Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Royal 2016 Impact Short Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Impact Short and Stage Jersey”

C138_impact_short_nvy_b_f_nb
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Daniel Roos, Tal Rozow, and Johan Hjord If you want to claim that something is enduro-specific, you better have thick skin – you’ll no doubt be inundated with feedback to the tune of “it’s all just mountain biking stop giving it other names to sell us stuff.” Well, if enduro racing is just mountain biking, then enduro-specific gear should be pretty interesting to mountain bikers in general, right? Lightweight, breathable, with a functional cut and plenty of features sounds pretty good to us, so when given a chance to test Royal Racing’s new Impact short and Stage jersey, we jumped Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 58 714 1757 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 45 278 3351 79 26

FOX 2016 Float 36 FIT RC2 Suspension Fork

Featured Review

“The Best 36 to Date”

C138_fox_2016_float_36_fit_rc2_fork

The Good:

Weight (just over 2000 grams) / Adjustability (External mixed with volume spacers) / Travel Adjustable

The Bad:

Could have high/low-speed rebound / No 15 x 110 axle kit

Overall Review: After bouncing from Fox to Rock Shox, back to Fox, followed by Rock Shox, I’ve found myself happily settling with the 2016 Fox 36 Float FIT RC2. Don’t get me wrong, Rock Shox make outstanding forks that are perfect for different types of riding styles (Ultra light AM fork = Pike and Heavier hitter Enduro fork = Lyrik), but there are certain things that Fox has done with their 2016 Fox 36 Float that has won me over. Here are my impressions: Out Of The Box: The first thing I noticed when I got my 27.5” 2016 Fox 36 was how gorgeous it was. When the sun hit the Kashima coated stanchions I felt like a millionaire. The next Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 15 45

Race Face Turbine dropper Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Turbine Dropper Post”

C138_2015_turbine_dropper_post_2
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Dropper posts have gone from novelty to near-ubiquitous accessory in just a few short years, and with good reason. Few bike upgrades bring about such a dramatic increase in the amount of fun you can have on a given piece of trail as this seemingly simple part. Being able to drop your seat out of the way with the push of a button has become as indispensable as shifting gears or using the brakes for many riders. The only cloud on the horizon has been reliability as many of the earlier models were plagued with problems ranging from excessive play to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 58 714 1757 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 45 278 3351 79 26

Biknd Jetpack Bike Travel Bag

Featured Review

“Sturdy protection”

C138_jetpack1

The Good:

solid construction / air bags / solid mounting / accessories

The Bad:

heavier than claimed

Overall Review: After seeing an online ad for the new Bikind Jet pack I decided to bet on this Canadian company to protect my new carbon frame on a bike trip to South America. My 10 yr old plastic bike box had been opened by the TSA on a previous trip and not closed properly - so that when I collected it at the airport the handlebars were hanging out. I figured it was time to upgrade to a bag that would be easy for the inspectors to open / close and one that would provide the best protection possible. It took me a while to pack the bike the first time. Once I worked out a few basic tricks I was much faster when relocating in the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member mutton
4236 mutton http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4236/avatar/c50_90426110_1283099785.jpg?1290162150 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mutton,4236/all 08/29/10 7 4 8 1

2016 Juliana Roubion C S

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Juliana Roubion C S”

C138_juliana_roubion_c_s
Reviewed by Amanda Wentz and Courtney Steen // Photos by Lear Miller At the 2016 Vital MTB Test Sessions, we ladies got the chance to sample a few of the latest trail/all-mountain bikes to see how they perform for women. With a smorgasbord of bikes ranging from 120 to 160mm travel, women-specific to unisex, and a price range from about $3,000 to over $9,000, how is one to choose?! This year we tested three bikes in the 150 to 160mm travel range that may be options to consider. We put them (and ourselves) to the test on South Mountain's trails in Phoenix, Arizona - a moonscape of rowdy rock sections, decomposed granite, and Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5877 1058 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 258 1113 2086 126 39

Continental Trail King Tire

Featured Review

“Conti TK ProTection 2.4 - massive volume and good rubber, but too surfy”

C138_826ba4c1_fe2a_4f1a_a69e_0a4bef8bd8f0

The Good:

High volume means low pressures are ok - I never burped it // Rubber has great grip in the wet and lasts for ages // ProTection casing never had puncture issues

The Bad:

Too surfy in loose conditions // Vague cornering feel

Overall Review: I really wanted to like this tire, especially based on some of the other reviews online. My first impression was that it looked like a great rear tire tread, but the shoulder blocks looked a bit underbuilt. It is a massive tire at 2.4 - the volume is absolutely huge, even on a 23mm internal width rim. I found that I had to run surprisingly low pressures to get it to hook up, but the low pressures never resulted in any issues with burping. Tires are hugely subjective depending on riding style, but this tire really didn't work for me. While it had excellent traction on wet roots and rocks (thanks to the Black Chili Read More »

Park Tool P-Handled Hex Wrench Set

Featured Review

“A mega must-have for any home mechanic”

C138_13245

The Good:

Functional durable, Never dents, Excellent finish, precise fit, comfortable handle

The Bad:

A blue handle broke on me

Overall Review: If you are looking into getting, or just building up your home mechanic tool kit, Having a P/T handled hex kit is a MUST. That being said, you have tons of options: Anywhere from Harbor Freight, Amazon, department store brands like Sears, bicycle specific brands like Park Tool and Pedros, and then the ultra expensive, high-end brands from Europe....tons of options. Durability: When I decided to purchase a set of Hex wrenches, I decided to go with Park Tool, because I already had a large amount of their tools, and also because I have been very pleased with how they have kept over the years. For the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 15 45

Troy Lee Designs XC Gloves

“High Expectations”

C138_13tld_xc_glove_blk

The Good:

Brand, Durability, Styling

The Bad:

Confused, Styling

Overall Review: Let me start off by saying these gloves are nice! I like them!.. a lot actually, so why didn't I give them 5 stars? well, they are a little confused. How so?.. They say XC on them, as in cross country, as in pedal mashing, cadence clambering, hear rate hiking, crack sweating cross country! So then why are they so thick? Should I add hand sweating to that list as well? The branding makes no sense, wouldn't you want your hands to breathe a little more? maybe go for a thinner material? But at the same time that is exactly what makes these gloves so awesome! They are thick and durable because of this I use them for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kstrongin
39701 kstrongin /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kstrongin,39701/all 03/09/16 1 11

ANVL Forge Stealth Ti Alloy Saddle

Vital Review

“Tested: ANVL Forge Stealth Saddle”

C138_anvl_saddles_2_half_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Born from the Transition crew’s desire to make better bling, ANVL popped on the components scene a couple of years back and they drew a fair bit of attention with a range of seemingly well-designed parts that look good too. Curious to go beneath the appearance, we laid our hands on the new Forge Stealth saddle a couple of months ago, and we’ve been resting our weary behinds on it ever since. Read on to find out how it treated us. ANVL Forge Stealth Ti Alloy Highlights RAIL MATERIAL: Titanium COVER MATERIAL: Leather + Kevlar corners PADDING: Superlight Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 58 714 1757 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 45 278 3351 79 26

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

“Spectacular”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

It says Gold on the bottle

The Bad:

None if used properly

Overall Review: "SPECTACULAR" that's what my star rating says anyway... And does it lie? No it does not! Why does the label say "Gold" on it? because this lube is the gold standard in dry conditions. While the blue stuff has tons of wax in it meant to protect the chain this stuff has just enough to keep the chain lubed, and quite while not attracting too much dust making your bike a mucky mess. This stuff is the bee's knees, if you love your bike... maybe a little too much?.. aahhhh who am I kidding there's no such thing! but if you do this stuff is a necessity.. trust me it will keep you and your bike very happy on the trail! If the price tag is scaring you, try not to frett you can often pick this stuff up at your LBS for less than $15 a bottle, and it is very worth it!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kstrongin
39701 kstrongin /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kstrongin,39701/all 03/09/16 1 11