Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Guerrilla Gravity GG/DH Frame

“Quality Frame, Great Price, Awesome Company”

C138_dsc_0091

The Good:

Easy to set up, easy to maintain, great suspension characteristics, made in the U.S.

The Bad:

I guess they're taking manufacturing jobs away from Taiwan...

Overall Review: The bike is pretty much all they say it is: simple, stiff, likes going fast. The suspension lends itself to getting up and over obstacles.  I have it set up so it has plenty of traction while maintaining great bottom out resistance. In fact, I don't think I have ever been more comfortable just sending it to flat or less-than-ideal landing situations; the suspension is that confidence inspiring.  The geometry is great; slightly longer reach gives an unreal feeling of security. I expected a bike with more length to be harder to throw around in the air, but honestly I haven't noticed a significant difference. The bike corners excellently too. I don't notice any lateral flex no matter how hard I push it into corners. I have been really pleased with mine, and would absolutely recommend it to a friend.

FOX Transfer Dropper Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: FOX Transfer Dropper Post”

C138_transfer_factory_kashima_internal
by Fred Robinson FOX is back in the dropper game with their new Transfer seatpost. Designed from the ground up, the Transfer features an infinitely adjustable system, Kashima coating (Factory model only) and two new levers which do away with the dual-paddle triggers found on the D.O.S.S. dropper. Available in both external and internal cable routing, FOX employed some new key features into the design of the post. Both the external- and internal-routed posts utilize what FOX calls the Spool Valve, which allows for modulation when extending the Transfer. This makes small, precise height adjustments possible as the return Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 130 3 255 166 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 30 206 57 41

Black Market Contraband Frame

“Awesome Frame”

C138_flat_aqua_contraband

The Good:

Super Strong, Perfect geometry. Sexy as hell.

The Bad:

A tad heavy, but well worth it for the durability.

Overall Review: I designed my own frame, and had a buddy build it for me. After I broke it (tubing was too light) I found the contraband had almost EXACTLY the same specs as my custom bike! I've been riding it for many many years, and it's performed flawlessly.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member sittingduck
422 sittingduck http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/422/avatar/c50_89103310_1249606618.jpg?1290150742 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/sittingduck,422/all 08/06/09 1 18 1

Hope Technology 11 spd Cassette Cassette

Vital Review

“Tested: Hope 10-44T Cassette”

C138_hope_44t_cass_587x391
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow When SRAM introduced its XX1 group, over 4 years ago now already, it kicked off the first real wave of significant (r)evolution in mountain bike drivetrains for some time. Sure, we’d been steadily gaining cogs out back and Shimano had introduced the clutch derailleur as a way to help keep chain slap at bay, but essentially, we were still talking about the same old stuff. The advent of the wide range, 1x11 transmission changed all that. On the back of SRAM’s big move, cassettes started getting wider and front derailleurs were discarded by the Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 68 820 1743 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 48 295 3526 83 27

Giro Feature MIPS Helmet

“Great Helmet”

C138_giro_feature_mips_helmet_matte_black

The Good:

Fits well
Comfortable
Offers great protection
Reasonably priced

The Bad:

Probably have to buy a new one after one ride.

Overall Review: I recently bought one of these, the Blue and lime green one to be exact. From the get go, the way the helmet sat on my head made me feel solidly protected.  Just walking around waiting for a race to start, and having it sit idly on my head for over an hour, I forgot that it was there, which is extremely hard to come by in a helmet.  I barely made it 0.3 miles into my race before taking a huge slam into the ground.  Helmet has a fairly sizeable dent in it now. I suffered from a sprained shoulder and laceration on my arm, but I had no concussion. Now that is either dumb luck, or good engineering on the behalf of Giro and the MIPS.  I would definitely buy this helmet again, and probably will have to judging on the dent in the side of the helmet.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Joe_B
41003 Joe_B http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/41003/avatar/c50_dh_1464310073.jpg?1464309371 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Joe-B,41003/all 05/26/16 1

6D ATB-1T Open Face Helmet

Featured Review

“ A New Player in the Trail Helmet Game”

C138_0ff0f8_c531ae5e1c074c1b8299b0543adf24c7

The Good:

Quiet, does not squeak or rattle like MIPS. Comfort was a priority for 6D on this and it shows.

The Bad:

Weight is a touch higher than most.

Overall Review: There's been an increasing demand for helmets equipped with concussion reduction technology, and there has historically been one option for that technology – MIPS. MIPS seemingly took the bicycle helmet industry by storm a few years back, but we now have a new player producing some amazing helmets. 6D has been manufacturing helmets used in motocross and BMX for a while, and has finally ventured into mountain bike with the ATB-1T. This helmet uses a system they are calling ODS, or Omni-Directional Suspension. It's similar to MIPS, but it's executed a bit differently. The system basically creates a ball-in-socket from the Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member Perry_Hall
5090 Perry_Hall http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/5090/avatar/c50_89043280_1288319302.jpg?1290165043 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Perry-Hall,5090/all 10/28/10 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Perry-Hall,5090/setup 2 9 1

Pedro's Cable Cutter

Featured Review

“ Vote for Pedro”

C138_tl602d02

The Good:

Super crisp and clean cuts, Secure locking feature, Comfy handle, Jaws open wide (5.74mm)

The Bad:

No crimping feature for end caps/ferrules

Overall Review: In regards to tools for us self-titled “home mechanics,” housing and cable cutters may not be the mostly used tool, but they certainly need to function the best. Spending $10 on cheap cutters can get the job done but often times with frayed cable ends. Dropping $50+ on hyper nice cutters may be a little overkill for the average cyclist who is too cheap or independent to have the work done at their LBS. After using a the Park Tool CN-10 cutters for 4 years, I decided to try out a pair of Pedros cutters. After a full year of using them, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: The first thing I noticed when Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Park Tool Professional Cable And Housing Cutter

Featured Review

“ Better than dikes”

C138_parktool_cn_10_08_m

The Good:

Cuts crips and clean most of the time, Comfy handle, Jaws open super wide (6.90mm), Crimping feature for end caps/ferrules

The Bad:

Not the most secure locking feature, Came loose on me and never cut the same since

Overall Review: In regards to tools for us self-titled “home mechanics,” housing and cable cutters may not be the mostly used tool, but they certainly need to function the best. Spending $10 on cheap cutters can get the job done but often times with frayed cable ends. Dropping $50+ on hyper nice cutters may be a little overkill for the average cyclist who is too cheap or independent to have the work done at their LBS. In search for the best valued cutters, I purchased the Park Tool CN-10 cutters. After 5 years of use, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: The Park Tool CN-10 cutters look and function Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Gamut Podium Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Gamut Podium Flat Pedals”

C138_podium1_01921.1452641993.490.490
by Fred Robinson Considering we pretty much have three contact points connecting us to our bikes, we’d argue that the pedals might be the most critical in terms of fit, function and feel. That said, over the past seven-or-so years we’ve seen a pretty big change in what’s available as far as pedal shape, weight and profile. We don’t recall exactly when it happened, but it seemed like, all of a sudden, there was a huge race between pedal manufacturers to make the thinnest pedal possible. Some of the resulting pedals were, excuse the pun, flat-out terrifying. One pedal that came along during that period was the Point One Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 130 3 255 166 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 30 206 57 41

RockShox Reverb Stealth B1 Dropper Post

Featured Review

“ Redemption of the Reverb”

C138_2017_rockshox_reverb_stealth_b1

The Good:

Effortless initiation. Smooth motion. Durable!!!

The Bad:

At $471, the price could turn some people away.

Overall Review: I’ve owned a number of RockShox Reverb Stealth (A2) dropper posts and it seemed that the durability declined with each one I got. This got so bad that I contacted my LBS and filed a warranty replacement (on a post that was less than 2 months old!) Sram sent out a replacement Reverb Stealth and to my surprise, it was the new B1 version. For those new to dropper posts, the RockShox Reverb Stealth was known to be one of the best performing and smoothest dropper posts out there. Many people began to experience issues with the Reverb’s durability and performance. The most common issue was a defect on the Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53