Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Spank Spike EVO 777 Handlebar

“Great Bars”

C138_87953290_1289406511

The Good:

They work well for their intended purpose, they come in many colors, they look cool, they come in different rises, they are wide, they provide a great place to put my grips, shifter and brake levers.

The Bad:

They are not free, they suck at chopping down trees and while you may think otherwise they do not make for a good eating utensil.

Overall Review: I purchased these new for a FR bike build I did over the Winter. I also went with the Spank Spike 55mm stem. The bars are wide and I do club the occasional tree when riding very tight single track but this does not bother me, it's all part of the game right. I have also used these at my local DH park, I would buy them again.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member conlysm
18708 conlysm http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/18708/avatar/c50_10496049_585925301534463_963024257243261933_o_1499966637.jpg?1499966500 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/all 09/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/conlysm,18708/setup 1 2 1 31

Azonic Double Wall Riser Bar

“Solid bars in some rad colors”

C138_hb288a02blk1

The Good:

durable, comfortable, bright green color looks rad and attracts hummingbirds

The Bad:

paint gets scratched pretty easily

Overall Review: I got these bars at Crankworx Colorado for around 40 bucks. They have more rise than the ones shown, and they're bright green, which is sick.  After using them for dirt jumping, XC, and a little DH, I can say that these are great all-around bars, and although I've put a few scratches in them, they're still holding up fine.  I recently did a ~70 mile race with them, so no problems with comfort.  Check out my Santa Cruz Chameleon bike check for shots of them on my whip.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member dat_sexy_jellyfish
17958 dat_sexy_jellyfish http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17958/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100001476027370.jpg?1346126940 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dat-sexy-jellyfish,17958/all 08/27/12 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/dat-sexy-jellyfish,17958/setup 7 4

Kore Torsion Handlebar

“Kore Torsion Handlebar”

C138_bar_torsion_20_blk

The Good:

you get good bar for the price you pay

The Bad:

you have to cut it to your size since it only comes as 800mm if i am not wrong

Overall Review: I have this handlebar model dor over 2 years now, and i just love it. i think its very good for its price, i dont have 200 dolars to give them for 1 bar, and even if i would i rly dont see a point in buying so expenssive bar,since there are other parts on bike who need to be better.
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member AkuLV
25596 AkuLV /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/AkuLV,25596/all 06/15/13 8 1

Easton Havoc Alloy Handlebar

“Pure Quality”

C138_2015_handlebar_havoccarbonriser_black

The Good:

Subtle looks, damping, light weight, shape, width

The Bad:

Expensive, I guess, but relative to other carbon bars, they're not so bad.

Overall Review: Love these bars - they're light, the graphics are subtle and not in our face, the shape, width, sweep, everything is just "right". Had them on the DH bike first, liked them so much I got the same setup for my trail bike. One unexpected benefit was the damping - I don't notice any flex in use, but on a holiday after four days uplift riding over rocky terrain, my hands weren't tired/cramped and I had no arm pump. Worth the money for that alone.

Renthal FatBar Riser Bar

“Renthal FatBar Lite !”

C138_63501

The Good:

perfect sizing out of the box, integrates seamlessly with the Renthal stem.

The Bad:

None ! just makes you want to buy the other sizes.

Overall Review: I got a 20mm rise FatBar Lite, absolutely changed my riding. One can get more aggressive yet more in control. It is my first set of bars at this width, and i don't think i need wider for the enduro/ trail riding stuff. Perfect integration with the Renthal stem, and lock-on grips.
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member SchredGreen
14098 SchredGreen http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/14098/avatar/c50_P1260826_1370718492.jpg?1370718346 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/SchredGreen,14098/all 03/14/12 62 1

Race Face Atlas 35 Handlebar

“Sweet bars”

C138_2014_hbr35_atlas_rs_20_blk

The Good:

Colour choices, feel, aesthetics, width

The Bad:

Heavy, expensive

Overall Review: I love them, they were a bit expensive but they feel good and look pretty rad as well
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member RPDH1
15738 RPDH1 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/15738/avatar/c50_thredbo_ryan_pinnell_riding.jpg?1338426479 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/RPDH1,15738/all 05/30/12 1 5 1

Enve Composites Carbon Fiber Mountain Sweep

Featured Member Review

“Classic Enve Goodness”

C138_barswp_main_3_800x532

The Good:

Looks, finish, weight, strength, durability, etc, etc, etc.

The Bad:

Sticker price. The best isn't usually cheap.

Overall Review: I rode the Enve DH bars for over a season and a half on my SC Nomad. XC, trail, a few chair lift service days and two Enduro events. I had a few good crashes here and there (albeit nothing horrible) and these bars never showed any signs of failure or fatigue, just one good scratch on the front. They are some of the lightest bars per CM on the market. I cut mine down and the markings on each end made it super simple and thoughtless. The matte finish is beautiful and the quality unquestionable. Enve had a recent batch of DH bars fail their quality and testing controls so they subsequently moved production of Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member adeibold
25674 adeibold http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/25674/avatar/c50_Screen_Shot_2014_09_30_at_11.48.15_PM_1414044816.jpg?1414044184 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/adeibold,25674/all 06/16/13 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/adeibold,25674/setup 9 1

Spank Spike Race 28 Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Spank Spike Race28 Wheelset”

C138_spikerace28_blk
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow Wheel makers have been perfecting their craft over the recent years, and there is no shortage of innovative, high-end wheels that provide DH race-level strength in relatively lightweight packages - but not too many can claim to achieve that goal at a sub-$500 price tag for the pair. Spank set out to do just that, and the result is the Spike Race28 wheel - needless to say, we were eager to lay our hands on a set to see if it would deliver on the promise. Straight out of the box, the Spike Race28 wheels look the business. The colors pop, and the finish appears to be Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4132 108 29

Race Face Flank Core Guard

Vital Review

“Tested: Race Face Flank Core Guard - Lightweight Protection”

C138_flank_core_d30_l
Review by Johan Hjord // Photos by Johan Hjord and Tal Rozow With strategically placed D3O padding in a lightweight and breathable package, the Flank Core Guard from Race Face is for the rider looking for a bit of extra body protection without the bulk of a full pressure suit. To help you figure out if it could be the right solution for you, we slipped one on and hit the trails. When you pull the Flank Core Guard out of the bag, the first impression is of a quality product, much like we’ve grown accustomed to from Race Face over the years. The guard appears well put-together, with quality materials and good Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 763 94 1032 1698 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 55 367 4132 108 29

Geax Datura Tire

“Geax Datura 2.2”

C138_126935580_1287163470

The Good:

Traction for miles! These tires are predictable in almost all situations. In muddy condition they have all the traction that could be asked for and clean out once you get the speed is above a crawl. Loam trails are that most fun with traction that could be considered overkill, you'll be leaving dirt bike sized corner ruts with these, and breaking results in quick predictable stops. Sand traction is also really good.

The Bad:

All of this traction can result in a bit of rolling resistance on all mountain efforts, it becomes noticeable on long sustained flats and uphills. Large damp or wet rocks provide difficult riding at slower speeds I have the hardest compound tires. on hard pack high speed trails there is a sort of floating or drifting feel but I mean high speeds like in the 30+mph range, and even with this feel the drifting is predicable and iv never lost control.

Overall Review: I really have a blast riding with these tires they feel like dirt bike tires and inspire a lot of confidence going into corners. They are some of the best tires I have used for new England style trails that are either loam, mud or sand andvery rarely hard packed. The only characteristic of these tires I don't like is the slow speed traction on rocks the massive treads just get unpredictable. This isn't enough to make me change tires because at high speed your normally jumping rocks and flying into corners where this tires shines and at slow speeds a kick out over rocks isn't catastrophic. I would highly recommend these tires for Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member bikeluvnfoo
12854 bikeluvnfoo http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/12854/avatar/c50_fb_picture_100000694901855.jpg?1327115470 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bikeluvnfoo,12854/all 01/20/12 11 2