Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Avid Elixir R Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

“BEST Hydraulic Discs Avid Ever Made”

C138_88901820_1266939844

The Good:

~One finger micro-modulation
~Incredible stopping power
~Able to withstand extended descents, with zero fade
~Incredible pad life. Where can you get almost 1000 miles on a set of pads?
~Great value....works like $600 brakes
~DoT 5.1 fluid never boils!
~Tool-free lever adjust
~Reversible lever body, to hide crash marks
~CPS mounting system does work - as long as your rotors are straight and CLEAN
~HS1 rotors are very light and dissipate heat well
~Able to shorten hose length without bleeding
~Matchmaker compatibility, with Rock Shox XLoc and Reverb seat dropper, with correct kit

The Bad:

~Much-hated, by all other riders
~Not the lightest...but close

Overall Review: I don't know why all the hate for Avid Elixir brakes. When setup correctly - they are quiet and stop on a dime. In fact, they stop so good....it is even applicable for DH/Freeride bikes. The real beauty is in the modulation. I come from being a longtime Magura Marta SL user, and there is no off/on lever feel, like the Magura. I went OTB on my first ride with them, disbelieving the power these have. Keep them clean by wiping both rotors with alcohol and making sure the pads have as little dust as possible. I give them a quick shot of automotive brake cleaner and they behave like Shimano. The rotors MUST be flat as a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zachariah
26432 Zachariah http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/26432/avatar/c50_mtb_murraypk_1374164148.jpg?1374163184 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/all 07/18/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zachariah,26432/setup 1 6 5

X-Fusion Slant RL2 Suspension Fork

“Great feeling fork”

C138_mt13slant_rl_b_gold

The Good:

Pretty light, SUPER stiff, great feels, nice internal travel ajust

The Bad:

when i got the fork straight from X-Fusion there was nothing inside of the compresion because it was loose witch caused the fork to not work proprley but after it was fixed it was amazing, only having a taperd steer option

Overall Review: Awesome fork, it feels great and it is super stiff. its just like its little brother the velvet, on steriouds. every thing has been beefed up to make it a much stiffer and solid feeling fork and it doesnt creek, yet (knock on wood), i have had mine for about 6 mounths and still running strong. The only problem i had with this fork is that there was no fluid in the compression because the compression was loose and all the fluid leaked out of it (or something like that). i did end up getting that fixed and now i feels dialed. I would recomend this fork for anything from enduro to dirt jump and to anyone not looking on spending a buy a solid fork with out spending the big bucks.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

Chromag Brandon Semenuks' 'Overture' Signature Model Saddle

“why use any other seat”

C138_92492180_1273304652

The Good:

feels great, looks great

The Bad:

mine has a little bit of play on the rails and has always had it.

Overall Review: Great seat, feels great when your sitting on it and it is also good for pinches. It also looks amazing it is defanitly a must get for dirt jumpers and free riders!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

Troy Lee Designs D3 Carbon Full Face Helmet

“The Best Full Face Helmet”

C138_d3_helmet_speed_cf_orange

The Good:

fits great, looks great, light, and the extra visor is nice

The Bad:

Pretty pricy but worth it

Overall Review: awesome helmet, fits and feels as great as it looks, it is also extremely light. another cool this is that it comes with an extra visor just in case you go down and you break it off. Its defanitly worth it to get the extra money to buy one!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

Profile Racing Elite MTB Hubs

“Like a Swarm of Killer Bees”

C138_screen_shot_2013_06_24_at_7.51.17_pm

The Good:

The sound, the great engagement, very smooth and crisp feeling, the color options, the size options and GREAT customer service!

The Bad:

Pawls can start to skip if water gets in them

Overall Review: Awesome hub! I love the sound (although some people dont) it sounds great while doing anything. i will constantly be riding down the street and have people staring at me in awe. It is defanitly attracts attention. the engagement is so chrisp and quick. It also rolls so much quicker than most hubs, i can defanitly see what this hub is commonly used in the BMX racing scene. the only problem i have had with mine is that if water gets into the pawls and teeth it can dry them out and it can stat to skip but it is a VERY easy to pull it out, clean the inside and drop a couple more drops of teflon dry lube (what is Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jonas_Barstad
14775 Jonas_Barstad http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14775/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001459887387.jpg?1334107290 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/all 04/10/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jonas-Barstad,14775/setup 1 7

Sombrio Women's Artemyde Jacket

Vital Review

“Tested: Sombrio Women’s Artemyde Jacket”

C138_artemyde_jacket_ac_slate_fromme_print
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman "That's it!" I had enough of trying to get by in the rain with a hand-me-down rain jacket that just wasn’t cutting it. On more than one occasion I missed rides because it was more than sprinkling out and I knew my jacket wouldn't suffice - it didn't breath well, the hood was useless with a helmet on, and the cut just wasn't right for riding. And so began my search for a legit rain jacket for mountain biking. Designed for women, Sombrio's Artemyde jacket looked like it would fit the bill. With a focus on freeride mountain biking, Sombrio made it their Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 11 1

Race Face Piper Women's Riding Jersey

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Piper Women's Jersey and Shorts”

C138_race_face_piper_womens_jersey
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman There’s hole worn in this pair of shorts, this other pair is coming apart, this one jersey doesn’t fit well, this other one is stained and has a tear in it… Going through my drawer of riding clothes, this is the common theme. It appears to be time for some new gear. Despite their frequent usage, I have yet to find a pair of shorts or a jersey that really fit the way I want or prove durable enough over time. Enter Race Face, a brand with a deep heritage in MTB and a wide product range including riding gear specifically made for us women – fist pump for the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 11 1

Race Face Piper Women's Shorts

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Piper Women's Jersey and Shorts”

C138_race_face_piper_womens_shorts
Review by Courtney Steen // Photos by Brandon Turman There’s hole worn in this pair of shorts, this other pair is coming apart, this one jersey doesn’t fit well, this other one is stained and has a tear in it… Going through my drawer of riding clothes, this is the common theme. It appears to be time for some new gear. Despite their frequent usage, I have yet to find a pair of shorts or a jersey that really fit the way I want or prove durable enough over time. Enter Race Face, a brand with a deep heritage in MTB and a wide product range including riding gear specifically made for us women – fist pump for the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member csteen
28416 csteen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28416/avatar/c50_Vital_Profile_Pic_1384278324.jpg?1384277507 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/csteen,28416/all 11/12/13 33 1 234 2 2 11 1

Shimano SLX M666 Disc Brake

“Best brake...for this price...”

C138_br258c01

The Good:

Not drastically different from XT, great stopping power, weight, looks

The Bad:

Not XTR, little to no modulation.

Overall Review: For the money I don't think you can find a better brake. Totally simple to bleed and they look sharp. Could be better... But hey, it's called xt and xtr. So... Again...for the money it is a pretty good brake. I have used juicy, Hayes and others and I personally believe shimano is the easiest to maintain. You could have these on your bike for years.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Snoopshomes
22234 Snoopshomes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22234/avatar/c50_Ride_Em_Hard_Logo_1367265653.jpg?1367265195 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Snoopshomes,22234/all 02/20/13 13 4

Loaded Precision AMX Signature CroMo Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Loaded Precision AMX Signature CroMo Flat Pedal”

C138_loaded_usa_amx_signature_cromo
by Nick Zuzelski There are two crucial points of control you have with your bike - your hands, and your feet. Loose either by accident and it's usually not pretty. If you are one of the many riders out there running flats, you know that flat pedal design has recently evolved towards a thinner, sleeker, and wider platform with plenty of pins to keep your feet glued on at all times. Loaded Precision's latest offering, the new AMX Signature pedals, fall into this category and our feet were excited to take them on a date to see what kind of trouble the two of them could get into. AMX Signature CroMo Pedal Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 22