Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Spank Oozy 26AL EVO Complete Wheels

Vital Review

“Tested: Spank Oozy EVO Wheelset - Light & Affordable”

C138_oozy_wheelset_front_silver
by Lee Trumpore Due to the added benefits of reduced rotational weight, wheel selection has always been given special attention by riders looking to lighten or liven up their ride. With the increasing popularity of light, aggressive, and ~160mm travel all-mountain frames, the demand for equally capable parts often finds riders in a bind trying to balance cost, weight, and durability. These bikes are capable of keeping pace with DH bikes from not so long ago, yet they are light enough to be comfortably ridden up thousands of vertical feet. This has ushered in a new generation of wheels light enough for climbing, but Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member general lee
957 general lee http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/957/avatar/c50_TaipeiMTB_43_1385556690.jpg?1385556553 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/all 09/27/09 223 14 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/general-lee,957/setup 64 247 21

Continental Der Baron DH Tire

“All around grip from ze Germans”

C138_62971

The Good:

Grip beyond belief on al things wet and slippy. No lug separation problems. Fast enough to be a xc tire, acts like a spike tire in the mud.

The Bad:

Blew out the sidewall of the APEX casing tire after 6 months of use. Did not grip very well in sandy type soil.

Overall Review: I ordered this tire thinking it was going to be the 2ply, 2.3in tire of my dreams. When I received it, I noticed that it was not a 2ply tire at all. What I received was a single ply folding bead with an "APEX" casing, which I was told was a super tough "Freeride" tire and great for tubless too. I initially installed them tubless on a stans flow wheelset. Eventually, I determined that due to burping tires every ride, I would just run them with tubes. I loved them for six months on all types of rides and through all conditions, they were my new favorite tire. Recently, I hit a fast g-out and blew the sidewall of the Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member Danimal5-0
13343 Danimal5-0 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/13343/avatar/c50_DSC01293.jpg?1351194974 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Danimal5-0,13343/all 02/15/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Danimal5-0,13343/setup 1 6 20 3

POC Trabec Race MIPS Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: POC Trabec Race MIPS Helmet - Unique Style Meets Safety Innovation”

C138_trabec_race_mips_whiteblack_121
by Mihai Moga POC, a fairly young and very successful Swedish company known primarily for high quality ski helmets, has made waves in the world of mountain biking over the past few years. Their unique designs and innovation are quickly gaining recognition. The new Trabec Race MIPS is their top of the line trail helmet for 2013. This helmet stands out for several reasons, including the use of the radically different MIPS technology. POC Trabec Race MIPS Highlights Inner Aramid filament reinforced EPS core Outer PC shell with seams in the areas of least exposure Equipped with the patented MIPS system Aerodynamic Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Mihai
359 Mihai http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/359/avatar/c50_99551560_1279167483.jpg?1290150634 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Mihai,359/all 08/04/09 9 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Mihai,359/setup 9 4

2012 Transition TR450 1 Bike

“great frame”

C138_2012bikesimage_tr450_1

The Good:

strong, reliable, predictable , smooth and nice jumping

The Bad:

weight , 5. something kg with the shock

Overall Review: i haveridden a transition tr 450 since 2011, i had a green one from 2011 and know i ride a 2012 black like the one on the photograph. i like the  bike performance , handle and versatility , i have ridden it in a race like avalanche, 12.5 km with fire roads, little climbs and single tracks and it old up perfectly .very good choice, since the frame and the hole bike it's not one of the most expensive on the market.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member tmano2
14324 tmano2 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14324/avatar/c50_braga_1414580472.jpg?1414579656 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tmano2,14324/all 03/17/12 12 14 3 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/tmano2,14324/setup 2 62 71 4

Royal 2014 Membrane 3/4 Bib Riding Short

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Base Membrane 3/4 Bib & Jersey”

C138_royal34bib
by AJ Barlas Base layers… for biking? Isn't that more of a ski thing? I'm sure some of you muttered something to that effect when you saw the title for this review, but hear me out. Three years ago I would have been caught thinking precisely the same thing. "Throw on a hoody, some moto pants and a cheap rain jacket and it'll be fine," I'd say, and do! But you won't catch me dead doing that in the last couple of seasons. Why? Maybe this aging game is actually making me wiser (I won't go as far as to say smarter, after all, I do let the computers in my life do a lot more of my thinking than years ago). Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grip

“ODI TLD Lock-on's!”

C138_gr272a00

The Good:

Very grippy, they look awesome, easy to install.

The Bad:

Nothing really. Could be a little cheaper, but you get what you pay for.

Overall Review: Had these on my DH bike for a while, but moved to the Rogue's since I like a thicker grip. Threw these on my XC bike and they work like a charm. No complaints.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Dr.B
9279 Dr.B /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Dr-B,9279/all 06/30/11 17 2

X-Fusion Vector HLR Rear Shock

“X fusion vector”

C138_vector_hlr_3

The Good:

Plush and fluid all the way through its travel. Zero catch when suspension is first activated. The mid stroke doesn't blow through its travel. This also enhanced its pedalling abilities. I had the elka stage five before, but it would stick when first engaging and it blew through the travel too easily for my liking. The Vector fixed all the dislikes I had with my previous shocks. The bottom out is controlled, giving it a bottomless feeling. The adjustments do what with are designed for.

The Bad:

Depending on your preferences in riding there could be one thing that you might not like- or you may like it if it suits your riding style. The last part of the rebound before it returnes to length slows down. It doesn't give you a pop off the lip of a jump. But at the same time it won't buck you if you come off a lip off balance. I think this charactistic adds to the constant fliud feel. Going fast through big rocks I think it gives smoother control. Adjusting the rebound changes it but doesn't make it go completely away.

Overall Review: This shock does what it was designed for. I think it works as well as the best rear shocks out there and better in some ways. I am very impressed so far. The lower cost in this case dosen't mean less.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dayne.grant.1
20597 dayne.grant.1 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/20597/avatar/c50_DSC_7656.jpg?1366469263 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dayne-grant-1,20597/all 12/24/12 10 3 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dayne-grant-1,20597/setup 6 3

ODI Troy Lee Designs Lock On Grip

“TLD Grips, do just that GRIP!!”

C138_gr272a00

The Good:

Excelent grip!!, Look great, compfortable, durable.

The Bad:

To bad they didn't have more color options. I purchased two pair of grips to get the color combo I wanted. Not really a big deal that they don't , but this would be nice.

Overall Review: With the way the grips are designed when your pulling back on the bars it's like your hands are glued to the grips. I've been putting them through a lot of abuse and they are taking a beating for sure.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member Peresite70
18942 Peresite70 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18942/avatar/c50_627276_10152047635840352_1478366341_o.jpg?1350329939 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Peresite70,18942/all 10/15/12 9 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Peresite70,18942/setup 9 2

2012 Mondraker Durham Bike

“Light and Versatile Freeride/DH Light Bike”

C138_durham_1_foto

The Good:

Ride characteristics
Versatility
Angles
Adjustability
Solid components
Weight

The Bad:

Fragile bearings
Fox suspension under-gunned

Overall Review: The Bike: The Zero suspension system performs brilliantly. Great power transfer and tracking is very impressive. This doesn't seem to be at the expense of stiffness, something that more complicated linkage systems frequently suffer from. Over all build was fine, brakes, drive train and general components have all stood the test of time. I swapped out the fox springs for heavier weight to suit my more airborne riding style and will be swapping out the spring on the rear shock soon, too. Have to say I was disappointed by the build quality of the bearings and linkage bolts. 6 months in a bearing race failed completely and most of Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member simonlwoods
20963 simonlwoods http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/20963/avatar/c50_fb_picture_507858979.jpg?1358173538 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/simonlwoods,20963/all 01/14/13 1

2012 Transition Bottlerocket Bike

“So far so good...”

C138_bottlerocketv4_1

The Good:

Awesome geometry for jumping, and some downhill... I got it for Christmas 2012... So far so good.

The Bad:

Not too happy with the fork... It's a coil fork, so I wish it came with a stiffer coil... I'm gonna get a stiffer one though. I bottomed out on a 1-2 foot drop... :/

Overall Review: It's a great bike! So far so good! I wish they were still putting Fox Forks on them though... An air fork would be better, I think...
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member alec.ilstrup
20923 alec.ilstrup http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/20923/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001507681029.jpg?1357959621 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/alec-ilstrup,20923/all 01/11/13 1 1