Latest Product Reviews

RSS

RockShox Reverb 1X Remote

Vital Review

“First Ride: RockShox Reverb 1X Remote”

C138_rockshox_reverb_lever
We ask a lot from our dropper seatposts - we want them to go up and down on command, lock out entirely, stay smooth, offer infinite adjustability, hold up to the constant abuse of dust and mud, and to do it over and over for months on end without ever servicing the things. From a designer's standpoint that is a very tall order, and it turns out manufacturing a good dropper is very difficult thing to do. RockShox has been at it for years, however, and while they've no doubt had their fair share of hiccups there are several reasons why the Reverb is the world's most popular dropper. Having resolved a few issues at Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1136 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1228 2238 156 41

2015 YT Tues CF Comp Bike

“Frame Good - Components Bad”

C138_2015_yt_tues_cf_comp_white

The Good:

The Frame and Suspension kinematics

The Bad:

The components, namely the SRAM components.

Overall Review: The frame is great. The feel of the bike on the trail is confidence inspiring. It manages to feel both aggressive and relaxed at the same time. The rear suspension is really progressive which means that it starts out supple, but gets stiffer as it moves through the travel, which helps prevent bottoming. There are lots of reviews out there about how great the YT Tues CF feels, so I wont go into more detail there. The bottom line is that I love the bike, but here's what I didn't like: Day one on the bike, and i started feeling a "clunk" in the rear suspension. I was able to quickly isolate it as a lower rear suspension pivot bolt Read More »

2017 Norco Optic Carbon 9.2

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Norco Optic Carbon 29 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_norco_optic_carbon_9.2
Entering the scene in the spring of 2016, the new Optic is Norco’s addition to the growing short-travel trail bike market. Featuring 110mm of rear wheel travel, our test bike is built around 29-inch wheels but is also available in a surprisingly similar 27.5-inch option. The Optic was created simply to be a fun bike and is aimed at riders seeking a pedal smashing ride with trail capability. The varied and rocky terrain of Tucson, Arizona was a great place to see if Norco’s latest model lives up to the claims. Highlights Carbon frame with aluminum stays 29-inch wheels 110mm (4.3-inches) of rear wheel travel // 120mm Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1136 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1228 2238 156 41

Race Face Atlas Saddle

Featured Member Review

“Race Face Atlas I-Beam Saddle”

C138_2013_sad_atlas_blk_quarter

The Good:

Incredibly light while offering excellent strength, High quality materials and craftsmanship, Easy to install and adjust, Great looking saddle.

The Bad:

Stiffness could lead to discomfort for some riders

Overall Review: When selecting components to build up my Gambler together I set three standards: #1 Light weight, #2 Strong and durable, and #3 Has to look good. For the majority of riders out there they don’t necessarily give two shits about what saddle they place their butts on (especially for DH riders) but building my dream bike, I was on the hunt for a top-of-the-line saddle. After a massive comparison, I landed on the Race Face Atlas I-Beam saddle. With a half season on it, here’s what I liked, not liked, and overall impressions of the Atlas I-Beam saddle. Out of The Box: Pulling the Atlas I-Beam saddle out of the packaging I was blown Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 22 89

2017 Ellsworth Rogue 60 XT 1X

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Ellsworth Rogue 60 from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_ellsworth_rogue_sixty_captain_america
"The truth about the world, he said, is that anything is possible. Had you not seen it all from birth and thereby not bled it of its strangeness it would appear to you for what it is, a hat trick in a medicine show, a fevered dream, a trance bepopulate with chimeras having neither analogue nor precedent, an itinerant carnival, a migratory tent show whose ultimate destination after many a pitch in many a muddled field is unspeakable and calamitous beyond reckoning." – Cormac McCarthy, Blood Meridian What do we really know? We know that the story you want to tell can be so much more compelling than the story you need Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1136 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1228 2238 156 41

2017 Specialized Enduro Comp 650b

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Specialized Enduro 650b from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_specialized_enduro_comp_650b_bike_satin_black_charcoal
Hailing from a long legacy of trail and enduro performance, the 2017 Specialized Enduro brings some updates to a classic design. Available in both 650b (27.5) and 29/6Fattie (27.5+) versions, the new frame is longer, lower, comes in more sizes, and sports a little more travel. With 170mm of suspension and not-quite-plus 2.6-inch tires, the new Enduro is on the leading edge of new trends in an ever-changing category. We thrashed the Enduro Comp 650b down the loose and rocky trails of Tucson, Arizona during Vital MTB Test Sessions to see if this price point model can take a serious beating. Highlights M5 aluminum Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1136 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1228 2238 156 41

Burgtec Cloud 2 Saddle

Vital Review

“​First Ride: Burgtec The Cloud Saddle”

C138_9004_burgtec_the_cloud_saddle_carbon_rails_carbon_base_plate_1_2
Known mostly for their much-loved Penthouse flat pedal, Burgtec is a small, UK-based company that puts out all kinds of components ranging from handlebars and stems to mudguards and chainrings. They’ve just recently updated their The Cloud saddle model, which now offers 3 different versions at quite reasonable prices. We’ve plopped our tired behinds down on one to see what gives. Burgtec The Cloud Highlights Interface: Railed Materials: Synthetic, Chromo/Ti/Carbon Rails Colors: Black Versions: CroMo rails molded plastic base, Ti rails molded carbon base, Carbon rails molded carbon base Weights: Carbon rails, 200 grams // Ti Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 767 84 849 1713 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 54 350 3978 99 29

Troy Lee Designs Raid Knee Guard

Vital Review

“Tested: Troy Lee Designs Raid Knee Guard”

C138_raid_knee_guard_black_1
Troy Lee Designs really needs no introduction from us. They’re known for making some of the most visible and iconic riding gear in two-wheeled sports, not to mention a reputation for quality. Their Raid Knee Guard, which has been available for the better part of a year, is touted as a lightweight, breathable, and durable pad which looks to target the modern downhill or enduro rider who needs protection but isn’t willing to sacrifice mobility. We’ve been riding in the Raid Knee Guard since the day it was released, and are finally ready to weigh in on our thoughts. Raid Knee Guard Features D30 CE Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 28 7 718 142 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 231 68 53 1

Race Face Sixc 35 Handlebar

Featured Member Review

“Race Face Sixc 35 Handlebar”

C138_2014_hbr35_sixc_rs_35

The Good:

Looks to kill, Great attention to detail, Super light weight, Multiple color options, Overall great bar.

The Bad:

Wish multiple color options were included in all rise sizes (10mm and 35mm)

Overall Review: When I was building my dream Gambler, I was only looking for the best components to put on it. From suspension to seatpost, everything was hand-picked. This being the case, when I started looking at handlebars, I knew I wanted to go with a 35mm diameter bar so I would be getting the greatest amount of stiffness and support. I also didn’t want anything less than 800mm width. Lastly, I wanted the bar to look good on the bike. With all these things tying in together, I set my mind on the Raceface SixC carbon handlebar. After months of riding on this bar, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: The first Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 22 89

2017 Intense Recluse Elite

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Intense Recluse from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_recluse_elite_trq_side2
Recluse: [noun] A solitary person who avoids the company of others. Brown Recluse: [noun] One of two poisonous spiders in North America. The bite of the brown recluse causes necrosis (death) of the tissue. Intense Recluse: [noun] A brand new carbon fiber all-mountain bicycle from a reputable American company. Was the new robin egg blue head turner from California going to be more like the hermit in the woods or the small nightmarish spider that causes your skin to turn black and die? Perhaps it would be neither, instead providing a ride so good that it would "keep you alone, out in front of the pack." We smuggled the bike Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1136 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1228 2238 156 41