Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Yeti SB66 Frame

Featured Review

“Burley and Bottomless”

C138_2014_yeti_sb66_frame_turquoise

The Good:

Solid, Stiff, and Durable,
Low Maintenance,
Excellent Enduro Geo (Long and short)
Plush and has a bottomless feel.

The Bad:

On the heavy side for trail bikes

Overall Review: Since 1985, Yeti Cycles have been in the business of creating some of the most competitive mountain bikes in the industry. The company has changed their main focus from XC to DH and is now set out to dominate the Enduro Racing series. The Yeti SB66 frame was the frame that opened the worlds eyes on whats possible on a "trail bike" and is the forefather to Yeti's latest enduro masterpiece, the SB6c. The capabilities of the Yeti SB66 are something that the world have never experienced, dominating podiums in the Enduro series and well as a podium position in the World DH series (2013 UCI Downhill World Championships in Pietermaritzburg, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

Crank Brothers Pica+ Tool

Featured Review

“Everything else is inferior.”

C138_pica_plus_tool

The Good:

High grade bits, Awesome indexing feature that hold tools in place,
Everything you would ever need in a multi-tool/

The Bad:

Can rust if left in water.
Kinda pricey

Overall Review: I've been a bicycle technician at shops for over 6 years now. This being the case I'm pretty darn particular on the tools I use. This is true while in the shop as well as out on the trail. I've had a ton of multi-tools throughout the years but the Crank Brothers Pica family are by far the best I've ever owned. Crank Brothers as a company is no stranger to providing quality on-the-go accessories and their multi-tools are no exception. The most mass produced tool out on the trail, I would argue, is the Crank Brothers M-Series. I'm willing to bet that everyone here either has owned one of knows Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

Lizard Skins Frame Patch Kit

“Protection has never been so easy.”

C138_fr409y05blk

The Good:

Super thick polyurethane, Strong adhesive strength, Contours to frame nicely

The Bad:

Nothing. I just wish I could purchase an entire sheet of it.

Overall Review: Purchased these patches as well as the Carbon Leather Downtube protector for my Yeti SB66 a few years ago. Since then I've moved into full carbon frames. I've loved these patches so much that I have purchased more of them for the new bikes. My favorite piece is the Carbon Leather Downtube protector because of how large it is. Many carbon frames come with molded protectors to help protect the downtube from rocks and other debris. Sometimes these guards are a little lacking in size and they don't fully protect the bike when the going gets rough. This was somewhat the case with my Santa Cruz Nomad. About a Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

Gamut P20s Chainguide

Featured Review

“Simplicity is always king!”

C138_gamut_p20s_chainguide

The Good:

Simple in design (not moving parts)
High quality materials
Easy installation
Company who cares.

The Bad:

Their bash-guards could be a little bit more durable.

Overall Review: I've been using chainguides since 2005 and it is amazing to see how far they have come since then. The Gamut P20s is nothing short of the industries finest. Purchased my first Gamut after having horrible luck with a main brand chainguide manufacturer and was so impress that purchased the P20s for my all-mountain bike. After having it for more than 6 months, its time to let you know my impressions. First off, the reason why I moved to Gamut is because of their simplistic, yet very effective design. Strong and light weight are the key to their success. Also having no moving parts means there are less things to break, loosen, or Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

FOX 36 FLOAT RC2 FIT Fork

“The best Fox 36 to date”

C138_fox_36_rc2_angle

The Good:

Stiff with no flex
Excellent adjustability
Consistently plush (even in first 1" of travel)
15mm to 20mm adaptability

The Bad:

Slightly heavier than the Pike
No 170mm Talus version

Overall Review: Before you read, this is a review for the 2015 Fox 36 Talus. Replaced my Pike for the Fox 36 Talus and have never been happier. The 36 Talus was thrown onto my Santa Cruz Nomad. I ride my trail bike like it's a mini DH bike and I can't say how pleased I am with how the Fox 36 handles. The main reason why I went to the Fox 36 was for it's increased stiffness, small bump compliance, and overall adjustability. So lets talk about it. The good: It's stiff! When it comes to overall feel, specially when landing deep and flat on 30+ jumps, there isn't much (in my opinion) stiffer than the 36 in terms of single crowns. Given that Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

Easton Havoc 26" UST Wheelset

“Would feel uncomfortable even selling to others”

C138_havoc_26_grey_wheelset

The Good:

Light weight. Cool graphics. Tubeless ready.

The Bad:

The worst rear hub ever made. Somewhat flexy. Tubeless ready. Rims dent easily.

Overall Review: I purchased these to put on an Yeti built up as a mini-DH bike a while back. After riding them for less than 3 months, I got rid of them. That being said,let's begin with the good. Good They are super! Like really light which is awesome. The graphics are different which make them awesome too. If you don't like having to constantly mess with tubeless setups, they are great too cus they come tubeless ready right out of the box....And that's pretty much. Bad Let's begin from the center and work our way out. The rear hub is horrible. It works well and seems pretty darn durable. The issue I had however was the hub always Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down

Canfield Brothers Crampon Ultimate Pedal

“Most natural feeling pedals I've ever seen”

C138_crampon_brothers_crampon_ultimate

The Good:

Excellent Pedal shape. Ultra thin 6mm thickness. Super light weight. Pins keep your feet pinned. Confidence inspiring.

The Bad:

Rebuild is somewhat difficult to do.

Overall Review: Going on my third pair of these pedals, There's a reason why I have stuck with them. Summed up, they are completely confidence inspiring. So much of mountain biking is confidence, in yourself and your bike. Thickness The biggest reason I feel these increase confidence is the thinness of the pedal. The closer your foot can get to the center of the center of the spindle (center of rotational point), the more natural and fluid one's pedaling will be. Think of it this way, imagine using a pedal that is 3 inches thick. How would that feel while sprinting? A little weird huh. Coming from the Straitline Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

100% Accuri Goggles

Featured Review

“100% worth the money”

C138_50210_158_02

The Good:

Exceptional materials
High quality lens
Foam contorts to face nicely
Tons of color options
Removable straps for cleaning etc.

The Bad:

Could have come with a true microfiber bag.

Overall Review: I own 2 pairs of the Accuri goggles and these are by far my favorite goggles I've ever owned. Manufacturing Quality: I feel like 100% doesn't cut corners on their goggle production like certain companies do. The materials from the frame plastic all the way to the stitching on the strap is top notch. Compared to Smith, Oakley, and Spy, I feel the lensclarityis exceptional and the lenses tend to have a little bit more scratch resistance than other brands. The foam is also one the best, if not the best out on the market. What I mean by this is that the foam is not only soft and durable, but they mold to your face very nicely. This Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

RockShox Pike RCT3 Fork

“Best fork for some, Okay fork for others.”

C138_fs_pike_2715_blk_tpr_a17l

The Good:

It's so damn light.
Super stiff for it's weight.
Easy to maintain.
Dual position rocks.
Sram customer service rocks!

The Bad:

Could be more plush through it's first 1" of travel.
Could have a little more adjustability.
No 20mm version.

Overall Review: As the title says, this fork can either be the best fork in the world, or rather just an okay one. All this depends on your riding style and preference. If you are a true trail rider and light on your stuff, this fork can't get any better. It's light and stiff considering it's weight. It also feels pretty darn good. I'd look no further. If you are more of an aggressive enduro rider / freerider, I would recommend the new Lyric or Fox 36. Yes they are heavier but the adjustability of both of these forks as well as the plushness throughout all stages of travel are amazing. The question that one needs to ask themselves is, "Is Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

2015 Trek Slash 9.8 Carbon 27.5

“Super fun bike but should be better than what it is.”

C138_trek_slash_9.8_27.5

The Good:

Full Carbon and super light for pedaling.
A bunch of technology specific for Trek.
Colors and paint is AWESOME.
It's a good "all around" trailbike.

The Bad:

Outdated geometry (shorter and taller)
Little bit more frame flex than other bikes in it's class.
Trek's specific BB is bad news for durability.
Weird shock length limits aftermarket shocks options.

Overall Review: Trek makes great, high quality products and this bike is no exception. It pedals well and descends well too. If you LOVE Trek bikes than you will really enjoy this bike. The paint is done well and it seams like Trek produced this bike very well. With that being said, lets jump into that I didn't like so much.. Trek has made this bike so light that I feel there is a little more flex than what should be. An XL frame sat at 28 lbs. I would rather have it weight 28.5 lbs and have a stiffer ride. The bottom bracket is a pressfit but the same kind that Trek puts on it's carbon road bikes. That being said, regular pressfit BBs have Read More »
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24