Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Bell Super 2R Helmet

“Bell Super 2R, Turtle In a Half Shell”

C138_bell_super_2r_helmet_white

The Good:

Versatile, half shell is the Bell Super, MIPS, ventilation, protection, ease of use, extra confidence for every trail.

The Bad:

Looks great as a half shell, only ok without.

Overall Review: By now we all know the story. The Bell Super 2R is a convertible helmet that doesn't pass the downhill safety test. Listen, if you wear this as a downhill helmet, you have more than a lab safety test to worry about. If however, you want a helmet with a bit more protection and confidence to go that extra bit faster down some rowdier trails, then this is a perfect helmet. I've had it for two seasons and here's what I love about it. All of the extra protection comes at zero compromise. The chinbar fits in my helmet stow compartment in my pack and I never notice it while riding. The half shell is nearly exactly the Bell Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

Royal 2016 Core Gloves

“Lightweight, great grip and fit”

C138_core_glove_red

The Good:

Great for warm weather, silicon grip is large and durable, comfortable, durable for such a light glove.

The Bad:

Fits a bit snug

Overall Review: Excellent glove for those who like a minimalist glove style, but also want it to last. I love the silicon grip on the fingers. Its wide, and doesn't peel off like most do after a few rides. The terry cloth thumb is a nice touch too. These wash well and won't fall apart in the machine. These have become my go-to glove.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

Ryders Eyewear Strider Anti-Fog Photochromic Glasses

“Why would you buy anything else?”

C138_ryders_strider_sunglasses

The Good:

Photochromatic is amazing, nose and ear pads hold your face comfortably, price is excellent

The Bad:

Styling is a bit "racy".

Overall Review: I was looking for a lens that would protect my eyes from the sun when I was climbing up a long fire road or flowing through an alpine meadow on a sunny day. I was also looking for a lens that I could use in a deep dark forest, on cloudy, rainy days, or at twilight. I'd tried glasses with interchangeable lenses and these worked great in all of those situations... as long as I spent a few minutes putting the right lenses in before transitioning from the open field to the dark wood and back again. The Ryders do it all and you don't have to fiddle with extra lenses. Best of all, the price is less than Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

Cane Creek DBinline Air Shock

“DH performance at Trail weight”

C138_cane_creek_dbinline_air_shock

The Good:

Super-adjustable, light weight, high performance.

The Bad:

Having to send it away to Suspension Werx for a service.

Overall Review: I've had two of these units and been very happy with both. At a huge weight savings over a piggy-back shock, there is virtually no performance lost. In fact over some of the competition, there is even more adjust-ability. Now I am a guy who loves to tinker with suspension settings and it really pays to play around and see what works for your preference, riding type, trails, etc... I can see how if you didn't like to do that, leaving the stock shock on might be your best option. However, this shock transformed my bike into a weapon. It is faster, more stable, more playful, and more enjoyable to ride. With more oil Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

Five Ten Impact VXi Shoe

Featured Review

“The perfect flat pedal shoe, except for the rubber sole that falls off in chunks...”

C138_five_ten_impact_vxi_shoe_sole

The Good:

Grip is uncanny, light, water resistant, stiff underfoot.

The Bad:

The sole falls apart quickly

Overall Review: I don't know what to say about these shoes... I love them. I hate them. For $150 I would expect a shoe to last at least 2 seasons. I have had two pairs of these shoes (one was a warranty replacement) and neither lasted more than 3 months of use. I want to give these a 5-star rating because until the sole starts to come off in chunks they are perfect. They grip like no other, they are stiff enough that your foot doesn't get tired and sore after prolonged downhills, they are light, and they do a decent job of staying dry and not holding water overnight like the old ones did. The problem is the durability. I have an Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

iXS Flow Knee Pads

Featured Review

“Comfortable, all-day protection”

C138_fuller_ixs_flow_knee_pads_7970

The Good:

Can pedal with them, they stay in place, comfortable, not too hot, protection is good.

The Bad:

Could maybe have more side protection? Really reaching here...

Overall Review: These were my 4th set of knee pads in the last 6 or so years and every time I always had the same complaints: Knee pads are uncomfortable to pedal in, they slip down my leg if I ignore the pinching while pedaling, and when I do fall on them, they slide around and my knees get bashed up anyway. Enter the IXS Flow knee pads. Not only do they address all of my previous complaints regarding knee pads, but they also stay cool on hot days, are super comfortable to wear ( I often forget they are on) and they do a formidable job of protecting my knee when I do fall. I was worried about only having one strap, especially during falls, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

Race Face Narrow/Wide Chainring

“Quality N/W Ring”

C138_wide_black

The Good:

Durable, available in various colors, stops dropped chains

The Bad:

It isn't free

Overall Review: The biggest endorsement I can give a component on my bike is if when it comes time to replace it I buy the same thing again. This will be my 3rd Race Face NW ring in 3 years. I did add a chain guide last year because I was dropping chains, but I was also racing enduros down very fast and rough trails and several other riders were dropping chains as well. I like that it comes in a variety of colors and sizes and the cinch system is sweet too. Overall, its a part of my bike I never worry about, something I can't say about many of the other parts I ride with.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

Race Face Love Handle Grip

“Love the Love Handles!”

C138_2015_grip_lovehandle_lockon_black

The Good:

Durable, grippy, ergonomical, lots of trail feedback

The Bad:

A bit unforgiving

Overall Review: My old ODI Ruffian MX bit the dust and I was up for trying something new. The silicon material and shape of the grips convinced me to try something new. The shape of the grip, wider in the middle, narrower on the outer edges, makes for a very comfortable grip and your hand it always in the right spot. Another benefit to the shape, and one that surprised me, was that my pinky sat just inside of the outer lock ring, as opposed to on or over it (as it does on ODI Ruffians).When the trail gets narrow and I hit a tree with my bars, usually my pinky gets smashed up as well. The design of these grips stops that from happening. Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

Spank Oozy Trail295 Bead Bite Wheels

Featured Review

“Affordable, strong, light... with one or two compromises.”

C138_oozy_trail295_wheelset_black

The Good:

Price and value is excellent. Rims are strong. Bead-bite and "Oobah" aren't just gimmicks.

The Bad:

Hub is of average quality.

Overall Review: A wheelset for less than $600 that weighs in around 1750g, and can be ridden down full-on DH tracks? What's the catch? Well, as it turns out, not too much, at least considering the price. They are stiff, light, and the rims are extremely durable. After 1000 kms and several enduro races and bike park days, both wheels have stayed true. I did manage to dent the rear wheel, but after dropping 8 feet to flat onto a hidden rock, I'm surprised the whole wheel didn't explode. The "oobah" profile and bead bite both actually work, creating a light and stiff rim that goes tubeless easily and can handle low pressure Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13

2014 Norco Range Carbon LE Bike

“All-Around Destroyer”

C138_bike_2014_norco_range_carbon_le

The Good:

Geometry is spot-on, plush rear-end, exceptional descender, climbs well, excellent warranty

The Bad:

Flexy rear-end, cracked frames

Overall Review: I've had this bike for two season and have been extremely happy with everything about it. First of all, while descending the rear-end on the Range feels very plush. On successive hits, or extended rough sections, the Range couldn't be happier. It also pedals well, especially while seated. The Cane Creek shock with the climb switch allows short bursts of out of saddle pedaling, but there is some wallowing that happens if the gearing is too easy. The geometry and sizing of this bike is perfect. Norco's decision to move the rear-enter back or forward depending on rider size is genius. It takes very little time to feel Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 13