Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Park Tool Park SR-1 Chain Whip

“Must Have for Any Home Mechanic”

C138_sr1

The Good:

well built, priced right, does what it is supposed to do, built in hex for use with park cassette removal tool (handy)

The Bad:

not made out of carbon fiber (I don't know, grasping for straws here)

Overall Review: I am not sure what to say, its a cassette removal tool, it works. I feel the handle is just the right size to be able to apply the right amount of leverage without being overkill.  You should get one and then come here and write your own review, sheesh. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Park Tool Master Link Pliers

“OMG These Work”

C138_7781

The Good:

they work, they are blue, I like to chase my wife around with them and she laughs while running away

The Bad:

they are blue and they cost an amount of money

Overall Review: I wanted to remove my chain, it was suggested to be by the internets that these would suffice. I purchased them with some money I had.  It is a simple concept so I was not a surprise when they were able to remove the master link.  I would suggest that if you are in the same predicament, get some.  There are other ways to do this but just bite the bullet and get these, they are good, no regrets, yolo even. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Park Tool Cassette Lockring Tool With Guide Pin

“It Works (Duh)”

C138_parktool_fr_5g_08_m

The Good:

it works like it is supposed to, um, light weight, super fast???

The Bad:

the alignment pin just fell out but it's not needed to use the tool, not sure why they put it in there.

Overall Review: I needed to remove my cassette for cleaning, I bought this tool, removed the wheel put the tool in the end of the cassette and through some sort of sorcery the tool was able to remove the cassette. I would like to note that the tool will also help you reinstall the cassette too, so I got that going for me.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Leatt DBX Pro Neck Brace

“Great Neck Brace w/ Built in Tiger Repellent ”

C138_60378

The Good:

It does what it is supposed to do

The Bad:

a bit pricey but isn't anything that isn't free a bit pricey and can you really put a price on your safety

Overall Review: I purchased this because I felt that I needed some protection, at the time the market for this type of thing was NOT flooded so options were limited, it was highly recommended by others. I would see racers and other riders at the park wearing them and they were all alive at the time so I imagined that the neck brace was doing it's job. I did not go out of my way to perform any extensive testing but I did have a couple minor spills and I am impressed with the neck brace, not only did I not lose my head (or neck) but I didn't get hurt either. I don't think they advertise as such but I am pretty sure it keeps tigers away too, maybe some sort of tiger repellent or something, all I am saying is when I am riding with this neck brace, I have never seen a tiger.  That being said, go buy one and see for yourself. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Five Ten Impact Low 2 Flat Pedal Shoe

“Amazing Downhill Shoes”

C138_impact_low

The Good:

Stiff which is great for downhill riding, very sticky shoe when pared with a decent pedal, comfortable for all day lift riding

The Bad:

a bit pricey, not the most comfortable if you are going walk around in all day, say go out to the pub for a bite and brews after riding

Overall Review: I purchased these for downhill and trail riding, wanted better grip and support while riding. They definitely have grip and support, for trail riding they can be kinda hot, I ended up putting a comfort insole or arch support in the shoe to make it a bit more comfortable.  I would recommend and get again. 
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Five Ten Freerider Shoe

“Best MTB Shoe Hands Down”

C138_five_ten_freerider_shoe_maroon

The Good:

comfortable out on the town, comfortable out on the trails, comfortable on the lift, did I mention they were comfortable, many many color options, grip is incredible (as good as five ten impacts)

The Bad:

they are a bit pricey, not as stiff as impacts for downhill

Overall Review: I wanted a shoe that I could wear while out trail riding because I was tired of using my stiff impacts for downhill and trail riding. I started a paper route and saved up my pennies, purchased these bad boys online, not sure where, prob from Amazon or something because they have good return policy.  They arrived and viola I am wearing comfortable new shoes.  I figured they would be good for mtb but turns out they are good for anything, ya know, go mtb w/ your mates for the day, change out of something less stinky, head to the pub for a pint and a bite to eat type of shoe.  My friend white Chris got a pair on my recommendation and he loves his so we got that going for us too. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Sun Ringle A.D.D. Wheelset

“Under Rated”

C138_90365890_1266951220

The Good:

Light, Tubeless Ready, Strong AF, Stiff, Compatible w/ Varying Axle Sizes, Price is right

The Bad:

No Color Options, Angry Bees Hub

Overall Review: For the money these wheels can't be beat. I was looking for a good freeride / downhill wheelset when building my Intense Uzzi and all my research kept bringing me back to these.  The price was right, never had any issues running trails or downhill, I would get these again. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Troy Lee Designs Air Gloves

“Comfortable Gloves that Don't Hold Up Well”

C138_tld_air_glove_yellow

The Good:

many color options, good grip and breath-ability, price is right

The Bad:

don't hold up

Overall Review: I purchased these new, they were my first set of TLD gloves, I loved them immediately and wore them every time I went out, my other gloves gave me the look of disgust and made me feel like a traitor every time I went out.  After about a years worth of use, the seam on one of the index fingers let go.  When my other gloves found out they all laughed at me and I got the whole I told you so speech.  I still use my holy TLD gloves but now I make sure my Fox Dirtpaw's are in the rotation.  I would say we have a decent working relationship but I still get dirty looks whenever I wear them.  To summarize, the TLD's are nice but did not hold up to a season of trail riding and light DH use. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Truvativ Descendant DH Crankset

“Good Affordable All Around Crankset”

C138_truvativ_descendant_dh_crankset

The Good:

Priced right, light weight for the material, race proven, multiple BB options

The Bad:

Can't think of anything

Overall Review: I bought these for an Intense Tracer build. In short, they worked great, mine came with thread in BB which held up fine with no issues.  I did trail riding, All Mountain and DH with this bike and these cranks.  Highly recommend for mid level crankset.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Troy Lee Designs D2 Composite Helmet

“Poor Quality, Don't Be Mislead”

C138_13tld_d2_airstrike_blk_04

The Good:

It looks nice

The Bad:

doesn't fit well, poor cheek pad and liner adhesion, shallow chin bar

Overall Review: I purchased the newer version of this helmet and was disappointed immediately. I have always purchased a large in all my helmets and this one felt more like a med than a large and after purchasing a TLD A1 Enduro helmet I fell in love.  I figured the same quality and workmanship that was in my A1 I would find in the D2 but I was wrong on all counts.  the cheek pads held in my little velcro buttons one of which was unstuck right out of the box.  The chin bar felt too shallow (not enough coverage for my chin).  Very basic D ring fastener, even my Kali Protectives had a button to manage the excess slack.  The helmet was nice to look at though and it was light for a composite helmet.  Came with a helmet bag, additional padding for fit adjustment and some stickers. 
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31