Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

Featured Review

“Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube Review”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

Awesome in dry conditions, fairly long lasting, does not attract dust and dirt easily, and helps clean the chain as you apply.

The Bad:

Not as effective in wet or muddy conditions.

Overall Review: There is a reason a lot of bike mechanics use this on their personal bikes or even use it for customer bikes, it works awesome! If you live in a place where the riding is dry and dusty most of the time (like here in Colorado where I live) it does a good job not attracting dust and sand and it keeps the chain nice and quiet. Like any chain lube, you do have to reapply and wipe off some grit and grime on a fairly regular basis, but I have noticed my chain tends to be cleaner than it did with other brands lubes. I do apply new lube about every 1-3 rides, but you could get away with using it less most likely, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 16

2016 Yeti SB5.5c X01

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 Yeti SB5.5c X01”

C138_2016_yeti_sb55c_profile_slv
Review by Jeff Brines // Action photos by Matthew Doreghty We’ve spent the better part of two months testing Yeti’s latest big-wheeled all-mountain brawler, the SB5.5c, and for the right rider it could be one of the best performing frames. Should you add the bike to your stable? How could it be improved? Read on to find out. The SB5.5c was unveiled earlier this Spring in Moab, during which we received the bike quiet favorably. However, Moab is an outlier of "normal riding conditions," which is why we reserved our full opinion of the new steed until we had ample time to test the rig in a number of riding environments. In two Read More »
Rate review: +11 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 9 149 289 11 2

RockyMounts SwitchHitter Rack

Featured Review

“RockyMounts SwitchHitter Rack”

C138_switchhitter_blue

The Good:

Low profile, easy mounting, compatible with most forks, cable locks, and easy loading and unloading

The Bad:

Rear mount rattles a bit, extra cost for lock cores, may be a bit pricey for some

Overall Review: RockyMounts has always been at the top of my list when looking for a new bike rack, they make well thought out and nice looking racks and the fact that I get to support a local Colorado company is always a bonus. The SwitchHitter is one of their newest racks and what caught my eye is that the rack can handle thru axle forks without the need of an adapter like most other racks of a similar design. The rack has removable inserts allowing you to run a 15x100, 15x110 (Boost) and 20x100 as well. The rack also comes with a QR skewer that fits inside of the 15mm insert which comes installed. When it came to installing Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 16

Park Tool P-Handled Torx Wrench Set

Featured Review

“Park Tool P-Handled Torx Wrench Set”

C138_park_ph_tset_09_m

The Good:

Durable, precise, good ergonomics

The Bad:

Price, lack of holder

Overall Review: Retail: $52.99 Includes T6, T8, T10, T15, T20, T25, T30 and T40 Torx wrenches All I can say is you get what you pay for, Park tool is my go to for the majority of my bike specific tools, because they create ergonomic and precise tools that hold up. The Torx set is no different, they offer a very precise fit when working with Torx bolts that makes it much less likely to strip a bolt. The main reason I bought them was because I was sick of using the small and awkward L-shaped Torx wrench that comes with SRAM brakes. While the tool does work, it takes much more time and added clunkiness to bleed Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 16

7iDP Control Knee Pad

Featured Review

“7 Protection Control Knee Pads”

C138_k_control_f

The Good:

Fit, protection, durability, styling

The Bad:

Break-in period, price

Overall Review: 7 Protection was not a company initially on my radar when looking for a new set of knee pads, but when I saw the giant 7 logos on Steve Peat’s knees I had to find out what they were. What I found was a company that seemed to make well thought out and feature loaded pads. Now I’ve bought products in the past that seemed too good to be true and super high tech and being disappointed Was 7 Protection the same? Or would they be a top performer with all of the features (and more) that I wanted? Initial Thoughts When I first got the pads I was unsure of the fit. The curved piece on the front had some give to it, but not a Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 16

2016 YT Capra AL Comp 1

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 YT Capra AL Comp 1”

C138_2016_yt_capra_al_comp_1
Reviewed by Steve Wentz and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer // Action modeling by Scott Hart It wasn't long ago that YT unleashed the Capra CF, a carbon bike that helped push the limits of what a ~160mm travel bike could be and do. The hydroformed aluminum model followed not long after, and even it sees the use of a one-piece carbon seat stay to keep things stiff. New for 2016, the AL Comp 1 model comes ready to rally the roughest descents with an additional 10mm of travel up front on the burly 170mm RockShox Lyrik RCT3. Pair that with some stout wheels, 150mm travel dropper post, good tires, a 1x11 drivetrain... you Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1040 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 265 1145 2137 130 39

Shimano XTR Di2 M9050

Vital Review

“Long Term Tested: Shimano's Electronic XTR Di2 Drivetrain”

C138_shimano_xt_di2_m9050
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Courtney Steen and Brandon Turman Maybe it was our hangover from the launch party the night before, but we were overwhelmed the first time we laid eyes on our Santa Cruz Bronson test bike equipped with Shimano's electronic XTR Di2 drivetrain. "What the hell are all these tiny little wires all over the bike? Why are the shift levers backwards? And for god's sake, STOP BEEPING." Yeah, it probably was the hangover. Like many, we couldn't stand the thought of electronics on a bike. Part of why we go mountain biking is to get away from all of that. Yet here we were, tasked with Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1040 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 265 1145 2137 130 39

Race Face SixC Cinch Crank

Featured Review

“SixC Cinch Crankset - Not Your Average Crankset”

C138_2014_crk_sixc_2xbash_blk_3_4_blk

The Good:

Look incredible. Lightweight. Stiff. Interchangeable spindles/crankarms. Somewhat simple to install.

The Bad:

Pricey. Small issues with preload adjuster ring and BB/BB tool interface.

Overall Review: This is my second set of SixC cranks and I do have to say, they are pretty darn impressive. This review will have insights and impressions on the first and second pair I own as well as some installation advice. At well over $400 for a SixC crankset w/ chainring, this certainly isn’t for your average biker, but if you can justify spending such money you may be pleased. Initial impressions: Recently purchased a new SixC crankset for my downhill rig after used them for over a year and a half on my endure bike. Just like when I first got them on my endure bike, I was overly impressed with the craftsmanship and looks these Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Acre Traverse Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Acre Traverse Short”

C138_optional_padded_liner_parallel_short
Review by AJ Barlas // Photos by Steve Li Acre - a brand that focuses on the minimalistic, functional side of products and less on meaningless marketing slogans - has been steadily building a following among cyclists for a number of years now. Their products are aimed at getting riders into the great outdoors with a focus on the necessities, because the extras can often result in things going wrong. Whether going on a multi-day trek or just a quick power hour rip, no one needs the hassle of garments getting in the way. The Acre Traverse short is a prime example of their mantra. This super minimalist short is all about Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2011 Atomlab Trailking Bike

“It's really nice”

C138_biketkg

The Good:

Light comfortable and clean
Very fun and easy to throw around

The Bad:

Paint chips and scratches easily
Dents easily too
Headset is hard to find
Linear brake mounts are ugly in my opinion

Overall Review: Totally worth it Very comfortable and enjoyable Great for urban, free ride, dirt, and park First dirt jumper I've built straight from frame and it looks beautiful I'd loose a nut before giving this thing up hah Definitely makes people want to be your friend cause your dirt jumper looks so clean Park rats turn their heads and people are always trying to get it off me