Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2014 Specialized Enduro Expert EVO Bike

Vital Review

“Tested: 2014 Specialized Enduro Expert EVO - Up For It”

C138_bike_specialized_enduro_expert_evo
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Specialized has been making a bike named “Enduro” since well before the term got adopted by the internet as the next big thing. Throughout the years, each generation of the Enduro brought something new to the table, but the core concept always remained the same: these were bikes designed both for pedaling efficiency and for having fun. Proper fun, that is. For 2014, there are several different versions of the Enduro to choose from featuring aluminum or carbon frames available with 26- or 29-inch wheels. At the rowdiest end of the scale we find the new Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 66 723 1747 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 47 289 3471 81 27

2014 Giant Trance Advanced SX 27.5

“Trail Slayer”

C138_trance_advanced_sx_27.5_rt

The Good:

FAST! Great pedaling, excellent cornering, good componants.

The Bad:

Seat dropper needs more travel, the seat is not very comfortable.

Overall Review: This is the bike I have been waiting for. So fast and it corners extremely well even in the tight trails I ride on. I keep it in the 140mill position unless it gets rowdy. Not quite as easy to manual or hop as a 26" bike. Probably easily fixed with a shorter stem. Giant has really hit the Enduro jackpot with this bike. I am  faster on every trail with much less effort. 27.5 fits this category very well.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member pete.jelinek
24803 pete.jelinek http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24803/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1577171508_1369938147.jpg?1369938041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/pete-jelinek,24803/all 05/30/13 2

Dirty Jane 3/4 Sleeve by Royal Racing Jersey

“Perfect fit!”

C138_4_sleeve_jersey_by_royal_racing

The Good:

three quarters sleeve. not bulky. room to layer. Light and ventilated well. Great design.

The Bad:

can it come in pink?

Overall Review: This women's specific Jersey is in my top favorites. The shape and design fits various body types in a very flattering way while offering amazing comfort! The design around the arms is perfect for a great range of motion, I never feel restricted in any area.This piece of riding gear has proven over and over again to be very durable through extensive use and washing. The three quarters sleeve are nice in the summer for keeping cool along with the good ventilation and since I have two sizes I use the larger one in the winter so I am able to layer underneath. The design and appearance is so easy to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbfemme
28717 mtbfemme http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28717/avatar/c50_IMG_1969_1386276423.jpg?1386275766 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbfemme,28717/all 12/05/13 1 34 3

Dirty Jane 3/4 Sleeve by Royal Racing Jersey

“Dirty Girls Love Dirty Jane! Get your chica some for Christmas!”

C138_4_sleeve_jersey_by_royal_racing

The Good:

I absolutely love the 3/4 sleeve of this jersey, keeps the trail weeds and branches off the arms, also added protection from the suns rays. I have a love/hate relationship with the color. Love it because it's cool in summer. Cute detailing down the side.

The Bad:

The only downside I see is the color. My jersey was white about ten minutes. It cleans up nicely with some Dawn dish detergent though.

Overall Review: I wrote a more in depth full review on my blog. There is a bonus review of another T-shirt made by Dirty Jane .com.  Get shopping! Review is here.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Sasha
28718 Sasha http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28718/avatar/c50_IMG_4236_1_1386271944.jpg?1386271603 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Sasha,28718/all 12/05/13 1

Shredly BLACK HOLE Riding Jersey

Featured Review

“great fit and design”

C138_black_hole_front

The Good:

not bulky or loose. Fitted and designed to look great on a variety of body types. material ventilated, repels sweat and dry's out fast. Durable and can be machine washed and machine dried while still looking great.

The Bad:

no pockets

Overall Review: For the price this is a great find. I use this jersey a lot in the summer time when I really do not want to wear anything to bulky. The Shredly jersey offers a lightweight and comfortable fit. This is especially nice when i am on a long ride with a camelback. It dries out fast after you have been dripping sweat for hours. I love the way it is designed, its as close as I can get to throwing on a t-shirt and riding. The material of the jersey keeps the black color looking as it did right out of the box for months. I have washed it and dried it many times and it still looks pretty new. The material does not hang onto Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbfemme
28717 mtbfemme http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28717/avatar/c50_IMG_1969_1386276423.jpg?1386275766 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbfemme,28717/all 12/05/13 1 34 3

Geigerrig Rig 1200 Hydration Pack - 100 Fl. Oz.

“Best Hydration pack made!!!!”

C138_03b8d41e_711f_4ba2_83f6_dfdac3e81b8f

The Good:

The good is this, its pressurized so when needed it can act more like a hose then a regular hydration pack. I can use it to give my dog water, spray the blood off my leg from peddle slap, and about 60 other things. The other thing that makes this bag awesome is the fact I can wash it without even thinking.. I just put it in the dishwasher!!! Thats a big deal seeing as I like to use carbohydrate powder in my bag when I ride. It stays clean and works well... I have owned a LOT of other bags as well and the fact is they all wear out. Me being a biker occasionally I use my backpack is a landing pad for when I fall. This bag has withstood the test of time. It's possible I never own a different bag again!!!

The Bad:

Im sure there are things that could be down to make a bag a little more bike specific, but honestly I have nothing to complain about!!! It just works...

Overall Review: It's a perfect bag!!!! Buy it, you will love it.

POC Trabec Open Face Helmet

“Maximum protection with comfort and style?! SOLD”

C138_trabec_kryptonblue_1508

The Good:

Easily adjustable. Maximum protection without feeling bulky. Extremely durable and stays looking clean even after some Gnar and carnage!

The Bad:

uh is there a multi colored one yet?

Overall Review: POC started showing up last season on my friends heads and I loved how they looked! I knew I wanted something different then whats been on the market year after year, not only did they all start to look the same, but after having a good crash in my previous helmet and experiencing the lack of protection it had for me I was in search of a new piece of open face head gear. I had picked up a Trabec and after just one ride I was sold. I have a few different colors in this specific style because, I have found no other open face helmet that has great coverage and still feels light. You name it and I will be wearing my Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member mtbfemme
28717 mtbfemme http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28717/avatar/c50_IMG_1969_1386276423.jpg?1386275766 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mtbfemme,28717/all 12/05/13 1 34 3

Urge 2014 Veggie Archi-Enduro Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Urge Veggie Archi-Enduro Helmet”

C138_archi_veggie_3qtr_vital
by Noah Sears The Urge Archi-Enduro bridges the gap between traditional full-face DH helmets and all-mountain half-lids, call it the "tweener" helmet if you like. As the name implies, it's designed for Enduro racing where full face helmets are often compulsory. The granola-friendly Veggie model reviewed here features a 100% natural linen fiber in place of the fiber glass more commonly used in this and other helmets. On my scale, the size small weighs in at 820g. The Veggie model tested here will set you back $224.95, a $35 premium over the standard (fiberglass) model. Urge Veggie Archi-Enduro Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NoahColorado
128 NoahColorado http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/128/avatar/c50_88160290_1258334763.jpg?1290150194 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/all 08/01/09 1 3 364 29 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NoahColorado,128/setup 4 92 400 6

Canfield Brothers DH Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Canfield Brothers DH Wheelset”

C138_canfield_brothers_wheelset_details_1
Review by Ian Collins // Photos by Ian Collins and Fred Robinson When it comes to wheels on my downhill bike, I'd have to say I'm a bit of a creature of habit. For the last decade or so I haven't really strayed from my tried and true Hadley hub/Mavic 721 rim combo. Whether I ran them tubed or ghetto tubeless they've treated me well and as long as I don't put off the occasional hub rebuild or truing I usually get a few years out of them. I like utilitarian things. But when I got a chance to test out the new Canfield DH wheelset I was pretty excited just to try something new on my bike. At only Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ian Collins
140 Ian Collins http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/140/avatar/c50_92535430_1249143201.jpg?1290150211 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/all 08/01/09 6 154 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ian-Collins,140/setup 2 6 148 14 2

Canfield Brothers 2015 Jedi Frame

“Absolutely insane!”

C138_canfield_brothers_2014_jedi_black_black

The Good:

Bottomless suspension, lightning fast, jumps great, tight turns, sexy

The Bad:

Can't think of one..

Overall Review: I just started riding this past summer and this bike has dramatically accelerated my progress. The Jedi is such a smooth ride, the build quality and attention to detail the Canfield brothers put into this frame is incredible. Whether you're blasting through a flowy section and hitting jumps or destroying a rocky technical section, the Jedi inspires pure confidence. Nothing slows this thing down, it just wants to go faster and faster! Nothing feels better than trusting this animal, letting off the breaks and blazing past friends that have been biking for years. Props to the Brothers for this one, definitely a customer for life.