Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Park Tool Master Link Pliers

Featured Review

“Park Tool Master Link Pliers- work smarter not harder”

C138_7781

The Good:

Makes quick work of installing/ removing master links, quality construction

The Bad:

nothing yet

Overall Review: This is another one of those tools that you don’t know you need until you need it, and once you have used it, you will never go back. The majority of chains out there use a master link or can be used with a master link, and in general this is a good thing. They are helpful when you need to easily remove or install a chain, and spare master links can be thrown in a pack or taped to the bike to fix a snapped chain. With older chains 8, 9 or 10 speed they can usually be installed or removed with a bit of work, but if you are not careful you can bend or tweak a master link. Most 11 speed links I have used Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Straitline SSC Stem

Featured Review

“Straitline SSC Stem Review- Burly and beautiful”

C138_st258a00_black35

The Good:

Stiff, durable, fairly light, nice machining, low stack height

The Bad:

Pricey and might be overkill for some situations

Overall Review: Definitely one of the more pricey components I have purchased primarily for looks, but the function surprised me as well. I have always tried to purchase from smaller companies that produced products in-house instead of sending overseas, and Straitline does just that. Working for a bike manufacturer has shown me just how loose tolerances can be on products made overseas and how cheaply they are produced. There is of course is exceptions to this, but generally products made in house in places like the Uk, US, or Canada (like Straitline) use better raw materials, more machining and give you a higher quality product. This does Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Royal 2016 Impact Short Short

Featured Review

“Royal Racing Impact Short Review- Most comfortable short I've ever owned”

C138_impact_short_nvy_b_f_nb

The Good:

Comfortable and lightweight, great fit, durable, and look nice on or off the bike

The Bad:

A bit shorter than I prefer, wish they came with a liner

Overall Review: Royal Racing first caught my attention when I saw Steve Peat wearing their gear, and admittedly I was intrigued. They looked like they made well fitting and awesome looking clothing, and so far everything I own from the brand has me impressed. I have owned their Stage shorts for about 8 months now and honestly they are my go to everytime I ride. They have survived numerous crashes, days in the park and long days in the saddle without flinching. My Troy Lee shorts and Fox shorts went mostly unused after getting them. Basically Royal made the perfect short for me, they have a longer fit that covered my kneepads Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Ryders Eyewear Tallcan Goggles

Vital Review

“Tested: Ryders Tallcan Goggle”

C138_tallcanblack_3q_1024x458_1024x458
Review by Jo Pauly // Photos by Jean-Marie Plaçais When you picture the North Shore, you probably think of a thick, humid forest with a crazy trail weaving through it. Suddenly Thomas Vanderham rides into sight and shreds the living hell out of the trail. Well, Thomas Vanderham is part of the Ryders' team and was involved in the making of the new Tallcan goggle. With a double lens, which is hydrophobic and scratch-resist-coated, and clever venting placement on the frames, these goggles have been designed to keep your vision clear in even the most humid of conditions; just like on The Shore. Ryders Tallcan Goggle Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member jo@RideAbility
24741 jo@RideAbility http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24741/avatar/c50_Joe_Top_Gun_Kicker_2_1369774582.jpg?1369773886 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jo-RideAbility,24741/all 05/28/13 2

Crank Brothers Stamp Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Stamp Flat Pedal”

C138_stamp_blacklarge_sm_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Nils Hjord Crankbrothers was historically never one of the front runners in the flat pedal race considering how popular their clipless pedal are, but with the introduction of the Stamp pedal, they are looking to change that up. The Stamp is a resolutely modern take on the flat pedal, wide and thin. It is also one of only a few pedals to be offered in multiple sizes, which allows you to match them to your shoe size. To make sure we gave both the available sizes a good pasting, we recruited a little extra grom help and hit the trails. Read on to find out how we got Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 772 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 53 341 3838 90 28

7iDP Crew Socks

“7iDP Crew Socks Review - They cover my feet and look cool”

C138_sock_front

The Good:

Comfortable, good fit, good coverage, look sweet

The Bad:

Nothing yet

Overall Review: I'll start off by admitting to the fact that writing a review about socks is a little trivial, but here goes nothing. I love 7 Protection, they have saved my knees from many an unplannedejection, and have gotten my loyalty for their nice design and ergonomics. I used to ride with ankle socks, but after a while getting hit in the shin by numerous stupid plants, cactuses (socks don't do much about cactus thorns though) and random other trail obstacles I began to see the merit. I'll admit the bros I see wearing tall socks everywhere made me hesitate inbuying taller socks, I try to stay as far away from being a tool as possible, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Spank Spike Race 33 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Spank Spike Race 33 Wheelset”

C138_cross_section_spikerace33
Review by Steve Wentz // Action photos by Jeff Cricco It was only a few short years ago that Spank was one of the 'little guys' amongst some of the heaviest hitters in the component world. They had some colorful bars, pedals, and rims to upgrade your ride. Over time they have added tremendous versatility to their line of products, not just with additional components, but most importantly with specific product lines for all-mountain, downhill and so forth. Spank's Spike Race 33 wheelset slots into their lineup as an affordable gravity wheelset at just $499.99. Just as with their other products, Spank put a unique spin on Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member TRex
328 TRex http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/328/avatar/c50_91632150_1249393996.jpg?1290150582 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TRex,328/all 08/04/09 10 2 43 223 9 11

Ergon GA2 Grip

Featured Review

“Ergon GA2 Grip Review- Ok grip but not astounding”

C138_ga2

The Good:

Decent amount of grip, unique multiple compounds, hard wearing, doesn't slip

The Bad:

Hands fatigue fairly quickly on rougher terrain.

Overall Review: Ergon is well known for their thoughtful, sciency approach to making MTB components and gear, and i think this can be a huge benefit, but can also create a product full of unnecessary features. I feel like these grips fall somewhere in the middle. They have a single lock on clamp allowing you to have your hands on the outside of the grip with more comfort, and thus far (after about six months of use) have been slip free This was something I was honestly a bit worried about after coming off the dual clamp ODI grips I was used to. One fairly unique trait of the Ergon grips is their directionality, they have very specific patterns and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Race Face Turbine R Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Turbine R Wheelset”

C138_screen_shot_2016_09_26_at_12.17.46_pm
Review by Matt Thompson // Action Photos by Jeff Cricco (@jeffcricco) Canadian component heavyweight, Race Face, sent us their 27.5 Turbine R wheels for some long-term trail bike abuse. The black-on-black, asymmetric 30mm-wide aluminum rims are mated to Race Face's first from-the-ground-up-designed hubs, dubbed Vault. Race Face Vault hubs feature 120 points of engagement and large 6902 series bearings. The complete wheelset weighs 1730g (27.5) and use a single spoke length throughout the entire structure. Race Face Turbine R Features Built for XC, Trail and Enduro use Available Options: 15x100 Front (tested) convertible Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ballr
12 ballr http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12/avatar/c50_91639130_1248750604.jpg?1290149919 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/all 07/23/09 3 20 3 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/setup 2 19 100 4 1

Jaybird Freedom

Vital Review

“Tested: Jaybird Freedom Wireless Earbuds”

C138_20160524150357_jaybirdfreedomcompweb
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord Lots of people like to listen to music on the go. Whether while traveling, working out, or on the commute to work, listening to your favorite music can help make time go by a little quicker and little more joyously. Although mountain biking provides plenty of thrills on its own, a lot of riders like to listen to music out on the bike too, especially if we’re talking about training rides. We tested the Jaybird Bluebud X a couple of years ago with awesome results both on and off the bike, so when they released the all-new Freedom model, we were keen to give it spin Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 772 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 53 341 3838 90 28