Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Crank Brothers Mallet DH/Race Clipless Pedals

Featured Review

“Platform Support With Clipless Performance”

C138_crank_brothers_mallet_dh_race_black

The Good:

Huge platform surface with excellent grip, 5 year warranty, great customer service

The Bad:

Screw on left pedal starting coming loose, no tension adjustment on clipless entry

Overall Review: Purchased the Crank Brothers Mallet DH/Race pedals about a month ago and after several rides on them, here are my two cents on their functionality, performance, and value. Out Of The Box The first thing that came through my mind when I opened the box to these pedals was "wow, these things are gorgeous." The craftsmanship of them is top notch. Handling them, I could really tell how much heart and sole Crank Brothers put into making these things. Everything was made out of metal, no "high quality" plastic waiting to get smashed and shattered in your local rock garden (**cough** Shimano..) The next thing I Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_5420_1_2_1473742274.jpg?1473741738 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 28 53

Park Tool Threadless Nut Setter - TNS4

Featured Review

“Threadless Nut Setter”

C138_17715

The Good:

Always sets the nut to the proper depth and keeps it nice and straight

The Bad:

Cost is a bit high for the home mechanic that does not need to set star nuts often.

Overall Review: This is the tool you don't know you need until you are stuck with a crooked star nut in your fork, or one that has been placed too far into the steerer tube. As far as function goes, there is not a lot to say, this tool has functioned perfectly every time I used it. You simply thread the star nut onto the tool until snug, place over your cut steerer tube, and hammer until the tool bottoms out. Then you simply twist the top of the tool, unthreading it from the nut and leaving your perfectly placed star nut behind. While this may seem expensive for the job it does, anyone that has dealt with the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 17

Eastern Black Betty Frame

“Great Frame! ”

C138_fr287h00white

The Good:

I've had this frame a little over a year and it's held up great! No problems whatsoever. If you come across one online when looking to buy a dirt jumper, I strongly recommend that you get it.

The Bad:

Nothing at all. I love it!

Overall Review: It handles great, incredibly responsive, very strong and light, and prefect for dirt jumping or skatepark riding.

Race Face Aeffect 35 Stem

Featured Review

“Race Face Aeffect 35 Stem Review”

C138_2015_aeffect35_stem_50mm_3q

The Good:

Holds my bars, low price for a 35mm stem, clean and simple look

The Bad:

Not as refined or blingy as other stems (might be a good thing)

Overall Review: If you are looking to run that fancy 35mm bar, but don't want to drop a ton of dough on an expensive new stem, this is a great option. While it is not as fancy or refined as other stems (like the Race Face Atlas stem), it does its job well and without issue. I am running the 50mm length and the stem has not had any issues with slipping either at the bar side or the steerer tube. Definitely a good thing considering that is what it is made for. The faceplate does not have alignment marks, but it does have a window on the front which keeps it relatively light and makes getting your bars aligned a pretty easy task. The finish Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 17

ODI Ruffian Lock-On Grips

“ODI Ruffian MX Grip Review”

C138_97908500_1265402651

The Good:

Legendary grip, MX half waffle adds some comfort (and looks sweet), lock on collars do not slip, decent wear

The Bad:

Have to be careful not to over torque the lock on clamps, a little thin for some/ lacks alot of padding

Overall Review: If you have been around MTB's for any period of time you have probably heard of or at least seen omeone rocking the ODI Ruffian grips. They are known for their small diameter, good grip and how connected they make you feel to your bike. This review is for the Ruffian MX grips, which like many motocross grips (hence the MX designation) has a half waffle pattern on the bottom. I have run Ruffians on my bikes for a while and used to ride motocross as well so when I saw these half waffle style grips I had to give them a try. The grips feel similar to the standard Ruffian grips, but the half waffle does provide a bit of a padded Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 17

Royal 2016 DH AM Sock

Featured Review

“Give Your Feet the Royal Treatment”

C138_dh_am_sock_blu_web

The Good:

Calf length, reinforced heel, arch and ankle support, quality construction, super comfortable

The Bad:

No colors besides black and blue details

Overall Review: The Royal DH AM socks are by far my favorite and end up on my feet on almost every ride. The length of these are fantastic and come up mid-calf on me, I love a taller sock for a bit more shin proctection. The length of these socks also meet when wearing knee guards, or warmers, and cover my leg completely. This is great for cooler days or when you want to be completely covered. The construction of the Royal DH AM socks are great! These have gone through more rides and washes then I can count and the only issue is they aren't as black as they used to be. When Royal designed this sock they knew it would get some harder use and Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

FOX Float X2 Factory 2-Position Lever Rear Shock

“X2 on my 140 mm Banshee Spitfire”

C138_fox_x2_2_position_lever_shock

The Good:

plush, burly, adjustability

The Bad:

The climb switch is too close to a lockout. I never use it on climbs because it makes my bike too uncomfortable even if it pedals efficiently with it on. Also, finding the right hardware is a little tricky if your not a bike mechanic ( not the shocks fault but worth mentioning )

Overall Review: Love the shock, I've running it at Whistler all week on my 140 mm and have nothing but good things to say. For me the CS is unnecessary. I wouldn't buy it for a trail bike but definitely buy one for your enduro and dh!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Beez177
39833 Beez177 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Beez177,39833/all 03/20/16 2 1

Park Tool Shop Cone Wrench

“Park Tool Shop Cone Wrench Review”

C138_tl278a00_23

The Good:

Accurate, thin, durable

The Bad:

Can be damaged if used on pedals or with unique sized nuts.

Overall Review: Overall I think these cone wrenches are a great value, they are very accurate when used with higher quality components and I have yet to have slipping issues when used correctly. The rubber handles are nice and allow for a bit more comfort when being held and look pretty sweet when hung up on the wall with the "Park Tool Blue". The wrenches come in a wide variety of sizes to match any job and work much better than other brands I have used that have softer metals that will deform easily. On a side note some brands use their own hubs that tend to have lower manufacturing tolerances and in turn you can get Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 4 4 17

Charge Spoon Saddle

Featured Review

“Spoon Seat, Come Together with My Butt!”

C138_charge_spoon_saddle_black

The Good:

Lightweight, Cro-mo rails, Relief channel, Comfortable seat profile, Creak free, Adequate padding, Variety of colors

The Bad:

A bit flexy on the nose

Overall Review: The Charge Spoon saddle checks off all the main points for me, comfortable, lightweight, quality construction, and not over-priced. I have been riding my Spoon saddle for two full years and have been very happy with my choice. The Spoon saddle isn't anything special in its tech, but in its on trail use, it's great! The Spoon saddle has a very nice profile, not too small and not too big in the seat. The nose is long enough to slide onto for climbs, but not too long to cause any interference when pedaling. I have found the nose to be a little bit flexy when you really on it, but not too terrible. The seat area provides a good Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Race Face Chester Flat Pedal

Featured Review

“Killer Pedal, Without the Killer Price”

C138_2015_pedal_chester_black_3

The Good:

Light weight, Great Grip, Color Choices, Sealed and Serviceable Bearing/Bushing, Strong, Large Platform

The Bad:

Very flat!

Overall Review: A good pair of pedals is a very important part of any bike, but the price of even a middle range flat pedal is killer! Well, with the Chester you can forget about spending $100+ for a light weight, serviceable, large platform pedal. The Chester is an amazing pedal that uses a nylon composite body in place of aluminum or magnesium, something that the BMX world has been using for years and with great success. The Chester is Race Face's first nylon pedal and they nailed this growing market perfectly. When comparing the Chester to Race Face's other pedal offerings, the choice is kind of a no brainer. The Chester has a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33