Heat-Shedding Rotor

Featured Review

“The Finest Rotor Avid EVER Made”

C138_br255c00

The Good:

~160mm rotor is a scant 99g
~Titanium bolts are just 7g total
~ No noise
~ Powerful bite, at lever pull
~ Alloy rotor hub carrier is a one large heat sink
~ Thick, standard 2mm steel rotor surface
~ Perforated surface effectively sheds water and heat

The Bad:

~ Not cheap, but true QUALITY never is!

Overall Review: After making hydraulic disc brakes for over a decade - Avid has finally collected all their years of research and race-inspired wisdom to produce what I call their finest rotor. The HSX is silent and stops on a dime. I realize there is lots of Avid hate out there....but this rotor simply does not warrant such product animosity. Avid took an already fine-performing rotor(HS1) and increased its descending ability threefold. The new hub carrier acts as a huge heat sink and "floating" type rotor construction(ala' motorbikes) makes the disc stop with ruthless efficiency, under all conditions. End of story....
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zachariah
26432 Zachariah http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26432/avatar/c50_mtb_murraypk_1374164148.jpg?1374163184 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/all 07/18/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/setup 1 6 5

Canfield Brothers Crampon Magnesium Pedal

“Canfield Crampon's Magnesium”

C138_canfield_brothers_crampon_magnesium

The Good:

Everything! Can't find a single thing bad...

The Bad:

Just wished I was able to give these away to my bro's as Christmas stocking stuffers..

Overall Review: incredibly Light, beefed up where needs to be, just the right amount of pedal surface area, well-thought out pin placement and choice of pins, superior bearings, ultra thin, sexy look, can take a beating, and most importantly, they work amazing! Tried all other pedals. Canfield has the midas touch, their products are top notch! You won't regret investing in a pair of these!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member theartiist
28605 theartiist /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/theartiist,28605/all 11/26/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/theartiist,28605/setup 3 1

Hutchinson Squale Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Hutchinson Squale Tire”

C138_squale_dh_tire
by Matt Thompson Hutchinson's Squale tire is offered in a couple of different configurations. A 2.3-inch which was originally co-designed by ten-time DH World Champion Nicolas Vouilloz, and a 2.5-inch version which has been subsequently modified by the Hutchinson UR Team lead by Mick Hannah (the latter is also available in 2.6-inch width). With such a storied pedigree, and sporting relatively low weight, we were excited to lay our hands on the 2.3-inch version of this tire with the intent of testing it on both the DH and XC rigs. Would it be up to the task at hand? Squale Highlights Co-designed by Nicholas Vouilloz and the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ballr
12 ballr http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12/avatar/c50_91639130_1248750604.jpg?1290149919 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/all 07/23/09 3 20 3 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/setup 2 19 99 4

Deity Decoy Flat Pedal

“Finally a product that lasts”

C138_deity_decoy_pedals

The Good:

Virtually indestructible. Grip like melted sugar Popsicle on summer day.

The Bad:

Eventually broken pins get tough to replace

Overall Review: I will never ride with clips again. I road clipped in for ten years. Once I made the switch to flats... Life changing.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Snoopshomes
22234 Snoopshomes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22234/avatar/c50_Ride_Em_Hard_Logo_1367265653.jpg?1367265195 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Snoopshomes,22234/all 02/20/13 13 4

Avid Elixir R Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

“Adequate all around brakes”

C138_88901820_1266939844

The Good:

1) reach adjust
2) modulation
3) price

The Bad:

1) contact pad adjust
2) braking power (compared to Shimanos)

Overall Review: These are decent brakes for the price... definitely a better option than the Juicys they replaced. Even through the Rs also have Taperbore, they don't quite have the stopping power as the CRs.  Modulation is good, not on/off like the Shimano XT/XTR/Saint brakes I tried in the past. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member microfiz
28586 microfiz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28586/avatar/c50_me_and_peanut_1385419876.jpg?1385419189 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/microfiz,28586/all 11/25/13 10 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/microfiz,28586/setup 1

Race Face Women's DIY Glove

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Women’s DIY Glove”

C138_race_face_piper_womens_diy_glove
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman You know the point when your riding gloves are either so worn and so dirty no washing can get them clean, some of the fingers are torn, or the palms are full of hard little pills rubbing your hands raw on long rides? Well, all my gloves have reached some combination of these stages. My “this pair isn't so bad yet, I’ll keep it as a back up” gloves don’t even work as back ups anymore. Who’s got two thumbs, eight fingers, and is ready for a new pair of gloves – me. One of the popular names out on the trails these days for components as well as clothing is Race Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 13 1

Onza IBEX Tire

“26" IBEX Onza 2.4 FR 120 tpi”

C138_onza_tires_ibex

The Good:

Lightweight, soft but durable, sticky/grippy, all-terrain

The Bad:

Nothing so far

Overall Review: Received a set of these rippers from www.gretnabikes.com and these tires from www.onzatires.com really do climb and descend the roughest terrain better then any tire I've used. Ibex is a good name for these tires because they give you traction and stability just as the wild Ibex goat needs while climbing in the European Alps. I ride a 26"all-mountain style machine and enjoy riding all styles especiallytechnical rooty/rocky sections and fast flowing single track and these rubbers have held up incredibly well. I set them up tubeless out of the box without any problem and havebeen running about 25ish pounds. Before these tires I Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down

Avid Elixir R Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

“Good for budget brakes.”

C138_88901820_1266939844

The Good:

These oddly came stock on my sram build 951 in 2010. I used them for a year then upgraded to formula "the one" brakes on the DH bike and bolted these up to my old Enduro. The stock pad life is ok. The weight isn't bad. The power is not great but much improved with ebc DH race pads installed. I spent a few years riding these on the trail bike and have to say they are maybe the best avid brakes but take that for what it is.

The Bad:

These brakes will get hot and fade or pump on long steep descents. The key is to bled them often and use high quality brake fluid with a high boiling point. I would hate these brakes if I didn't own a bled kit. I think most of the avid hate comes from people who don't bled their own brakes. Also you need to learn how to true rotors because they don't retract a lot.

Overall Review: These are not bad brakes. They get the job done. There are far better brakes for DH (formula & shimano = less fade, more power) and there are far better options for all mountain (xtr, xt, slx). If you don't have $300 a set of shimano brakes don't worry, just buy a bled kit, some high quality brake fluid, and some softer pads. These can feel quite good if you do the work and keep it up.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member GotShovel
26774 GotShovel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26774/avatar/c50_image_1392622255.jpg?1392621495 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/GotShovel,26774/all 08/07/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/GotShovel,26774/setup 1 45 1