Latest Product Reviews

RSS

DT Swiss FX 1950 Tricon 26" Wheelset

“Solid wheelset that looks great”

C138_pho_fx_1950_tricon_black_ta_12_150_rw_rgb

The Good:

strong,stiff and looks amazing

The Bad:

Cost, unique lacing design could lead to issue in the future

Overall Review: This particular wheel set was never on my wishlist simply because of the steep price tag associated with them but luckily I was given a sweet deal so I thought I would give them a try. You could argue that there are a lot of other options and at even cheaper prices for high end wheels but these ones truly are pretty unique. Right out of the box you can see that the wheels are a strong quality build while at the same time being super light, plus they look simply amazing. The black/green color design along with the white spokes makes for an amazing looking wheel set, they definitely have a one of a kind Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down

GoPro HERO3 Silver Edition Camera

Featured Review

“Awesome action camera”

C138_03_h3_silver_camera_inhousing_glam

The Good:

Easy to use, super durable, allows to customize capture settings

The Bad:

none so far

Overall Review: I purchased the GoPro Hero 3 Silver edition shortly after my Contour camera stopped working. After a couple of months of use I can say that I prefer the GoPro quite a bit more. The picture quality seems to be significantly better than that of the Contour and the GoPro also boosts a lot of smart options on how to capture your biking shots. The camera allows the user to configure the video capture resolution along with the frame rates, plus has the ability to take 11 megapixel photos. The photo options also allow for burst mode as well as a time lapse mode allowing you to snap photos every couple of seconds (you can Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_Picture_013.jpg?1344737261 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 17 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 63 49 1

Cane Creek Double Barrel Rear Shock

“Amazing shock that sticks to the trail”

C138_db_coil_vertical_lo_res

The Good:

Highly adjustable, smooth, easy to tune/setup with the help of canecreek.com

The Bad:

One of the more expensive shocks

Overall Review: I won’t go into too much technical detail but this shock is buttery smooth and allows for limitless adjustability. I initially was a bit scared about the complexity of this shock but the base tune/fit guide on canecreek.com made setting up the shock a breeze. I does take some time and requires a couple of rides to get that perfect tune but once that is found then you are left with a very impressive shock. No matter how much abuse, brake bumps, flat landings you throw at this thing it just eat everything up. My Double Barrel is currently on a 2013 Specialized and it works perfectly together. Before owning this Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_Picture_013.jpg?1344737261 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 17 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 63 49 1

Specialized Demo 8 Frame

“Fast and Fun DH Frame that Just Goes”

C138_specialized_demo_8_frame

The Good:

Stiff, fast frame that just loves to go

The Bad:

Press fit bottom bracket

Overall Review: I am really impressed with the quality of this frame, the first thing I noticed when I sat on the Demo was how stiff it was and how well it keeps its momentum, even in the parking lot as soon as you put the cranks down it just speeds up and wants to keep on going. The welds are beautiful and comparable to some of the high-end boutique bikes. Access to the shock is very good, so when on the trail adjustments are required it results in a very fast and easy process. When you need to remove or insert the shock back into the frame it is a very easy procedure as well. I am riding a small and find the frame perfect for me ( I Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_Picture_013.jpg?1344737261 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 17 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 63 49 1

ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grip

“Comfortable and grippy”

C138_gr272a00

The Good:

Grippy and comfortable

The Bad:

Tad expensive

Overall Review: After a season of riding fairly thin grips I decided to switch over to something a bit thicker and try the ODI TLD grips. Although these aren’t too thick they seem to be a happy medium between thin and thick grips. These are now one of my favorite grips, they feel great and overall they are very comfortable. The little knobs on the grips feel comfy and provide great traction; this is even more evident when riding without gloves. I initially thought that the design on the grips didn’t have any purpose but now I see that the design and the little grooves in the grips are specifically designed to offer great comfort and grip. I’ve used them in dusty condition and also in the wet and in both environments they grip well and I have had no issues.  I would strongly recommend these grips.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member vics26
549 vics26 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/549/avatar/c50_Picture_013.jpg?1344737261 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/all 08/18/09 17 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/vics26,549/setup 15 30 63 49 1

RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork”

C138_fs_pike_2715_blk_tpr_a17l
Review by Jeff Brines // Photos by Patrick Nelson RockShox has reintroduced the Pike for the 2013 season, and they've aimed it squarely at the Enduro and trail market. Like the kinda-sorta-cute girl who moved away in the 6th grade, she’s back for senior year, fully grown up and turning every head in class. The fork appears to offer an unprecedented blend of feather-like weight, stiffness and trail eating performance. But how did it stack up in real world testing? After several months of riding, here are the results... Pike RCT3 Highlights Travel options: 26 or 27.5-inch 150mm or 160mm // 29-inch 140mm or 150mm Weight: Read More »
Rate review: +10 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 4 95 217 10 2

2012 Trek Session 9.9

“Frame only”

C138_treksession9.9

The Good:

Carries speed through everything, extremely predictable, stable but nimble, and very easy to maintain.

The Bad:

I would rather a double barrel over the Fox RC4.

Overall Review: This is the best frame I have ever owned. Even with some of the heavier parts I chose to build it with it still weighs 24 pounds. This bike carries so much speed and is so predictable that you will drop time off on your favorite trails.You get an amazing amount of feed back through the frame. It does park riding extremely well and you can send any jump comfortably but can also take the rockiest most technical trails and smooth them out (compared to other bikes). I can not say anything bad about this frame.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member freski93
12701 freski93 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12701/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1232590309.jpg?1326562955 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freski93,12701/all 01/14/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/freski93,12701/setup 1 2

Specialized Roval Traverse SL Complete Wheel

Vital Review

“Tested: Specialized Roval Traverse SL Wheels”

C138_kola_specialized_roval_traverse_sl_142_2013
by Jeff Brines When considering top shelf wheels, Specialized may not be the first company that comes to mind. However, it appears the Big S is trying to change that with the introduction of their all mountain oriented carbon-hooped Roval SL wheelset. With over 150K of descending (and ascending) under our belt on the 26-inch version, it’s time for an in depth look at how these (more) wallet friendly carbon wheels have fared so far. Specialized Roval Traverse SL Highlights Carbon rim Internal Rim Width: 22mm, External 29mm Tubeless Ready out of the box Radial/3-cross front spoke pattern, 3-cross (1:1) rear Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 4 95 217 10 2

Maxxis Monorail Tire

“A fast, light, hard wearing rear tire”

C138_31264

The Good:

Fast rolling, hard wearing, comes TR and LUST

The Bad:

Descending and braking traction at 35psi plus, would prefer a bit more volume and a tad more width

Overall Review: I bought this tire because I need to ride road and climb before I can open up and have real fun and descend.I teamed this up with a Maxxis Minion single ply 2.35 EXO on the front because they are both ERTO 52. It went on easy on my TR rim tubeless with a floor pump first try, no soap, removing the valve or Stans on the sidewall. The Monorail climbs really well. The only fault I found was braking traction especially on loose over, that is if you stick to the recommended 35psi or more. However if you drop the pressure to 25-30 range there is much more bite. I'd certainly consider buying again although I probably try something Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

2013 GT La Bomba 2.0 Bike

“Gt la bomba 2.0”

C138_bike_gt_la_bomba_2.0

The Good:

Solid frame, awesome tires, decent price, and decent components.

The Bad:

Basic avid brakes leave something to be desired. Crankset is not that great.

Overall Review: First off, I bought this bike to use for cruising around town, and messing around with on jumps. I immediately put some Tioga Powerblock tires on, as they don't make as much noise cruising on pavement. The stock dirt tires are awesome though, and I kept them, in case I wanna do some dirt riding with this bike in the future. This bike is a slopestyle bike, made to take massive abuse from huge jumps, so it is more than strong enough for my purposes. The avid elixer 1 brakes are not the best, but they work well for cruising around. I'll probably upgrade them in the future. The drivetrain is an ok spec. It works well, but I plan on Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ben_Kotrba
26985 Ben_Kotrba http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26985/avatar/c50_fb_picture_12127826_1377085880.jpg?1377085742 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ben-Kotrba,26985/all 08/21/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ben-Kotrba,26985/setup 1 1