Latest Product Reviews

RSS

2017 Trek Slash 9.9 29 Race Shop Limited

Vital Review

“Tested: 2017 Trek Slash 9.9 29 Race Shop Limited”

C138_trek_slash_9.9_race_shop_limited
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by Peter Wojnar When Trek debuted the Slash in 2012, their Active Braking Pivot and Full Floater suspension technologies were considered by many to be ahead of the time. The Slash received a number of refinements over the years, but never created significant waves in the all-mountain category. Fast forward to today and the Slash has grown 29-inch wheels, shifted a few degrees here and there, abandoned the Full Floater, and is now being hailed by many to be the benchmark of what a modern enduro bike should be. We’ve been aboard the Slash 29 since late summer, endured a Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 23 17

2015 Transition Patrol 1

“Tranny Patrol 2016”

C138_2015_transition_patrol_1

The Good:

Climbs / descends much better then most bikes in it's class, attractive frame design (it's a looker)

The Bad:

Slightly heavier then some alu bikes out there

Overall Review: I built my Tranny from the Highlighter Yellow Alu frame up and purchased my parts to my personal liking but my setup isn't drastically different from what Transition offers. To keep it short my transmission and brakes are all 2016 Shimano XT and my suspension+dropper is all RockShox, rims and rubber is DT-Swiss and Schwalbe. Enough said about that. Climbing Performance is very good not carbon XC good but within ballpark parking lot range. I credit my 10 years of riding to it's strong ascending abilities but if you're starting off in the sport everything is probably going to feel like a pig. The bike is composed and planted Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Eddie_Reyes
12038 Eddie_Reyes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12038/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1649581684.jpg?1323304985 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Eddie-Reyes,12038/all 12/07/11 1

Finish Line Dry Lube - 4 Oz. Squeeze Bottle

“Gets the job done.”

C138_717801

The Good:

Keeps my chain quiet and is pretty cheap.

The Bad:

There are better performing ones out there.

Overall Review: Ever go in your LBS for a tune up only to be told that your entire drivetrain is shot? If so, go lube your chain now. If not, go lube your chain now. When chains get dry, that metal on metal grinding wreaks havoc on your drivetrain. With no lube, it doesn't take much to prematurely wear out a chain and eventuallydestroy your drivetrain. With cassettes that cost more than $400 retail, this can quickly become a very expensive mistake. In terms of a solid, entry level lube, the Finish Line Dry Lube does a phenomenaljob.It's a dry condition lube so if you ride in a place that rains regularly, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 1 3 4

OneUp Components 42T Sprocket Cassette Add-On

“In theory it should work, right?”

C138_oneup_components_42t_sprocket_cassette_add_on

The Good:

Expands your 10 speed range.

The Bad:

Chain instantly falls off into higher gears when back pedaling.

Overall Review: I know these things are used as a "poor mans" way of making a 1 x 10 speed useful but it didn't really work that well for me. I installed it and after installing the new B screw, was able to get it to shift alright. I noticed however that the second I started to backpedal, the chain would fall off into the higher gears. This never happened with my original cassette but did it all the time with this 42t. I quickly returned it and started saving for a bike equipped with 11 speed.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 1 3 4

6D ATB-1T Open Face Helmet

“The best protection but comes at a cost (more than money)”

C138_0ff0f8_c531ae5e1c074c1b8299b0543adf24c7

The Good:

Highest level or protection (in the world for AM helmets)

The Bad:

Very Pricey Very Heavy

Overall Review: Let me be the first to day that I do not own this helmet. I have only tried it on during a very extensive comparison review before purchasing one. With all of this off my chest, here were my thoughts on the ATB helmet. I was very impressed with the amount of detail that went in the helmet. The paint, pads, and overall design were done very well. The thing that really sets this helmet and any 6D helmets apart is the protection they offer. A lot of research and design has gone into them and because of that, they come at a very high price. Having a highly responsible role in my families life, I had talked myself into Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 1 3 4

2016 Scott Genius LT 700 Tuned Bike

“Ultimate Enduro Climber (w/ all the descending goodies)”

C138_241345

The Good:

Paint is gorgeous, Climbs unbelievably well, Nude shock holds it's own on most enduro and DH trails.

The Bad:

Paint chips very easily.

Overall Review: After several months of riding on the 2016 Scott Genius LT 700 Tuned, I do have to say it holds a special and unique place in the massive field of “endure.” This is more of a Frame/Fork review than the entire stock bike review, but enough with all of this. Here are my impressions: Out of The Box: The Genius LT 700 Tuned frame is hands down one of the brightest and flashy frames on the market. The florescent green paint looks like it came straight from a radioactive chemical spill. Throwing in some classic matte black and grey digi camo gives it the perfect balance. As neat of the paint job is, it didn’t take too much Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_14881538_1588539877838281_1800798274_o_1477766735.jpg?1477766635 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 5 1 3 4

Guerrilla Gravity Trail Pistol

Featured Review

“Always up for a good time, the Trail Pistol will never let you down”

C138_gg_trail_pistol_163_edit_white

The Good:

American-made aluminum will leave you grinning form ear to ear- the speed and stability of this bike cannot be mentioned enough. This is now my go-to bike, hands down.

The Bad:

Some might overlook this speed machine because it's not the wonder plastic, and 25 lbs. Too bad, you'll really be missing out.

Overall Review: Let me make one thing clear - I hate this bike. I hate how an aluminum, slack-ass trail carver puts my old carbon 29er to shame. I hate how this steed looks like it would take a country mile to turn, but pushes through switchbacks more ferociously than I am comfortable with at times. I hate a rear suspension design that lets me pedal faster up climbs than I ever have before. I hate how my face hurts after two hours of smiling like a one year old after their first taste of cake. I hate how line choice is pretty much out the window; it’s all just point and shoot from here on out. I hate this bike- and you can’t go Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member benitosbro
18491 benitosbro http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18491/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1403523747.jpg?1347635889 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/benitosbro,18491/all 09/14/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/benitosbro,18491/setup 4 2

2017 Mongoose Argus Sport

“Argus Sport”

C138_m17_26m_argusspt_red

The Good:

light weight (34lbs.) great paint, shifts and stops excellent

The Bad:

none so far!

Overall Review: gorgeous color and paint quality, great cockpit comfort, did a snow ride, fantastic! can't be beat for the price,  weighed at 34 pounds after assembly
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bobnew
43284 bobnew /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bobnew,43284/all 12/12/16 1

2017 Tantrum Meltdown

“Outburst - Ridden on my Local Trails in Indianapolis. ”

C138_tantrum_cycles_meltdown

The Good:

Peddling ability, handling, generally a damn good and fun bike to ride.

The Bad:

Honestly can't think of anything.

Overall Review: I rode this bike recently with Brian,on trails i ride regularly (packed dirt, leaf covered tree roots, busy and with some small log jumps/obstacles) and rode it along the lines of dirt bike. i would throw it into corners, try and maintain corner speed and squirt it out of them. This bike rails corners and then when it comes to stamping on the pedals on the exits, I didn’t feel the usual softened bob on back end of the bike on every downward pedal stroke. On the straighter level sections, I would speed up and literally feel the rear suspension firm up. It was like there was a hidden pump somewhere, which sensed when you pushed Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Aye
43267 Aye /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Aye,43267/all 12/09/16 1

Race Face Atlas Flat Pedal

“Flawed design”

C138_race_face_atlas_flat_pedal_pins

The Good:

Lightweight, thin, pedal body can take a beating.

The Bad:

Poorly designed axles/bearings, bearing bulge is annoying, grip could be better

Overall Review: So, let's take about durability first, cause that's been my main issue with these pedals. About an hour into the first ride, the body came loose from the axle on the left pedal. Not the best start, but i went home and applied some locktite to the fastening screw. Then on the second ride the same thing happened to the right pedal (Yeah I know, I should have applied locktite to that one too. Call me an optimist.) That seems to have fixed it, cause I haven't had them fall off since. However after a few rides they started developing side-to-side play, and unlike Vitals reviewer I can certainly feel it while riding, though not Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member RaoulDuke
29931 RaoulDuke /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/RaoulDuke,29931/all 03/01/14 1 1 45 1