Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Race Face Ambush Knee Pad

“Great knee pads”

C138_ambush_product_shot

The Good:

removable without taking shoes off, flexible d30 material makes pedaling better

The Bad:

none found so far

Overall Review: So this is more of a comparison review from the knee pads I've been running for 3 years now (661 Strait knee pads).While I haven't tried every brand out there, the change to the RaceFace Ambushhas been pretty noticeable and I thought I mention how they've been for me. The aforementioned knee pads that I had prior were ok, nothing amazing but these feel like the real deal. They don't get as hot or sweaty, they stay up on my legs and don't fall down as much, they are easier to pedal in, and they can be slapped on (or off) after you are all suited up without having to take off your shoes. This last feature means that Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 15 85 48

Troy Lee Designs 2013 Ruckus Short

“Lightweight mtb shorts”

C138_ruckus_short_black

The Good:

Fits great and looks good

The Bad:

zipper pocket is pretty small and hard to get your hand in

Overall Review: These shorts look good, fit nicely, and have adjustable features like waist Velcro straps and a hem which can be shortened if you want (I left it as is). I wear my own padded shorts underneath so this review is only looking at the shorts, not the liner that comes included. The shorts that I've used that I don'twear much anymore are either too heavy (meaning thick fabric which gets hot in the summer), orare overloaded with features. I carry a small pack and so having cargo pockets for hauling gear is not needed.Thinner fabric and lackof bulky fabric helps a lot on the hot summer days around here.Again, this is Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 15 85 48

Shimano Deore M590 Crankset With BB

Featured Member Review

“Long-term Deore crankset review”

C138_cr266j00

The Good:

great value! Cranks are light and durable for the price.

The Bad:

The BB will only last a month or 2 if you ride in wet conditions. The crank graphics wear off quickly

Overall Review: 'Brilliant Cranks for an incredible price! but let down by flimsy BB' This crankset proves that, in a time when bikes from all disciplines and price brackets are coming with all sorts of crazy gearing setups, you can still get a reliable triple crankset for 60! I've run these cranks for an entire season of XC and enduro racing in the UK as well as some light dirt-jumping,and street riding. They're not currently the most fashionable/popular configuration in the world of 'enduro' but have dealt with rock strikes racing on the Olympic XC course and numerous crashes on my local trails and jumps admirably and are Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member walkinwiki
21983 walkinwiki http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/21983/avatar/c50_mugshot_1368127989.jpg?1368127813 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/walkinwiki,21983/all 02/11/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/walkinwiki,21983/setup 1 17 1

Troy Lee Designs XC Gloves

“Good Gloves, Famous Brand, Reasonable Price...”

C138_tld_xc_glove_starburst_black_gray_palm

The Good:

Cool designs, fit in my hands, reasonable price..

The Bad:

I feel something 'disturbing' on the part between thumbs and index fingers. Needs more little time to make it really installed properly in my hands.

Overall Review: Like anything, the gloves attracts me with the designs and finally I chose the white one. I use this gloves for XC mountain biking, and for motorcycle, and this gloves is done well. The only problem is like I said above: I need more little time to make sure that this gloves is installed properly in my hands, because I feel something disturbing.But overall, I like this gloves. I feel my hands cool and this is good point. My friend asks me where to buy this gloves. I said JensonUSA, hahaha.. Thanks..this is good gloves, famous brand, with reasonable price..
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 11 35 107 10

Royal 2015 Stage Jacket

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Stage Jacket”

C138_stage_jacket_red_f
Review by A.J. Barlas // Photography Jon Anthony & A.J. Barlas A riding jacket that works well is a tricky piece of gear to find - both for the consumer looking for the ideal jacket, and the designer developing it. Depending on where you do most of your riding, water repellence, warmth and breath-ability become prerequisites of varying importance, and striking the perfect balance between these attributes is key. In Squamish, we generally need all of the above for a jacket to work well. Our 'off-season' involves plenty of wet, cold rides, with the body working hard enough to really generate some heat. The Royal Stage Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2014 Kona Operator Bike

“A solid sled”

C138_operator

The Good:

Great frame and suspension, bike soaks up the terrain with ease.

The Bad:

No direct mount stem, would prefer Minion DHF tires and Zee brakes, USD shock annoying to adjust, wheels are super heavy.

Overall Review: I demoed this bike, I was pretty impressed with the frame, great geometry and graphics, Kona have come a long way even in the last 2-3 years. Other components slightly less impressed, upside down shock was annoying to adjust as as I couldn't see the compression knob properly. The normal stem looked like an ugly cheap option, when there should really be a direct mount stem. I also hate the High Roller 2 tires, seem just far too heavy and squirm around too much. I can't complain about the Code brakes, they work well, but I think they could have matched the Zee cranks with Zee brakes as surely the reliability and maintenance would Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Sun Ringle DJsingle Wheels

Vital Review

“Tested: Sun Ringle DJsingle Wheels”

C138_dj_single_624x624
Review by Cory Tepper // Photos by Emily Peterson and Cory Tepper At a time in the industry where companies are literally trying to re-invent the wheel, I was pleasantly surprised to pull Sun Ringle‚Äôs DJsingle wheels out of the box. Intended for the dirt jump/park/street riding crowd, they feature tried and true 3x lacing on high flange hubs with 32 good ole regular j-bend double-butted spokes. As a mechanic this is how I prefer all my wheels - no proprietary funny business, crazy lacing patterns or attempts at weight savings that sacrifice durability, like alloy nipples. The fact that these wheels are blacked out with Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member corytepper.com
831 corytepper.com http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/831/avatar/c50_IMG_7713_1422424869.jpg?1422423882 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/corytepper-com,831/all 09/11/09 1 2 416 25 2 26 4

2014 Trek Fuel EX 9 29 Bike

“Trek Fuel EX 9 Review ... Swing and a miss”

C138_2014_trek_fuel_ex_9_29_bike

The Good:

Great build, and very good frame weight as well. If I were to build a bike from frame up, this bike is how I would do it.

The Bad:

The head angle on this trek was a little too steep for my liking

Overall Review: Riding the Trek Fuel EX9 29er The part spec on this thing was amazing, full XT all around, Fox Float front and rear, and at a price just over $4,000, that's a great value. This bike was the first 29er I've ever ridden, and I was immediately surprised on how quickly I became comfortable on it. Riding this bike on smooth single track was a breeze and tons of fun, carrying tons and tons of speed, and cornering quick well. It was quite amazing on how fast this thing could go! Climbing this bike was also great, the bike's monster truck tires allowed me to easily pedals over small loose rocks and larger sized boulders. The overall Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Rconroy
2805 Rconroy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2805/avatar/c50_Yeti_Big_1403290056.jpg?1403290025 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Rconroy,2805/all 05/13/10 1 5 20 9

2014 Kona Process 134 Bike

“Kona Process 134 - Its cheap but still pretty good”

C138_process_134

The Good:

Overall the bike has awesome features. It boasts great geometry, solid drivetrain and brake selections, Kona has always done an awesome job with picking wide handlebar and short stem combos (and this process has no exception), and last but not least is the addition of a KS Lev Dropper post, which on a build this inexpensive is pretty awesome!

The Bad:

Front Suspension - Man I have got to say that the Rock Shox Sektor fork on this thing was terrible, I felt as if it dove every time I would push the bike into the corners. Trying to compensate for this, I increased the preload air pressure in the fork, without much success.

Overall Review: Riding the Kona 134 This season I have demo-ed quite of few bikes, and this bike was by far the cheapest, and quite possibly the heaviest as well, which made me think that I wasn't really going to like this ride. While that may have been the case, once on the trail I was pleasantly surprised. Climbing on this bike was quite good, and just as efficient as most other bikes on the market. Additionally, that extra weight seemed to go away once moving along. I did notice a bit of pedal feedback pedaling through larger sized rocks, but it wasn't that big of a deal, and many other bikes I've tried out this season have had similar Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Rconroy
2805 Rconroy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2805/avatar/c50_Yeti_Big_1403290056.jpg?1403290025 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Rconroy,2805/all 05/13/10 1 5 20 9

2014 Trek Slash 9 27.5

Vital Review

“2014 Test Sessions: Trek Slash 9 27.5”

C138_trek_slash_9
Reviewed by Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer, Lear Miller and Brandon Turman Originally introduced as a replacement to the Trek Scratch Air in 2012, the Slash was born from the desire for a ride that descended like a downhill bike but pedaled up like the well-regarded Remedy. It boasted 160mm of travel, slack geometry, and the ability to plough through pretty much anything. Fast forward to 2014 and the bike has been redesigned from the ground up around the 27.5-inch wheel size. As we soon found out during our 2014 Test Sessions, Trek had much more in mind with their redesign than just the wheels. The new Slash is Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2220 147 41