Latest Product Reviews

RSS

FOX Float X2 Factory 2-Position Lever Rear Shock

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 FOX Float X2 2-Position Lever Shock”

C138_fox_x2_2_position_lever_shock
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Tal Rozow and Johan Hjord We tested the new FOX Float X2 earlier this year, and we came away very impressed with the performance and adjustability it offers. We did not have many complaints or issues to report, but we did note the absence of any kind of lockout or climb function. With the recent release of the Float X2 2-Position Lever, FOX has addressed this issue, and in the name of being thorough we were of course eager to give it a spin. Read on to see how we got along. 2016 FOX Float X2 2-Position Lever Highlights Made for All-Mountain/Enduro/Freeride/DH use Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 66 723 1747 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 47 289 3469 81 27

Shimano XT CS-M771-10 Speed Cassette

“It's Not 11 Speed or Eagle, but Do You Need That Really?”

C138_cs272b01

The Good:

Smooth shifting
Light weight
Fits on 9 Speed drive hub
Disassembles for easy upgrades
Good gear range

The Bad:

Range could be a little taller

Overall Review: I made the switch to 10 speed a little over a year ago ( I know a bit behind) and purchased the XT cassette for a couple of reasons; fits on 9 speed hubs, light weight, and is upgradeble with extender cogs. Installing the cassette was quick and easy and only required a chain whip and the correct cassette removal tool. I will say though, be careful when taking the cassette out of the packaging for the first time. Being that the cassette disassembles it is easy to get different cogs and spacers out of order if you are not careful. Being disassembled you can see how the cassette comes apart into many Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Park Tool Cassette Lockring Tool With Guide Pin

Featured Review

“Great for Quick Work!”

C138_parktool_fr_5g_08_m

The Good:

Solid construction, guide pin

The Bad:

Requires an additional wrench

Overall Review: I picked this up from my LBS when I was planning on doing some up-grades to my drive train in the near future. I own other Park Tools and have never had a bad experience except from them being a bit expensive. This cassette lockring tool is no exception to that and I have been impressed with it. I have used it multiple times to remove cassettes on Shimano systems with no problem. I especially like the guide pin which just makes using it that a little bit more fool proof. The solid metal construction will also stand the test of time and I don't foresee having to ever replace this due to Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Ergon GE1 Grip

“Ergon GE1 Grips”

C138_ge1

The Good:

Comfortable, good looking

The Bad:

Not a big issue, but the ERGON is too big for me

Overall Review: First of all, I can say that there's an "accident" when I bought this grips. But later, I can say that this is a "sweet accident" to have the grips. I before decided to get another popular grips out there, and when I went to my favorite bike shop, the grips are already out of stock. But finally I picked this, the Ergon GE1 grips. After that, I just tested the grips in a 25 km riding on the same day. With mixed terrain such as road, trail, uphill and even light enduro, I can say that this is the most comfortable grips I've ever tried. On a long road, I almost feel no weary. On the trail and mixed terrain like the enduro track, the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 10 35 102 9

2016 Liv Lust Advanced 1 Bike

“Great All Around Mountain Bike”

C138_2016_liv_lust_advanced_1

The Good:

light, stable on descents, great climber, easy to handle

The Bad:

None so far

Overall Review: Liv has designed a great bike. I had tried out MANY bikes, but the Liv Lust Advanced 1 always came out on top.  It's light, easy to maneuver, stable on descents, and is a good climbing bike.  Although all bike charts indicated a medium (a few charts had me Sm/Med) would be my best fit, the large had the best fit for me when riding...VERY happy with this bike.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jjvt
41720 jjvt /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jjvt,41720/all 07/17/16 1

Sensus Swayze Lock-On Grip

Featured Review

“Classic Style - Not Shifter Friendly”

C138_sensus_swayze_lock_on_grip_gum_rubber_with_red_collar_cam_zink_model

The Good:

Wears well / Feel great / Hold tight on bar / Lots of color choices

The Bad:

Large flange affects shifters / Colored grips show dirt fast / Weak end caps

Overall Review: The Swayze is a good looking grip and you have to love the Sensus style. Have had these on for the second full season and have liked them a lot. The wavy grip pattern is a classic style that feels good and grips well. Haven't had any issues with hand fatigue or losing grip in all shorts of different conditions. The lock-ons work really well and have never had them loosen up or slip on the bars, total set and forget. Grips have also shown little to no wear. The colored grips do get dirty fast, but then again clean ones would mean you aren't riding. Sensus also offers a variety of color choices which is nice, I'm rocking Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member awol12
502 awol12 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/502/avatar/c50_IMAG0003_1436456411.jpg?1436456097 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/all 08/12/09 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/awol12,502/setup 2 20 33

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

Featured Review

“Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube Review”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

Awesome in dry conditions, fairly long lasting, does not attract dust and dirt easily, and helps clean the chain as you apply.

The Bad:

Not as effective in wet or muddy conditions.

Overall Review: There is a reason a lot of bike mechanics use this on their personal bikes or even use it for customer bikes, it works awesome! If you live in a place where the riding is dry and dusty most of the time (like here in Colorado where I live) it does a good job not attracting dust and sand and it keeps the chain nice and quiet. Like any chain lube, you do have to reapply and wipe off some grit and grime on a fairly regular basis, but I have noticed my chain tends to be cleaner than it did with other brands lubes. I do apply new lube about every 1-3 rides, but you could get away with using it less most likely, Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 13

2016 Yeti SB5.5c X01

Vital Review

“Tested: 2016 Yeti SB5.5c X01”

C138_2016_yeti_sb55c_profile_slv
Review by Jeff Brines // Action photos by Matthew Doreghty We’ve spent the better part of two months testing Yeti’s latest big-wheeled all-mountain brawler, the SB5.5c, and for the right rider it could be one of the best performing frames. Should you add the bike to your stable? How could it be improved? Read on to find out. The SB5.5c was unveiled earlier this Spring in Moab, during which we received the bike quiet favorably. However, Moab is an outlier of "normal riding conditions," which is why we reserved our full opinion of the new steed until we had ample time to test the rig in a number of riding environments. In two Read More »
Rate review: +11 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 8 135 272 11 2

RockyMounts SwitchHitter Rack

Featured Review

“RockyMounts SwitchHitter Rack”

C138_switchhitter_blue

The Good:

Low profile, easy mounting, compatible with most forks, cable locks, and easy loading and unloading

The Bad:

Rear mount rattles a bit, extra cost for lock cores, may be a bit pricey for some

Overall Review: RockyMounts has always been at the top of my list when looking for a new bike rack, they make well thought out and nice looking racks and the fact that I get to support a local Colorado company is always a bonus. The SwitchHitter is one of their newest racks and what caught my eye is that the rack can handle thru axle forks without the need of an adapter like most other racks of a similar design. The rack has removable inserts allowing you to run a 15x100, 15x110 (Boost) and 20x100 as well. The rack also comes with a QR skewer that fits inside of the 15mm insert which comes installed. When it came to installing Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 13

Park Tool P-Handled Torx Wrench Set

Featured Review

“Park Tool P-Handled Torx Wrench Set”

C138_park_ph_tset_09_m

The Good:

Durable, precise, good ergonomics

The Bad:

Price, lack of holder

Overall Review: Retail: $52.99 Includes T6, T8, T10, T15, T20, T25, T30 and T40 Torx wrenches All I can say is you get what you pay for, Park tool is my go to for the majority of my bike specific tools, because they create ergonomic and precise tools that hold up. The Torx set is no different, they offer a very precise fit when working with Torx bolts that makes it much less likely to strip a bolt. The main reason I bought them was because I was sick of using the small and awkward L-shaped Torx wrench that comes with SRAM brakes. While the tool does work, it takes much more time and added clunkiness to bleed Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member lagocza
32917 lagocza http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/32917/avatar/c50_me_palmer_2_1451276234.jpg?1451275237 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/all 10/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/lagocza,32917/setup 2 3 13