Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Flat Tire Defender 27.5" Downhill Tire Insert Kit

Vital Review

“Does It Really Prevent Pinch Flats? Vital Tests the Flat Tire Defender”

C138_rue0m0i3nje5nku0rjmwmjrdodg6zdjjywe4ztqyyzc3mtlhzwrlnmuxmmu0yzm5ngmwodc6ojo6oja
Iposted a Vital MTB forum thread in May of 2014 asking "Why are flat tires something we still see these days?" Some riders were plagued by the typical race-robbing issues of pinch flats at the first two World Cup DH events. "We have $10,000 bikes but we can't keep air in the tires if they're hit just right?" I was frustrated and I'm not even a racer getting hosed or a team sponsor watching tens of thousands of dollars go down the drain on a single race effort. Lo and behold, industry-leading tire designer and tester, Frank Stacy, was already on the case. Frank is the lead man Read More »
Rate review: +8 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 60 5 485 148 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 32 225 63 54 1

2017 Guerrilla Gravity Trail Pistol - Race Build with Pistola Setup

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Guerrilla Gravity Trail Pistol from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_gg_trail_pistol_163_edit_white
"Why does the guerrilla fighter fight? We must come to the inevitable conclusion that the guerrilla fighter is a social reformer, that he takes up arms responding to the angry protest of the people against their oppressors, and that he fights in order to change the social system that keeps all his unarmed brothers in ignominy and misery." - Che Guevara Debatably the tactics of guerrilla warfare were originally penned by Sun Tzu in The Art of War around 600 B.C. At its heart it is a series of tactics that a small army employs to fight against a much larger army. Guerrilla warfare is an Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2223 147 41

Industry Nine Torch Classic Rear Hub

Featured Member Review

“Industry Nine Torch Classic Rear Hub”

C138_classic_mtn_1

The Good:

Looks, finish, colorway, performance, durability, and true boost specific hubshells

The Bad:

Steel springs can loose their youthfulness over time, Would like to see a some innovation to keep their hubs at the top.

Overall Review: Out of the box, you will quickly realize that Industry Nine makes one of the best looking hubs on the market. Their smooth lines, quality anodized finish, multiple colorways make them a real condenser for someone in the market for customization. In addition to this, the weight of their hubs makes them even more appealing. Throwing in a freehub that has 120 points of engagement makes the Classic Torch hubs one of the best all-round hubs on the market. Performance: Looking past the fancy outside, the heart of the Torch hub is it’s freehub. Just like many of the high point of engagement hubs out there (Profile Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 1 1 16 11

Smith Forefront Helmet

“Great helmet. Great Value ”

C138_smith_forefront_helmet_neon_orange

The Good:

This is a rockin helmet. I was stoked with Smith came out with this helmet. You can say I am a little bias, but I have always been a fan of their product. Their R&D team goes above and beyond to make sure they provide quality products. From their sunglasses to their helmets, you cant go wrong with smith. First off, this helmet is incredibly comfortable.The forefront provides me with the coverage I need to ride confidently, especially in rougher terrain. I would highly reccomend this helmet to anyone who is going for comfort, looks and quality. This helmet has lasted me over 2 years now and I will continue to wear it as long as I can

The Bad:

Brethablity is the biggest issue for me. I sweat a lot. I mean a lot. and this helmet does not cater to that very well. I am willing to sacrifice that for coverage and safety. now, in the winter months, it is great and keeps my head nice and toasty. but the koyroyd is not suitable for good airflow.

Overall Review: This is a great helmet with great value. I would highly recommend this helmet to anyone who is looking for something that truly wraps around your head rather than sit on top of it. The design of the forefront give me the coverage I need to confidently ride out on the trails.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member 615regular
43662 615regular http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/43662/avatar/c50_IMG_6863_1485986851.jpg?1485985915 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/615regular,43662/all 02/01/17 10 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/615regular,43662/setup 2 4

Dakine Hellion Knee Pad

“Dakine Slayer Knee Pad ”

C138_dakinehellion

The Good:

These knee pads are great for the price. Dakine always seems to be a little behind the game with releasing of new gear, but you can tell because they are really thinking their products through. These kneed pads are great. They breathe well. Dont slip or slid at all and give me the protection i need on an all day epic. Now that being said, this review is for the slayer, not the hellion. The hellion is clearly more gravity focused with bulkier pads and more protection and strap security. But the Slayers are spot on. In comparing to POC VPD AIR, they do not have nearly the protection or thickness, but they are way more comfortable to pedal in during an all day adventure.

The Bad:

The upper and lower portions are lined internally with rubber grips to make sure they pads dont slid or shift during riding. The good, they dont move. the bad, it makes for a toiugh time getting them off and if you don't shave your legs, in which you do you probably dont wear knee pads, it can cause for a real battle with those leg hairs once your ride has ended.

Overall Review: Overall, the Dakine Slayer's are a great pair of knee pads reasonably priced for $65. I was very pleased with these for my 3 day trip t0 Pisgah and Dupont and these will be me go to knee pads until something else shiny comes in front of my face.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member 615regular
43662 615regular http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/43662/avatar/c50_IMG_6863_1485986851.jpg?1485985915 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/615regular,43662/all 02/01/17 10 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/615regular,43662/setup 2 4

Deity Kunckleduster Grip

Vital Review

“First Ride: Deity Knuckleduster Grips”

C138_deity_image_9
Grips are often an overlooked component, likely due to the fact that generally, they're pretty inexpensive and something that can be replaced easily. They're also one of three contact points between you and your bike, and despite the fact that they're often overlooked, they make a huge impact on how your bike rides and how quickly your hands get fatigued. Deity, who launched their 2017 line today, definitely took that into consideration with the design of their all-new Knuckleduster grips, which feature three different grip patterns packed into one grip. With an eye for details such as a single-clamp design with Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 60 5 485 148 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 32 225 63 54 1

2017 Giant Trance Advanced 0

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Giant Trance Advanced from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_giant_trance_advanced_0_bike
The 2017 Giant Trance Advanced sports nearly everything one could want out of a spec sheet. Do you want a carbon mainframe? Look no further. Want a really lightweight bike that can also rip down the trails? Sign us up. Want carbon wheels? The new Boost standard? A Metric shock? Every Trance Advanced model has those, too. With 10mm more travel up front compared to years past, the new Trance also sports 150mm/140mm of travel front and rear while rolling on 27.5-inch wheels. That's not all that's been updated, though, with an entirely new frame at work. Giant claims this bad boy is capable of climbing like a cross-country Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2223 147 41

Troy Lee Designs A2 Open Face Helmet

Vital Review

“First Ride: Troy Lee Designs A2 Helmet”

C138_17tld_a2_decoy_blk_01
Back in early 2013, Troy Lee’s A1 dropped like a bomb in the trail/enduro/open-face helmet segment, and with good reason – it offered extended protection, a very comfortable fit, and great looks to boot. It went on to become hugely popular, and it would be fair to say that you couldn’t visit any kind of trail center or riding destination today without seeing the now iconic lid on a good number of the riders present. But Troy is not one to rest on his laurels, and he’s been putting all his energy into finding ways to make helmets even safer and more comfortable. The result is the all-new A2. The helmet launches Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 768 82 832 1716 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 54 346 3919 98 28

2017 Devinci Django Carbon 29 SLX / XT

Vital Review

“Review - 2017 Devinci Django from Vital MTB Test Sessions”

C138_2017_devinci_django_carbon_29_slx_xtbike
The Devinci Django was born as a completely new bike in early 2016, first with 27.5-inch wheels and later joined by 29-inch version. As the brand's first attempt to create a truly worthy 120mm travel trail bike, we couldn’t wait to see if the Django was ready to be unchained. We headed to Tucson, Arizona for Vital MTB Test Sessions to give it a proper go in a wide variety of terrain. Highlights Carbon DCM-G frame 29-inch wheels 120mm (4.7-inches) of rear wheel travel // 130mm (5.1-inches) fork travel Split Pivot suspension design Tapered headtube Internal cable routing FRG Cup compatible Two-position adjustable Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1137 94 6156 1023 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 275 1223 2223 147 41

Shimano Crank Install Tool HollowTech II

Featured Member Review

“Shimano Crank Install Tool HollowTech II”

C138_3785

The Good:

Very small, light weight, and cost effective tool.

The Bad:

Made from plastic means it's not indestructible

Overall Review: When looking for a solid quality crankset at a reasonable price, Shimano's Hollow Tech II crank line-up is pretty hard to beat. When picking up your first Shimano Hollow Tech II crankset however, many people don't understand that the tensioning bolt has a very unique interface which requires a specific tool to properly install and remove the crank (the Shimano Hollow Tech II Crank Tool.) Quality: Made of a high quality plastic, the interface slides nicely into the tension bolt for quick and easy removal. However, since it is made from plastic, it doesn't take much for it to get marred up. The Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 1 1 16 11