Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Maxxis Minion DHRII Wide Trail Tire

Vital Review

“Tested: Maxxis Minion DHRII Wide Trail”

C138_t580_043199a86304a4047cc510383bdbebd2
by Joel Harwood Tire choice is a tough one. Every brand has a variety of tread patterns, casings, rubber compounds, and a never-ending list of acronyms. Maxxis led the industry with the Minion DHF and High Roller for eons, and other tire manufacturers were playing catch up. As more riders and bike manufacturers have transitioned to wider rims, Maxxis has updated some of their classic treads with a wider casing optimized for wide rims. Maxxis’ Wide Trail (WT) casing is optimized for rims with an internal width of 35mm, but also seems better suited to modern trail bikes than the relatively narrow 2.3” casing. It’s Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 16 17

2014 Santa Cruz Bronson Carbon SPX AM 27.5 Bike

“Awesome Ride”

C138_yellow_solid_white

The Good:

27.5 Kashima fork and shock Fox 34 kicks butt.

The Bad:

Heavy tires

Overall Review: I bought this bike in 2014 and it's the best bike I've ever owned. Gt, trek, specialized, this beats them all. Fast smooth and agility are tops when the suspension is set up correctly. I am going to get some lighter tires though for local riding that's not that tech. I did do a DH race on it too and it blew through all that I hit with ease.

e*thirteen TRS Tires

Vital Review

“Tested: e*thirteen TRS Tires”

C138_e13trstire
Review and photos by Fred Robinson and Brandon Turman e*thirteen- the name is synonymous with chain guides, guide rings, drivetrain innovation and more recently wheels. But tires? We not going to say it’s rare to see a component brand take on tires, but we will say we were a bit surprised when they showed us some early prototypes, complete with hand-cut modifications, at the EWS in Finale Ligure last year. As you might have gathered from our recent article showing the ins-and-outs of e*thirteen as a brand, it’s clear they are in the business of creating products that don’t necessarily complete their line of components, but Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member FredLikesTrikes
18548 FredLikesTrikes http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18548/avatar/c50_IMG_0045_1428943983.jpg?1428943532 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/all 09/14/12 136 3 222 201 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/FredLikesTrikes,18548/setup 20 178 1 51 36

2016 Pivot Mach 429 Trail XT/XTR Pro 1x

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Pivot Mach 429 Trail XT/XTR Pro 1x”

C138_s1600_3_pivot_mach_429_trail
Reviewed by Brandon Turman and Steve Wentz // Photos by Lear Miller What would happen if you took a successful 29er cross-country bike and mixed in a little inspiration from a long-travel 27.5 cousin? That's exactly what Pivot did with the Mach 429 Trail, which takes their well regarded Mach 429 SL cross-country rig and mixes it with some capability from the Mach 6 enduro bike, ultimately ending up with a very efficient ride that's better suited to getting rowdy on the trails. Updates include a small bump up in rear travel, a new linkage, components worthy of rougher terrain, Boost axles front and rear, a Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5810 1058 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 252 1090 2070 123 40

Crank Brothers Candy 7 Clipless Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Candy 7”

C138_candy_7_black_black
Review by Joel Harwood // Photos by AJ Barlas Pedals, like most mountain bike components, are somewhat subjective: engagement, float, and shoe contact differ from brand to brand and depend on setup. One trait valued by every consumer, and arguably the most important, is reliability. Crankbrothers pedals have a loyal following; however converting SPD die-hards has been an on-going challenge, especially with a reputation of product that may have a shorter lifespan than some of the competition. In their efforts, Crankbrothers have been adding functional features, durability, and style to some of their classics. Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member hurricanejoel
27998 hurricanejoel http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/27998/avatar/c50_IMG_0156_1462806162.jpg?1462805225 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/hurricanejoel,27998/all 10/17/13 1 38 4 16 17

iXS Trail RS Helmet

“comfortable, nice fit and finish, but I can't see through the sweat”

C138_ixs_trail_rs_helmet_blue

The Good:

very comfortable, nice fit, well finished, good price. looks good.

The Bad:

mips or something similar would be nice, but the biggest downfall is sweat dripping. The padding directs my sweat straight into my eyes and glasses.

Overall Review: I bought this over the winter, fit was the best I'd ever experienced from a helmet, I could put it on and there were no hotspots or pressure points. It looks nice and the quality of finish seems great. Last week was my first hot weather ride with this helmet. It is very comfortable, and even does a decent job of moving air over my head, but I'm not sure I'll be able to wear this helmet over the summer: the padding seems to direct my sweat straight into my eyes. Once I got working hard, I had sweat pouring into my glasses. So I got rid of the glasses and figured that would be fine, except the sweat poured straight into Read More »

Crank Brothers Mallet E Clipless Pedal

Vital Review

“Tested: Crankbrothers Mallet E Clipless Pedals”

C138_mallet_e_blue_2_dia
by Lee Trumpore Crankbrothers pedals have been a staple of professional and amateur mountain biker ranks for well over a decade. Based on their original Egg Beater design, the Mallet DH pedals quickly won a following for their unique feel, large platform, and ease of engagement, even in the muddiest conditions. Despite their wild popularity, the original Mallet pedals were not without their issues and subsequent revisions. Though cleverly designed and pleasing to the eyes, they didn't always cut it on the trail. Similar challenges with other products led to a complete re-boot at Crankbrothers a few years ago Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 64 241 21

Crank Brothers Mallet 3 Clipless/Platform Pedals

“Awesome Pedal! ”

C138_68949

The Good:

Weight, Colour , Easy in Easy out.

The Bad:

Freespin , Cliping mech to close to the crank.

Overall Review: These are the first "clip" style pedals I have used, and i don't think i'll ever go back to flats.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Lapierreloosely
37670 Lapierreloosely http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/37670/avatar/c50_11076175_10152927930627798_5879139828236731733_n_1443129235.jpg?1443129048 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Lapierreloosely,37670/all 09/24/15 2 80 5 1

100% Speedcraft LL Glasses

“VERY GOOD FOR MY TRAILS!!!”

C138_speedcraft_ll

The Good:

BIG LENSES, GOOD VENTILATION,NICE DESIGN

The Bad:

LACK OF ADJUSTMENT

Overall Review: I really enjoyed that sunglass !!! For me it it is one of the nicest shades of 2015! Wonderful and fits well people that like big lens and have big head, like me.To be perfect ,nose pad and the rods must have adjustment, like uvex 107 vario and other brands... https://flic.kr/p/GHGe5s
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member BOLAN2002
40699 BOLAN2002 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/40699/avatar/c50_20160421_103846_1462119181.jpg?1462118199 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/BOLAN2002,40699/all 05/01/16 1

2016 Devinci Troy Carbon RR

Vital Review

“2016 Test Sessions: Devinci Troy Carbon RR”

C138_2016_devinci_troy_carbon_rr_bike
Reviewed by Brandon Turman and Steve Wentz // Photos by Lear Miller Devinci went back to the drawing board with an all-new 2016 Troy frame design inspired by the look and feel of the longer travel Spartan. The bike previously had a very slender appearance and held a lot of promise, but a few details needed work for aggressive riders. It comes back for the new year ready to charge the rowdiest bits of trail with a beefed up carbon frame, 10mm more travel up front, and build kits much more in line the rider you'd expect to own a Troy. Sporting 140mm of rear wheel travel and 150mm in the front, the bike bridges the gap Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 92 5810 1058 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 252 1090 2070 123 40

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey