Latest Product Reviews

RSS

FUNN Python Pedal

“Holy Shizzle These Things Are For Rizzle”

C138_funn_python_pedal

The Good:

Huge platform, Strong, Easy to overhaul, Thin, and light weight (Pretty much everything you want in a pedal!)

The Bad:

Nothing at all.

Overall Review: Got these pedals during an impulsive purchase of a bunch of Funn components which was triggered by a DTR (determine the relationship) break-up with an Ex. Needless to say, these components were/are way more Funn than that relationship ever was. Size Matters: What really drove me to these pedals was the overall size and thinness of the platform. They are super thin which help the bike feel more natural when pedaling like a demon and the platform makes the stability great incase you forget you ride right-foot-forward while doing a no-footer. In short, they are huge and I love it. Durability: After riding them a bit, I have been Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 1 11

Five Ten Freerider Canvas Shoe

“MY SAVING GRACE”

C138_5218_freerider_canvas_2

The Good:

Supportive, Grippy, True to size, and Dope!

The Bad:

Nothing at all dude.

Overall Review: This is my first pair of the Five Ten Freeriders and they are by far my most favorite shoe to go mountain biking in. I've tried going clipless for months and after a few falling-off-cliff situations, I realized that clipless just wasn't for me. I was super bummed because all my favorite DH racers ride clipped in and I realized I would never be anywhere close to them in talent, speed, and awesomeness unless I too clipped in. Right as I was listing my DH bike for sale and about to press the "complete order" button on a 700c town bike, I saw an ad for Five Ten shoes on the sidebar (is that even a thing?) of my Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 1 11

Race Face Atlas Seatpost

“ITS HOT AND HOLDS YOUR BUTT UP”

C138_2013_spt_atlas_blk_wht

The Good:

Compatible with the RaceFace Atlas I-Beam saddle, Very light weight, Very strong, Very simple,

The Bad:

Nothing Nothing Nothing!

Overall Review: Got this seatpost after destroying the stock Kona saddle on my bike. I got this saddle because my friend recommended an I-beam style setup and I really liked the design and looks of the RaceFace Atlas I-Beam saddle. After riding on this set-up all I can say is boy was this a good decision! Installing: Installing the RaceFace I-Beam saddle and seatpost was super easy (a lot easier than pretending to have 8 hands to install a regular-railed saddle.) Even after it was tightened down to spec, cus we all know we torque everything of ours, adjusting it was a breeze. Simply loosen the single bolt and tap. Nothing ever falls apart Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 1 11

Race Face Atlas Saddle

“STRONGEST/MOST DURABLE SADDLE I KNOW OF”

C138_2013_sad_atlas_blk_quarter

The Good:

Strong - Can take a serious ass smash, Easy to install and easy to adjust, Looks great, Feels great

The Bad:

Only compatible with I-Beam seatposts (not for your droppers you Enduroites)

Overall Review: Got this saddle after destroying the rails on my stock Kona saddle. Sure I went through a few crashes where my bike yard-saled down the entire hillside but thats no excuse for a saddle to poop (no pun intended) out on you. Anyways, I got this saddle because my friend recommended an I-beam style setup and I love RaceFace components. Boy was that a good decision! Installing: Installing this saddle was super easy (a lot easier than pretending to have 8 hands to install a regular-railed saddle.) Even after it was tightened down to spec, cus we all know we torque everything, adjusting it was a breeze. In Use: The thing I love most Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 1 11

Race Face Cinch BSA30 Bottom Bracket

“SLIGHTLY DISAPPOINTED ”

C138_2014_bb_cinch_30mm_bsa

The Good:

It allows you to install the RaceFace SixC Crank on your bike.

The Bad:

Requires a RaceFace specific BB tool to install. Bearings started feeling shitty sooner than expected.

Overall Review: Purchased this along with my Raceface SixC cranks half way through last season. The SixC cranks are truly a masterpiece in every way but this BB isn’t. I ordered these cranks and when they came, I had to order a RaceFace BB tool and wait for that to arrive before I could install it. Side note: this BB tool is made very nicely and will last forever. I admit this is my bad for not doing enough research but still. Why couldn’t RaceFace just use their regular BB tool for this as well? Installing the BB was easy and straight forward with good manuals to help assist you. It was super smooth too so I was happy. After Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 1 11

2016 Santa Cruz Bronson C S

“OUTSTANDING AM BIKE”

C138_2016_santa_cruz_bronson_c_s

The Good:

Geometry is flawless - Long top-tube and great fork and seat angles, Gearing is great with the 10-42T, Stiff, and very light weight for what it can handle.

The Bad:

The front fork (pike) is light as hell but I wish it was a little more supple on the small bumps.

Overall Review: Quick info about review: Let me be upfront with you, I don't own this bike. This review is based upon the demo fleet from Santa Cruz. I demo'd the new 2016 BronsonC S over a weekend in Moab, Utah and rode two very popular trails (Slick Rock and Porcupine Trail). This is my take on it... Geometry: When picking the bike up, the first thing I noticed was the slightly longer top-tube than the previous year's model. I mean, this thing is long, but good. (That's what she said..) I'm 6' 1" and typically ride an XL bike. I base everything on top-tube length (24.5" length being ideal for my preferences). In most other companies, I Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hucktoflat
38738 Hucktoflat http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38738/avatar/c50_39192_1451695287.jpg?1451694652 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hucktoflat,38738/all 01/01/16 1 11

Nukeproof Zero Stem

Vital Review

“Tested: Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Handlebar and Zero Stem”

C138_stem34_1270x847
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Nils Hjord and Johan Hjord Nukeproof started life as a component maker, and although they have had great success with their line of complete bikes over the past few years, they are staying true to their roots as makers of reasonably priced, quality components. At the recent launch of the all-new Mega, we were given the opportunity to ride the latest carbon handlebars as well, and we liked them so much that we slipped a pair in our suitcase when nobody was looking. We’ve been riding ‘em ever since, and we’re here to let you know if we still like ‘em. Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Highlights Material: Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 744 52 684 1647 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 31 248 3078 72 23

Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Handlebar

Vital Review

“Tested: Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Handlebar and Zero Stem”

C138_warhead_carbon_bar_gallery_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Nils Hjord and Johan Hjord Nukeproof started life as a component maker, and although they have had great success with their line of complete bikes over the past few years, they are staying true to their roots as makers of reasonably priced, quality components. At the recent launch of the all-new Mega, we were given the opportunity to ride the latest carbon handlebars as well, and we liked them so much that we slipped a pair in our suitcase when nobody was looking. We’ve been riding ‘em ever since, and we’re here to let you know if we still like ‘em. Nukeproof Warhead Carbon Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 744 52 684 1647 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 31 248 3078 72 23

2015 YT TUES CF Pro

Vital Review

“Tested: 2015 YT TUES CF Pro”

C138_2015_yt_tues_cf_pro_blue
Reviewed by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Courtney Steen Just a few years ago Young Talent Industries was a relatively unknown German brand, and today they are setting up to rival some of the industry's greats. How can that be? Where did the fire come from? Excellent reviews of their Capra enduro bike certainly helped, as did their consumer direct sales model and aggressive pricing. There's also the athlete factor, and with names like Cam Zink, Andreu Lacondeguy, and Kelly McGarry truly pushing the limits year after year, it was only a matter of time before bikes started flying out the door. This past summer we took to the Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1141 92 5455 1044 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 235 1013 1999 110 40

2015 Giant Trance SX 27.5

Featured Review

“2015 Giant Trance SX”

C138_2015_giant_trance_sx_27.5

The Good:

Playful yet composed, jumps well, cornering, Drivetrain, brakes, and rear shock are great right out of the box

The Bad:

Can feel under-gunned in seriously gnarly terrain, Dual Position fork, heavy stock wheelset

Overall Review: I've been on the 2015 Trance SX for just under a year now, and overall it's been a good bike. A competitive price and several top notch parts as well as an awesome all around ride make it a winner. It climbs like a goat with the Monarch Debonair and Maestro Suspension combo providing loads of traction. The bike isn't the lightest out of the box, so it's not the quickest climber, but it'll get you up pretty much anything. The gearing is good, with the 32t chainring and 10-42 cassette offering plenty of range for all types of riding. Using the travel adjust on the fork will help the bike steer it's way up switchbacks a bit Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jduncan2124
38683 jduncan2124 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/38683/avatar/c50_Screenshot_2015_12_19_21_14_31_1452136439.jpg?1452136208 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jduncan2124,38683/all 12/29/15 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jduncan2124,38683/setup 2 1