Latest Product Reviews

RSS

One Industries Vapor Pants

Vital Review

“Tested: ONE Industries Vapor Pants, So Light You'll Jump For Joy”

C138_50087_001_b
Words by Sean “Griz” McClendon. Photos by Ian Collins. Well-known and respected in the motocross world, ONE Industries is about to make a charge into the bike market, and they're doing it in style. We recently had the opportunity to try out the new ONE Vapor pant, a crossover from their moto line that feels like it was made for mountain biking. Made with two-way stretch polyester, a touch of leather, an adjustable waist, and a velcro-style waist closure, the Vapor pant is like no other. Key Specs Constructed of a two-way stretch poly material - The outer shell is 95% polyester and 5% leather, and the lining is 100% Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26griz
258 26griz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/258/avatar/c50_rockblitz1_1380306368.jpg?1380305975 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26griz,258/all 08/02/09 3 1 15 18 1 88 10

Easton Havoc 26" UST Wheelset

“Havoc UST 150”

C138_havoc_26_grey_wheelset

The Good:

Very light weight

The Bad:

Highly prone to dents
Easy to bend
Not reliable

Overall Review: I have now had a whole summer to ride on this new wheelset (not the one pictured - UST 150). I will say that this wheelset is very light for its intended use and should be taken into consideration when looking at the negative aspects. However, with that said the outer rim of this wheelset is soft as butter. I completely destroyed the front wheel on what i considered to be a mildly harsh landing on a 30 ft jump. I destroyed the rear in a rock garden at angelfire. After replacement i have decided to be a little more gentle, this is a very expensive product. As of now i have a front wheel that is about 1/2 inch out of true Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down

Fox Racing Launch Knee/Shin Guard

“Excellent Product”

C138_pg278b10

The Good:

They fit, they breath, they protect, they do not move.

The Bad:

did I mention they do not move :-)

Overall Review: I have used these for both trail riding and lift assisted riding. I highly recommend these. The X-Strap setup magically keeps these things from moving around. I don't know why Fox does not use this technology on all their guards (buddy has a nicer more expensive looking set and he can't keep them up on his leg to save his life). My only complaint which probably is not a valid complaint is that my legs would get hot while trail riding (pedaling) but really only notice this on hot days which I think is to be expected. For lift assisted riding they are perfect. I would buy them again.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_Steven.jpg?1348742869 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 1 1 1 2

FOX DHX Air 5.0 Rear Shock

“Good Aggressive All-Mountain or Freeride shock”

C138_rs259b04

The Good:

Smooth feel, propedal switch, doesn't blow through travel, relatively lightweight.

The Bad:

Not enough adjustments or adjustment indicators on the shock.

Overall Review: To start off, I will say that this review is for the 2011 version of the shock. The only factorseparatingthe 2012 and 2013 models from the 2011 version is kashima coat. Basically, I'm just trying to say that I cannot attest to the performance of the gold stanchion coating. Right out of the box, the DHX 5.0 has a nice feel and with its 50-300psi main chamber, it canaccommodatea wide range of riders and riding styles, though I should say that it tends to need to be pumped to higher pressures than normal. The rebound dial also has an impressive 22 clicks of adjustment, though depending on your frame, it Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member HMBA106
16995 HMBA106 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/HMBA106,16995/all 07/10/12 1 5 7

e*thirteen E.13 Dh/Am Crankset W/ BB

“The Alternative Crank”

C138_cr261a01

The Good:

1)They are stiff, and the tabs don't bend.
2)They are quiet
3)They look cool
4)Reasonable weight

The Bad:

The crank arm comes loose and the finish on the cranks fades over time.

Overall Review: I said in my review of the Shimano Saint Cranks that they were the only cranks I would ever buy. Well, I lied, and I blame Specialized. Thanks to the super, mega sector awesome new industry standard dubbed pf30 on my Demo 8 frame, I was forced to buy a new set of cranks to rid the annoying, creaking, horrible plastic pf30 to 83mm BB adapter that came with my frame. The adapter would self extract, and leave me hating my life. Being the semi-smart guy I am, I listened to what e-nerds on Ridemonkey were saying and I learned that e13 was making a press fit BB for their new LG1 crank. I immediately bought it, and it was Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member NAYR
191 NAYR http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/191/avatar/c50_p1pb4722431.jpg?1300753449 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NAYR,191/all 08/01/09 1 7 25 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/NAYR,191/setup 1 16 10

2013 Pivot Phoenix DH Bike

Vital Review

“Tested: Pivot's Phoenix Downhill Bike, Playfully Stable”

C138_screen_shot_2011_12_02_at_9.31.16_pm
Reviewed by Sean “Griz” McClendon. Photos by Ian Collins. Life without gravity is bunk. This bike cured my depression and ended a 23-month dry spell of no downhill. I was excited to return to riding downhill on a dual compact linkage design - yes, the beloved DW-Link by means of the Phoenix DH by Pivot Cycles. I had a premeditated idea of what this design would require from the body based on my past experience on the Iron Horse Sunday, a parking lot test on Kyle Strait’s 2011 Phoenix race bike, and hours of relearning to dirt jump on his 2011 Pivot M4X slalom race bike. It was a bittersweet day when Shaun Palmer inherited that Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member 26griz
258 26griz http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/258/avatar/c50_rockblitz1_1380306368.jpg?1380305975 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/26griz,258/all 08/02/09 3 1 15 18 1 88 10

SRAM X.9 Rear Derailleur

“I Miss the Old SRAM”

C138_99210850_1265252797

The Good:

easy to tune, good value, nice color options

The Bad:

flimsy cage, less than optimal shifting performance

Overall Review: While there are certainly qualities to like about this new X.9 derailleur from SRAM, there are a few to gripe about too. I have been running the 10sp X.9 for 3 months now. It replaced a 10sp X.7 when I bent that cage bent beyond repair. Looking to upgrade to a D that was more durable but wouldn't break the bank, I landed with the X.9 on my tool bench. Initial impressions were good, it installed with no drama, and was painless to dial into proper tension and alignment. The shifting performance of the X.9 felt just about the same, maybe a touch quicker, as the X.7 it replaced, which was no slouch. I suppose my complaint stems Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member shredlightly
13482 shredlightly http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/13482/avatar/c50_sexybikegirl.jpg?1329866664 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/shredlightly,13482/all 02/21/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/shredlightly,13482/setup 2 5 16 11

FOX 36 Talas 160 R Fork

“It's a fox so ya'll need to bow down”

C138_fk259a11

The Good:

its a FOX, talas adjuster goes from 140mm straight to 180mm with one click, easy to adjust on the fly when riding, convenient front brake hose holder that bolts to the arch to keep it in place, easy to undo 20mm thru axle,

The Bad:

only had rebound adjuster, one of the quick releases has started to squeak when it open/closes but it is easily fixed, 1.5 steer tube may limit your stem choices

Overall Review: This buttery baby came stock on my Cannondale claymore and I'm glad they made the correct choice. Just like with the claymore's rear end, this fork has adjustable travel! I initially thought that this fork would have 3 options; 140mm, 160mm and 180mm but it only has 2 which is all you'll ever need I'm starting to find out. I'm coming from a fox 40 so this isn't quite as burley (obviously) but the suspension performance is spot on just like the 40 was, so I have come to always expect greatness from Fox Racing Shox. First off, since it's an air fork you can pump it up to your preferred stiffness instead of Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member astrizzle
2507 astrizzle /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/all 04/11/10 2 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/astrizzle,2507/setup 32 132 135 9

Urge Archi-Enduro Full Face Helmet

Featured Review

“A good enduro or all-mountain helmet.”

C138_92722500_1288291902

The Good:

Light, looks good, ventilates well, doesn't interfere with a backpack.

The Bad:

Half-foam mouthpiece, doesn't look like it'd hold up in a really gnarly face-first crash.

Overall Review: First off, I bought this helmet because I wanted a lightweight, breathable full-face that I could use as my one and only helmet. I ride mostly all-mountain and technical trails, but also do some dirt jumping and full-on downhill. After a couple months of use, I have had no issues with the helmet. Climbing - Though it is still a full face, the Urge breathes relatively well and it's light weight is noticeable. It allows a decent amount of peripheral vision, and the highly adjustable visor can be slid up so that it doesn't limit vision. Impact - I've only crashed a few times with this helmet, but so far it has held up Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member HMBA106
16995 HMBA106 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/HMBA106,16995/all 07/10/12 1 5 7

DMR V8 Grease Port Flat Pedal

Featured Review

“Reasonable Value”

C138_3177

The Good:

Strong, cheap, available in tons of colors, pretty grippy.

The Bad:

Paint wore easily, some pins snapped off, heavy, slight play in the bearings.

Overall Review: I'll start by saying that I used these pedals for three years, and only ended up replacing them to colour-code my bike. During those three years, they were a reliable and worry-free product. I didn't really use the grease port feature, because being a dirt jumper I actually wanted to minimize pedal spin. Though the pedals are certainly heavy, (523 grams I believe) they easily stood up to three seasons of abuse, which says a lot for a 40$ pedal. The paint wore off somewhat quickly and theend capsfell off, but this had no effect on performance whatsoever. After three seasons, a total of 7 pins fell off, but with 5.10 shoes Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member HMBA106
16995 HMBA106 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/HMBA106,16995/all 07/10/12 1 5 7