Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Troy Lee Designs A1 Helmet

“Best half face helmet on the market”

C138_2016_drone_white

The Good:

Ventalation, comfort, protection and style

The Bad:

The only drawback for the A1 is the price, but you are paying for a quality product not just the brand.

Overall Review: I had a pretty hard impact wearing my tld A1 and it definitely did its job. Its worth the price to know you will be well protected!

Five Ten Freerider Contact Shoe

Featured Review

“Amazing shoes with a few loose threads”

C138_521201

The Good:

The BEST gripping rubber, Excellent fit, True to size, Colors galore.

The Bad:

Threads on inner part of shoe have frayed completely apart due to crankarm rub

Overall Review: Let me first say, Five Ten makes the best mountain biking shoes on the planet. No one comes close to making rubber as grippy and as durable as they do. With that being said, I retired my Freeriders that I've owned for 4 years and picked up a set of the Freerider Contacts. After 2 months of riding, here is my insight: Out of the Box: The first thing I noticed the slim profile of the Freerider Contacts. They are the size of your everyday shoe which is a good and bad thing. Good thing because I can wear them anywhere and not get strange looks and bad thing because I wear them everywhere which will probably Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Park Tool Rotor Truing Gauge

Featured Review

“Park Tool Rotor Truing Gauge ”

C138_12415

The Good:

Better angles to see bent rotors, Connects to the truing stand, Finely threaded bolt allows micro-adjustments, Locking ring to lock bolt in place.

The Bad:

Still lacks some accuracy, Round head of gauge struggles with some types of rotors (Shimano IceTech)

Overall Review: Disc brakes can be a real beast. There are, what seems to be, endless possibilities for them not to work properly. One of the most common issuethat causebrake problemsisabentrotor.The space between disc pads is about, throwing in a 2mm wide rotor and you don't have that much wiggle room for awobblyrotor. Park Toolunderstands this and have answered by offering a wide range of tools to get those rotors straight. An excellent one actually is in the form one of theirtruingstand accessories, the Rotor Truing Gauge. Out of the Box: This tool is pretty. It mounts to a pre-existing hole on the truing stand and can Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Race Face Sixc Seatpost

Featured Review

“SixC Seatpost: Only Truly Rated DH Carbon Seatpost ”

C138_2013_spt_sixc_blk_wht

The Good:

DH stiffness and durability, Light weight, Damping perks that only carbon offers

The Bad:

Wish graphics came in as many color options as the SixC bars do, Claimed weights a bit off.

Overall Review: I initially picked up the Race Face SixC carbon seatpost because I had previously purchased another carbon seatpost (Bontrager XXX) for my Session 9.9 but didn't have that great of an experience with it. I heard thewas almost as light (30 grams heavier) but offered DH rated stiffness and durability. Because of my previous negative experience and the promise of something better, I had to tryitout. I picked up theSixCseatpost along with the Race Face Atlas I-Beam saddle.Afterabout 3 months of riding with it, here are my impressions. Out of the box: Pulling the post out of it's packaging, I was presented with, yet again, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Troy Lee Designs A1 Helmet

Featured Review

“A1, just as good as the steak sauce. ”

C138_2016_drone_white

The Good:

16 massive vents, Triple position adjustable retention system, Adjustable visor with anodized aluminum hardware, Washable one-piece liner, Light weight

The Bad:

Adjustable retention system seems a little cheap.

Overall Review: Picked up this helmet about 4 months ago, just in time for summer. After tons of hours with it, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: First thing I noticed after pulling this out of the box was how nice the thing looked. The matte finish with glossy decals turned out to look better in person than it did on-line.It's one of the pieces that seem so nice you'd hate to ever take a spill with it. Second thing was the venting system. 16 massive vents make a window for cool air to come flowing it and then get kicked right out the back, keeping a constantstreamof air flowing across the top of my head. They are Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Park Tool Rotor Truing Fork

Featured Review

“Bent Rotors Suck”

C138_12324

The Good:

Dual sided for different types of bends, fits multiple rotor thickness, Gets rid of stupid pinging noises from rubbing rotors.

The Bad:

Allows for too much leverage at times

Overall Review: If you are a mountain biker you have probably dealt with a bent rotor at some point, it is almost inevitable. Whether its from a crash, setting the bike down on the rotor, or transport, a bent rotor is not only annoying, it can affect your overall riding experience. Some people can deal with a small blip in the rotor that makes that ping ping ping sound when you ride, but I am not that person. While a small blip may not really affect your bike too much or really slow you down, I hate hearing that sound and knowing my rotor is out of true. A bigger bend however can definitely cause issues with slowing your Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

FOX Float X2 Factory Rear Shock

“Updated Float X2 Review for 2017”

C138_floatx2_shock

The Good:

Light weight, Adjustable, Easy to adjust, Excellent bottom-out control, Small adjustment tool included, Updated lighter weight volume spacers

The Bad:

Absolutely nothing.

Overall Review: UPDATE from my review from my earlier 2016 review: My 2017 Fox Float X2 came in the mail 3 months ago and to my surprise, Fox improved upon it! For 2017, they are offering a compression (climb) switch for sizes 8.5 x 2.5 and smaller. I ordered a massive 10.5 x 3.5 for my Scott Gambler so it didn't come with that option but there are a few other updates that were pretty darn impressive. NEW FOR 2017 As an update, Fox went away from the traditional thick bands to a plastic band that clips together when around the inner air can of the shock. In terms of weight, these new volume spacers weigh 1 gram more than the older Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Chromag Lynx DT Saddle

Featured Review

“Chromag Lynx DT Saddle Review”

C138_89906220_1273303933

The Good:

Good width, cool graphics, comfortable nose for climbing, Nice amount of padding, not too little, but not too much

The Bad:

Not the lightest offering out there, may be a bit pricey for some.

Overall Review: Chromag is one of those brands recognized for making durable, quality products and if you look at many of the slopestyle riders bikes, or freeriders bikes many will run Chromag parts.They sponsor riders like Logan Peat, and Brandon Semunuk and have that laid back, anti-corporate vibe going on. That durability and style has made them a recent favorite for All mountain (Enduro) riders as well and I have seen Chromag parts on a ton of bikes here in Colorado. When it comes to saddles, keep in mind just how personal saddle choice can be, what works for me might suck for you. That being said though, the Lynx DT seems to have a width Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Race Face Atlas Saddle

Featured Review

“Ultra Light Yet Not Very Forgiving”

C138_2013_sad_atlas_blk_quarter

The Good:

Very light weight, Easy to install, Quality materials, Killer graphics of Whistler

The Bad:

Stiff as hell

Overall Review: Overall Review: Picked up the Race Face Atlas I-Beam saddle about 3 months ago along with the Race Face SixC seatpost. After some solid riding time on them, here are my impressions on this product: Out of the box: I initially picked up the Atlas I-Beam saddle because I was purchasing quite a few other Race Face components. It was claimed to be just as light as my carbon railed saddle on my trail bike and have heard from many of my friends that you can't beat an I-Beam in durability on a DH rig. Taking it out of the box, I was very impressed with how light it was. Claimed to be at 156 grams, my park tool digital scale read 168 Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Race Face Atlas 35 DM Stem

Featured Review

“Race Face Atlas 35mm Direct Mount Stem”

C138_2014_atlas35_stem_dm

The Good:

Stiff, Simplistic, Light weight, 5mm rise spacers included

The Bad:

Almost 10 grams (7.5% increase) off claimed weight.

Overall Review: Picked up the Race Face Atlas 35mm direct mount stem about 3 months ago along with the Race Face SixC 35mm bars. After some solid riding time on them, here are my impressions on this product: Quick Comparisons: When looking for a stem to accompany my SixC bars, There were a few that had my attention. The top 3 I was debating between were the Easton Havoc 35mm Direct Mount, Race Face Chester 35mm Direct Mount, and the Race Face Atlas 35mm Direct Mount. Strength and stiffness were most important to me followed by weight. Below are the claimed weights of the three stems: Easton Havoc: 110 grams Race Face Chester: 130 grams Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78