Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Kenda Nevegal Tire

“Poor tire, but inexpensive”

C138_ti509a01_2.5_fold

The Good:

cheap
frequently on sale
durable

The Bad:

grip, cornering, weight, tubeless

Overall Review: Most people who highly rate this tire just haven't tried many others, simply because it's a popular oem or cheap quick replacement. They are also relatively long lasting and the knobs don't fall off. I know I had them on my first few mountain bikes years ago, and I hope I never see them again. Realistically, its overly heavy for its size no matter how big you get it, and has poor traction in corners and braking. There is a night and day difference if you ride it side by side with a maxxis DHF in performance.

Maxxis Crossmark Tire

Featured Member Review

“Great rear tire for trail bike”

C138_ti410a02

The Good:

Rolls fast
Good grip
Drifts predictably
Pretty light

The Bad:

Short knobs get overwhelmed in deep mud
Can get flats in extremely rocky terrain (especially at lower pressures)

Overall Review: I've been running the 2.25 crossmark as the rear tire on my trail bike for years. I pair it with a minion DHF and have really come to love this combination.  The crossmark has surprisingly good grip--much better than you would think just looking at it.  It rolls very well, and I can notice a big difference compared to say a high roller or other knobbier tires.  In corners it holds quite well and drifts super predictably.  Paired with a larger/knobbier tire like the DHF I can corner really aggressively because I know the rear will let go before the front and that it will do so in a predictable manner.  If I lived in the mountains, I'd likely run something a little burlier, but for the piedmont area round me which has lots of roots and rocks but not as much high speed chunder it's a great choice.
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SuboptimusPrime
8648 SuboptimusPrime http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8648/avatar/c50_winn_lander_2_1396901475.jpg?1396900781 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SuboptimusPrime,8648/all 06/04/11 1 36 5

Maxxis Minion DHF Tire

Featured Member Review

“The standard”

C138_91984270_1266959536

The Good:

Predictable
Wears well
Versatile
Reasonably priced

The Bad:

Not the fastest rolling
Packs up in sticky mud

Overall Review: The DHF has been my go-to front tire on my trail bike (2.35 single ply) and I've used it extensively as both front/rear on my DH bike (2.5 3C). To me the most important part of a tire is predictability--and that predictability is why I keep running the DHF year after year. It may be that there are tires more suited to a particular condition, that are lighter or roll better. However, I don't change tires based on conditions except to switch to spikes when things are really muddy. For me, the DHF works well enough in any condition, although I'd say its at its best in mixed loose over hardpack (what I ride most). It isn't the Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member SuboptimusPrime
8648 SuboptimusPrime http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/8648/avatar/c50_winn_lander_2_1396901475.jpg?1396900781 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SuboptimusPrime,8648/all 06/04/11 1 36 5

Maxxis High Roller II Tire

“One of the best tires around!”

C138_tyre_image_highroller2_l

The Good:

Grip is superb in dry or wet, sheds mud nicely, fairly light for its ability to fr/dh...

The Bad:

It's a bit pricey, but can be found for under $60 online.

Overall Review: Great everything tire, highly recomended
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member DanzDown
23574 DanzDown http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/23574/avatar/c50_image.jpg?1365748142 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/DanzDown,23574/all 04/11/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/DanzDown,23574/setup 4 1

Intense Tire Systems MK2 Microknobby Tire

“Love these.”

C138_89372090_1266961519

The Good:

Grip crazy good, not expensive, light weight, and all around amazing.

The Bad:

Nothing is bad about these.

Overall Review: Intense did a really good job with this tire. I run this as a rear and it grips crazy well at the Skate Park and on the Dirt Jumps. It makes a really awesome sound at the skate park with the tread pattern. Buy these bad boyz. Not expensive and grip very well. Now go ride.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member osborne1031
21183 osborne1031 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/21183/avatar/c50_IMG_3641_1418009049.jpg?1418008336 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/osborne1031,21183/all 01/24/13 1 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/osborne1031,21183/setup 1 1 6 6

Maxxis Minion DHF Tire

“Its a Minion, what more is needed?”

C138_91984270_1266959536

The Good:

Everything, it isn't one of the most widely used and best kow tires on the market for no reason.

The Bad:

I can really think of none, this tire flat out does it.

Overall Review: Overall if you are looking for a tire that can really handle aggressive riding, provide reliability, and last you for a good amount of time; then this is it.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ddbullard76
15818 ddbullard76 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/15818/avatar/c50_TSP_enduro_1458996630.jpg?1458996292 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ddbullard76,15818/all 06/01/12 34 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ddbullard76,15818/setup 7 11 3

Kenda Nevegal Tire

“Nevegal tomac”

C138_ti509a01_2.5_fold

The Good:

Super gripin certain conditions. Strong sidewalls can run relatively low pressure.

The Bad:

Slow rolling , but this really occurs with most tires, mine are the stick e in 2.7.

Overall Review: Good tire over all, I use mine as a front, not the fastest rolling but grips very well. I would buy it again.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member ddbullard76
15818 ddbullard76 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/15818/avatar/c50_TSP_enduro_1458996630.jpg?1458996292 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ddbullard76,15818/all 06/01/12 34 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ddbullard76,15818/setup 7 11 3

Kenda Nevegal Tire

“Great Tire”

C138_ti509a01_2.5_fold

The Good:

Plenty of grip

The Bad:

A bit slow on hard pack

Overall Review: I love using the Nevegal as my rear tire as it has plenty of grip and holds a corner well. Similar to the Kenda Blur Groove, I prefer to use a worn in tire with a shorter center tread depth. I only notice to slowness and roughness of the ride when I'm on hard pack or road to get to the trail, but I'd rather have good corner grip on the trail and fast rolling tire on the road.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member brimmergj
22232 brimmergj http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22232/avatar/c50_randr_photo_1658119_3000px_1482501706.jpg?1482501461 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/brimmergj,22232/all 02/20/13 3 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/brimmergj,22232/setup 32 32 12

Kenda Blue Groove Tire

“Great Front Tire”

C138_ti509a02

The Good:

Great grip in the corners and durable

The Bad:

Slow rolling

Overall Review: I use this tire as my front tire and love how it corners up there. I actually prefer to ride with a worn in tire so it rides a bit smoother and faster with the shorter center knobs, you could cut them if you prefered but overall its a great tire.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member brimmergj
22232 brimmergj http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22232/avatar/c50_randr_photo_1658119_3000px_1482501706.jpg?1482501461 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/brimmergj,22232/all 02/20/13 3 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/brimmergj,22232/setup 32 32 12

Kenda Kiniption Tire

“Great Street Tire”

C138_ti401a29

The Good:

Fast rolling and durable

The Bad:

Haven't found anything

Overall Review: I picked up a set of these to remedy my sidewall blowouts with K-Rads. The tread wraps from bead to bead so the walls are thicker and I haven't blown out a sidewall since I've put them on. They're holding up well and I have no complaints.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member brimmergj
22232 brimmergj http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/22232/avatar/c50_randr_photo_1658119_3000px_1482501706.jpg?1482501461 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/brimmergj,22232/all 02/20/13 3 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/brimmergj,22232/setup 32 32 12

Hello Vital MTB Visitor,

We’re conducting a survey and would appreciate your input. Your answers will help Vital and the MTB industry better understand what riders like you want. Survey results will be used to recognize top brands. Make your voice heard!

Five lucky people will be selected at random to win a Vital MTB t-shirt.

Thanks in advance,

The Vital MTB Crew

Take Survey