Latest Product Reviews

RSS

VP Components VP-Harrier Flat Pedal

“Big solid pedal ”

C138_harrier1

The Good:

This pedal is one of the biggest on the market. I have a size 12 1/2 shoe so this pedal is a nice change from the norm. With the larger platform I'm less worried about getting my feet just in the right place.

2 different types of pins, tons of grip. I personally really like puns in the center of a pedal which the harrier has with a pointed set of pins.

Thin profile and durable. The pedal is nice and thin and also strong. Bashed the set many times on big lava rock boulders and they barely have a scratch.

The Bad:

Not as many color options as other pedals but that's the only downside.

If you have smaller feet you may choose a different pedal.

Overall Review: Just a great pedal! Durable large platform with a good ammount of pins for grip. Thin profile, strong frame, great for all types of riding. Buying a 2nd set in the near future.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jbam19
42074 jbam19 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42074/avatar/c50_11958155_980031995380167_2760050383019574726_o_1471479386.jpg?1471479355 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jbam19,42074/all 08/17/16 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jbam19,42074/setup 2 1

Park Tool SBC-1 Spoke Gauge

Featured Review

“ Park Tool SBC-1 Spoke Gauge”

C138_tl406f00

The Good:

So many uses (Spokes, ball bearings, crank cotters), high quality material, stamped measurements which will last forever.

The Bad:

Can bend if you're not careful.

Overall Review: The Park Tool SBC-1 Spoke Gauge is the ruler to rule all rulers (at least in the cycling industry). The anodized aluminum material makes it very stiff but is susceptible to bending so be careful with it. The ruler’s measurements are stamped into the aluminum which makes it very easy to read. The best part about the ruler are all the functions it does. It’s like a swiss army knife. You can measure j-bend spokes, up to 310mm in length, figure out exactly what ball bearing size you need for a hub overhaul, or measure crank cotters. I build my own wheels and sometimes have to replace spokes. This ruler takes Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

KMC Missing Link Chain Pliers

Featured Review

“KMC Missing Link Chain Pliers”

C138_46600

The Good:

Good quality materials, rubber handles stay put, solid spring, cheap

The Bad:

Nothing at all

Overall Review: When working on your bike at home, one can easily spend an excessive amount of time trying to finagle a masterlink in such a way to get it to pop open. Grabbing the chain with both hands with the chain in the middle and pinching the chain laterally side to side can get a good amount of the links to break open but this doesn’t work for all, especially the newer 11 and 12 speed chains. Investing in chain pliers is an excellent investment for cases like this. I picked up the KMC missing link chain pliers a few years ago. After many uses, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: To be honest, there wasn’t Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Park Tool P-Handled Torx Wrench

Featured Review

“Park Tool P-Handled Torx Wrench”

C138_16526

The Good:

High quality materials, ergonomic handle, high tolerance for excellent fit, very durable within typical use.

The Bad:

Not a single thing

Overall Review: When building a home mechanic work bench, specific tools make a huge difference. Some of them can be quite expensive while others are less than the price of a #3 at McDonalds. Even the lowest priced tools can have a huge difference on how affective one can work at home. The Park Tool T25 P-Handle Torx wrench is one of these tools. Priced at around $7 to $8, it is a tool I can’t live without. Here’s why: Out of the Packaging: When taking the T25 P-Handle Torx wrench out of the packaging, it is clear that Park Tool didn’t just throw it together overnight. The wrench itself is made of 8650 chrome vanadium Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Park Tool Pedal Wrench

Featured Review

“Park Tool PW-3 Pedal Wrench”

C138_parktool_pedalwrench_pw3_02_m

The Good:

High quality materials, two pedal sizes (15mm and 9/16"), long round angle works well with breaker bars

The Bad:

Can sometimes get stuck with awkward angles, hard to read sizes sides (15mm and 9/16")

Overall Review: When I picked up my first and only bicycle specific tool kit, the Park Tool PW-3 Pedal wrench was included with it. After owning it for exactly 10 years, these are my impressions: Out of the Box: The Park tool PW-3 looked great right out of the box. Made from Cro-Moly steel, it’s not secret Park Tool designed this wrench to last. Dipping the handle in liquid vinyl and hardened, the PW-3 is comfy to hold and offers excellent grip, even with greasy hands. One side of wrench works with 15mm and the other side works with 9/16". The PW-3 is nominally 32cm (12.5") long. Performance: After 10 years of use, the steel Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Pedro's Y Wrench

Featured Review

“Pedro's Y Wrench”

C138_tl602d07

The Good:

Very useful hex sizes, ergonomic handle for less fatigue

The Bad:

Finish can rub off, Not the tightest tolerances out there

Overall Review: One of the most useful tools to have in your tool box is a good hex wrench. Imagine taking that good hex wrench and gluing it to 2 other hex wrenches in a trigonal planar shape. That’s exactly what the Pedro’s Y wrench is. I’ve owned mine for more than 5 years and this is what I have to say about it: Out of the box: The Pedro’s Y wrench is made of high quality heat-treated steel and is matched with a hard plastic handle in the middle. Comes with a 4mm, 5mm, and 6mm hex size, this wrench is designed to work on most bolts found on a frame and cockpit of a bike. Function: Many other companies make a Y style hex Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Finish Line Grunge Brush

Featured Review

“The Finish Line Grunge Brush”

C138_screen_shot_2016_11_17_at_2.30.56_pm

The Good:

Works very well, versatile for other drivetrain parts, removable bristles which are very durable.

The Bad:

Not a thing.

Overall Review: There’s a constant fight in the biking world between keeping a chain lubed and gunk-free. With all the experimentation one goes through with lubes and picking the one that works best in their environment, there is one tool out there that will help you though it all. It’s the Finish Line Grunge Brush. I’ve owned mine for 3 years now. Here are my impressions: Out of the Box The Finish Line grunge brush comes with 4 high quality detachable bristles (3 short ones on one end and 1 long one on the other). These bristles are removable so you can put the short, stubble ones on the single bristle side for specific Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 30 78

Maxxis Ardent Tire

Featured Review

“Maxxis Ardent Tire Review- Good when dry, bad when wet”

C138_90357980_1266959103

The Good:

Predictable, hard wearing tire

The Bad:

sucks in muddy conditions

Overall Review: Maxxis tires have always been my go to, and Ardents have been a great rear tire on my bikes. I like a tire that has a solid amount of grip and corners well, but that will drift predictably when you want to drift. The ardents seems to do this for me pretty well. I have the 2.4 inch width option with the 3C compound. I think this is a great option because it provides a good amount of grip, but still wears well. I had a softer compound before and I ripped alot of the cornering knobs off. Thus far this has not been an issue with the Ardents.. Something I really like about these tires is just how predictable they are, you can feel when Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Boeshield T-9 Lube

Featured Review

“Boeshield T9 Lube Review- A great all purpose lube”

C138_boeshield_t_9_lube

The Good:

Repels water well, cleans chain/ components, lasts a long time

The Bad:

Can attract dirt and dust, but wipes off easily

Overall Review: Finding the right lube for the place you live and the conditions you ride in can be tough. If you ask 5 cyclists what they use and why you will likely get 5 different and very opinionated answers. Working in a shop though allowed me to test a wide variety of lubes and figure out what worked well for me, and T9 was definitely at the top along with the gold Rock and Roll lube. T9 works well as a chainlube, but also has a variety of uses. I used T9 to free up a sticky shifter, to lube derailleur housing, and even to silence a squeaky saddle. One of the main benefits to T9 in my opinion is that it not only repels Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Park Tool Park FR-5 Cassette Remover

“FR-5 Cassette Tool Review”

C138_tl707a05

The Good:

Well made, durable, doesn't slip

The Bad:

Would be nice if you could use with a ratchet without a socket

Overall Review: I am one of those guys that works on a perfectly functioning bike just for the heck of it. I am hard on components and like a quiet, clean perfectly working bike. After racking up big bills at the local bike shop, I started collecting tools so that I can work on my bikes myself, something that saves me money and i really enjoy doing. Park tool has been my go to for bike specific tools, and thus far I have been impressed. I used park tool when i was a mechanic in the shop and now my home shop is mostly Park Tool. XD cassettes require a specific tool to install and remove, and I knew Park Tool was Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26