Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Boeshield T-9 Lube

Featured Review

“Boeshield T9 Lube Review- A great all purpose lube”

C138_boeshield_t_9_lube

The Good:

Repels water well, cleans chain/ components, lasts a long time

The Bad:

Can attract dirt and dust, but wipes off easily

Overall Review: Finding the right lube for the place you live and the conditions you ride in can be tough. If you ask 5 cyclists what they use and why you will likely get 5 different and very opinionated answers. Working in a shop though allowed me to test a wide variety of lubes and figure out what worked well for me, and T9 was definitely at the top along with the gold Rock and Roll lube. T9 works well as a chainlube, but also has a variety of uses. I used T9 to free up a sticky shifter, to lube derailleur housing, and even to silence a squeaky saddle. One of the main benefits to T9 in my opinion is that it not only repels Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Park Tool Park FR-5 Cassette Remover

“FR-5 Cassette Tool Review”

C138_tl707a05

The Good:

Well made, durable, doesn't slip

The Bad:

Would be nice if you could use with a ratchet without a socket

Overall Review: I am one of those guys that works on a perfectly functioning bike just for the heck of it. I am hard on components and like a quiet, clean perfectly working bike. After racking up big bills at the local bike shop, I started collecting tools so that I can work on my bikes myself, something that saves me money and i really enjoy doing. Park tool has been my go to for bike specific tools, and thus far I have been impressed. I used park tool when i was a mechanic in the shop and now my home shop is mostly Park Tool. XD cassettes require a specific tool to install and remove, and I knew Park Tool was Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Park Tool Park SR-1 Chain Whip

“SR-1 a quality tool, but nothing too special”

C138_sr1

The Good:

Does the job as advertised, nice length and grip for extra leverage and comfort

The Bad:

End for cassette tool isn't very useful, not quite as effective as new plier style chin whip

Overall Review: The SR-1 Chain whip from Park tool is a quality piece of kit. While not as fancy as some of the new plier style chain whip tools, the SR-1 simply works. It has a nice feel to it, with a nice rubberized blue wrap, KMC chain and an end that fits most cassette tools. I bought this tool when my cheaper whip from Nashbar broke, I probably could have just replaced the old chain that had snapped, but i wanted something of a higher quality and I knew Park Tool would be that. I have used this tool on everything from a 6 speed steel road bike to my 11 speed sram drivetrain. The tool fits each width fine and as Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Maxxis High Roller II Tire

Featured Review

“Maxxis High Roller II Review”

C138_tyre_image_highroller2_l

The Good:

Softer compound provides great grip, corners well, DH sidewall holds up to abuse

The Bad:

A bit pricey, had issues with the EXO sidewall tearing, higher rolling resistance than some other offerings

Overall Review: I have always been a fan of Maxxis tires, I have ridden Continental, Schwalbe, Forte, Kenda, and more, but I always go back to Maxxis. I am a fairly hard charging rider, and I slip off line quite a bit (more guts than skill at times). This means every tire I buy I look for ones that have durable sidewalls and good cornering traction. I run a 2.4 ardent in the rear, and like that tire because it has a suitable amount of traction, while still being able to break loose in a controlled manner for drifting corners. The front tire I run is the Higher Roller II in a 2.4 width. I started with the standard EXO sidewalled HR Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Park Tool Master Link Pliers

Featured Review

“Park Tool Master Link Pliers- work smarter not harder”

C138_7781

The Good:

Makes quick work of installing/ removing master links, quality construction

The Bad:

nothing yet

Overall Review: This is another one of those tools that you don’t know you need until you need it, and once you have used it, you will never go back. The majority of chains out there use a master link or can be used with a master link, and in general this is a good thing. They are helpful when you need to easily remove or install a chain, and spare master links can be thrown in a pack or taped to the bike to fix a snapped chain. With older chains 8, 9 or 10 speed they can usually be installed or removed with a bit of work, but if you are not careful you can bend or tweak a master link. Most 11 speed links I have used Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Straitline SSC Stem

Featured Review

“Straitline SSC Stem Review- Burly and beautiful”

C138_st258a00_black35

The Good:

Stiff, durable, fairly light, nice machining, low stack height

The Bad:

Pricey and might be overkill for some situations

Overall Review: Definitely one of the more pricey components I have purchased primarily for looks, but the function surprised me as well. I have always tried to purchase from smaller companies that produced products in-house instead of sending overseas, and Straitline does just that. Working for a bike manufacturer has shown me just how loose tolerances can be on products made overseas and how cheaply they are produced. There is of course is exceptions to this, but generally products made in house in places like the Uk, US, or Canada (like Straitline) use better raw materials, more machining and give you a higher quality product. This does Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Royal 2016 Impact Short Short

Featured Review

“Royal Racing Impact Short Review- Most comfortable short I've ever owned”

C138_impact_short_nvy_b_f_nb

The Good:

Comfortable and lightweight, great fit, durable, and look nice on or off the bike

The Bad:

A bit shorter than I prefer, wish they came with a liner

Overall Review: Royal Racing first caught my attention when I saw Steve Peat wearing their gear, and admittedly I was intrigued. They looked like they made well fitting and awesome looking clothing, and so far everything I own from the brand has me impressed. I have owned their Stage shorts for about 8 months now and honestly they are my go to everytime I ride. They have survived numerous crashes, days in the park and long days in the saddle without flinching. My Troy Lee shorts and Fox shorts went mostly unused after getting them. Basically Royal made the perfect short for me, they have a longer fit that covered my kneepads Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26

Ryders Eyewear Tallcan Goggles

Vital Review

“Tested: Ryders Tallcan Goggle”

C138_tallcanblack_3q_1024x458_1024x458
Review by Jo Pauly // Photos by Jean-Marie Plaçais When you picture the North Shore, you probably think of a thick, humid forest with a crazy trail weaving through it. Suddenly Thomas Vanderham rides into sight and shreds the living hell out of the trail. Well, Thomas Vanderham is part of the Ryders' team and was involved in the making of the new Tallcan goggle. With a double lens, which is hydrophobic and scratch-resist-coated, and clever venting placement on the frames, these goggles have been designed to keep your vision clear in even the most humid of conditions; just like on The Shore. Ryders Tallcan Goggle Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member jo@RideAbility
24741 jo@RideAbility http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/24741/avatar/c50_Joe_Top_Gun_Kicker_2_1369774582.jpg?1369773886 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jo-RideAbility,24741/all 05/28/13 2

Crank Brothers Stamp Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Stamp Flat Pedal”

C138_stamp_blacklarge_sm_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Nils Hjord Crankbrothers was historically never one of the front runners in the flat pedal race considering how popular their clipless pedal are, but with the introduction of the Stamp pedal, they are looking to change that up. The Stamp is a resolutely modern take on the flat pedal, wide and thin. It is also one of only a few pedals to be offered in multiple sizes, which allows you to match them to your shoe size. To make sure we gave both the available sizes a good pasting, we recruited a little extra grom help and hit the trails. Read on to find out how we got Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 52 332 3768 86 28

7iDP Crew Socks

“7iDP Crew Socks Review - They cover my feet and look cool”

C138_sock_front

The Good:

Comfortable, good fit, good coverage, look sweet

The Bad:

Nothing yet

Overall Review: I'll start off by admitting to the fact that writing a review about socks is a little trivial, but here goes nothing. I love 7 Protection, they have saved my knees from many an unplannedejection, and have gotten my loyalty for their nice design and ergonomics. I used to ride with ankle socks, but after a while getting hit in the shin by numerous stupid plants, cactuses (socks don't do much about cactus thorns though) and random other trail obstacles I began to see the merit. I'll admit the bros I see wearing tall socks everywhere made me hesitate inbuying taller socks, I try to stay as far away from being a tool as possible, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 5 26