Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Park Tool P-Handled Hex Wrench Set

Featured Review

“A mega must-have for any home mechanic”

C138_13245

The Good:

Functional durable, Never dents, Excellent finish, precise fit, comfortable handle

The Bad:

A blue handle broke on me

Overall Review: If you are looking into getting, or just building up your home mechanic tool kit, Having a P/T handled hex kit is a MUST. That being said, you have tons of options: Anywhere from Harbor Freight, Amazon, department store brands like Sears, bicycle specific brands like Park Tool and Pedros, and then the ultra expensive, high-end brands from Europe....tons of options. Durability: When I decided to purchase a set of Hex wrenches, I decided to go with Park Tool, because I already had a large amount of their tools, and also because I have been very pleased with how they have kept over the years. For the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40

Troy Lee Designs XC Gloves

“High Expectations”

C138_13tld_xc_glove_blk

The Good:

Brand, Durability, Styling

The Bad:

Confused, Styling

Overall Review: Let me start off by saying these gloves are nice! I like them!.. a lot actually, so why didn't I give them 5 stars? well, they are a little confused. How so?.. They say XC on them, as in cross country, as in pedal mashing, cadence clambering, hear rate hiking, crack sweating cross country! So then why are they so thick? Should I add hand sweating to that list as well? The branding makes no sense, wouldn't you want your hands to breathe a little more? maybe go for a thinner material? But at the same time that is exactly what makes these gloves so awesome! They are thick and durable because of this I use them for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kstrongin
39701 kstrongin /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kstrongin,39701/all 03/09/16 1 11

ANVL Forge Stealth Ti Alloy Saddle

Vital Review

“Tested: ANVL Forge Stealth Saddle”

C138_anvl_saddles_2_half_1
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Born from the Transition crew’s desire to make better bling, ANVL popped on the components scene a couple of years back and they drew a fair bit of attention with a range of seemingly well-designed parts that look good too. Curious to go beneath the appearance, we laid our hands on the new Forge Stealth saddle a couple of months ago, and we’ve been resting our weary behinds on it ever since. Read on to find out how it treated us. ANVL Forge Stealth Ti Alloy Highlights RAIL MATERIAL: Titanium COVER MATERIAL: Leather + Kevlar corners PADDING: Superlight Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 768 54 714 1724 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 36 265 3220 77 23

Rock 'n Roll Gold Lube

“Spectacular”

C138_cm407b13

The Good:

It says Gold on the bottle

The Bad:

None if used properly

Overall Review: "SPECTACULAR" that's what my star rating says anyway... And does it lie? No it does not! Why does the label say "Gold" on it? because this lube is the gold standard in dry conditions. While the blue stuff has tons of wax in it meant to protect the chain this stuff has just enough to keep the chain lubed, and quite while not attracting too much dust making your bike a mucky mess. This stuff is the bee's knees, if you love your bike... maybe a little too much?.. aahhhh who am I kidding there's no such thing! but if you do this stuff is a necessity.. trust me it will keep you and your bike very happy on the trail! If the price tag is scaring you, try not to frett you can often pick this stuff up at your LBS for less than $15 a bottle, and it is very worth it!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kstrongin
39701 kstrongin /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kstrongin,39701/all 03/09/16 1 11

Rock 'n Roll Extreme Lube

“I Put This Sh*t on Everything”

C138_cm400b24

The Good:

High Quality Product

The Bad:

Absolutely None

Overall Review: Woo Hoo!! My first five star review! Before we begin let's get one thing clear... this is the WET lube from Rock N Roll. Rock N Roll makes two different types of lube, wet (blue) and dry (gold), this review is for the wet lube. Can you use the wet lube in dry conditions? abso-freaking-lutely, will it work as well as the dry lube? no it won't! This stuff is awesome, in wet conditions it keeps your chain dry and noise free, even in extreme mud and close to freezing temperatures this stuff rocks! why you ask? don't worry baby birds, I'll feed ya! Because of all the wax! it coddles your chain like an over Read More »

WTB Rocket V SLT Saddle

“Outdated and Over Appreciated”

C138_sa278a12_black

The Good:

Price, Shape

The Bad:

Shape, Build Quality

Overall Review: Like most of the users on this site, we have all at one point or another fallen prey to the saddle trap that is the Rocket V. Was it at one point a great saddle? no doubt, but recently the saddle game has progressed and left the Rocket V in it's dust. Sure the SLT has titanium frame rails and is fairly light, but it is also way over priced for it comfort level. Maybe an over priced uncomfortable and ugly saddle is just what you are looking for, if so then this is the saddle for you. However if you are like most of us, there are thinner, lighter, and more comfortable saddles currently on the market... buy one of those! WTB makes great products but this one has seen it's day come and go; unless you can get a real great deal on this bad boy... highly doubtful steer clear!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member kstrongin
39701 kstrongin /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/kstrongin,39701/all 03/09/16 1 11

WTB Silverado Team Saddle

“It's.... Pretty Good”

C138_wtb_silverado_team_saddle

The Good:

Thin, attractive shape, good looking

The Bad:

Durability

Overall Review: Alright here is the deal, I have had a lot of saddles over the years, and WTB seemed to be the most popular brand for me until recently. I bought one of these saddles for my downhill bike about a year ago; I was going to use this saddle for my race season, and as you can probably tell from my tone it did not go so well. First the good, the saddle is light, has a thin profile which is good looking IMHO and felt good when I was on it... I also got a great deal ($55) so it was a win win. That is until my second lap when I took a pretty gnarly header over the bars, I got back up and continued my lap, but it wasn't until Read More »

Park Tool Shop Cone Wrench

“A Must Have For Hub Services”

C138_tl278a00_23

The Good:

Thin, Accurate, Comfortable

The Bad:

Metal is a little soft

Overall Review: These wrenches are outstanding, I bought a set about 6 months ago and have been using them for all kinds of bike services, but they are especially handy when overhauling hubs. This is due to their durability and extreme thinness. The rubber coated handles are also very comfortable which is great for saving your when it comes to tight hubs. The wrenches themselves are very accurate which is great for keeping your hubs and other hardware in good shape as well as giving you extra leverage. On a negative note I would not recommend these for removal and installation of pedals, the metal these are made from is not the hardest and due to their thin profile they can dent/bend if used for this application, you are better off using a pedal wrench ;). All in all, a very good product, and I would highly recommend them.

2016 Evil The Following X1

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Evil The Following X1”

C138_following_x1_1200x1000
Reviewed by Brandon Turman and Steve Wentz // Photos by Lear Miller The Following is an aggressive 29er created to push the boundaries of the big wheel. But with just 120mm of rear travel there's not a whole lot to work with, right? Turns out the carefully considered combination of big wheels, good components, dialed suspension, and progressive geometry allow you to do things typically reserved for a longer travel bike. The full carbon rig builds off the success of Evil's previous models while seeing a number of key updates that will continue to influence future designs. We straddled the head-turner with high hopes Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1152 92 5810 1055 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 248 1082 2052 122 40

Industry Nine Torch Classic Rear Hub

Featured Review

“Best Weight/Points of Engagement Ratio”

C138_classic_mtn_1

The Good:

Amazing points of engagement
Light weight
Freehub stays intact when removing wheel

The Bad:

Bearings didn't last (Could have better seals on the non-drive side)

Overall Review: After doing, what felt like a lifetime of research, I finally manned up and purchased some high end hubs for my bike. Weighing out all the pros and cons, I decided to go with the Industry Nine Torch hubs and am pretty happy I did. Research: What set this hub apart from the rest? The main reason why I wanted to get a higher-end hubset was because I was unhappy with 24-28 points of engagement. To the average cyclist, it may not be a big deal, but turning the cranks up to 15 degrees before actually putting power to the rear wheel was just too much, especially when riding technical terrain. Aside from wanting more Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dirtworks911
14755 dirtworks911 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14755/avatar/c50_10514455_771835879581_189563491686125955_o_1450673946.jpg?1450673027 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/all 04/09/12 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dirtworks911,14755/setup 1 10 40