Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Spank Oozy Trail Flat Pedal

“Quality pedals with a large platform and low profile”

C138_oozy_trail_pedals_top

The Good:

Large Platform, Thin, Durable

The Bad:

Large Platform, lacks some shape

Overall Review: Right out the box, you can see and feel the quality in these pedals. The other thing you notice is the thin and large platform. For those with big feet, these pedals would be a great fit. For me, I'm on the other end of the spectrum.   After a couple of dozen rides, I still find myself banging into things from time to time.   These pedals can take some abuse!  The thin profile also helps you clear obstacles especially on today's trail bike geometry The only thing I don't like about these pedals is the flat shape.   I prefer some curve for extra grip. Even with Five Ten rubber shoes, these pedals lack that locked in feeling for me.  This is personal preference so if you don't mind a flat shape, I highly recommend these pedals
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Wonny
396 Wonny http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/396/avatar/c50_983976_10200096380764258_503864650_n_1383441626.jpg?1383441139 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Wonny,396/all 08/05/09 1 13 27

Specialized 2FO 2.0 Flat Shoes

Vital Review

“Grip is King: Specialized Debuts All-New 2FO Flat Pedal Shoes”

C138_61118_654_shoe_2fo_flat_2_0_mtb_blk_rktred_hero
Cracking into the flat pedal footwear game is no small task, as Five Ten, the longstanding champ, presents a very formidable opponent with proprietary rubber compounds derived from the rock climbing world. Specialized isn't one to shy away from a competition, however, and their new shoes will give the original ruler a run for their money. If you enjoy the foot out, flat out riding style, these casually-styled kicks are made from a variety of technical materials that add up to an impressive pair of mountain bike shoes. Highlights Two entirely new flat pedal shoes 2FO 1.0 is lighter and more supple // Features Read More »
Rate review: -2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_profile_1487817150.jpg?1487816891 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1133 96 6155 962 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 276 1263 2306 168 41

DMR Vault Flat Pedal

“Takes a licking but keeps on ticking”

C138_62237

The Good:

Light-weight, grippy as hell, tough

The Bad:

nothing I can think of (make sure to get the MAG version of these)

Overall Review: These pedals were recommended to me from a riding buddy and I'm sure glad I took his advice. I got these as the first flat pedal I'd had in a while since I was riding shimanoclips and Teva shoes for 3-4 years straight. However, when I did make the move to riding in north van, I soon realized that I would be a lot better off riding flat pedals. That was 2 seasons ago and these puppies are still running great. They have taken a serious beating in the time I have used them and have some nice shiny chunks taken out of the sides to show for it. And even though they looked pretty used, I haven't lost a pin or damaged a bearing Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 142 145 24 1

Light Bicycle Heavy Duty Carbon Rim

Vital Review

“Do Cheap Chinese Carbon Wheels Last? Two Years of Abuse on Light Bicycle's Carbon Rims”

C138_650b_bicycle_rims
As the banter increases around 29-inch wheels in downhill, we've decided to throw it back to 26-inch days and offer up a very long-term review of Light Bicycle's Heavy Duty Carbon rims designed for downhill and enduro use. With key players like ENVE, Industry Nine, e*thirteen, SRAM, Reynolds and others holding the majority of the carbon wheel market, Light Bicycle has been building steam over the years by creating a price point rim they claim performs like the big names at the fraction of the price. At just $181 per rim, we decided to purchase and abuse a set of rims to see how they would hold up to the others. Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member @mattyswenson
9703 @mattyswenson http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/9703/avatar/c50_matt_HS_valhalla_1463510644.jpg?1463510539 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/mattyswenson,9703/all 07/19/11 1 7 2 1 1 10 4 1

Five Ten Spitfire Flat Pedal Shoe

Featured Member Review

“ Five Ten Spitfire”

C138_five_ten_spitfire_mens_shoe

The Good:

Cheaper FiveTen option, Durable, Street looks

The Bad:

Not the stickiest*, far from stiffest*

Overall Review: *not quite a weakness for everyone. It's classic 5.10 flat pedal, skate inspired shoe. The build quality is that of a classic 5.10 too, unlike the latter models suffering from durability and poor build quality reputation. I've been using these for 2 years of trail riding now. And until recently I didn't have to look for other options. Inside and upper sole shows surprisingly little signs of wear. Rubber sole, while visibly getting eaten by pedals and tarmac held up and kept most of its properties and integrity thorough its life. Probably aided by hardest compound 5.10 uses, which on the other hand might not provide Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FilipK
29120 FilipK http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/29120/avatar/c50_14397429_1273850875961335_1107589207_n_1485599383.jpg?1485599084 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FilipK,29120/all 01/07/14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FilipK,29120/setup 4 10 3

2018 Giant Reign Advanced 0 Bike

Vital Review

“Making it Reign in 2018 | We Ride Giant’s Updated Enduro Machine”

C138_reign_advanced_0_carbon
The Giant Reign is one of the world’s best selling enduro bikes, and it’s been around in one version or the other for almost 13 years by now. Whilst the basic design concepts behind the bike have not really changed over the years, of course everything else has. Materials, geo, suspension, standards, components…mountain biking never stands still! So in the name of keeping up, we headed over to Italy last week to discover the 6th generation of the Reign. Lower, longer, and slacker seems almost like a foregone conclusion here, but if you want to know everything else there is to know about what Giant has come up with, all you Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1064 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 56 368 4179 111 29

Schwalbe Hans Dampf Tire

“Still looking for MY tires, these didn't hit the mark for me.”

C138_schwalbe_hans_dampf_tire

The Good:

Predictable, light weight (somewhat), multidirectional tread makes installation easy

The Bad:

Price, Durability and sidewall protection

Overall Review: Coming from a bontrager tire, these Hans Dampf'swere a godsend and saved me from the treacherousXR3's that came stock on my remedy. However, as the season went on I become less and less interested in them. My friend who had the same remedy as me, also got the Hans and those were shredded just by riding down some stairs after having them for a few weeks. Mine tires got a sidewall puncture 3 times in a row when I went to the local bike park which got frustrating real quick. I have ridden these tires as a tubless setup only so it really was down to the weakness of the tire that caused me to hate this company. I have had not Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 142 145 24 1

Black Market MOB Frame Frame

“The Original”

C138_mob_purple

The Good:

Amazing craftsmanship and welds
Good use of True Temper steel vs chromoly steel
Tapered seat and chainstays
Solid stance / poise
The best, the one that started a lot of dirt jump riders interest

The Bad:

Head tube ended up ovaling over time
Downtube wall thickness too thin (dented easily)

Overall Review: Even though this frame is no longer available, it still lives on as the Edit1. But this original is truly original... progressive geometry and smart materials. It was and still could be the best DJ bike ever!
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SCgShoeCo
44826 SCgShoeCo http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44826/avatar/c50_SCgLogo_white_website_1501901591.jpg?1501900710 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SCgShoeCo,44826/all 07/20/17 2 11 3 4 4

Deity Cavity 35 Stem

“Favorite stem, bar none”

C138_deity_cavity_35_stem

The Good:

Just seems strong
Wide front plate = wider clamping and stiffer feel
Bolts are full size
rounded edges are nice for the times you're just riding in pants/shorts.

The Bad:

A bit pricey for not being Made in US

Overall Review: Been running these stems for years, and now have 1 Cavity, and 1 new Copperhead. With bars and stems especially, feeling good about how solid your parts are is really important. I don't want to be pushing a corner or dropping or something and be second guessing my stuff slipping!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SCgShoeCo
44826 SCgShoeCo http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/44826/avatar/c50_SCgLogo_white_website_1501901591.jpg?1501900710 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SCgShoeCo,44826/all 07/20/17 2 11 3 4 4

CamelBak Palos LR 4 Hydration Pack

“I'm a fanny packer now”

C138_camelbak_palos_lr_4

The Good:

small, lightweight, keeps your back from getting sweaty, holds everything you need

The Bad:

Cleaning the bit valve, looks dorky to some

Overall Review: After searching for a fanny pack (since they are soo hot right now) I narrowed it down to 3 options; The dakine, the Source and the Camelbak. Since I have always liked camelbak'sfunctionality and the brand's culture I decided to go with it, not to mention that I got a great deal on it compared to the others. The one I got is very similar to the Palos with just a few small differences that most wouldn't notice. It has about 1.5 liters of water storage in the bladderthat came included and room for all of your crap in the main compartment. I fit in there a multitool, pump, tire levers, first aid bandages, leatherman, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 36 142 145 24 1