Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Five Ten Danny MacAskill Flat Pedal Shoe

Vital Review

“First Ride: Five Ten Danny MacAskill Signature Shoe”

C138_528107_21
When you have Danny MacAskill on your athlete roster, you’d be missing out if all you did was to slap his name on a few posters and call it good. Five Ten took full advantage of the Scottish sender and had him help them develop a shoe that would give Danny the performance he needs on the bike – and the casual looks to blend in while on one of his many street missions. Did they succeed? Read on to find out! Five Ten Danny MacAskill Highlights Durable, easy care and casual looking leather upper EVA midsole for shock absorption and anatomical support Ortholite insole Full tread Stealth S1 dotty rubber for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 773 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 53 341 3837 90 28

Hope Technology 35W Complete Wheel

Vital Review

“Tested: Hope Tech 35W Wheelset”

C138_rear
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Rims have been getting wider and wider over the past few years, with manufacturers citing features like lower tire pressures, wider contact patches, and higher air volume as the main reasons behind the trend. Additionally, the plus-size tire “movement” has once again opened people’s minds to experimenting with fatter tires, and as a result, there’s a fresh batch of weird and wonderful new tire widths to choose from. Hope took their time before jumping in with an extra-wide rim offering of their own, but with the 35W they have now thrown their hat in the ring Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 773 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 53 341 3837 90 28

iXS Carve Knee/Shin Pad

Featured Review

“IXS Carve Knee Pads Long Term Review”

C138_carve_knee_front

The Good:

Excellent fit.
Great impact protection.
Machine washable.
Solid construction and great durability.

The Bad:

I can't think of anything bad to say except, I think they now come in grey instead of black.

Overall Review: I own four different sets of knee pads to include a set of POC pads, Seven iDp pads, and iXS Flow pads. My iXS Carve pads are better than the other three sets of knee pads in fit, protection, comfort, and construction. I use my Carve pads for enduro races, bike park days, and all day rides. I've had some big crashes and they've protected my knees every time without fail. They fit smaller compared with iXS Flow and POC pads; however, overall fit is outstanding as they always stay in place. These pads have a large coverage area with good medial, lateral knee and upper shin protection. The protective pad is thick enough for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_thumb_IMG_6241_1024_1485314435.jpg?1485313741 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 3 9

Evoc CC 16l Hydration Pack

Vital Review

“Tested: EVOC CC 16l Hydration Pack”

C138_red
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow EVOC produces a huge range of backpacks for various outdoors activities, from small, simple hydration packs to full-on, expedition-level haulers. The new CC line is made for those who want to keep cool when the mercury climbs, offering a series of features designed with optimal ventilation and airflow in mind. We grabbed the largest of three available versions and headed off to find out how it performs on the trail. EVOC CC 16l Highlights Made from: AIR MESH, DARLINGTON MESH, N100D NANO BOX RIPSTOP PU COATED, P600 D PU COATED Size: 16 L Hydration capacity: up to Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 773 78 832 1729 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 53 341 3837 90 28

e*thirteen TRS+ Cassette

Featured Review

“e*thirteen TRS+ 9-46 Cassette”

C138_fw1tpa_101_600x539

The Good:

Light weight with a claimed weight of 303 grams, or 287 grams depending on what page of e*thirteen's website your looking at. I didn't measure it, but it feels much lighter than the Shimano 11-46 cassette it replaced. The gear ratios are well thought out and feel closer together compared to Shimano's XT cassette. Shifting is buttery smooth, even after two months of use. The 9 and 10 tooth cogs really let you get moving on downhill and flat sections. No unusual squeaks or weird noises as of now.

The Bad:

This cassette is expensive even by SRAM standards. Shifting into the 9 tooth cog isn't as consistent as the remaining cogs. Sometimes it takes a couple pedal revolutions to get it to grab the cog when paired with a XTR derailleur. Ironically, shifting is quicker and more consistent with a XT derailluer.

Overall Review: This cassette offers much better performance, range and weight savings compared to Shimano's 11-46 XT cassette. I've been running it for a couple months now and it works just as good as the day I installed it. Tooth wear looks minimal to non-existent at this point in the cassette's life; however, it's too early to tell what the longevity will be. I'm running this cassette with a 32T chainring up front on 170mm cranks. I mostly use the 2nd lowest gear (39T) for climbing and only use the 46T as a recovery or "bail out" gear. The 9T and 10T cogs are great for those higher speed downhill and flat sections. That being said, I Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member VonR
36072 VonR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/36072/avatar/c50_thumb_IMG_6241_1024_1485314435.jpg?1485313741 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/VonR,36072/all 06/18/15 4 1 3 3 9

e*thirteen LG1+ Chainguide

Featured Review

“E.13 LG1+ Chainguide”

C138_50736

The Good:

looks, never lost a chain

The Bad:

spare parts are very expensive, idler wheel fixed directly to the bash, noisy

Overall Review: The setup is pretty straight forward, it can take a few tries like most chainguides, but is no more or less complicated. Screws, washers and even an adapter to mount it to your bottom bracket are included. Once set up the chainguide worked flawless, I never dropped a chain, even in the muckiest of conditions. If you ride in the mud a lot or pressure wash your bike you should regrease the idler wheel bearings now and then. The upper guide doesn't have any noise cancelling rubber inserts like some of the more modern chainguides have, so it's a bit more noisy. I used to glue a cut out piece of tube on there or Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 63 95 8

Crank Brothers Mallet 3 Clipless Pedals

Featured Review

“Classic Clipless Pedal”

C138_crank_brothers_mallet_3_red

The Good:

mudclearance, pedalbody and pins, service kit available

The Bad:

brass cleats, inner plastic pedal body

Overall Review: First, I have been riding clipless pedals for a few years and I also used Shimanos SPD system for years on my XC-Bike and for a short while on my Enduro and DH bike. When it comes to DH or Enduro riding I'm a big fan of Crankbrothers clipless system. If you aren't and your mind is made up it's probably pointless to read on. Riding them: Clipping in is a very different feeling from Shimano, it feels much more 'loose' and you get a lot of float. You shouldn't worry, though, as long as you have a fresh set of cleats the pedal holds on to your foot pretty secure. When you install the cleats Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Gweggy
8163 Gweggy http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8163/avatar/c50_Lrrrportrait_1426717648.jpg?1426717560 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/all 05/17/11 7 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Gweggy,8163/setup 2 63 95 8

SR Suntour Auron RC2 Fork

“SR Suntour Auron RC2”

C138_2014_sr_suntour_auron_fork

The Good:

Price, sure.

The Bad:

Noisy, a bit noisy.

Overall Review: It's been a while for me riding the Suntour Auron RC2 (internal adjust) with black stanchion, and maybe it's the time for me to write something about this fork. First, I chose this fork because of the price; it's really a good price, and for this thing the Auron is the winner from most high end forks. But let's see the others.. APPEARANCE: Black stanchion is looking awesome, based on that fact that most popular forks have the black stanchion. So with the Auron RC2, I like the black stanchion beside the price. The 34mm also looks big. The fork comes in doff style, and the decal is not stickers! There are some stickers, but Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member gazelle11
28406 gazelle11 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/28406/avatar/c50_P_20150725_171400_1442926471.jpg?1442925492 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/all 11/12/13 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gazelle11,28406/setup 10 35 106 10

Öhlins RXF 34 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: Öhlins RXF 34 Fork”

C138_fork_1
Review by Brandon Turman // Action photos by Courtney Steen "Wait, is that an Öhlins fork?!" The sight of some "Swedish gold" bolted to the front of our test bike often makes savvy riders do a double take when we're out on the trail, and for good reason - Öhlins has an excellent reputation thanks in part to dozens of World Championship titles in the motorsports world since the company was founded in 1979. With performance suspension components made to fit just about any two or four-wheeled racing vehicle, it was high time for the brand to make an entrance into the mountain bike world just a few short years ago. As you might Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_BT_20150715_untitled_shoot_016_6_2_1478284381.jpg?1478283449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1150 94 6120 1028 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 274 1208 2169 136 40

SR Suntour RUX R2C2 Suspension Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: SR Suntour RUX R2C2”

C138_sf16_rux_r2c2_27_5_img_0209_2
We had a shaky start with the original SR Suntour RUX R2C downhill fork we tested back in 2014. After some refinements provided by the brand, however, the result was an outstanding review. SR Suntour is back at it in 2017 with their new 27.5” RUX R2C2. With a redesigned air spring, a new cartridge featuring both externally adjustable high- and low-speed compression and rebound, as well a few new other revisions, SR Suntour is aiming to take on the top dogs in the suspension world in a modestly priced, high performing package. We’ve been rocking the new RUX for the past few months to see if that aim hits the target. SR Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 102 5 250 152 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 31 221 59 59 1