Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Maxxis Ardent Tire

“Ardent 29x2.4 folding”

C138_90357980_1266959103

The Good:

As long as the bead is FOLDING they set up nicely tubeless, weather or not the tire is tubeless specific. Long wear life. Handle rocky conditions well without getting tread rips or sidewall damage.
Come in a gumwall.
Lot of volume.
Predictable drifting in corners if you can't hold your line because you came in too hot.

The Bad:

The really don't have a BAD point.

Overall Review: This is a great all around tire. I have a big list of positives I've listed and can't find a weakness. I'm riding Utah with sharp rocks and square edges and the 2.4 is on every bike from single speed rigid to Transition Covert 140mm FS.  The knobs roll well, off road hook up is perfect.  I'll go through a set every 700 miles and then they are some really nice handmedowns to my buddies.  One additional bonus for the weight weenie is that they are fairly light for a tire that can take some serious punishment at 695-805 gram depending on the model.  I've used the IKON and don't feel that the extra money is worth it.  Maxxis is my brand.   This review is only for the 29x2.4
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Christian Peper
1131 Christian Peper http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/1131/avatar/c50_88173630_1260934116.jpg?1290152491 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Christian-Peper,1131/all 10/22/09 6 22 8 4 24 205 11

FUNN FATBOY 35 Handlebar

Featured Review

“GREAT BASIC BAR”

C138_14_fatboy_35_red

The Good:

Stiff, Good Finish, Affordable

The Bad:

I wish they came in a larger rise.

Overall Review: After destroying my Carbon Havoc bars in a crash back in September, I picked these up. I initially picked them up because I got the FUNN RSX 35 stem and they were pretty cheap. Although I haven't gone through a huge testing period, I have been quite impressed with them. They are stiff but will the right amount of damping flex. This says a lot after riding carbon bars for the past year. I love the shape of the bars too. They feel very natural to me. The finish on them is very good as well. No huge crashes on them but I have had a few OTB moments and they haven't shown any signs of scratches. My only complaint is that they Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 1 11

FUNN RSX Stem

“TOTALL AWESOME”

C138_14_rsx_35_20_red

The Good:

Wide, Light, Stiff, Simple, Affordable

The Bad:

Limited color options

Overall Review: After destroying the Easton Havoc direct mount stem on a crash I had back in September, I decided to try the FUNN RSX stem out. I've never owned a FUNN product before but have heard great things about them. I was first drawn to this stem because of how wide is made the clamping space (wider space = stiffer). So far, so good. I love the oversized bars for their stiffness and the RSX stem makes them seem even stiffer. I haven't taken any spills with this new stem yet but have been very impressed thus far. I choose the black color but wish they made one in green so to match my 2014 Kona Operator. Besides the limited colors, I'd recommend this product to anyone. Two thumbs up.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 1 11

Straitline SSC Stem

“Best Stiffness/Weight Ratio Around”

C138_st258a00_black35

The Good:

Beautifully machined, Very stiff, Very light weight for it's design.

The Bad:

No 35mm version, Kinda Pricey

Overall Review: Purchased the Straitline SSC stem a few years ago and looking back, it has been my favorite stem. I had it installed on a Trek Slash and was perfect for my purposes. It was very stiff, yet very light in weight. In a world were these two are insanely important, this stem really shined. The craftsmanship of this piece was beyond impressive as well. It was beautiful. All of Straitline products are beautiful. Mountain biking seems to be an industry with infinite standards, my only complaint is that Straitline currently doesn't have this stem available in a 35mm diameter. All of straitline components are on the pricy side but Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

SRAM PC991 Cross Step Chain

“Great chain with only one flaw”

C138_100895320_1265249814

The Good:

Construction is solid, great value.

The Bad:

Quick-link issues

Overall Review: Used this model chain for the entire time I owned my Trek Slash. It was a great chain that shifted perfectly with my sram groupo. It also lasted a very long time due to constantly making sure it was lubed. My only complaint is with the gold quick-link. I understand that Sram says to only use a quick-link once before replacing it, but even while following this guideline, I had a few explode on me resulting in a broken and sometimes completely lost chain. I love Sram products but their quick-links have let me down time and time again.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

Five Ten Freerider Flat Pedal Shoe

“Great shoe with outstanding grip”

C138_freeride_blue

The Good:

Great every-day comfort, Mind-blowing grip, True to size

The Bad:

Not as much breathability as I would like for the warmer summer rides

Overall Review: Picked up my Five Ten Freeriders after riding the more intense Five Ten Sam Hill shoes. I loved the grip of the Sam Hills but hated, let me bold it, hatedhow stiff they were, while riding, I couldn't feel where my feet were on the pedals which overall effected my confidence when riding. If only Five Ten made a shoe that had the same phenomenal grip but with a much less stiff sole. They did, it's called the Freerider. The things I loved about the Freerider is that it felt like a typical skate show that we were raise on but with a little more stability for those nasty cases we go through for second guessing our Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grip

Featured Review

“ODI + TLD = Perfection”

C138_gr272a00

The Good:

Very grippy, Durable, Well worth the money, Great color options

The Bad:

Could be a little more comfy.

Overall Review: Picked these grips up for my Yeti SB66 and have been very impressed. The first thing that attracted me to them was the were the colors but after a few runs down some steep, wet, technical terrain I was a true believer in them. ODI used nothing but their finest, most durable rubber on these and you can really tell. After a full season of riding dirty the grips showed very little signs of wear. In addition to the durability, the grips have a very unique pattern than keep your hands locked, even through the roughest terrain. These grips have a very unique thumb and pinky flange that helps you feel where your hands Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

Smith PivLock V2 Sunglasses

Featured Review

“Changing lenses has never been so easy”

C138_blue

The Good:

High quality lenses, Comes with three lenses to match riding conditions, Easy to swap out, Amazing adjustable nose piece, lifetime warranty that company stands behind.

The Bad:

Fogged on me a few times (mostly riders error), pretty pricey

Overall Review: Smithhas always had areputationof being a down-to-earth company, actively engaged in the progression of outdoor sports. Their love for what they do really shines through when they come out with products like the PivLock V2. Mixed in with their lifetime warranty, you really can't go wrong with these shades. I picked up my PivLock V2 glasses about18 months ago so this is more of a long-term review. First thing I noticed when putting them on was how clear and clean their lenses are. If they aren't the highest quality lens out there, they are certainly close to it. There have only been a few times were my lenses have fogged up Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

Niterider Pro 1500 LED Race Light

Featured Review

“Shine a light on it”

C138_54547

The Good:

Great value, long running times, mount is very good, a great product from a great company

The Bad:

Long charge time, no 35mm bar clamp adaptor.

Overall Review: As my friends and I have gotten older and have gained moreresponsibilityin life, we have moved our wild and reckless activities from the daytime to the night. Yes, we are spending as much time and money as cocaine addicts do.Theonly difference is ours recklessnessis targeted solely on mountain biking. Key to this is our discovery of night lights. After doing a ton of research on what are the best brands and models of lights, I found myself sticking a Niterider Pro 1500 on my bars. Here's why: Running time: The NiteRider Pro 1500 has a running time of 1.5 hours on the brightest (1500 lumen) setting. Weighing in Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24

Pro Bike Display Stand

Featured Review

“Great stand for the price”

C138_32890

The Good:

Great for lighter bikes and Okay for heavier ones, Anti-scratch rubber, Multiple sizes for best fit, Unbeatable price at JensonUSA

The Bad:

Can be unstable if installed improperly, can damage components like rotors, awkward shape for storage

Overall Review: We use these stands at the bike shop I work at to hold customer's bikes and showroom bikes for short periods of time. For the most part, they get the job done and are aconvenientway to hold the bike as we explain components and services to customers. And at the price, you really can't beat it; Jensonusa.comcurrently has them on sale. The stand also comes in two different sizes, silver for smaller () bikes and black for larger (> 27.5" ) ones. Issues: I only have two major complaints about this stand. First, this bike stand can be very unstable if the tire isn't sitting properly. I know this doesn't sound like a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 1 7 24