Latest Product Reviews

RSS

KMC Missing Link Chain Pliers

“Solid piece of kit worth investing in”

C138_46600

The Good:

Does the job. Allows you to re-use quick links.

The Bad:

Does nothing to stand out from any other quick link pliers

Overall Review: This does exactly what it should; removes quick links. What they don't tell you is that it does it without damaging the link, allowing you to re-use it several times before replacing it, much better than using needle-nosed pliers. Of course, whichever chain brand you are using won't endorse this technique, but after trying it on KMC, Sram, and Shimano chains, I'm confident enough to use a re-used quick link in races or all-day epic rides without worry. I'm not sure I could endorse these particular pliers over any other similarly specific pliers, but they seem to be of quality build and have a smooth action.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

Kore Fuze III Saddle

Vital Review

“Tested: Kore Fuze III Saddle”

C138_saddle_thick_blue
by Justin Schroth Kore has a 20-year history that is deeply entrenched in the mountain bike component game. We’ve seen some of the all-time greats rocking the Kore family of products, from Brian Lopes to youngster Jackson Goldstone, but with most components, you’re often flooded with a sea of options when it comes to selection, especially items like a saddle. Padding, construction, size, and materials all play a factor in selecting that perfect place to rest your rear, and, as one of the points of contact between you and the bike, the right saddle is always one of the key elements that can quickly make or break a ride. Using Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lucent
16 Lucent http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16/avatar/c50_IMG_0810_1401977666.jpg?1401976735 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/all 07/28/09 8 23 49 68 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lucent,16/setup 2 23 8 230 25 1

VP Components VP-Harrier Flat Pedal

“Big solid pedal ”

C138_harrier1

The Good:

This pedal is one of the biggest on the market. I have a size 12 1/2 shoe so this pedal is a nice change from the norm. With the larger platform I'm less worried about getting my feet just in the right place.

2 different types of pins, tons of grip. I personally really like puns in the center of a pedal which the harrier has with a pointed set of pins.

Thin profile and durable. The pedal is nice and thin and also strong. Bashed the set many times on big lava rock boulders and they barely have a scratch.

The Bad:

Not as many color options as other pedals but that's the only downside.

If you have smaller feet you may choose a different pedal.

Overall Review: Just a great pedal! Durable large platform with a good ammount of pins for grip. Thin profile, strong frame, great for all types of riding. Buying a 2nd set in the near future.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jbam19
42074 jbam19 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42074/avatar/c50_11958155_980031995380167_2760050383019574726_o_1471479386.jpg?1471479355 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jbam19,42074/all 08/17/16 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jbam19,42074/setup 2 1

Maxxis Ardent Tire

Featured Review

“Maxxis Ardent Tire Review- Good when dry, bad when wet”

C138_90357980_1266959103

The Good:

Predictable, hard wearing tire

The Bad:

sucks in muddy conditions

Overall Review: Maxxis tires have always been my go to, and Ardents have been a great rear tire on my bikes. I like a tire that has a solid amount of grip and corners well, but that will drift predictably when you want to drift. The ardents seems to do this for me pretty well. I have the 2.4 inch width option with the 3C compound. I think this is a great option because it provides a good amount of grip, but still wears well. I had a softer compound before and I ripped alot of the cornering knobs off. Thus far this has not been an issue with the Ardents.. Something I really like about these tires is just how predictable they are, you can feel when Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Boeshield T-9 Lube

Featured Review

“Boeshield T9 Lube Review- A great all purpose lube”

C138_boeshield_t_9_lube

The Good:

Repels water well, cleans chain/ components, lasts a long time

The Bad:

Can attract dirt and dust, but wipes off easily

Overall Review: Finding the right lube for the place you live and the conditions you ride in can be tough. If you ask 5 cyclists what they use and why you will likely get 5 different and very opinionated answers. Working in a shop though allowed me to test a wide variety of lubes and figure out what worked well for me, and T9 was definitely at the top along with the gold Rock and Roll lube. T9 works well as a chainlube, but also has a variety of uses. I used T9 to free up a sticky shifter, to lube derailleur housing, and even to silence a squeaky saddle. One of the main benefits to T9 in my opinion is that it not only repels Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Park Tool Park FR-5 Cassette Remover

“FR-5 Cassette Tool Review”

C138_tl707a05

The Good:

Well made, durable, doesn't slip

The Bad:

Would be nice if you could use with a ratchet without a socket

Overall Review: I am one of those guys that works on a perfectly functioning bike just for the heck of it. I am hard on components and like a quiet, clean perfectly working bike. After racking up big bills at the local bike shop, I started collecting tools so that I can work on my bikes myself, something that saves me money and i really enjoy doing. Park tool has been my go to for bike specific tools, and thus far I have been impressed. I used park tool when i was a mechanic in the shop and now my home shop is mostly Park Tool. XD cassettes require a specific tool to install and remove, and I knew Park Tool was Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Park Tool Park SR-1 Chain Whip

“SR-1 a quality tool, but nothing too special”

C138_sr1

The Good:

Does the job as advertised, nice length and grip for extra leverage and comfort

The Bad:

End for cassette tool isn't very useful, not quite as effective as new plier style chin whip

Overall Review: The SR-1 Chain whip from Park tool is a quality piece of kit. While not as fancy as some of the new plier style chain whip tools, the SR-1 simply works. It has a nice feel to it, with a nice rubberized blue wrap, KMC chain and an end that fits most cassette tools. I bought this tool when my cheaper whip from Nashbar broke, I probably could have just replaced the old chain that had snapped, but i wanted something of a higher quality and I knew Park Tool would be that. I have used this tool on everything from a 6 speed steel road bike to my 11 speed sram drivetrain. The tool fits each width fine and as Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Maxxis High Roller II Tire

Featured Review

“Maxxis High Roller II Review”

C138_tyre_image_highroller2_l

The Good:

Softer compound provides great grip, corners well, DH sidewall holds up to abuse

The Bad:

A bit pricey, had issues with the EXO sidewall tearing, higher rolling resistance than some other offerings

Overall Review: I have always been a fan of Maxxis tires, I have ridden Continental, Schwalbe, Forte, Kenda, and more, but I always go back to Maxxis. I am a fairly hard charging rider, and I slip off line quite a bit (more guts than skill at times). This means every tire I buy I look for ones that have durable sidewalls and good cornering traction. I run a 2.4 ardent in the rear, and like that tire because it has a suitable amount of traction, while still being able to break loose in a controlled manner for drifting corners. The front tire I run is the Higher Roller II in a 2.4 width. I started with the standard EXO sidewalled HR Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Park Tool Master Link Pliers

Featured Review

“Park Tool Master Link Pliers- work smarter not harder”

C138_7781

The Good:

Makes quick work of installing/ removing master links, quality construction

The Bad:

nothing yet

Overall Review: This is another one of those tools that you don’t know you need until you need it, and once you have used it, you will never go back. The majority of chains out there use a master link or can be used with a master link, and in general this is a good thing. They are helpful when you need to easily remove or install a chain, and spare master links can be thrown in a pack or taped to the bike to fix a snapped chain. With older chains 8, 9 or 10 speed they can usually be installed or removed with a bit of work, but if you are not careful you can bend or tweak a master link. Most 11 speed links I have used Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26

Straitline SSC Stem

Featured Review

“Straitline SSC Stem Review- Burly and beautiful”

C138_st258a00_black35

The Good:

Stiff, durable, fairly light, nice machining, low stack height

The Bad:

Pricey and might be overkill for some situations

Overall Review: Definitely one of the more pricey components I have purchased primarily for looks, but the function surprised me as well. I have always tried to purchase from smaller companies that produced products in-house instead of sending overseas, and Straitline does just that. Working for a bike manufacturer has shown me just how loose tolerances can be on products made overseas and how cheaply they are produced. There is of course is exceptions to this, but generally products made in house in places like the Uk, US, or Canada (like Straitline) use better raw materials, more machining and give you a higher quality product. This does Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_14495278_10210751142077527_739993948569436097_n_1475294200.jpg?1475293871 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 5 4 26