Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Giro Indicator

“Decent helmet for a decent price.”

C138_giro_indicator_blacklime_09_m

The Good:

It keeps your head safe

The Bad:

I could never get it to fit quite right.

Overall Review: This helmet is probably the lowest I am willing to go as far as price for protecting my dome, and it works! The accu-dial adjustment works well for getting the right fit on the rear of your head, but the straps ride at a weird angle around my ears and sometimes irritate me. I know how to adjust my helmet properly and have never had this issue with helmets before but the straps just seem to want to twist right before the front and rear straps converge under the earcausingit to be slightlyuncomfortable. It's not enough to bother me on shorter rides but when I go on an all-day trail ride it can start to get annoying. Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bhalpin47
16740 bhalpin47 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16740/avatar/c50_Photo06081313.jpg?1352145462 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bhalpin47,16740/all 06/29/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bhalpin47,16740/setup 1 6 49 10

Royal Java Trail Riding Jersey

“Sweet jersey, nice fit!”

C138_127136620_1287692362

The Good:

Looks, comfort, pocket, glasses wipe, it's made from coffee!

The Bad:

None so far!

Overall Review: I bought this jersey in grey a couple of months ago for about $20 on theClymb.com and I love it. It has pre-curved sleeves, mesh side panels, and a long back that doesn't look goofy but keeps your back covered when you lean forward. The zip back pocket sits low enough to be usable with a small hydration pack. It has a patch of microfiber to wipe your glasses... and it's made of a sustainable fabric made from used coffee grounds! I prefer loose fitting trail jerseys over spandex and was actually a little hesitant about the fit of this jersey, but I am stoked with the look and feel. It looks nice and isn't as tight around Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bhalpin47
16740 bhalpin47 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16740/avatar/c50_Photo06081313.jpg?1352145462 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bhalpin47,16740/all 06/29/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bhalpin47,16740/setup 1 6 49 10

Deity Streetsweeper Frame

“StreetSweeper !”

C138_deity_streetsweeper_5

The Good:

Light weight, that great steal feel, super short chainstays, amazing ride !

The Bad:

Nothing bad so far.

Overall Review: I got this frame to replace a 2008 BlackMarket 357 for use at Rays MTB in MKE. I purchased the frame from Ray's because if anyone should make money from me its Rays who gives me a place to ride ! The streetsweeper is 2 pounds lighter than the 357, I went from a 28/13 gearing to a 30/14 and STILL had to remove two links from chain. The streetsweeper is far more nimble and just feels faster than other bikes. I'm not sure why but I let everyone ride my bike and everyone says it just goes fast so easy. No matter jumps, pump track or anywhere in the park it is just responsive, fast, nimble and boosts like crazy making everything Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member stevehailer
5083 stevehailer http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/5083/avatar/c50_89527610_1288286159.jpg?1290165021 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/stevehailer,5083/all 10/28/10 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/stevehailer,5083/setup 4 5 2

Crank Brothers Mallet 2 Clipless Pedal

“Quality pedal, flawed design.”

C138_crank_brothers_mallet_2_silver

The Good:

Good quality, Solid platform, grip pins, reliable clip-in/out great mud-shedding

The Bad:

Platform is fairly pointless unless you have shoes with a hole in the sole so you don't ride on the retainer springs.

Overall Review: I have been mountain biking for 6 years, riding mostly XC/Trail and had never second guessed my choice of platform pedals... until I took a vacation to Colorado, rented a Yeti 575, and got stuck on rental platforms for two days of epic Front Range, Rocky Mountain riding. First off, the low rating is not for quality but purely for design issues. I bought these pedals and a pair of 510 Maltese Falcons for two reasons: 1: I use my bike for many things and don't want to only be able to ride it with one pair of shoes. 2: When I use the clipless shoes I don't want to have difficulty walking when off the bike. Read More »
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bhalpin47
16740 bhalpin47 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16740/avatar/c50_Photo06081313.jpg?1352145462 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bhalpin47,16740/all 06/29/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bhalpin47,16740/setup 1 6 49 10

2012 Rocky Mountain Flatline Park Bike

“Great entry DH bike”

C138_screen_shot_2011_12_04_at_11.03.54_pm

The Good:

I rented this bike for the summer to see how i liked DH and let me tell you, this bike was a dream to ride. The plush marx fork and the fox van in the bike made for a smooth ride all together.

The Bad:

It is on the heavy side, but hey who cares when your ripping the DH up.

Overall Review: Great beginner and entry level DH bike. Highly recommened
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dhxcds4x13
11937 dhxcds4x13 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11937/avatar/c50_downhilla_trailbuilda13.pinkbike.jpg?1322808270 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dhxcds4x13,11937/all 12/01/11 1 73 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dhxcds4x13,11937/setup 1 8 2

2012 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp EVO Bike

“A Killer Trail Bike”

C138_screen_shot_2011_12_21_at_12.45.15_pm

The Good:

Absolutely kills it on the uphill with its slack but uphill ready headtube angle. The command post adds a nice touch, being able to change your seat hight on the go.

The Bad:

Wheel set dents easily after a few cases.

Overall Review: Overall a outstanding bike! Great for a first timer or a expert! Highly recommended
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member dhxcds4x13
11937 dhxcds4x13 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/11937/avatar/c50_downhilla_trailbuilda13.pinkbike.jpg?1322808270 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dhxcds4x13,11937/all 12/01/11 1 73 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dhxcds4x13,11937/setup 1 8 2

FUNN Fatboy Riser Bar

“Cheap, Light, Strong”

C138_hb409a51_black

The Good:

Cheap, Light - 282g, Strong

The Bad:

Nothing at all.

Overall Review: Cheap bars that look great. Same material as all the other companys so will be the same strength, Lighter than most. Been running them all season at Whistler and they are still perfect. No complaints.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member haydenbristow
19566 haydenbristow http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19566/avatar/c50_fb_picture_537744204.jpg?1352062659 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/haydenbristow,19566/all 11/04/12 2 1

2012 Santa Cruz Nomad Carbon XTR am 1x10 Bike

“Do it all!”

C138_screen_shot_2011_12_07_at_9.06.44_pm

The Good:

I own this bike and I love it.... It climbs it Drops, DownHills, Jumps, Enduro. what ever you want this bike can fill the need with a 160 Front fork you have the perfect enduro bike! Slap a coil in the rear with a 180 fork up front and this thing makes the perfect Freeride or DownHill rig. and still will climb fairly well! I am amazed at how well it does every thing I ask of it.

The Bad:

The first scratch was devastating, but I got over it : )

Overall Review: I Love this bike! I Highly recommend Buying this bike!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Freeride Digger
19530 Freeride Digger http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19530/avatar/c50_fb_picture_1330925481.jpg?1351920977 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Freeride-Digger,19530/all 11/02/12 2 1

Manitou Minute Expert Fork

“Great affordable fork!”

C138_57827

The Good:

Lock-out, rebound, reliability, price

The Bad:

None, that I can find

Overall Review: I've had this fork installed on my XC bike for over a year and I love it! The lockout dial is easy to turn on the fly. The rebound knob is on the lower of the right leg and is large enough to grip easily with gloves. The air pressure valve is well protected and they even have a suggested pressure sticker on the leg so you don't have to fumble around with the manual.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member bhalpin47
16740 bhalpin47 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/16740/avatar/c50_Photo06081313.jpg?1352145462 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bhalpin47,16740/all 06/29/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bhalpin47,16740/setup 1 6 49 10