Latest Product Reviews

RSS

SRAM X01 DH X-Horizon Rear Derailleur

Vital Review

“Tested: SRAM X01 DH Drivetrain”

C138_sram_x01_dh_10_speed_x_horizon_rear_derailleur
Review by Ian Collins // Action Shots by Fred Robinson Ever since downhill grew into its own discipline within mountain biking, riders have been tinkering and experimenting with their drivetrains, trying to optimize them for the demands associated with pointing bikes towards the bottom of the hill and all that comes along with it. This is in part due to the fact that manufacturers have neglected to build a specific group for the demands of DH. Until now. SRAM recently released X01DH - a fully dedicated gravity drivetrain. Some parts are ground breaking, but in all fairness, some have been around and may seem Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ian Collins
140 Ian Collins http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/140/avatar/c50_92535430_1249143201.jpg?1290150211 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/all 08/01/09 6 154 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/setup 2 6 148 14 2

Giro Cipher Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Giro Cipher Helmet”

C138_giro_cipher_helmet_matte_titanium_flame
by Justin Schroth Giro has long been in the head-protection game in various action sports, producing some of the best technology and features available for riders today. With the Giro Remedy being a crowd favorite for many years, Giro now looks to further step up their game with the new Cipher, aimed at the DH and Enduro crowd in need of a lightweight and well-vented lid at a price point that won’t break the bank. Giro Cipher Highlights Integrated P.O.V. camera mount Tool-free, bolt-on visor Channeled ventilation at browline Emergency removable pads X-Static anti-microbial padding D-Ring buckle system TuneUps audio Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 234 25 1

2014 Niner RIP 9

“Review of RIP 9 after upgrading from RM Slayer”

C138_rip9_ninergreen_bike

The Good:

Every damn bit of it

The Bad:

No dropper post, not even a quick release post

Overall Review: Thought I'd add my review to give people some additional feedback. First off, I've been riding a Rocky MountainSlayer for the past five years. While the Slayer is a great bike, I've grown tired of slogging 34 lbs uphill. The Slayer has treated me well otherwise. Once at the top, it always rules the downhill. It handled three days at Whistler just fine (with a downhill wheelset). But, for everyday riding, it's just a mental killer on the climbs. I'm a bike shop employee, so I had access to Niner, Pivot, and Norco. I poured over reviews, rode a few bikes, talked to a bunch of people, and ultimately decided on the RIP 9. My size Read More »

2014 Trek Remedy 8 27.5/650b

Featured Member Review

“Great ride for the money”

C138_1186600_2014_a_1_remedy_8_27_5_650b

The Good:

Solid components for the price, great balance of performance and cost. I haven't changed a thing from stock and it performs well on steep climbs, rocky trails, tight corners, and fast descents. A great do-it-all bike!

The Bad:

Tires are a bit thin on tread for rocky areas and loose-over-hard conditions. They are just "OK', but I would have liked to see the XR4's fitted on a bike like this. To really nitpick, I'd say that Trek/Fox needs to lower the recommended shock pressures. They're too high for anything but smoother trails.

Overall Review: For reference my last two bikes were a 2012 Blur LTc and Trek Fuel EX9. Both great bikes, but the Blur was the clear favorite. The trails I normally ride (Upper Bidwell Park in Chico, CA) are rocky, technical, and rarely maintained. It's a lot like Downieville, minus the smooth flow of some of the more loamy forest trails. So keep that in mind with this review, as it seems to differ quite a bit from most mountain bike trails in other places I've ridden. Component spec:Overall, the component selection on the Remedy 8 is excellent, especially considering the price tag of around $3,000. A mix of SLX/XT components, tubeless Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member THB
22022 THB http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22022/avatar/c50_Remedy_creek_1412716465.jpg?1412716089 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/THB,22022/all 02/12/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/THB,22022/setup 3 2

2015 Niner JET 9 RDO Limited Edition

Vital Review

“Tested: 2015 Niner Jet 9 RDO”

C138_jet_9_rdo_limited_edition_xx1_rs1
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas At the end of March, I was offered the opportunity to race the BC Bike Race. This 7 day XC stage race is advertised as the ‘ultimate single track experience’. Being that my little bike falls on the burly end of the spectrum I wanted to get my hands on a capable, durable XC whippet to train and race on. The ideal marathon XC bike has to be light and efficient enough to allow a rider to conserve energy as much as possible, but it also needs to be confidence inspiring for whatever one might come across while on the trail. Enter the Niner Jet 9 RDO Limited Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 92 4 27 20

RockShox Boxxer RC Fork

“Simple and great”

C138_fk268a46

The Good:

Price, easy set up, reliability, weight, easy to do your own service

The Bad:

You can lose rebound knob.

Overall Review: Awesome fork for good money (if you look at other fork prices...) and easy settings. It will ride great if you do at least 1 oil changing per season (depends on how much you ride, of course). It has two very basic settings - compression and rebound and you honestly don't need anything else except racing on WC level and even there, some guys race RC forks. You can lose rebound knob if you hit some rocks or fall.. Just setup the fork and remove the knob, you don't need it there all the time once the fork is set-up.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member matkom6
24059 matkom6 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/matkom6,24059/all 05/02/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/matkom6,24059/setup 4 2

2014 Scott Gambler 30 Bike

Featured Member Review

“Awesome bike, good price”

C138_scott_gambler_30_bike

The Good:

This bike is great. It has exactly the same geometry as 10 or 20 Gambler model but with lower priced components and of course for a better price. Great handling, fast and HOT looking! This frame will go through two seasons of racing easily. Once you change few components on the bike you have nothing to worry about. Otherwise, everything is good, wheels are strong, stock 'syncross' components are looking great and very strong. Pedaling is surprisingly good.

The Bad:

The Gambler 30 has some components that have to be changed from the beginning in my opinion. Brakes are critical for every downhill rider and those Elixir 1 are not helping. Also, the chainguide is very weak and you WILL break it. And maybe the next bad point could be the weight of the bike, which is around 39.6 lbs (18.0 KG). I don't mind that, it still handles great and it's better that it is a bit heavier but strong and confident at any track.

Overall Review: I've had this bike for this season now. Few of my friends have last year model and are still running this year. It is a great bike, i would recommend it to anyone - racer or bike park shredder. The rear of the bike is soft from the beginning but it really feels like you have endless rear travel. Everything is so dialed on this bike, Scott did a great job with the new geometry. If it's stock chainguide and brakes would be better, this would be 5 stars. I give it 4.5 just because of that. After having few downhill bikes from different brands.. I have finally found what I need.. A fast bike that will hold me for more than one season with no problem or special maintenance.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member matkom6
24059 matkom6 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/matkom6,24059/all 05/02/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/matkom6,24059/setup 4 2

2015 Giant Reign Advanced 27.5 0 Team

Vital Review

“First Look, First Ride: 2015 Giant Reign 27.5”

C138_reign_advanced_27.5_0_team_comp_cyan
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Sterling Lorence After over two years of development, testing, and fine tuning, the Giant Reign 27.5 is finally here. While Giant may have begun their 27.5 quest with a prototype Reign, it’s the last to hit the market. Why did it take so long? Giant says they were busy trying to make the best bike possible, and that took time. The bike is redesigned from the ground up for 27.5-inch wheels. It’s longer, lower, and slacker than ever before, making the 6.3-inch (160mm) travel bike even more capable. For 2015, Giant will offer the Reign with Advanced Composite (carbon) and Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1116 96 6155 946 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1298 2326 170 41

Specialized Atlas XC Pro Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Specialized Atlas XC Pro Short”

C138_specialized_atlas_xc_pro_short_neon_blue
Review by AJ Barlas // Photos by Jon Anthony We recently tested the Specialized Atlas XC Pro jersey and some keen eyes will have noticed that there was a matching short in the images from the article. That matching short was the Atlas Pro XC short and like the jersey, it's not your usual XC labeled bit of riding apparel. In fact, the short is closer to what others may label a trail short. Much like the jersey, the short has been designed to be worn all day, keeping out of the way and remaining comfortable on the trail, without being a skin tight piece of lycra. As an added bonus (for those interested), it also Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2014 Commencal Meta Hip Hop 1

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Commencal Meta Hip Hop 1”

C138_14metahh1_1
Reviewed by Evan Turpen, John Hauer and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Lear Miller A new bike with 26-inch wheels?! In 2014? Gasp. Clearly Commencal isn’t afraid to have some fun. The Meta Hip Hop is made for those looking to jump, rally bermed turns, drag bar (or at least attempt to), and just have a good time. They say it has “the responsiveness and performance of a trail bike combined with the aggressiveness, ease of jumping, and downhill abilities of an enduro bike.” By combining 120mm of rear travel with a 140mm fork and a slack 66-degree headtube angle, it’s certainly an interesting ride. Curious to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1116 96 6155 946 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1298 2326 170 41