Latest Product Reviews

RSS

FOX 32 831 100 RLC Fit Fork

Featured Review

“Fox 32 831”

C138_fk260a17

The Good:

The Fox 831 gives first impressions much like that of an expensive car or a work of art. Every contour, every inch of the fork just screams "look at me I'm better than you." It is truly an engineering masterpiece and Fox shows no intention of hiding that. Although many products are capable of looking nice to hide performance flaws, this is not at all the case with the 831. The 831 features a light yet stiff chassis, providing it with a steady base without the extra grams. A 15mm thru axle anchors it to the wheels, and although this seems to be a bit lacking for a dj fork, it actually provides an incredible amount of stiffness. The axle is quick and easy to use and requires little or no attention in terms of mechanics. The 831 also has Fox's CTD damper allowing for three settings of suspension tunability. Although this seems not to make sense for a dj fork, it actually provides a great variation of setups for different scenarios a dirt jumper might encounter, weather it is natural lines in the woods, slopestyle contests, pumptracks, skateparks, or a stair set. It is easily tunable for the riders liking and provides what is without a doubt the most responsive suspension I have tried to date. On top of that the 831 weighs in at almost a pound lighter than a Rock Shox Argyle RCT, which saves the weight to make the bike much more movable and controllable.

The Bad:

The price tag is a bit high for a dirt jump budget, and even then some will argue that the performance difference isnt there to be worth the extra money. Furthermore there are some apparent problems. Fox, likely to save weight and increase profit margin, equipped it with a CTD damper, and although I am a fan of this feature, many riders would rather it feature one of Fox's dampers more geared towards freeride, giving it more internal strength. This comes from many riders sharing experiences of blowouts with the fork. Fox recently moved to a 34mm body for the fork, and that change was for a reason. The fork likes to develop a bit of movement between the crown and the top of the stanchions. This creates a creaking sound that for any rider can be a bit troubling. The fork also is known to require more service than DJ forks from other brands.

Overall Review: Overall the 831 is for a rider who doesn't want to compromise. If you have any connections to shops, or dealers, or you yourself can service it, I would certainly recommend this fork. I still know several people who ride very hard and have not had theirs serviced and are yet to have any problems with it. Personally I think this fork is on a level of its own, and although it has its drawbacks, it is the best fork for a rider searching for the absolute best possible setup.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Shimano XT Disc Brake M785

“certainly worth the money”

C138_67208

The Good:

Great stopping power, great price, look good--seem to last forever. Easiest brake bleed on the planet.

The Bad:

can damage very easy in a crash

Overall Review: Every time I think I am going to try out a different type of brake I always end up coming back to these. They never squeak and bark down the trail, stopping is smooth, and they look classy. I do believe the greatest shimano feature is how easy these suckers are to bleed. As of now, I think one of the top brakes on the market.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Snoopshomes
22234 Snoopshomes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22234/avatar/c50_Ride_Em_Hard_Logo_1367265653.jpg?1367265195 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Snoopshomes,22234/all 02/20/13 13 4

Shimano XT Disc Brake M785

“Performance at an unarguable price”

C138_67208

The Good:

The XT brakes are some of the best out there for any discipline. They are very light and pack the stopping power of any DH specific brake. The lever is short and pulls without any unnecessary movement. The power is consistent and the brake can be dialed in to the riders liking.

The Bad:

Although the adjustments are present, a wider selection of setup options would be nice, the adjustments available seem rather small.

Overall Review: Overall these are a very good representation of "bang for your buck" they are absolutely phenomenal brakes and will be consistent stoppers for all mountain, XC, or slopestyle riders alike.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

Loaded Precision AmXc Pistol Grip

Vital Review

“Tested: Loaded AmXc Pistol Grip - Locked and Loaded”

C138_black
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow A grip may seem like a simple component, but get this one just a bit wrong and it can seriously mess with your ride. The grip needs to be comfortable, grippy, and not slip on the bars. Furthermore, it needs to be adapted to each riders hand size and preference with regards to grip thickness. Finally, it’s an obvious place to add a touch of bling to your bike, so a good looking grip is never a bad thing either. With these points in mind, we set out to see how Loaded Precision’s latest offering handles. Loaded AmXc Pistol Grip Highlights Grip Length: 130mm Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 778 54 714 1744 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 38 266 3264 78 24

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

“Awesome Product not XX1 Priced!”

C138_wide_black

The Good:

Not an expensive option to running a single ring, dont have to buy a whole xx1 or xx0 set up to run a single ring without a chain guide!

The Bad:

Need to make sure that the chain is tensioned properly otherwise losing a chain will occur

Overall Review: I was very impressed with my Raceface narrow wide chainring. I purchased a 32 with hopes to upgrade to a 34 once i started pedalling a bit more.  Stupidly I didn't re tension the chain after switching from a 2x setup,  I used a roller to keep the chain more tensioned and it held up well, I lost a chain twice without it properly tensioned.   Once realizing that I needed to take a few links out of the chain, I was never able to lose a chain.  Considering if you want to run a true 1x setup with no chainring you need to buy a sram xx1 or xx0 setup I was much happier paying the 40 bucks to get this, rather then the grand+ to get the sram setup!
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member coralcorn
31 coralcorn http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/31/avatar/c50_Facebook_20140217_015134_1392674140.jpg?1392673924 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/coralcorn,31/all 07/31/09 8 115 1 17 10 1

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

“Works well with proper chain tension”

C138_wide_black

The Good:

- works
- light
- looks awesome
- way cheaper than a chainguide

The Bad:

you'll lose chains if your tension is too low

Overall Review: I installed a blue 34t narrow-wide on a relatively worn 9-speed SRAM drivetrain with an old X9 derailleur on my GT Distortion (short travel trail/jump/all around fun bike) and immediately went downhilling. The first day I dropped the chain three times in the same rock garden, and once or twice in other technical spots. I was mildly disappointed, but then realized that I was running my chain too long by a good few links. Removed the links and I've since dropped the chain four or five times total (15+ rides, including downhilling at the same and gnarlier spots), and every time I sort of saw it coming because I was Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member s.sheline
6865 s.sheline /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/s-sheline,6865/all 02/20/11 5 110 1

Shimano XT Disc Brake M785

“Perfect middle”

C138_67208

The Good:

Great braking power, fantastic look, minimal noise, impossible to overheat, reach adjust can be adjusted without tool.

The Bad:

Price of ice tech rotors and vented pads is very high.

Overall Review: When I first time looked at this brake I taught: ''There's no difference between this and SLX brakes.'' And that isn't far from truth. Only difference is in final look and in addition of so called ''Free stroke'' mechanism. Some people think this is completely useless, but I was able to see, just like my friends that it has some difference. Main reason I had this brake? Whole bike had XT group so I thought if whole bike is XT group, I will go for it. Is it worth additional money for difference in 20 grams per brake? It's all up to you. I would personally go for it because one group above SLX can mean Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Dorianl98
27797 Dorianl98 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Dorianl98,27797/all 10/06/13 2 13 19 22 3

Crank Brothers Power Pump Pro

“compact but not practical”

C138_7458

The Good:

Compact, light, easy to use gauge

The Bad:

Not much air volume. Takes forever to pump high volume mountain bike tires.

Overall Review: Although compact and beautifully made, the Power Pump Pro is more fashion than function. The lack of air volume requires a lot of effort to pump up high volume mountain bike tires.   Look elsewhere if you are flat prone.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 12 24

Crank Brothers Multi 17 Tool

“long lasting, well designed multi tool”

C138_tl265j04

The Good:

durable, versatile, compact

The Bad:

heavy, prone to rust

Overall Review: The multi tool 17 is a durable, versatile and well designed multitool. Equipped with a chain tool and spoke wrench, this crank brothers tool is ready for all day epics or local trail rides.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 12 24

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

“The days of hanging junk off your crank are over!”

C138_wide_black

The Good:

Nicely machined, great color and size choices, even works with 9 speed. A stupidly cost effective way to lighten your ride.

The Bad:

You might still need a lightweight guide for piece of mind if riding downhill and free-ride. Marginally noisier than a regular chain ring.

Overall Review: I have a full suspension 150mm travel trail/AM bike running 9 speed with a SRAM X7 short cage derailleur. Been running the Raceface Narrow/wide for a few thousand miles on without issue, no chain drops at all. I was worried that I would need a clutch type derailleur, luckily with a short cage regular derailleur this has been fine, but my X7 does have quite a strong spring. I think the chain ring has slightly more rub than my nicely machined Renthal regular ring, but dumping a 250 gram guide has actually made the whole bike a bit lighter and easier to pedal.
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey