Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Shimano Saint Crankset M815 Crank

Featured Review

“The Best DH Crank. Period.”

C138_cr292j01_165_83

The Good:

1)Extremely reliable
2)Extremely durable
3)It says Shimano on it. It must be good.

The Bad:

1)Could be lighter(lol)
2)Graphics will wear off eventually(also lol)

Overall Review: The Good: These cranks are extremely reliable/durable. You install the BB and cranks and you basically have to do nothing ever again(except grease the BB occasionally). You could literally throw your bike of the empire state building and the cranks will still be in perfect working order. There aren't too many products I would say this about. In all seriousness, I have bashed my set of Saint Cranks on hundreds of rocks, bottom bracket cased big jumps and drops, and the Saint's never let me down. After three years of hard riding my cranks have a bunch of scratches, but are perfectly straight(the tabs too). I did go Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NAYR
191 NAYR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/191/avatar/c50_p1pb4722431.jpg?1300753449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NAYR,191/all 08/01/09 1 7 25 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NAYR,191/setup 1 16 10

Specialized Enduro Expert Bike

“DO IT ALL BIKE”

C138_enduro_expert

The Good:

Climbs well, Descends even better. Slack geometry. durable. Looks great.

The Bad:

The stock shock isnt my favorite but it is decent.

Overall Review: I was looking for a bike that could both descend and climb. Little did I know that I was getting a bike that could both handle all the downhill I was capable of dishing out and more but I would also be able to give my XC friends a run for the money when out on XC rides. This bike really is the best of both worlds. Im not looking to replace this anytime in the near future.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member BMEnduro
14065 BMEnduro /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/BMEnduro,14065/all 03/14/12 1 5 34 1

Kali Protectives Aazis Soft Knee Pad

Featured Review

“Looks cool and keeps you cool”

C138_93060490_1273183445

The Good:

Cool, Fit, Comfortable, Non-Slip, Killer looks.

The Bad:

Have to take off shoe to put them on/off.

Overall Review: What a solid knee pad! They're so good I bought the knee/shin 180 combo for riding DH as well. I've taken some falls without the the pad budging and protection has been spot. Not to mention the pad looks good too, nothing crazy mind you.. just black and grey w/ a simple kali logo. I've had both the knee and knee/shin combo on in hot weather and my legs have always stayed relatively cool. They won't stay sweat free but what can you expect by strapping neoprene and plastic to your legs. In the past I've used the 661 knee/shin race pads and the TLD knee/shin. The Kali pads are WAY more comfortable. Its like they Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ryan_daugherty
97 ryan_daugherty http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/97/avatar/c50_88078070_1249132893.jpg?1290150113 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/all 08/01/09 3 99 24 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ryan-daugherty,97/setup 5 49 305 21

T.H.E. Maxi Guards

Vital Review

“Tested: T.H.E. Maxi Guards”

C138_the_maxi_guards
It's tough to find one thing that's good for everything - this holds true for bikes and knee pads. When it comes to bikes, a nice slack 5 or 6-inch travel trail bike is the choice of most savvy folks who can only have one bike in their garage. It may not be the best downhill machine, but it'll do, and it's not the best climber, but it sure is fun on the way back down. When it comes to knee pads, the same concept applies - protection, comfort, durability, breathability, and more variables are all at play. At first glance, the new T.H.E. Maxi Guards, first introduced at Sea Otter 2012, look to be equivalent to that Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1141 92 5472 1045 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 235 1020 2001 111 40

Leatt DBX Pro Neck Brace

Vital Review

“Leatt DBX Pro Long Term Test”

C138_60378
Last fall, I reviewed the Leatt DBX Pro. Now that I have been using the brace for the nearly a full year, my opinions haven't really changed much. It's still the best thing going at the moment. Despite a few spills and normal wear and tear over the last year, the brace still looks practically brand new. The padding is easy to remove and clean (not having Velcro to deal with really makes everything easier to clean), so the white portions have retained most of their brightness. The spring loaded hinges are still working like they did right out of the box. In addition, the crashes didn't seem to impact the structural Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member joshitrealgood
2173 joshitrealgood http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2173/avatar/c50_99685220_1271279989.jpg?1290155916 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/joshitrealgood,2173/all 03/09/10 2 11 4 4 20 67 1 4

Shimano SLX M666 Disc Brake

“Solid Brakes”

C138_br258c01

The Good:

Well priced, great stopping power, low maintenance, easy to install, tool free reach adjustment, comes with those finned pads

The Bad:

I can't think of any

Overall Review: These brakes are awesome. You really can't beat them for the price. I haven't had to do any maintenance on these since I got them. Shimano brakes in my opinion are also the easiest to bleed. They have tons of stopping power. I run these on my freeride bike and have used them at multiple bike parks and tons of downhill runs. I've never had to use more than one finger on these brakes. The reach adjustment also works great. My brother has ridden his avid codes the same amount as me or less and they are in need of a bleed and mine are not. The bottom line is if you want dependable, strong brakes and you're on a budget get these brakes!

Giant STP Frame

“:) i love it!!”

C138_2011stp_frameset

The Good:

the frame has is stronger all around, i love the geometryt of this frame. headtube angle is just right for me.

The Bad:

nothing is wrong its a giant

Overall Review: great frame the price is great for the frame and good geometry
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member giantmtber
14852 giantmtber http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14852/avatar/c50_image_1382327321.jpg?1382326604 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/giantmtber,14852/all 04/14/12 9 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/giantmtber,14852/setup 22 5

SixSixOne Recon Gloves

Vital Review

“Tested: SixSixOne Recon Gloves”

C138_gl255a02

The Good:

Breathability // Comfort // Thin palm

The Bad:

Short wrist closure // Lack of protection

Overall Review: Product Highlights Dimple mesh upper for precise fit Micro fiber sweat wipe Silicon printed finger tips $29.95 MSRP Riding Impressions Breathability and comfort - this all-mountain glove was designed with these two things in mind. Featuring full-mesh-backed fingers and backhand, these gloves stay cool while riding. The thin but durable palm leather offers good grip, precise lever feel, and doesn't bunch. Both the index and middle fingers feature silicon gripper coating for increased control and grip on levers. While not offering much tree-punching protection, the Recon Gloves offer much more than a bare hand in the grip Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Zoomlinski
2655 Zoomlinski http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/2655/avatar/c50_91001400_1272558654.jpg?1290157451 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Zoomlinski,2655/all 04/29/10 1 19 22

Crank Brothers Kronolog Adjustable Seatpost

Vital Review

“Tested: Crank Brothers Kronolog Adjustable Seatpost”

C138_red
by Brandon Turman This past March, Crank Brothers introduced the Kronolog, an all-new adjustable seatpost based around a simple mechanical design concept - that of a bar clamp. The post boasts 125mm of infinite adjustment, comes in 30.9 or 31.6mm diameters, and weighs an impressively light 493 grams with the remote. If you're unfamiliar with the inner workings of the post, take a moment to revisit this "First Look" feature that we prepared when the post was first launched: As you can tell by watching that slideshow, when we first got our hands on it we were pretty impressed. Everything from the fixed cable Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1141 92 5472 1045 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 235 1020 2001 111 40

RockShox Boxxer R2C2 Fork

“The Official "Budget" DH Fork”

C138_fk268a47_black

The Good:

1)Smooth with fresh grease/oil
2)Adjustable- High/low speed compression and beginning/ending stroke rebound
3)Relatively Cheap
4)Easy to rebuild
5)Relatively light

The Bad:

1)Needs to be rebuilt all of the time for best performance
2) It's flexy
3)Doesn't come with the correct amount of oil

Overall Review: The Good: 1)With fresh oil in the lowers, a rebuilt damper, and a ton of slick honey on the seals the fork feels really good. The problem is that the feel doesn't last. I went threw countless sets of seals/dust wipers on this fork. 2)The fork is quite adjustable for the price. You get three springs which can easily be swapped out if you do not fit the stock spring rate, and a multitude of adjustments(Bottom out, high and low speed compression, and beginning/end of stroke rebound) 3)The $850 price point puts this fork in a price range that your typical downhill rider might actually be able to afford. 4)The fork Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down