Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Hope Technology Pro 4 Rear Hub

“A New Hope 4”

C138_blue_orange_purple_pro4

The Good:

engagement is fast, reliability you know and love, beautiful anodized colors

The Bad:

Not the fastest engagement available or the lightest

Overall Review: I'm hard on rear hubs. I have gone through 3 rear hubs in the past 3 years. Sunringle? Dead. Spank? Dead. Shimano? Dead. I kept replacing them with a full pre-built wheel and was on a budget, so this the nicest hub I have ever used, though I have ridden around the parking lot on I-9 and King hubs. If you drew a 10 inch line and on the far left performance was terrible, and on the far right performance was excellent, these would be about 1 inch from the right. They are excellent. The engagement isn't insanely fast, but is a huge improvement over any of the hubs I've used before. 8 degrees is quick, make no mistake. Yes Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Sunline V1 Handlebar

“Bang for your buck”

C138_hb265a02_multi

The Good:

Outstanding value, good color options

The Bad:

Only goes to 760mm wide

Overall Review: I had these blue bars on my old Yeti SB66C and loved them. So much so that when I sold the bike and couldn't find another similar bar, I offered to buy back the bars for full price. The sweep and flat rise was great at keeping weight over the front wheel and at 760mm wide, they didn't feel too big to fit through narrow trees. After getting some 785mm bars and going back, they did feel a bit narrow, but its always about what you are used to. If you are looking for a bar that is a great value and don't need anything wider, buy these yesterday. Plus they come in some great looking anodized colors. If only they made them wider...
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Chromag Fubar OSX Handlebar

Featured Member Review

“Setting the bar”

C138_88514620_1273301991

The Good:

Colors are hot, 800 wide, 35mm option, quality finish

The Bad:

Slightly different geometry than other brands, takes some getting used to.

Overall Review: I'll be honest, the reason I bought my Chromag OSX 35mm bar was that the "hot yellow" matched the neon yellow on my Norco Range. I was hoping that it would be close and that the tint of yellow wouldn't be too far off. It arrived and to my surprise, the yellow matched exactly. If you have a neon yellow color-way that you want to add to, this is the bar you are looking for. Beyond that, I'll compare this bar to my old Race Face Atlas 31.8mm bar which I rode for 3 seasons and decided to retire at the end of last year. I really liked the feel and width of that bar. The 785mm width seemed perfect for my broad shoulders and I Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NMK183
42693 NMK183 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/42693/avatar/c50_IMAG1041_1476164428.jpg?1476163537 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NMK183,42693/all 10/10/16 26

Race Face Turbine 35 Stem

Featured Member Review

“Race Face Turbine 35 Stem”

C138_2014_trb35_stem_50_black_quarter

The Good:

Highest grade materials and craftsmanship (the beauty is in the details), Stiff and stable in XC/Trail/AM situations, solid interlocking 4 bolt bar clamp.

The Bad:

Small steer bolts offering only 5nm of clamping power, Could be offered in multiple colorways

Overall Review: When looking for a high-end stem, it’s easy to become flooded by all the types out there. It’s this type of feeling that leads to debilitation and causes one to go to sleep; okay, not really but the point I’m getting at is there is a lot of stems out there. How do you choose the right one? First off, there is “right one” for everyone. Stems are very much like bikes. You’ve got to pick one that matches your discipline. With that said, I’m a hearty enduroite and decided to try my luck with the Race Face Turbine 35 stem. After a month with this stem, here are my impressions: Out of The Box: Pulling the Race Face Turbine 35 Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 22 89

Race Face SixC Cinch Crank

Featured Member Review

“Race Face SixC Cinch Crank”

C138_2014_crk_sixc_2xbash_blk_3_4_blk

The Good:

Excellent finish and craftsmanship, Easy to install, One of the best weight / strength / price ratios around, deflects rocks pretty well.

The Bad:

Plastic locking ring can come loose and the bolt that pinches it can strip out easily.

Overall Review: When looking for high-end aftermarket components or piecing together a new build for your burly DH or freeride bike, the words “Race Face SixC” will most likely come up in recommendations from fellow riders and those in the industry. Race Face designated the SixC brand for their highest performing, ultra-burley carbon components and consists of handlebars, cranksets, and seatposts. The SixC crankset first appeared in 2012 but was updated for direct mount capabilities in 2015. Since then, they have become the pinnacle of strength to weight ratios for all cranksets on the market. I’ve equipped the past several bikes with Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 22 89

Deity Compound Flat Pedal

“Great budget pedal. But a budget pedal none the less”

C138_deity_compound

The Good:

Cheap. Color choices. Composite (great from my dirt jumper/skate park bike). Fairly thin.

The Bad:

Not quite grippy enough.

Overall Review: My HT AEO3's are on their way out but have longer pins. Switching from clipless to the HTs was never a very noticeable issue. These Deitys tend to let my feet wander much more. I will likely take them off the Trail bike and stick them back on the DJ like Intended originally.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member rewob
28300 rewob http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28300/avatar/c50_DSC_0592_1383603358.jpg?1383603106 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/rewob,28300/all 11/04/13 2 69 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/rewob,28300/setup 1 31 1

2017 Guerrilla Gravity Trail Pistol - Race Build with Pistola Setup

“Blown Away ”

C138_gg_trail_pistol_163_edit_white

The Good:

Geometry; Suspension kinematics; High quality, USA made aluminum frame

The Bad:

The small spacer used for the top bolt on the ISCG tabs; Cockpit feels short at first, but only when seated

Overall Review: I just can't believe how much fun I have had on this bike! The Trail Pistol climbs really well, making easy work of ascents. The steep seat tube angle puts you over the pedals making it easy to climb incredibly steep pitches. Seated, there is no noticeable pedal bob, and the heavily damped Deluxe rear shock keeps bob to a minimum during out of the saddle assaults. Initially, I found the steeper seat tube angle in combination to feel very strange and foreign, but not uncomfortable. After having spent more time on the TP, I am unsure how we used to pedal bikes with slacker seat tubes. Read More »

2017 Santa Cruz Hightower C S

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Santa Cruz Hightower from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_santa_cruz_hightower_c_s_bike_carbon_mint
Santa Cruz’s Hightower was just released a year ago, benefiting from the company's continued refinement of the VPP suspension system. It combines 135mm of travel with 29-inch or 27.5+ wheels to create a bike that can take on a wide variety of terrain while keeping up speed and staying as efficient as possible. With the most travel of any 29/27.5+ bike in their lineup, the Hightower is more than just an efficiency sled with some travel – it is truly a do-it-all bike. Santa Cruz has some of the most trusted carbon frames in the business and relatively affordable pricing on some models as well. By adding updates like Boost Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1228 2237 156 41

2017 Liv Hail Advanced 1

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Liv Hail Advanced from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_liv_hail_advanced_1
Totally new to Liv for 2017 is the Hail series. This line of enduro/all-mountain bikes was designed from the ground up to fit and perform for women riders looking to ride technical trails. A first of its kind, this women’s bike has a healthy 160mm of travel front and rear and 27.5-inch wheels. The Hail has one goal in mind: to get you to the bottom of the mountain… and fast! Lucky us as Tucson, Arizona's Mount Lemmon loomed over the desert during Vital MTB's 2017 Test Sessions. There will be mud. There will be sand. There will be rock. Lots of them. Let’s see how the Liv Hail handles it. Highlights Advanced-grade composite Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1134 96 6156 996 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1228 2237 156 41

FUNN Python Pedal

“For big foot”

C138_funn_python_pedal

The Good:

Very tin, great grip and a large base for big foot size

The Bad:

The gold color of pin

Overall Review: I'm using these pedals for over 2 years, never problems with grip and never lost a pin, the quality is really good!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Ilfunesto
44105 Ilfunesto http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44105/avatar/c50_19476_308492268695_4746514_n_1491300363.jpg?1491299510 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Ilfunesto,44105/all 04/04/17 1