Latest Product Reviews

RSS

100% Accuri Goggles

Featured Review

“100% worth the money”

C138_50210_158_02

The Good:

Exceptional materials
High quality lens
Foam contorts to face nicely
Tons of color options
Removable straps for cleaning etc.

The Bad:

Could have come with a true microfiber bag.

Overall Review: I own 2 pairs of the Accuri goggles and these are by far my favorite goggles I've ever owned. Manufacturing Quality: I feel like 100% doesn't cut corners on their goggle production like certain companies do. The materials from the frame plastic all the way to the stitching on the strap is top notch. Compared to Smith, Oakley, and Spy, I feel the lensclarityis exceptional and the lenses tend to have a little bit more scratch resistance than other brands. The foam is also one the best, if not the best out on the market. What I mean by this is that the foam is not only soft and durable, but they mold to your face very nicely. This Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork

“Best fork for some, Okay fork for others.”

C138_fs_pike_2715_blk_tpr_a17l

The Good:

It's so damn light.
Super stiff for it's weight.
Easy to maintain.
Dual position rocks.
Sram customer service rocks!

The Bad:

Could be more plush through it's first 1" of travel.
Could have a little more adjustability.
No 20mm version.

Overall Review: As the title says, this fork can either be the best fork in the world, or rather just an okay one. All this depends on your riding style and preference. If you are a true trail rider and light on your stuff, this fork can't get any better. It's light and stiff considering it's weight. It also feels pretty darn good. I'd look no further. If you are more of an aggressive enduro rider / freerider, I would recommend the new Lyric or Fox 36. Yes they are heavier but the adjustability of both of these forks as well as the plushness throughout all stages of travel are amazing. The question that one needs to ask themselves is, "Is Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

2015 Trek Slash 9.8 Carbon 27.5

“Super fun bike but should be better than what it is.”

C138_trek_slash_9.8_27.5

The Good:

Full Carbon and super light for pedaling.
A bunch of technology specific for Trek.
Colors and paint is AWESOME.
It's a good "all around" trailbike.

The Bad:

Outdated geometry (shorter and taller)
Little bit more frame flex than other bikes in it's class.
Trek's specific BB is bad news for durability.
Weird shock length limits aftermarket shocks options.

Overall Review: Trek makes great, high quality products and this bike is no exception. It pedals well and descends well too. If you LOVE Trek bikes than you will really enjoy this bike. The paint is done well and it seams like Trek produced this bike very well. With that being said, lets jump into that I didn't like so much.. Trek has made this bike so light that I feel there is a little more flex than what should be. An XL frame sat at 28 lbs. I would rather have it weight 28.5 lbs and have a stiffer ride. The bottom bracket is a pressfit but the same kind that Trek puts on it's carbon road bikes. That being said, regular pressfit BBs have Read More »
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

2015 Santa Cruz Nomad Carbon X01 27.5

“The bike that shouldn't exist. ”

C138_2015_santa_cruz_nomad_test_session_build

The Good:

Easy to set-up, easy to ride.
Light weight and stiff.
Simple yet brilliant frame design.
Frame built to last.
Excellent customer support from company.

The Bad:

Grease gun ports haven't really worked for me.
Could have more rubber frame guards.

Overall Review: Swapped our my Trek Slash for this bike. I'm a professional mechanic and avid freerider and there are a few things that lead me this way. Geometry, long and low. I'm 6' 3" and need an XL frame but most XL frames (including my Slash) has a seattube so darn high I get bucked in the steep, buttpucker lines. The Nomad has a seattube that is 1" to 2" lower than other frames in it's class. That was huge for riding confidence. It's also a super lively bike. It's not as smooth as the Yeti SB6c but it rebounds and can be thrown around much quicker. It doesn't take much to swing the rear tire around a tight corner or get the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

2015 Trek Session 9.9 DH 27.5 Bike

“The best "everything" DH bike, if you can afford it.”

C138_trek_session_9.9_dh_27.5

The Good:

Lively yet stable.
True full carbon frame.
Confidence inspiring.
Sexy as hell.

The Bad:

Paint chips easily. Could have a wider downtube frame guard. Pivot bearings came dry.

Overall Review: This is my second Session 9.9 I've owned (the first one being the 2012 model) and I must say, it has only gotten better and better since then. The 2012 model was super smooth and quiet when going through the rough stuff but the 2015 and 2016 frame is even more smoother. The reason why is because the Session 9.9 comes with a carbon evo link and chainstay (something that was alloy in years past). One thing that everyone gets nervous about this bike is that it's carbon. Granted carbon can and has cracked, Trek does a great job impregnating their mountain specific carbon to make it stronger for obvious reasons. If that Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down

RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork

“Great fork, but improvable.”

C138_fs_pike_2715_blk_tpr_a17l

The Good:

Looks, weight, adjustability,performance.

The Bad:

Finish coat, negative air chamber.

Overall Review: The fork works great when you find the sweet spot, until that moment you think you've been scammed and you think that all the good reviews are fake, or your fork is defective, or that Rockshox bribes. But adjusting the pressure fine to my weight (70kg) and put a token, and then the fork becomes invincible against bottom out, but supple at the same time. Regarding the Charger damper... well...I comes from Marzocchi, and i feel the Charger a little "stiff", "lazy" on the first rides, but once is break-in and on the dirt does its job well. Also mention that it has improved with the SKF seals, but i still prefer a bit the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member MAT7nueve
38493 MAT7nueve http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38493/avatar/c50_MAT_6422_1450048625.jpg?1450048400 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MAT7nueve,38493/all 12/13/15 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/MAT7nueve,38493/setup 8 1

Royal 2016 Storm Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Storm Waterproof Short”

C138_storm_short_blk_f
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Nils Hjord and Johan Hjord There is no bad weather, only bad gear. That is especially true when it comes to riding in the wet and in the cold. With their roots and development in the UK, the Royal Racing crew knows a thing or two about what it takes to keep comfortable when the heavens open up, and the Storm short is their ultimate weapon for combatting adverse atmospheric conditions. We took aim for the puddles and we’re ready to let you know if it is up to the task at hand. Royal Racing Storm Short Highlights Fully water proof, breathable and stretchy “3 layer” 10,000 MVP fabric Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 744 52 684 1646 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 30 248 3074 72 23

Hope Technology Tech 3 E4 Hydraulic Disc Brake Set

Featured Review

“Hope Technology Tech 3 E4 Brakes”

C138_tech3_e4_caliper_b_587x692

The Good:

Consistent Performance, Great Modulation, Quiet, Gobs of Braking Power, Beautiful Machining, Great Adjustments

The Bad:

Price if Not on Sale

Overall Review: You just know it when you find the brakes that work best for you. All riders are different when it comes to brakes and how we like them set-up. Some riders like brakes that have instant grab and other with more modulation. Hope brakes are the later with more modulation, but has a tool-less adjustment for the grab point which makes a big difference depending where you have this set and reach adjustments are easy as well. The brakes come machined beautifully as do all hope products and these are anodized black in color with traditional black plastic type hoses. They use DOT Fluid which can be found Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 14 24

Race Face Aeffect Saddle

“Race Face Aeffect Saddle”

C138_2013_sad_aeffect_blk_quarter

The Good:

240 Grams, Ti Rails, Good Fit For My Butt, Available in Multiple Colors

The Bad:

none I can find

Overall Review: Overview: Raceface is new to the market of having their own saddles and released two different versions last year (That I am aware of). I decided to give the Aeffect version a go partly due to its slighter cheaper price and some of its features/colors. They are offered in 3 different colorways: All black, black/blue, and black/red. All three look great, but I decided to go with the stealthier all black flavor. It comes in at a claimed weight of 240 grams (actual 231g) and uses Ti Alloy rails. On The Trail: Mounting up to the seat post rails is like any other traditional railed saddle, just put a little grease on the rails Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 14 24

Troy Lee Designs Air Gloves

Featured Review

“Troy Lee Designs Air Gloves”

C138_13tld_air_glove_black

The Good:

Good fit, Comfortable, Durable, Breathe well, Come clean in wash

The Bad:

Silicone comes off finger tips pretty quick

Overall Review: Gloves are gloves right? Well in a way yes, but in many ways no. Gloves needs to feel natural and forgotten about while riding, breathe well in the summer, give good grip on the bars and brake levers, and last. I believe finding the right gloves for your hand is important and the TLD gloves fit me great. Their finger length and overall size is good for my average hands. I prefer lighter weight type gloves with a single layer palm that breathe well. Knowing what I like, the TLD Air Gloves sounded like the right fit for me. These gloves have Velcro backed TPR wrist closures and light/breathable lycra spandex mesh Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Carraig042
22500 Carraig042 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22500/avatar/c50_IMG_20130518_160302_834_1416787693.jpg?1416786705 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/all 03/04/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Carraig042,22500/setup 4 14 24