Latest Product Reviews

RSS

CamelBak Palos LR 4 Hydration Pack

“I'm a fanny packer now”

C138_camelbak_palos_lr_4

The Good:

small, lightweight, keeps your back from getting sweaty, holds everything you need

The Bad:

Cleaning the bit valve, looks dorky to some

Overall Review: After searching for a fanny pack (since they are soo hot right now) I narrowed it down to 3 options; The dakine, the Source and the Camelbak. Since I have always liked camelbak'sfunctionality and the brand's culture I decided to go with it, not to mention that I got a great deal on it compared to the others. The one I got is very similar to the Palos with just a few small differences that most wouldn't notice. It has about 1.5 liters of water storage in the bladderthat came included and room for all of your crap in the main compartment. I fit in there a multitool, pump, tire levers, first aid bandages, leatherman, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

ODI AG1 Lock-On Grip

“Love these grips”

C138_ag_1_lock_on_grips_135mm_black

The Good:

durability, style, grip, slim profile

The Bad:

nothing here

Overall Review: I have used ODI grips for a long time (ruffians for DH) but after getting out of DH and more into trail bikes I wanted to try some new brands and see what is out there. I tried the stock bontrager lock on grips that came on my trek remedy, then I switched to the new Ergon fancy grips but I found myself coming back to ODI time and time again. I know that the grip is an often overlooked component for bike manufacturers so upgrading grips when you get a new bike is almost mandatory now. I personally like a slimmer profile grip but one with some texture to it so I can hold it easier when the riding gets rough. The 4 little Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

DVO Diamond Fork

“Brief glimpse of brilliance”

C138_dvo_diamond_fork

The Good:

The price, the styling, the plushness, amount of adjustments, ease of changing travel

The Bad:

the time it takes to set up, it attracts dirt and doesn't ever get clean again (I own the black version)

Overall Review: I only got a handful of rides in on this beauty of a fork but I was very impressed with the limited time I had on it. I got the 27.5 version and put in on my Cannondale jekyll.After considering the pike very heavily for the upgrade (since I've owned it before), I decided to try something different and go with the DVO this time around. I am glad that I did! First, I love how clean and solid looking it is. There are no stickers, the decals are emboldened on the lowers and the stealth black color makes it blend in. The thru axle is great but has 2 tapers in it, so it can be a pain in the ass to get it to seat in compared to the pike. Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

Five Ten Freerider Shoe

“The only MTB shoe I will buy from now on!”

C138_five_ten_freerider_shoe_maroon

The Good:

Everything

The Bad:

Nothing that I noticed

Overall Review: The 5.10freeridershoe is my second 5.10 shoe that I bought. The first one was the sam hill high top used for DH and now that I ride trail mostly, I needed a new shoe that was lighter and more breathable but still had the grip I came to love with my DH shoes. It was great that I didn't even have to shop around much for different shoes. I know the quality that is brought to the table with 5.10 and that my money will be well spent on them, no matter what the initial cost is. I looked at the shimano and the specialized shoes too but for the price, I didn't want to take a risk knowing that there was a solid winner right Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

Evoc CC 16l Hydration Pack

Featured Member Review

“Most stylish pack I have ever bought!”

C138_red

The Good:

Price, Design, Back protector, Comfort, Accessories

The Bad:

There is no rain cover on the one I bought

Overall Review: I needed a new backpack for my long enduro rides and it needed to be something that could hold a large amount of gear and water while not moving around on my back when I ride. I can't stand that on a sick downhill section when the backpack comes and hits you in the back of the head, so annoying! I have tried the dakine nomad and the leattcargo gpxpacks and did not like them much. The dakine is cool but the harness that is supposed to keep your back dry didn't accomplish its goal and the leatt was too constrictive while riding with it. The EVOC on the other hand has everything you need to get the job done, it even has a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

2017 Growler Bikes Mr. Big Stuff Fat Bike

“Growler Bikes Rocks the Trails!”

C138_grolwer_generic_badge

The Good:

Light weight, climbs up everything! One bike frame that can handle just about any size 27+, 29+ or fatty! Custom colors, logos, etc!

The Bad:

I did break a chain after only 2 months (I did stretch it out to its max), but I really can't complain I ride pretty hard!

Overall Review: I have had my custom Growler 27+ (medium frame) for 2 months now and I beat the snot out of it. Light weight, climbs up everything! I went with a Growler because a big box store brand (Trek, GT etc) would have cost me 30% to 40% more!! Plus I would have been stuck with one tire/rim size unlike the Growler where I have one bike frame that can handle just about any size 27+, 29+ or fatty!Its a blast to ride and I would highly recommended one from beginners to even more advanced riders looking for a kick ass hardtail mountain bike!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member waasofoz
44742 waasofoz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44742/avatar/c50_Growler_Bike_1499379425.jpg?1499378737 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/waasofoz,44742/all 07/06/17 3

100% Strata Goggles

“There when you need them!”

C138_arkon_mirror_silver_lens

The Good:

Price, quality, color options

The Bad:

no cool helmet strapping system like the others

Overall Review: I really enjoy the simplicity of these goggles, for the price I don't think they can be beat! While shopping for goggles, I noticed that any pair which has a "helmet strapping system" employed on the outer frame of them, are much more pricey and I never thought that made or unmade a goggle anyways so why not give these a try and I'm glad to say that I did. They come in a handy case that you can use to clean the lenses, there is a silaconestrap imprinted on the main strap to keep it from moving while you have it on and the lenses are super easy to take in and out. All of these features are not revolutionary in the goggle world and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

7iDP Flex Gloves

“Wont be buying these ones again ”

C138_7idp_gloves_2016_0005_flex_red

The Good:

cheap and they look nice

The Bad:

finger tips and wrist are too small to get your hand in them!

Overall Review: I really like this company's knee pads, so I thought of them when selecting a new set of gloves. That was a wrong selection since I could barely fit in these things. The size is correct but since they don't have any sort of "closing" feature you need to stuff your hand in there deep to get these things on and it is a big pain in the ass while out on the trail. I'm used to my previous gloves from ONE and they are the same design but you can get them on and off in a snap while not feeling loose while you ride with them. I know other companies have figured this glove thing out, so I'm not sure why 7idp hasn't yet. I will never buy Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 143 146 24 1

FOX FLOAT DPS Rear Shock

“Great Shock ”

C138_float_dps_factory_specs_01

The Good:

it's gold, it holds air, it dampens, what more could you want from a shock,

The Bad:

it's pricey af, lockout is not a true lockout

Overall Review: I bought this new in 2013 so the tune might be a bit different but the shock is essentially the same. I purchased this for my Intense Tracer build. Great fit, does a great job at what it's supposed to do. I was initially reluctant at having something a CTD as I normally like fiddling with my own suspension settings but after having used this for several years I can honestly say it is a great no-brainer design. I think my biggest complaint would be the price, the lack of a true lockout and you would think that for the price Fox would have designed the bushings to be able to be clamped down but still move Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Park Tool PCS-9 Economy Home Repair Stand

“Great (Neighbor Inviting) Bike Stand”

C138_tl702g00

The Good:

price is right, does the job, folds up and stows out of the way, comes in blue and or blue, calls to my 80 year old neighbor

The Bad:

not made of carbon, costs an amount of money and it comes in blue, calls to my 80 year old neighbor

Overall Review: I purchased this for obvious reasons, it's a perfect place to make sandwiches, ha no in all seriousness, it makes working on my bikes wicked convenient. I sometimes hang my bike from it by the seat, sometimes I use the clamp on the down tube and I have even used it to clamp onto the seat stay to hold the bike up (watch those brake cables). The clamp actually has a recess in it which I swear was designed to let a cable fit into without crushing it when clamped (one of those features you take for granted but when you think about it you are actually grateful for) good job Park. The stand also seems Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31