Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Crank Brothers Stamp Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Stamp Flat Pedal”

C138_stamp_blacklarge_sm_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Nils Hjord Crankbrothers was historically never one of the front runners in the flat pedal race considering how popular their clipless pedal are, but with the introduction of the Stamp pedal, they are looking to change that up. The Stamp is a resolutely modern take on the flat pedal, wide and thin. It is also one of only a few pedals to be offered in multiple sizes, which allows you to match them to your shoe size. To make sure we gave both the available sizes a good pasting, we recruited a little extra grom help and hit the trails. Read on to find out how we got Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 52 332 3772 86 28

7iDP Crew Socks

“7iDP Crew Socks Review - They cover my feet and look cool”

C138_sock_front

The Good:

Comfortable, good fit, good coverage, look sweet

The Bad:

Nothing yet

Overall Review: I'll start off by admitting to the fact that writing a review about socks is a little trivial, but here goes nothing. I love 7 Protection, they have saved my knees from many an unplannedejection, and have gotten my loyalty for their nice design and ergonomics. I used to ride with ankle socks, but after a while getting hit in the shin by numerous stupid plants, cactuses (socks don't do much about cactus thorns though) and random other trail obstacles I began to see the merit. I'll admit the bros I see wearing tall socks everywhere made me hesitate inbuying taller socks, I try to stay as far away from being a tool as possible, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Spank Spike Race 33 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Spank Spike Race 33 Wheelset”

C138_cross_section_spikerace33
Review by Steve Wentz // Action photos by Jeff Cricco It was only a few short years ago that Spank was one of the 'little guys' amongst some of the heaviest hitters in the component world. They had some colorful bars, pedals, and rims to upgrade your ride. Over time they have added tremendous versatility to their line of products, not just with additional components, but most importantly with specific product lines for all-mountain, downhill and so forth. Spank's Spike Race 33 wheelset slots into their lineup as an affordable gravity wheelset at just $499.99. Just as with their other products, Spank put a unique spin on Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member TRex
328 TRex http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/328/avatar/c50_91632150_1249393996.jpg?1290150582 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/TRex,328/all 08/04/09 10 2 43 221 9 11

Ergon GA2 Grip

Featured Review

“Ergon GA2 Grip Review- Ok grip but not astounding”

C138_ga2

The Good:

Decent amount of grip, unique multiple compounds, hard wearing, doesn't slip

The Bad:

Hands fatigue fairly quickly on rougher terrain.

Overall Review: Ergon is well known for their thoughtful, sciency approach to making MTB components and gear, and i think this can be a huge benefit, but can also create a product full of unnecessary features. I feel like these grips fall somewhere in the middle. They have a single lock on clamp allowing you to have your hands on the outside of the grip with more comfort, and thus far (after about six months of use) have been slip free This was something I was honestly a bit worried about after coming off the dual clamp ODI grips I was used to. One fairly unique trait of the Ergon grips is their directionality, they have very specific patterns and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Race Face Turbine R Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Turbine R Wheelset”

C138_screen_shot_2016_09_26_at_12.17.46_pm
Review by Matt Thompson // Action Photos by Jeff Cricco (@jeffcricco) Canadian component heavyweight, Race Face, sent us their 27.5 Turbine R wheels for some long-term trail bike abuse. The black-on-black, asymmetric 30mm-wide aluminum rims are mated to Race Face's first from-the-ground-up-designed hubs, dubbed Vault. Race Face Vault hubs feature 120 points of engagement and large 6902 series bearings. The complete wheelset weighs 1730g (27.5) and use a single spoke length throughout the entire structure. Race Face Turbine R Features Built for XC, Trail and Enduro use Available Options: 15x100 Front (tested) convertible Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ballr
12 ballr http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12/avatar/c50_91639130_1248750604.jpg?1290149919 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/all 07/23/09 3 20 3 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ballr,12/setup 2 19 100 4

Jaybird Freedom

Vital Review

“Tested: Jaybird Freedom Wireless Earbuds”

C138_20160524150357_jaybirdfreedomcompweb
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord Lots of people like to listen to music on the go. Whether while traveling, working out, or on the commute to work, listening to your favorite music can help make time go by a little quicker and little more joyously. Although mountain biking provides plenty of thrills on its own, a lot of riders like to listen to music out on the bike too, especially if we’re talking about training rides. We tested the Jaybird Bluebud X a couple of years ago with awesome results both on and off the bike, so when they released the all-new Freedom model, we were keen to give it spin Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 52 332 3772 86 28

OneUp Components Bash Guide

Vital Review

“Tested: OneUp Components Bash Guide”

C138_oneup_components_iscg_05_bash_guide_32t_green_black
Review by Matt Swenson // Photos by Chris Wellhausen (Action) and Matt Swenson (Product) OneUp Components produces a wide range of drivetrain products and this Bash Guide, they claim, will “eliminate dropped chains forever and more than double your chainring life.” The simplistic, light and durable chainguide isn’t just for enduro racers like Richie Rude and Jared Graves, we used it for trail riding, bike park ripping and even some DH racing. After two months of testing on two different bikes, we’re ready to share our thoughts on this guide. OneUp Bash Guide Features Weight: 87g 28-30T, 102g 32-34T, 105g 36T Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member @mattyswenson
9703 @mattyswenson http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/9703/avatar/c50_matt_HS_valhalla_1463510644.jpg?1463510539 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mattyswenson,9703/all 07/19/11 1 7 2 1 1 9 3 1

Five Ten Impact Low Flat Pedal Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 Five Ten Impact Low”

C138_black_blue
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord If there is one name in mountain biking that is synonymous with flat pedal shoes, it’s Five Ten. And if there is one model that is synonymous with Five Ten, it’s the Impact. With design roots that hark back to the very first experiments with sticky climbing rubber for mountain biking, the Impact has always been the prime choice for flat pedal riders everywhere. That is not to say that this shoe has been exempt of criticism throughout its lifetime, in fact, far from it. There have been many well-documented quality issues over the years, and anybody who Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 52 332 3772 86 28

Charge Spoon Saddle

“Spoon!!!--The Tick”

C138_charge_spoon_saddle_black

The Good:

Great price, nice fabric material and comfortable!

The Bad:

Probably too wide for technical, aggressive riding and shape is a bit 'old school'

Overall Review: I bought this to use on my gravel bike since I needed a comfy seat for long rides in the saddle. It was the perfect width and shape for me, felt very comfortable from the moment I sat in it.  The price was great, since saddles at low price points seem to be pretty bulky with less than ideal materials.  I don't think I'd use this saddle on the my trail bike though, since it's a little wide and the nose shape is not conducive to sitting at the nose and climbing like on a saddle with a flat wide nose.  The color touches on the saddle matches my bike perfectly, subtle and classy.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member MatadorCE
42144 MatadorCE http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42144/avatar/c50_futurama_roberto.thumbnail_1472049538.jpg?1472048893 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MatadorCE,42144/all 08/24/16 3 1

Charge Spoon Saddle

“The name says it all!”

C138_charge_spoon_saddle_black

The Good:

Super confy saddle, extremely well made and CHEAP!

The Bad:

Not the best option for those who have numbness problems like me

Overall Review: I suffer a lot from numbness in the southern regions and this saddle is so good that i really really felt bad for not sticking with it, since it gave me numbness, has it has no depression for the perineal area and as it is more of a round shaped saddle. However it is a dream of a saddle! Extremely well made, at a price that is total bargain, and the most confortable saddle i have ever tried! The round shape feels like a spoon, like someone was holding your butt with their bare hands. For someone that doesn't have such a weird anatomy as me, buy it and stick with it for the rest of your life!