Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Troy Lee Designs GP Gloves

“Excellent!”

C138_13tld_gp_glove_blk

The Good:

Fit, confort, protection

The Bad:

None worth mentioning.

Overall Review: Great overall Dh/FR glove. It fits great and is very confortable, I've used them for entire afternoons without any problem. Don't get me wrong, they are not some lightweight XC gloves as they do have pretty good rubber protections on the back, but you just don't notice them as they fit perfectly. They also have silicone on the brake fingers to help with friction on the brakes and it results great for it, although the silicone tends to peel over time.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hyperpower!
7461 Hyperpower! http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/7461/avatar/c50_12401644_10208501296590362_6465822191258779947_o_1454715892.jpg?1454715731 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hyperpower,7461/all 03/30/11 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hyperpower,7461/setup 44 93 10

Dakine Highwire Glove Spring/Summer 11

“Good quality!”

C138_61419

The Good:

Durability, fit, confort.

The Bad:

Nothing worth mentioning.

Overall Review: I've been using these gloves for about a year and only have good things to say about them. The fit is close to perfect and so far they have withstand great, and almost don't show any signs of use at all. Feeling of the brakes is pretty good too. One of the best value for money gloves for sure...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hyperpower!
7461 Hyperpower! http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/7461/avatar/c50_12401644_10208501296590362_6465822191258779947_o_1454715892.jpg?1454715731 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hyperpower,7461/all 03/30/11 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hyperpower,7461/setup 44 93 10

Kali Protectives Veda Soft Elbow Pad

“Good elbow protection and long-term durability”

C138_93785700_1273184525

The Good:

don't slip, good protection

The Bad:

a bit tight at first

Overall Review: To pad or not to pad, that is the question... For my riding style, I don't have a need for the full body suits of armor so individual pads come in handy and can be mixed and matched depending on the riding conditions du jour. These elbow pads start out really tight and I had to keep checking to make sure I didn't accidentally order a size too small. I'm not a ripped dude either so just be fore-warned. After some rides they tend to stretch out a bit and are actually as comfortable as elbow pads like these get, which in reality is not all that comfortable, but hey that's the price of protection. Also, despite the Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_11986309_931926603522381_1286961545459590885_n_1454301649.jpg?1454301173 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 14 81 48

Troy Lee Designs D3 Composite Helmet

“The best helmet out there!”

C138_13tld_d3_mirage_blue_04

The Good:

Looks, fit, leatt and goggle integration.

The Bad:

Mostly the high price. Strap system (at least on mine)

Overall Review: What can I say, it really is the benchmark. My previous helmet was the D2 and before that a 661 Evolution Carbon and the D3 is simply the best. It's not as light as the Evolution carbon but the fit is simply perfect, as is the integration with the leatt brace. Having experimented it with Spy, Oakley and Hebo goggles I had no problems. For those that use glasses like me it is kind of tough to put them on, but after you set them up they stay put without problems. Also, I don' know if it was just my specific helmet, but sometimes the strap is really hard to get loose. Price is high, but the consequences of a bad helmet in a crash are also enormous, and if you do a good search on the web you can get some helmets from the previous season at a good price.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Hyperpower!
7461 Hyperpower! http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/7461/avatar/c50_12401644_10208501296590362_6465822191258779947_o_1454715892.jpg?1454715731 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hyperpower,7461/all 03/30/11 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Hyperpower,7461/setup 44 93 10

Dakine Descent S/S Jersey Spring/Summer 11

“Comfortable SS jersey that looks good”

C138_61429

The Good:

super light and breathable, nice styling

The Bad:

thin fabric doesn't handle crashes well

Overall Review: Get this jersey if you love a lightweight jersey that dries in an instant and doesn't hold water and smells like a cotton t-shirt. Skip this one if you can't find a good sale on it or you are extra rough on clothing. Bonus feature: glasses wipe cloth sewn on the inside of the jersey.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_11986309_931926603522381_1286961545459590885_n_1454301649.jpg?1454301173 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 14 81 48

Specialized Pitch Comp Bike

“For all types of tracks”

C138_pitch_comp

The Good:

Lightness
Comfort
Equipment
Price

The Bad:

Headset without sealed bearings
It misses a rear shock with more adjustment options.

Overall Review: It is a semiprofessional cycling, you can climb to the top of the mountain and then down where no one does. The pitch is defended better on descents, its geometry and its center of gravity makes it very stable in cornering and rough terrain, thanks to its 150 mm of rear travel, even if you decide to go into a bike park, enjoy as a child . In short if you want a fun bike, high performance, with good equipment and cheap, this is a good option.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Eduardo Var
15779 Eduardo Var http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/15779/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001016569576.jpg?1338494454 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Eduardo-Var,15779/all 05/31/12 1 1

2012 Transition Covert 1 Bike

“Affordable high quality AM bike!”

C138_covertv3_1

The Good:

Great riding bike with solid suspension. This bike can do anything and comes with a life time frame guarantee! Pretty hard to beat.

The Bad:

Slight bob on climbs but it's not that noticeable...it IS a trail bike so you will be giving up something to gain all of the other great features of this bike!

Overall Review: I've used this bike for the past two years (this model replaced my '10 but it's basically the same) and ride it everyday. The weight is a non-factor for me since I do ride it everyday. Where the bike excels is when you point it down hill. Solid design from a cool small company out of Washington.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member gerrycreighton
6553 gerrycreighton http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/6553/avatar/c50_1404993_10152516848197076_1855569935337146220_o_1417028221.jpg?1417027602 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gerrycreighton,6553/all 01/31/11 5 4 40 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/gerrycreighton,6553/setup 1 4 4 50 2

Park Tool CT-3 Chain Tool

“Quality chain tool”

C138_ct3

The Good:

Solid feel, fits nearly all chains

The Bad:

Probably too big/overkill to take in your pack

Overall Review: You might be tempted to try and save a few bucks and use the little chain tool on your fancy multi-tool for home bike repairs, but this tool is much better. I am of the philosophy that the fewest times you have to replace pins and "brake" your chain, the less likely you are to have problems on the trail with it. Park's tool here gives you the best chance at keeping your chain in proper order and offers a big enough handle to transfer the nuances of pin pushing to your fingers. My favorite feature is that you can easily tweak any stiff links without resorting to the bend-the-chain technique.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_11986309_931926603522381_1286961545459590885_n_1454301649.jpg?1454301173 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 14 81 48

Continental Rubber Queen Tire

“Do it all tire that lasts and lasts and...”

C138_62975

The Good:

big volume and long lasting tread

The Bad:

still searching for one

Overall Review: The first thing to note is that I am reviewing the 2.4 UST black chili rubber version, which has a thicker sidewall than the regular version and the legendary sticky, yet long-lasting rubber compound. I've used this tire at everything from bike parks to the local trails and this tire just plain works. One of the best features is the ability to reverse the direction and swap to the other tire if you run these on both front and rear, extending the life of the tire even more! The UST version has a tough casing which adds protection against scrapes and keeps the air sealed well. These tires aren't light enough for Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_11986309_931926603522381_1286961545459590885_n_1454301649.jpg?1454301173 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 14 81 48

ODI Ruffian Lock-On Grips

“The classic thin grip”

C138_97908500_1265402651

The Good:

Easy To Install, Good grip

The Bad:

Odd Tool Size for install/removal

Overall Review: The smallest of the ODI family, the Ruffian have stood the test of time and could be considered the standard bike grip against which others are judged. I personally like a bit thicker grip (but not too thick) so I go with the Ruffian MX. If the smaller size is your thing, you just can't go wrong with the classic. The only thing I can think to improve would be for ODI to have a bit more fun with the end-caps - add some color or something!
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member SaddleRags
8938 SaddleRags http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8938/avatar/c50_11986309_931926603522381_1286961545459590885_n_1454301649.jpg?1454301173 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/all 06/10/11 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SaddleRags,8938/setup 14 81 48

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey