Latest Product Reviews

RSS

ODI Longneck ST BMX Grips

Featured Member Review

“ODI Longneck (XL) ”

C138_longneck_st_bmx_grips_143mm

The Good:

Great feel, Size (XL), Price, Durability, Coolness (in my mind)

The Bad:

It's a slip on. Sometimes it slips.

Overall Review: Bought the XL version for trail bike and regular Longneck for street bike. Fit / Comfort I choose the XL because I was looking for wide grip area as I like to switch hand positions when climbing and cruising. Traditional 135mm minus two clamps doesn't cut it. Customisable length and same pattern from flange to bar plug means comfortable grip all the way to the edge. Bar plug strikes nice balance between flush/inconspicuous and secure/protective. Same cannot be said about big rubber lump on the end of short version of grips (notsolongneck). As pretty much all slip on designs alcohol aids the installation greatly. And, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FilipK
29120 FilipK http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29120/avatar/c50_14397429_1273850875961335_1107589207_n_1485599383.jpg?1485599084 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FilipK,29120/all 01/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FilipK,29120/setup 4 12 5

Race Face Indy Shorts 2012

“Race Face Indy Shorts 2017”

C138_69737

The Good:

Durability, Comfort,

The Bad:

The white logo peeled of like they all do

Overall Review: Bought 2014 version back in ...2014 and now, after 3 years of riding same short I rubbed hole on the butt from biking. A testament to comfort and durability. Airy in the summer, with things underneeth great for (dry-ish) winter too. No zipper or buttom issues. The 2017 comes with revised fit, higher waist all around, not just raised back part. Top to bottom they feel and look more snug than previous model. Which I consider a good thing. Bagginess is out. My only complain would be waist area which feels lot thicker (understand warmer) than rest of the short. Size M for 187cm (6'2"), slim. Not too tight, not too loose, long enough, they blend in well with knee pads, and they make me happy. I ride without diaper. As I refuse to spent 80+ $ on bike shorts, their price is keeping me happy as well.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member FilipK
29120 FilipK http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29120/avatar/c50_14397429_1273850875961335_1107589207_n_1485599383.jpg?1485599084 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FilipK,29120/all 01/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FilipK,29120/setup 4 12 5

2017 Knolly Warden Carbon Supreme Leader (X01) Bike

Featured Member Review

“Ripping All-Mountain Bike from a Core Brand”

C138_2017_knolly_warden_carbon_black01

The Good:

Best frame quality I've ever seen. Comfortable geometry that likes to charge. Effective suspension. Incredibly consistent feel across different types of terrain. No BS standards. Company stands behind the product. Traction really is as good as it gets. Incredibly precise handling and stiffness.

The Bad:

Cable routing a bit fiddly. Not single ring specific. Not the most efficient pedaler. Parts not as accessible as they should be.

Overall Review: Purchase Decision and First Impressions I am a mountain bike instructor and used to be a bike mechanic - I agonize over details when choosing my new bikes and spend plenty of time picking each and every part of my build. I came off of a particularly trendy short travel 29er (Evil Following), and it really was a brilliant bike for the right kind of rider. However, there were a few things that really pushed me away from that bike, and I ultimately realized that my riding style calls for a 150-160mm travel bike. So, I started looking for a top quality frame that I could choose for a full custom build. In my Read More »

POC Resistance Pro DH Gloves

Featured Member Review

“POC Resistance Pro DH Gloves”

C138_resistance_pro_dh_glove

The Good:

High quality materials and craftsmanship, excellent flexibility yet offers outstanding protection, breaths well yet offers great durability

The Bad:

Nothing so far

Overall Review: The term “Fits like a glove” wasn’t derived out of thin air. It’s something that, when done right means perfection (figuratively yes, but also realistically.) In regards to mountain biking, there isn’t a better piece of protection that fits this term with more exactness than riding glove. There’s a ton to choose from, some with close out prices and some scratching the $100 price point. What makes a $50+ glove so much better than a basic one? I got my hands on the new POC Resistance Pro DH gloves in hope to find out just that. With several months of riding time with them, here are my impressions: Detailed Specs: Downhill Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 2 38 97

Five Ten Freerider Shoe

Featured Member Review

“Five Ten Freerider Shoe”

C138_five_ten_freerider_shoe_maroon

The Good:

Excellent grip, causal looks, excellent ventilation, good pricepoint

The Bad:

lacks a little durability, can get waterlogged while crossing streams

Overall Review: Let’s face it, grip is kind when it comes to aggressive riding. Grip is also a key ingredient for feeling confident on while on a bike. The more confident you feel, the better you will ride. Therefore, the better grip you have, the better you will ride. When it comes to grip, there’s one brand of shoe that is always brought up: Five Ten. They make a variety of shoes and they all offer excellent grip. Having worn through an old pair, I got my hands on a new pair of their most popular shoe, the Freerider. After a few months of riding, here are my impressions: Detailed Specs: Stealth S1 rubber outsole Suede & mesh Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 2 38 97

Maxima Waterproof Grease

Featured Member Review

“Maxima Waterproof Grease”

C138_maxima_waterproof_grease

The Good:

Blue dye makes it visible while working, even balance of viscosity for general bike service, offers good durability, can't beat the price

The Bad:

Nothing really comes to mind.

Overall Review: Bicycle grease, it’s what every home mechanic needs on their work bench. With so many companies making such a variety of grease related products, it’s easy to get overwhelmed. Do you go for the cheapest option or most expensive? I decided to go with a relatively inexpensive grease, Maxima Waterproof Grease, a while back and with plenty of use from it, here are my impressions: Detailed Specs: Salt Water Resistant Low-Friction Protects against rust & corrosion Reduces wear Long lasting Resists heat & shock loads Wide operating temperature range Retails for $8.95 Out of The Box: The Maxima Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 2 38 97

Five Ten Freerider Pro Shoe

Featured Member Review

“Five Ten Freerider Pro Shoe”

C138_five_ten_freerider_pro_shoe_light_granite

The Good:

Unheard balance between performance and durability, excellent grip (as usual), a few upgraded components over the basic Freeriders

The Bad:

Can get toasty, Could benefit from a few more breathing pores

Overall Review: Ask who makes the best mountain bike shoes on any online forum and there will be a variety of brands as a response. Arguably, the most popular brand will be Five Ten. What makes their shoes so good? I got my hands on a pair of some of their best shoes to figure that out. With 5 months of ride time, here are my impressions: Detailed Specs: Full S1 dotty outsole Synthetic, light-weight, weather-resistant upper Impact-resistant, 4-layer toe box with PORON impact-resistant foam Compression-molded EVA midsole Removable Ortholite molded sock liner Weight: 338g each (Size 9US) and 399.5g each (Size 12US) Out of The Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 2 38 97

POC Resistance DH Short

Featured Member Review

“POC Resistance DH Short”

C138_poc_resistance_dh_shorts

The Good:

High quality fabric and stitch work, Excellent fit and movement, Great electricity for getting whippy, Pockets galore, minor waterproof coat.

The Bad:

All four packets could benefit from zippers (only lower two have them)

Overall Review: POC Sports is no stranger to protecting serious athletes in the cycling industry. Almost every time you head out on your local trails, you’ll more than likely pass a fellow biker wearing one of their helmets. What may be slightly less common is coming across someone wearing their apparel. Having ridden POC products for multiple years, I can vouch that their apparel is on par with some of the best brand in the business. But what about the Resistance DH shorts specifically? Well, I got my hands on some and with 6 months of riding time, here are my impressions: Detailed Specs: DH specific pre shaped fit - for pedal Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 2 38 97

Smith Fuel V.2 ChromaPop Goggles

Featured Member Review

“Smith Fuel V.2 ChromaPop Goggles”

C138_smith_fuel_v.2_chromapopgoggles

The Good:

Great fit and contour for the rider's face, A lens that is clearly nicer than the average, Better detail in specific lighting situations, Brings back the 80's in color.

The Bad:

Smaller strap wings that may limit exact fit for every helmet.

Overall Review: Smith Optics introduced a relatively new technology called ChromaPop into a not so relatively new goggle, the Fuel V.2. With this new technology, smith claims ChromaPop enhances detail, clarity, and natural colors for those behind their lens. The real question is would it really make a difference in their goggle line and would that difference even be noticeable? I got my hand on a pair just to find out. Spending several months with these new goggles, here are my impressions: Detailed Specs: Medium Fit Sweat-X F.A.T. 3-Layer Face Foam Ergonomic Outrigger Positioning System Red Mirror Lens Roll/Tear Offs Compatible Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 2 38 97

Bontrager Line Pro Flat Pedal

Vital Review

“First Ride: Bontrager Line Pro Flat Pedal”

C138_13416_a_2_line_pro_pedal
If you’ve been riding for a while, you may well recall the Big Earl and King Earl flat pedals from Bontrager, Trek’s house brand for components. At around 650 grams and featuring a fairly clunky profile, they had durability going for them but beyond that it would be fair to say that the design wasn’t exactly inspired. Good thing then that Bontrager decided to start fresh for their new Line Pro, a decidedly more up to date offering worthy of a 2017 shop window. We’ve put a pair to the test to see how they stack up on the trail. Bontrager Line Pro Highlights Pedal body made from 6061-T6 aluminum Concave body design Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 751 94 1111 1687 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 62 396 4319 119 29