Latest Product Reviews

RSS

RockyMounts SwitchHitter Rack

Featured Review

“RockyMounts SwitchHitter Rack”

C138_switchhitter_blue

The Good:

Low profile, easy mounting, compatible with most forks, cable locks, and easy loading and unloading

The Bad:

Rear mount rattles a bit, extra cost for lock cores, may be a bit pricey for some

Overall Review: RockyMounts has always been at the top of my list when looking for a new bike rack, they make well thought out and nice looking racks and the fact that I get to support a local Colorado company is always a bonus. The SwitchHitter is one of their newest racks and what caught my eye is that the rack can handle thru axle forks without the need of an adapter like most other racks of a similar design. The rack has removable inserts allowing you to run a 15x100, 15x110 (Boost) and 20x100 as well. The rack also comes with a QR skewer that fits inside of the 15mm insert which comes installed. When it came to installing Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 14

Park Tool P-Handled Torx Wrench Set

Featured Review

“Park Tool P-Handled Torx Wrench Set”

C138_park_ph_tset_09_m

The Good:

Durable, precise, good ergonomics

The Bad:

Price, lack of holder

Overall Review: Retail: $52.99 Includes T6, T8, T10, T15, T20, T25, T30 and T40 Torx wrenches All I can say is you get what you pay for, Park tool is my go to for the majority of my bike specific tools, because they create ergonomic and precise tools that hold up. The Torx set is no different, they offer a very precise fit when working with Torx bolts that makes it much less likely to strip a bolt. The main reason I bought them was because I was sick of using the small and awkward L-shaped Torx wrench that comes with SRAM brakes. While the tool does work, it takes much more time and added clunkiness to bleed Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 14

7iDP Control Knee Pad

Featured Review

“7 Protection Control Knee Pads”

C138_k_control_f

The Good:

Fit, protection, durability, styling

The Bad:

Break-in period, price

Overall Review: 7 Protection was not a company initially on my radar when looking for a new set of knee pads, but when I saw the giant 7 logos on Steve Peat’s knees I had to find out what they were. What I found was a company that seemed to make well thought out and feature loaded pads. Now I’ve bought products in the past that seemed too good to be true and super high tech and being disappointed Was 7 Protection the same? Or would they be a top performer with all of the features (and more) that I wanted? Initial Thoughts When I first got the pads I was unsure of the fit. The curved piece on the front had some give to it, but not a Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 14

2016 YT Capra AL Comp 1

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 YT Capra AL Comp 1”

C138_2016_yt_capra_al_comp_1
Reviewed by Steve Wentz and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer // Action modeling by Scott Hart It wasn't long ago that YT unleashed the Capra CF, a carbon bike that helped push the limits of what a ~160mm travel bike could be and do. The hydroformed aluminum model followed not long after, and even it sees the use of a one-piece carbon seat stay to keep things stiff. New for 2016, the AL Comp 1 model comes ready to rally the roughest descents with an additional 10mm of travel up front on the burly 170mm RockShox Lyrik RCT3. Pair that with some stout wheels, 150mm travel dropper post, good tires, a 1x11 drivetrain... you Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39

Shimano XTR Di2 M9050

Vital Review

“Long Term Tested: Shimano's Electronic XTR Di2 Drivetrain”

C138_shimano_xt_di2_m9050
Review by Brandon Turman // Photos by Courtney Steen and Brandon Turman Maybe it was our hangover from the launch party the night before, but we were overwhelmed the first time we laid eyes on our Santa Cruz Bronson test bike equipped with Shimano's electronic XTR Di2 drivetrain. "What the hell are all these tiny little wires all over the bike? Why are the shift levers backwards? And for god's sake, STOP BEEPING." Yeah, it probably was the hangover. Like many, we couldn't stand the thought of electronics on a bike. Part of why we go mountain biking is to get away from all of that. Yet here we were, tasked with Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 6023 1041 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 263 1126 2112 130 39

Race Face SixC Cinch Crank

Featured Review

“SixC Cinch Crankset - Not Your Average Crankset”

C138_2014_crk_sixc_2xbash_blk_3_4_blk

The Good:

Look incredible. Lightweight. Stiff. Interchangeable spindles/crankarms. Somewhat simple to install.

The Bad:

Pricey. Small issues with preload adjuster ring and BB/BB tool interface.

Overall Review: This is my second set of SixC cranks and I do have to say, they are pretty darn impressive. This review will have insights and impressions on the first and second pair I own as well as some installation advice. At well over $400 for a SixC crankset w/ chainring, this certainly isn’t for your average biker, but if you can justify spending such money you may be pleased. Initial impressions: Recently purchased a new SixC crankset for my downhill rig after used them for over a year and a half on my endure bike. Just like when I first got them on my endure bike, I was overly impressed with the craftsmanship and looks these Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49

Acre Traverse Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Acre Traverse Short”

C138_optional_padded_liner_parallel_short
Review by AJ Barlas // Photos by Steve Li Acre - a brand that focuses on the minimalistic, functional side of products and less on meaningless marketing slogans - has been steadily building a following among cyclists for a number of years now. Their products are aimed at getting riders into the great outdoors with a focus on the necessities, because the extras can often result in things going wrong. Whether going on a multi-day trek or just a quick power hour rip, no one needs the hassle of garments getting in the way. The Acre Traverse short is a prime example of their mantra. This super minimalist short is all about Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2011 Atomlab Trailking Bike

“It's really nice”

C138_biketkg

The Good:

Light comfortable and clean
Very fun and easy to throw around

The Bad:

Paint chips and scratches easily
Dents easily too
Headset is hard to find
Linear brake mounts are ugly in my opinion

Overall Review: Totally worth it Very comfortable and enjoyable Great for urban, free ride, dirt, and park First dirt jumper I've built straight from frame and it looks beautiful I'd loose a nut before giving this thing up hah Definitely makes people want to be your friend cause your dirt jumper looks so clean Park rats turn their heads and people are always trying to get it off me

Maxxis Ardent Tire

“Maxxis Ardent 27.5 x 2.25”

C138_90357980_1266959103

The Good:

Amazing on loose dirt and slippery surfaces, good on wet ground, cool sound as the wheels are on pavement, strong sidewall impenetrable basically, I've thrown a lot at these tires and they haven't disappointed,

The Bad:

Tires tend to clog up slightly when going through mud (most tires do)

Overall Review: The tires will not disappoint they will tackle any surface and won't disappoint, have a few minor things which isn't too bad, amazing grip and reliability

Race Face Love Handle Grip

Featured Review

“Love Handles Aren't Just For Thick Girls”

C138_2015_grip_lovehandle_lockon_black

The Good:

Good ergonomic design, High quality Rubber, Well thought out patterns, dual locking rings with durable bolts.

The Bad:

Questioning the durability (long term) of parts of the grips.

Overall Review: Purchased these to go on my 2016 Scott Gambler 720. I'm a firm believer that having well designed contact components (where you attach to your bike) can and will improve rider confidence which later improves skills. In terms of contact components, there isn't any other piece of the bike that is more hands-on than the grips. Thats why selecting a good pair is of the up-most importance. From flat to mega-ergonomic design, there are an endless amount of grips to choose from. After trying many grips out there throughout the years (Lock-on Charger, Squarewave, ODI TLD, Ruffian Lock-on, GX MTB, etc) I have learned that my hands Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 23 49