Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Öhlins RXF 36 27.5 Fork

Vital Review

“First Look: Öhlins RXF 36 27.5 Fork - Sweden's Big Hit Contender”

C138_rxf_36_27.5_7
If you follow the racing scene, you've no doubt seen the Öhlins RXF 36 under some of the world's fastest EWS racers. It will soon be available in a new wheel size and is the company's first publicly released 27.5 model. Just like the well-regarded RXF 34, this bad boy sports a three chamber air spring and multiple external adjustments that allow you to really dial in your ride. What else is new? Let's dig in. Highlights 140-170mm (5.5-6.7 inches) travel options 27.5-inch specific design 36mm diameter stanchion tubes Tunable three chamber air spring system: two positive, one negative TTX twin-tube damping technology with 22mm Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

SRAM GX Eagle

Vital Review

“First Look, First Ride: SRAM GX Eagle Drivetrain - More Range For All”

C138_rd_gx_1_b1_black_side_m
When you look back at the history of SRAM's 1X drivetrains, it took quite a while for all that wonderful technology to trickle down to a price point that many considered to be affordable. Three years and multiple intermediary drivetrains separated the 2012 introduction of XX1, the company's flagship 11-speed system, and GX, the affordable workhorse. That's not the case this time around. SRAM is making moves by releasing an everyman's GX version of their new 12-speed Eagle drivetrain just one year after it launched. Let's dig in... GX Eagle Highlights Fits existing bikes with XD drivers 12-speed 10-50 tooth pinned Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6156 985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1241 2266 162 41

Buzzy's Slick Honey All Purpose Grease

“Spectacular Lube for Seals and Stanchions”

C138_tl307m00_16oz

The Good:

best value and superior performance

The Bad:

nothing negative about it

Overall Review: Slick Honey is the absolute best performing product for lubricating seals, stanchions, shock shafts, and suspension points during routine maintenance. It's the best value per ml of anything else you will buy for your bike. Stays put and slippery than a bee's butt!
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member thinkbike
31436 thinkbike http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/31436/avatar/c50_Vital_road_canyon_1_1470540894.jpg?1470540036 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/thinkbike,31436/all 06/14/14 23 1

Santa Cruz Reserve Carbon Wheels

Vital Review

“First Look: Santa Cruz Reserve Carbon Wheels”

C138_27.5_rims
Santa Cruz is set to ruffle some feathers in the wheel world with the launch of their new Reserve lineup of wheelsets. The high performance, top dollar wheelset is aimed at leaving no compromises, complete with a lifetime warranty. Is it indeed a game changing product or mere marketing riffraff? Read on for our first look... Highlights Available in 27.5 and 29-inch diameters 29-inch wheels in three widths: 25, 27 and 30mm internal 27.5-inch wheels in two widths: 27 and 30mm internal 1.5:1 width to height ratio 28 spokes pre wheel with three-cross lacing pattern Asymmetrical profile and offset drilling for even Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 9 196 351 13 2

2018 Santa Cruz Nomad CC XX1 Reserve

Vital Review

“First Look, First Ride: The All-New 2018 Santa Cruz Nomad”

C138_2018_santa_cruz_nomad_xx1_with_reserve_wheels
Defining the new Nomad left me scratching my head for words. Most everything I wrote sounded like a cliché directly from the 2009 Handbook for Mountain Bike Journalists. "A trail bike that descends like a downhill bike." "A mini-DH bike that can pedal." Yeah, they've both been used ad-nauseam... The ultimate irony to my cliché-laden articulation strugglefest is that the new Nomad is anything but cliché. At a time when most companies seem to be chasing the perfect mid-travel trail bike or eeking every millisecond out of an enduro race bike, Santa Cruz’s latest Nomad iteration seems to be built less for the race Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member jeff.brines
4240 jeff.brines http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/4240/avatar/c50_149187_936024901533_10205078_50991835_3734911_n.jpg?1321466271 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/all 08/29/10 13 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/jeff-brines,4240/setup 9 196 351 13 2

Chromag Squarewave Grip

Featured Member Review

“Chromag Squarewave Grip”

C138_chromag_squarewave_black

The Good:

Solid lock-ons, Excellent dampening, Durable, and Unique ergonomic shape

The Bad:

Outside squares started coming off after a year of riding (pretty much expected though).

Overall Review: In regard to bike performance, there are a few components that have a huge impact on how one’s bike handles. For instance, suspension has an enormous role on if you’re straying on the trail or if you’re getting bucked off the bike. Riding at your highest potential is greatly determined by components like suspension. On the other hand, there are minor, less significant components that influence our confidence while riding that are often overlooked. Grips are one of these components. Understanding that grips are the things that literally connect a rider to their bike, I wanted to find a set that would make me feel the most Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 31 88

Chromag BZA 35 Stem

Featured Member Review

“Chromag BZA 35 Stem”

C138_bza_35_3

The Good:

Strong, burley, great looks, oversized M6 hardware, highest quality and craftsmanship,and made in north America.

The Bad:

On the heavier side and is on the pricey side (but helps support north american workers).

Overall Review: When piecing together my dream endure bike, every component was hand-picked. I was looking for something strong, clean, showed off my SixC bar, and had to have a 35mm clamp diameter. Weight wasn’t my main focus but wanted something reasonable. After some massive comparisons, I landed on the Chromag BZA 35. With a few months of riding on it, here are my impressions: Out of the Box: The thing that really sets this stem apart (besides the pricetag) is the fact that it came directly from my friends in the great white north. CNC machined in the loom just down the road from Chromag’s headquarters in Whistler, BC, meant buying this Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 6 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 1 31 88

Banshee Spitfire V2 Frame

“A shop rats bike? Don´t think so..”

C138_2013_banshee_spitfire_frame

The Good:

Geometry is pretty spot on. KS-Link lets you use its travel very effectively.

The Bad:

Material distribution, front triangle is way to weak in comparison to the rear. It kept on eating through its 608 bearings and not of the cheap kind, which i relate to the front triangle being deflected a little to easily and therefore introducing lateral forces into the upper linkage. Reliabilty. Customer Service

Overall Review: As much as i hate to deliver this review i feel its only right to do so, would have loved to find any information of this kind before burning the amount of money on a bike as i did. I am one of the much cited shop rats who rather ride a reliable, heavy aluminum bike over any weight concious flimsy alternative on the market. Working on bikes for a living the last 6 years, this was my mindset when i dumped an enormous amount of money (for a bike mechanics salary anyway) on a frame. I was happy to do so, because i believed to be looking at a few years of trouble free bike ownership, as i dont need the latest and greatest Read More »

Race Face Sixc 35 Handlebar

“Very nice bars despite the price.”

C138_2014_hbr35_sixc_rs_35

The Good:

Light
Stiff enough
Less hand fatigue

The Bad:

Pricey depending on how you look at it.

Overall Review: I purchased the SIXC 35 bars as an upgrade to the stock Bontrager bars that came on my Trek Remedy. The Bontrager bars did not fit well and caused my hands to hurt after only a few miles of riding. The bars on my previous bike had a similar shape to the Race Face and I was looking forward to the weight saving and damping characteristics of carbon. Specs Weight- 210 grams Rise- 20 mm Sweep-8 rearward, 5 upward Width- 800 mm Clamp- 35 mm Out of the Package I ordered the bars from Bicycles Unlimited, my LBS here in St. George, UT. When the bars showed up and I picked them up I was immediately impressed with Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Jared Wilkinson
33687 Jared Wilkinson http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/33687/avatar/c50_IMG_4532_1476989314.jpg?1476988457 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Jared-Wilkinson,33687/all 01/01/15 1 3

2017 Kona Operator DL

Vital Review

“Tested: 2017 Kona Operator DL - Park Friendly, World Cup Approved”

C138_operator_dl
With their roots first sprouting in Vancouver, BC, and now hailing from Ferndale, WA, Kona has a reputation for building burly, durable bikes intended to be pushed hard over the often adverse conditions throughout the Pacific Northwest region. With a goal of redesigning the Operator to be both a bike park slayer as well as a capable World Cup race bike, Kona went back to the drawing board as the market shifted from 26-inch steeds to the modern 27.5 standards. Development began in 2014 with Connor Fearon and his mechanic, Mathieu Dupelle, with a modified rear triangle to swap over from 26-inch wheels to 27.5, leaving the front Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 7 786 68 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 33 238 71 57 1