Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Royal 2016 Impact Short Short

Featured Review

“Royal Racing Impact Short Review- Most comfortable short I've ever owned”

C138_impact_short_nvy_b_f_nb

The Good:

Comfortable and lightweight, great fit, durable, and look nice on or off the bike

The Bad:

A bit shorter than I prefer, wish they came with a liner

Overall Review: Royal Racing first caught my attention when I saw Steve Peat wearing their gear, and admittedly I was intrigued. They looked like they made well fitting and awesome looking clothing, and so far everything I own from the brand has me impressed. I have owned their Stage shorts for about 8 months now and honestly they are my go to everytime I ride. They have survived numerous crashes, days in the park and long days in the saddle without flinching. My Troy Lee shorts and Fox shorts went mostly unused after getting them. Basically Royal made the perfect short for me, they have a longer fit that covered my kneepads Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Park Tool Dial Kit For DT3 Truing Gauge

Featured Review

“Park Tool - Rotor Dial Kit (DT-3i)”

C138_12416

The Good:

Insanely accurate, Very easy to read, Will help you get any rotor true.

The Bad:

Pricey ($80 if starting with only the truing stand), Delicate (Store in a safe place)

Overall Review: When it comes to spending money on tools for your personal work bench, one could easily spend more than $1,000 and be missing quite a few. Where does one draw the line when enough is enough? The answer is honestly, never. That being the case, I picked up the Park Tool Dial kit for my truing stand. After 2 years of using it, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: When I opened the box, I was pretty darn surprised. I ordered the Dial Kit and that was exactly what came in the box, nothing more, nothing less. That being said. I didn’t have the arm to actually attach the thing onto my stand which Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Pedro's Multi Spoke Wrench

Featured Review

“Pedro's Multi Spoke Wrench”

C138_l131103

The Good:

Light weight, Easy to stow for on-trail application

The Bad:

Horrible design for regular use

Overall Review: I picked up the Pedro’s Multi Spoke wrench which was included in a starter kit when I first started working on my own bikes a long, long time ago and to be honest, I have only used it when I was in dire need of a wheel true. Below are my impressions: Out of the Box: The Pedro’s Multi Spoke wrench first appeared to me as something awesome. It’s literally 3 spoke wrenches in one and weighs something around a silver dollar coin. Perfect for stowing in a camelbak or saddle bag while riding down the whole enchilada in Moab, Utah. I took a spill while I was there and actually used it to get my wheel from rubbing on Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Park Tool Spoke Tension Meter

Featured Review

“Park Tool - Spoke Tension Meter TM-1”

C138_parktool_tm_1_08_m

The Good:

Easy to use, Easy to read, Simply makes wheel-building easier.

The Bad:

Nothing at all.

Overall Review: A long, long time ago, one of my closest biking friends taught me how to lace up and build wheels. It was hard to comprehend at first but with experience, became almost second nature. Difficult at first, there were a few tools that I had become accustomed to which has taken much of the difficulty out of it. Proper truing stand is a must but to lace up a wheel perfectly, measuring spoke tension is everything. That’s where the Park Tool TM-1 tool comes into play. After years of experience with it, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: The craftsmanship of this tool is top notch. Great looking with high Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Ryders Eyewear Tallcan Goggles

Vital Review

“Tested: Ryders Tallcan Goggle”

C138_tallcanblack_3q_1024x458_1024x458
Review by Jo Pauly // Photos by Jean-Marie Plaçais When you picture the North Shore, you probably think of a thick, humid forest with a crazy trail weaving through it. Suddenly Thomas Vanderham rides into sight and shreds the living hell out of the trail. Well, Thomas Vanderham is part of the Ryders' team and was involved in the making of the new Tallcan goggle. With a double lens, which is hydrophobic and scratch-resist-coated, and clever venting placement on the frames, these goggles have been designed to keep your vision clear in even the most humid of conditions; just like on The Shore. Ryders Tallcan Goggle Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member jo@RideAbility
24741 jo@RideAbility http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24741/avatar/c50_Joe_Top_Gun_Kicker_2_1369774582.jpg?1369773886 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jo-RideAbility,24741/all 05/28/13 2

Crank Brothers Stamp Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Stamp Flat Pedal”

C138_stamp_blacklarge_sm_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Nils Hjord Crankbrothers was historically never one of the front runners in the flat pedal race considering how popular their clipless pedal are, but with the introduction of the Stamp pedal, they are looking to change that up. The Stamp is a resolutely modern take on the flat pedal, wide and thin. It is also one of only a few pedals to be offered in multiple sizes, which allows you to match them to your shoe size. To make sure we gave both the available sizes a good pasting, we recruited a little extra grom help and hit the trails. Read on to find out how we got Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 820 1730 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 51 321 3679 86 28

7iDP Crew Socks

“7iDP Crew Socks Review - They cover my feet and look cool”

C138_sock_front

The Good:

Comfortable, good fit, good coverage, look sweet

The Bad:

Nothing yet

Overall Review: I'll start off by admitting to the fact that writing a review about socks is a little trivial, but here goes nothing. I love 7 Protection, they have saved my knees from many an unplannedejection, and have gotten my loyalty for their nice design and ergonomics. I used to ride with ankle socks, but after a while getting hit in the shin by numerous stupid plants, cactuses (socks don't do much about cactus thorns though) and random other trail obstacles I began to see the merit. I'll admit the bros I see wearing tall socks everywhere made me hesitate inbuying taller socks, I try to stay as far away from being a tool as possible, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Ergon GA2 Grip

Featured Review

“Ergon GA2 Grip Review- Ok grip but not astounding”

C138_ga2

The Good:

Decent amount of grip, unique multiple compounds, hard wearing, doesn't slip

The Bad:

Hands fatigue fairly quickly on rougher terrain.

Overall Review: Ergon is well known for their thoughtful, sciency approach to making MTB components and gear, and i think this can be a huge benefit, but can also create a product full of unnecessary features. I feel like these grips fall somewhere in the middle. They have a single lock on clamp allowing you to have your hands on the outside of the grip with more comfort, and thus far (after about six months of use) have been slip free This was something I was honestly a bit worried about after coming off the dual clamp ODI grips I was used to. One fairly unique trait of the Ergon grips is their directionality, they have very specific patterns and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Jaybird Freedom

Vital Review

“Tested: Jaybird Freedom Wireless Earbuds”

C138_20160524150357_jaybirdfreedomcompweb
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord Lots of people like to listen to music on the go. Whether while traveling, working out, or on the commute to work, listening to your favorite music can help make time go by a little quicker and little more joyously. Although mountain biking provides plenty of thrills on its own, a lot of riders like to listen to music out on the bike too, especially if we’re talking about training rides. We tested the Jaybird Bluebud X a couple of years ago with awesome results both on and off the bike, so when they released the all-new Freedom model, we were keen to give it spin Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 820 1730 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 51 321 3679 86 28

OneUp Components Bash Guide

Vital Review

“Tested: OneUp Components Bash Guide”

C138_oneup_components_iscg_05_bash_guide_32t_green_black
Review by Matt Swenson // Photos by Chris Wellhausen (Action) and Matt Swenson (Product) OneUp Components produces a wide range of drivetrain products and this Bash Guide, they claim, will “eliminate dropped chains forever and more than double your chainring life.” The simplistic, light and durable chainguide isn’t just for enduro racers like Richie Rude and Jared Graves, we used it for trail riding, bike park ripping and even some DH racing. After two months of testing on two different bikes, we’re ready to share our thoughts on this guide. OneUp Bash Guide Features Weight: 87g 28-30T, 102g 32-34T, 105g 36T Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member @mattyswenson
9703 @mattyswenson http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/9703/avatar/c50_matt_HS_valhalla_1463510644.jpg?1463510539 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mattyswenson,9703/all 07/19/11 1 7 2 1 1 9 3 1