Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2017 Guerrilla Gravity Trail Pistol - Race Build with Pistola Setup

“Blown Away ”

C138_gg_trail_pistol_163_edit_white

The Good:

Geometry; Suspension kinematics; High quality, USA made aluminum frame

The Bad:

The small spacer used for the top bolt on the ISCG tabs; Cockpit feels short at first, but only when seated

Overall Review: I just can't believe how much fun I have had on this bike! The Trail Pistol climbs really well, making easy work of ascents. The steep seat tube angle puts you over the pedals making it easy to climb incredibly steep pitches. Seated, there is no noticeable pedal bob, and the heavily damped Deluxe rear shock keeps bob to a minimum during out of the saddle assaults. Initially, I found the steeper seat tube angle in combination to feel very strange and foreign, but not uncomfortable. After having spent more time on the TP, I am unsure how we used to pedal bikes with slacker seat tubes. Read More »

2017 Santa Cruz Hightower Carbon C S

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Santa Cruz Hightower from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_santa_cruz_hightower_c_s_bike_carbon_mint
Santa Cruz’s Hightower was just released a year ago, benefiting from the company's continued refinement of the VPP suspension system. It combines 135mm of travel with 29-inch or 27.5+ wheels to create a bike that can take on a wide variety of terrain while keeping up speed and staying as efficient as possible. With the most travel of any 29/27.5+ bike in their lineup, the Hightower is more than just an efficiency sled with some travel – it is truly a do-it-all bike. Santa Cruz has some of the most trusted carbon frames in the business and relatively affordable pricing on some models as well. By adding updates like Boost Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

2017 Liv Hail Advanced 1

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Liv Hail Advanced from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_liv_hail_advanced_1
Totally new to Liv for 2017 is the Hail series. This line of enduro/all-mountain bikes was designed from the ground up to fit and perform for women riders looking to ride technical trails. A first of its kind, this women’s bike has a healthy 160mm of travel front and rear and 27.5-inch wheels. The Hail has one goal in mind: to get you to the bottom of the mountain… and fast! Lucky us as Tucson, Arizona's Mount Lemmon loomed over the desert during Vital MTB's 2017 Test Sessions. There will be mud. There will be sand. There will be rock. Lots of them. Let’s see how the Liv Hail handles it. Highlights Advanced-grade composite Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

FUNN Python Pedal

“For big foot”

C138_funn_python_pedal

The Good:

Very tin, great grip and a large base for big foot size

The Bad:

The gold color of pin

Overall Review: I'm using these pedals for over 2 years, never problems with grip and never lost a pin, the quality is really good!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ilfunesto
44105 Ilfunesto http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44105/avatar/c50_19476_308492268695_4746514_n_1491300363.jpg?1491299510 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ilfunesto,44105/all 04/04/17 1

RockShox Reverb 1X Remote

Vital Review

“First Ride: RockShox Reverb 1X Remote”

C138_rockshox_reverb_lever
We ask a lot from our dropper seatposts - we want them to go up and down on command, lock out entirely, stay smooth, offer infinite adjustability, hold up to the constant abuse of dust and mud, and to do it over and over for months on end without ever servicing the things. From a designer's standpoint that is a very tall order, and it turns out manufacturing a good dropper is very difficult thing to do. RockShox has been at it for years, however, and while they've no doubt had their fair share of hiccups there are several reasons why the Reverb is the world's most popular dropper. Having resolved a few issues at Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

2015 YT Tues CF Comp Bike

“Frame Good - Components Bad”

C138_2015_yt_tues_cf_comp_white

The Good:

The Frame and Suspension kinematics

The Bad:

The components, namely the SRAM components.

Overall Review: The frame is great. The feel of the bike on the trail is confidence inspiring. It manages to feel both aggressive and relaxed at the same time. The rear suspension is really progressive which means that it starts out supple, but gets stiffer as it moves through the travel, which helps prevent bottoming. There are lots of reviews out there about how great the YT Tues CF feels, so I wont go into more detail there. The bottom line is that I love the bike, but here's what I didn't like: Day one on the bike, and i started feeling a "clunk" in the rear suspension. I was able to quickly isolate it as a lower rear suspension pivot bolt Read More »

2017 Norco Optic Carbon 9.2

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Norco Optic Carbon 29 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_norco_optic_carbon_9.2
Entering the scene in the spring of 2016, the new Optic is Norco’s addition to the growing short-travel trail bike market. Featuring 110mm of rear wheel travel, our test bike is built around 29-inch wheels but is also available in a surprisingly similar 27.5-inch option. The Optic was created simply to be a fun bike and is aimed at riders seeking a pedal smashing ride with trail capability. The varied and rocky terrain of Tucson, Arizona was a great place to see if Norco’s latest model lives up to the claims. Highlights Carbon frame with aluminum stays 29-inch wheels 110mm (4.3-inches) of rear wheel travel // 120mm Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

Race Face Atlas Saddle

Featured Member Review

“Race Face Atlas I-Beam Saddle”

C138_2013_sad_atlas_blk_quarter

The Good:

Incredibly light while offering excellent strength, High quality materials and craftsmanship, Easy to install and adjust, Great looking saddle.

The Bad:

Stiffness could lead to discomfort for some riders

Overall Review: When selecting components to build up my Gambler together I set three standards: #1 Light weight, #2 Strong and durable, and #3 Has to look good. For the majority of riders out there they don’t necessarily give two shits about what saddle they place their butts on (especially for DH riders) but building my dream bike, I was on the hunt for a top-of-the-line saddle. After a massive comparison, I landed on the Race Face Atlas I-Beam saddle. With a half season on it, here’s what I liked, not liked, and overall impressions of the Atlas I-Beam saddle. Out of The Box: Pulling the Atlas I-Beam saddle out of the packaging I was blown Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 31 88

2017 Ellsworth Rogue 60 XT 1X

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Ellsworth Rogue 60 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_ellsworth_rogue_sixty_captain_america
"The truth about the world, he said, is that anything is possible. Had you not seen it all from birth and thereby not bled it of its strangeness it would appear to you for what it is, a hat trick in a medicine show, a fevered dream, a trance bepopulate with chimeras having neither analogue nor precedent, an itinerant carnival, a migratory tent show whose ultimate destination after many a pitch in many a muddled field is unspeakable and calamitous beyond reckoning." – Cormac McCarthy, Blood Meridian What do we really know? We know that the story you want to tell can be so much more compelling than the story you need Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

2017 Specialized Enduro Comp 650b

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Specialized Enduro 650b from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_specialized_enduro_comp_650b_bike_satin_black_charcoal
Hailing from a long legacy of trail and enduro performance, the 2017 Specialized Enduro brings some updates to a classic design. Available in both 650b (27.5) and 29/6Fattie (27.5+) versions, the new frame is longer, lower, comes in more sizes, and sports a little more travel. With 170mm of suspension and not-quite-plus 2.6-inch tires, the new Enduro is on the leading edge of new trends in an ever-changing category. We thrashed the Enduro Comp 650b down the loose and rocky trails of Tucson, Arizona during Vital MTB Test Sessions to see if this price point model can take a serious beating. Highlights M5 aluminum Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41