Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2017 Intense Recluse Elite

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Intense Recluse from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_recluse_elite_trq_side2
Recluse: [noun] A solitary person who avoids the company of others. Brown Recluse: [noun] One of two poisonous spiders in North America. The bite of the brown recluse causes necrosis (death) of the tissue. Intense Recluse: [noun] A brand new carbon fiber all-mountain bicycle from a reputable American company. Was the new robin egg blue head turner from California going to be more like the hermit in the woods or the small nightmarish spider that causes your skin to turn black and die? Perhaps it would be neither, instead providing a ride so good that it would "keep you alone, out in front of the pack." We smuggled the bike Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1229 2241 157 41

Santa Cruz Nomad Carbon Frame

Featured Member Review

“Santa Cruz Nomad 3”

C138_frame_2015_nomad_carbon_blue

The Good:

Simple and incredibly functional, Pedals extremely well for an enduro bike, Descends even better, Easy to maintain

The Bad:

Made in China (But is that all that bad now days?)

Overall Review: When I first got into mountain biking in the early 2000s there was always one bike company I had a hyper crush on, it was Santa Cruz. Starting with the Super 8 all the way through to the current lineup, there was always something about Santa Cruz bikes that caught my eye. About 2 years ago I stumbled across a killer deal on the Nomad 3 frame that I couldn’t pass up. After riding it for about a year and a half, it is the only bike I wish I would have never let go. With that said, here are my impressions: Out of the box: Pulling the frame out of the box, the first thing I noticed was how light it was. Now days every Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 22 89

Five Ten Freerider Pro Flat Pedal Shoe

Vital Review

“Tested: Five Ten Freerider Pro Shoe”

C138_five_ten_freerider_pro_shoe_light_granite
Five Ten has produced quite a few excellent shoes over the past couple of years, but there were times when we thought that the perfect shoe would have been a combination of several models, taking the best aspects of each and combining them into genetically modified, super mutant footwear. We don’t know if they can read minds over at Five Ten, but Brown Santa showed up just before Christmas with something all new and very shiny – the Freerider Pro. Was it the real life manifestation of our dream shoe? Read on to find out. Five Ten Freerider Pro Highlights Synthetic, Light-Weight, Weather-Resistant Upper Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 764 84 889 1708 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 54 350 3979 99 29

2017 Commencal Meta AM V4.2 Race Eagle 650B

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Commencal Meta AM V4.2 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_commencal_meta_am_v4.2_race_eagle_650bbike
"[The wilderness] had caressed him, and-lo!-he had withered; it had taken him, loved him, embraced him, got into his veins, consumed his flesh and sealed his soul to his own by the inconceivable ceremonies of some devilish initiation." - Joseph Conrad, Heart of Darkness The boys from the mountain country of Andorra have created something dark indeed. The Commencal Meta AM V4.2 looks like the graphic stylings of Dead Kennedys and Metallica's hate child, but would it ride like one? We set out to see during this year's Vital MTB Test Sessions. The long, low, slack beast checks all the boxes of a modern enduro Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1229 2241 157 41

KS LEV Ci Adjustable Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: KS Lev Ci Dropper Post”

C138_ks_lev_ci_adjustable_seatpost
When KS dropped the original Lev back in 2012, we were impressed enough to call it “best in class” at the time. The dropper post market has certainly heated up since those days, and with at least 15-20 viable options now available to riders, KS can’t afford to stand still if it wants to keep up. To that end, the original Lev has seen ongoing refinement, but it was the recent appearance of a carbon version that really caught our attention. Initially released in a super-short, 65mm version for the XC crowd, KS has now followed suit with a full-length version made of the fantastic plastic. We’ve been putting it to the Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 764 84 889 1708 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 54 350 3979 99 29

2017 Pivot Firebird Carbon Pro XT/XTR

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Pivot Firebird Carbon from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_pivot_firebird_carbon_blue_red_with_pro_xt_xtr_1x
With a complete overhaul for 2017, the Pivot Firebird gets some key geometry updates inspired by its downhill counter part, the Phoenix, complete with a brand new dw-link suspension layout. Featuring 170mm of front and rear wheel travel, the Firebird comes prepared to handle the gnarliest trails. We were stoked to get this bad boy out on some of Tucson, Arizona’s rocky, loose trails during Vital MTB Test Sessions to find out if these changes result in big gains. Highlights Carbon frame 27.5-inch wheels 170mm (6.7-inches) of rear wheel travel // 170mm (6.7-inches) fork travel dw-link suspension design Internal Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1229 2241 157 41

Atomlab Pimplite Stem

“Good, until it stripped”

C138_29854

The Good:

Nice reach, perfect for 25.4mm bars (duh) perfect positioning overall.

The Bad:

One of the face-plate bolts stripped out, due to user error. My fault that it happened.

Overall Review: Would recommend, just be careful when tightening down.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member DanTheBikerMan
41873 DanTheBikerMan http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/41873/avatar/c50_IMG_0483_1489355832.jpg?1489355271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/DanTheBikerMan,41873/all 08/01/16 1 3 2 1

2016 YT Jeffsy CF Comp 1 29

Vital Review

“Review - YT Jeffsy CF 29 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_27
YThas made quite the leap into the suspension bike arena in the last few years. They've had notable freeriders and slopestyle riders before, but now with UCI World Cup Downhill Champion Aaron Gwin and some enduro racers on their side they have really moved into the big leagues with the bikes they have to offer. The Jeffsy 29 is one of their newest offerings, sporting 29-inch wheels and an ultra progressive suspension system they have come to be known for. As their first trail bike, it's designed to be an "everyday" ride. We put it to the test during the 2017 Vital MTB Test Sessions. Highlights Carbon frame 29-inch wheels Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1229 2241 157 41

Stan's NoTubes ZTR Flow Rim

“Awesome rims”

C138_99015450_1267161727

The Good:

These rims were incredibly easy to set up with my maxxis exo tyres.
good price too.
very lightweight

The Bad:

annoying that they came with the stick on the inside of the rim. i had to buy label remover to be able to get it off.

Overall Review: i noticed the improvement between these and my giant rims straight away when i got out to the trail head. i found that i could corner much more aggressively and ride faster.

2016 100% Racecraft Goggles

“Amazing goggles for the price”

C138_50110_167_02_noseguard

The Good:

Great FOV
Spare lense is a bonus
Tear offs and goggle bag were a great surprise
rarely fog up

The Bad:

The adjustment on the strap tends to work its way loose over time. i hardly noticed this out on the trail though.

Overall Review: I have used a fair few goggles since i started riding yet these stood out the most for me for the following reasons. - they work well with both full and half face helmets - well ventilated and nice and comfy - rarely fog - great range of colours - awesome price