Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Schwalbe Albert Tire

“Rear Fat Albert 2.40 Pacestar Review”

C138_24572

The Good:

Climbing grip and reasonable rolling resistance, can be picked up cheaply online, big volume, easy setup tubeless and matches up with Hans Dampf.

The Bad:

Hideous cornering feel, wobble central on road or hardpack or even anything remotely not soft, even if soft very average. 'It's more expensive therefore it's better' marketing.

Overall Review: Seems like Schwalbe Albert is a prototype for Fat Albert, and Fat Albert front and rear are simply the prototype for Hans Dampf. I have a Hans Dampf Pacestar on the front and had a Rock Razor on the rear. The Razor and Hans Dampf are great tires but the side knobs ripped off the Pacestar version of the IMHO too weak Rock Razor sadly, the Hans Dampf had plenty of life left in it, and I wasn't ready to quit on Schwalbe (for a 2nd time) yet so I picked up the Fat Albert rear specific tire online for a nice little discount ($30). Wish I hadn't and I'd waited for a 'performance' single ply HD. Put simply, although there are many Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ZMC888
6998 ZMC888 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6998/avatar/c50_Lew_drop_avatar.jpg?1352425516 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/all 03/03/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ZMC888,6998/setup 5 25 59 1

Acre Hauser Hydration Pack

Vital Review

“Tested: Acre Hauser - Hauler of Fun”

C138_acre_hauser_hydration_pack_black
by Kevin Shiramizu With the creation of Acre, the folks behind Mission Workshop have taken their geekery for bags to the dirt, and by now you've probably come across some of the meticulously crafted stories they have put out in various media for the launch of their mountain biking brand. I really wanted to see if all that attention to detail went into the product and not just into the presentation, unlike our collective experience with some other brands. So when the chance to test the Hauser bag came along, I dove at it. Acre Hauser Highlights Bladder Capacity: 3 Liter Camelbak or Hydrapak (also compatible with Platypus, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member k.shiz
14 k.shiz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14/avatar/c50_image.jpg?1292282110 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/k-shiz,14/all 07/24/09 75 23 52 591 101 165 1 260 19 12

Niterider TL5.0 Rear Light

“Light it up”

C138_31418

The Good:

Easy install and battery swap.

The Bad:

nothing so far.

Overall Review: If you cruise around town or commute to work via bike, you probably already have lights sorted out for your bike. If not, the Niterider TL5.0 is a good inexpensive option to alert those behind you that you exist. Some of the nice features about this Niterider is that it is easy to install, comes with a rubber shim that should help fit any size post, it uses a common battery size (AAA), and it has a number of different flashing modes that you can cycle through. It's probably not the fanciest or toughest rear light out there, but at under $10, this has been a good purchase and adds a little peace of mind when sharing the road.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_avery_rock_drop_1473310533.jpg?1473309717 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 1 15 88 48

Öhlins TTX Rear Shock

“Öhlins TTX 22M - SantaCruz ed.”

C138_ohlins_specialized_ttx_shock

The Good:

Very sensitive, smooth and precise. Also easy to calibrate.

The Bad:

It cost a lot of money.

Overall Review: Last June 27, 2014 I bought the new Öhlins TTX shock 22M from the most famous Italian reseller called Andreani Group. The suspension has been modified on the classic head of the shock which is usually assembled on the Demo 8 with a totally redesigned one for reasons of space specifically for Santa Cruz. The functioning, however, remains the same. The length is 240mm and the stroke is 76mm while the average price for Italy is 780 + 22% VAT (government taxes). Andreani Group has been really helpful and professional: during the iXS European Cup in Val di Sole their engineer support me all the day while I tried and set up the Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member RiccardoCerato72
26976 RiccardoCerato72 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26976/avatar/c50_1098415_406867106086375_55906191_n_1376996713.jpg?1376995758 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/RiccardoCerato72,26976/all 08/20/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/RiccardoCerato72,26976/setup 5 1 1

ODI Rogue Lock-On Grip

“That's what you need!”

C138_odi_mtb_rogue_lo_d30rgb_b_02_web_green_black

The Good:

The size and feel of this grip makes it a winner in my eyes. I prefer a larger grip as my left hand is knackered from multiple breaks. This grip is very durable too, I didn't need to replace them at all last season.

The Bad:

If the grip was slightly softer, it'll damper more vibration and make it more comfortable for the all day epics, but then you'd lose some of that durability.

Overall Review: My new bike came with a set of ODI Cross Trainer grips, they will be swapped out with the Rogue asap.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kieron.ash
23396 kieron.ash http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23396/avatar/c50_XQ7A9726_1397292573.jpg?1397292064 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kieron-ash,23396/all 04/06/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kieron-ash,23396/setup 1 1

2015 Santa Cruz X01 AM 27.5" Nomad Carbon Bike

“The Nomad new but not quite there. ”

C138_max_2014_scb_nomad_c_3_4_blk_570437

The Good:

Doesn't wander around going up

The Bad:

Short TT // Feels tall // Deflects // Not so great turning

Overall Review: I was pretty pumped to ride the new Nomad today. Did I like it? I took a Large demo with a 160mm 34 CTD, Monarch Plus, Shimano 1X10 and XT Trail. Blue & Magenta. The dude set the suspension up for weight and I was off. The fit was interesting. It felt very short for a large, similar to the Bronson, and taller than expected. The climb up the road was good. The bike is light and pedaled real well. The front end didn't wander around which was nice given the fork was at 160mm and the frame has a 65HTa. The descent into Upper Hide & Seek was interesting. The first turn felt gyroscopic and reminded me of a Read More »
Rate review: -6 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 52 315 21

Enve Composites ENVE M Series 90 Ten Wheels

Vital Review

“Tested: ENVE M90 Ten Wheels”

C138_m90ten_action
By A.J. Barlas // Photography A.J. Barlas & Brandon Turman There is no shortage of wheels for mountain bikers to choose from and we've tested a number of them over the past couple of years - some we've been pleased with while others have been less than ideal.A large number of these are focusing on the trail/AM segment of the sport, but what about DH? Designing a wheel that meets the rigors of today's downhill riding, while remaining light enough to keep the weight conscious happy is a tricky situation. Throw price into the equation and you complicate it even more. Light, strong, cheap; pick any two is an old golden rule of Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

Specialized Women's Andorra Pro Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Specialized Andorra Women’s Jersey & Shorts”

C138_specialized_womens_andorra_pro_short_purple_light_teal
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman Okay, yeah. I’m a girl. I love puppies, flowers, and colors. When I was told, “Hey, Specialized has some new women’s trail clothes for 2014 that have fun colors,” my immediate and completely appropriate response was, “Color? Oooo, show me, show me!” Similar to their philosophy when developing bikes, Specialized looked to rider needs and seized the opportunity to create mountain bike apparel that can improve a ride. By focusing on rider mobility, comfort, and durability, Specialized built apparel collections specific to trail, all-mountain, and gravity Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 4 2 13

Specialized Women's Andorra Comp Long Sleeve Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Specialized Andorra Women’s Jersey & Shorts”

C138_specialized_womens_andorra_comp_long_sleeve_jersey_purple_light_teal
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman Okay, yeah. I’m a girl. I love puppies, flowers, and colors. When I was told, “Hey, Specialized has some new women’s trail clothes for 2014 that have fun colors,” my immediate and completely appropriate response was, “Color? Oooo, show me, show me!” Similar to their philosophy when developing bikes, Specialized looked to rider needs and seized the opportunity to create mountain bike apparel that can improve a ride. By focusing on rider mobility, comfort, and durability, Specialized built apparel collections specific to trail, all-mountain, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 4 2 13

Race Face Khyber Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Women's Khyber Shorts & Jersey”

C138_race_face_khyber_jersey_black
by Monica McCosh The 2014 women’s Khyber jersey and shorts from Race Face hits bike park and trail runways with a vengeance and a fresh color scheme this season. Touted as “the little black dress” of mountain bike apparel, the Khyber shorts may not be as slinky and lightweight as one, but this burly piece of shred equipment is designed to make a rough-and-tumble girl look and feel good on the trails or at the bike park. Khyber Short Highlights Tweedster Fabric 70% Polyester, 26% Rayon, 4% Spandex Yarn-dyed textured outer fabric bonded to 100% Polyester durable mesh interior DWR (durable water resistance) treated; Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member monicosh
29213 monicosh http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29213/avatar/c50_IMG_3808_1396387469.jpg?1396386850 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/monicosh,29213/all 01/13/14 1 1 61 2 7 1