Latest Product Reviews

RSS

e*thirteen LG1+ Chainguide

Vital Review

“Tested: e*thirteen LG1+ Chainguide - Let It Guide You”

C138_50736
Review and photos by Johan Hjord For quite some time, e*thirteen was basically another word for chain retention systems (aka chainguides), and rightfully so – the original e*thirteen guide + bash combos were certainly pushing innovation and design in chain management, and their ubiquitous “Turbocharger” bashrings graced many a bike build, be it at the races or out with mates. e*thirteen was acquired by and became part of The Hive, a company that was at the time mainly producing cranks, in 2010. The e*thirteen brand was kept alive, and has since then grown to include not only guides but also cranks, wheels, Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 70 820 1743 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 48 295 3530 84 27

Teva Links Flat Pedal Shoe

Featured Review

“Get a High Five from your Feet.”

C138_4304_links_ulvi

The Good:

-Stiff sole
-Just the right amount of grip -Really comfortable
-Water Proofed(except for the mesh)
-Mesh on top for breatablility

The Bad:

After giving this a good five minutes of thought, I suppose they could have more color options to match my gear.

Overall Review: Let me start by saying that I have spent most of my biking life running skate shoes or basketball shoes as my everyday and bikingfootwear. About two years ago, Idecidedto buy some dedicated mountain bike shoes. The Teva Links was not the first pair I purchased. While the other shoes had amazing grip, they wereimpossibleto move to make small foot position adjustments, the sole was too flexible, and I hated walking around in them. So after a year I got the Teva Links. And with it I lost all my previous complaints. In the short, my feet love me for buying these. I wear these shoes all day, every day for almost everything. In Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member taldfind
17596 taldfind http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17596/avatar/c50_DSC07817.jpg?1351478221 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/all 08/06/12 1 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/setup 30 60 8 1

2013 BMC Trailfox TF02 Trailcrew

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: BMC Trailfox TF02 Trailcrew”

C138_2013_bmc_trailfox_tf02
Reviewed by Matt Thomson and Jess Pedersen // Written by Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman The BMC Trailfox is a 150mm travel all-mountain rig that BMC lovingly refers to as the "Swiss Army Knife" of their lineup. Much like that beloved pocket knife, the Trailfox was designed to come in handy for a variety of uses. The do-it-all bike is something many companies try to achieve, but few actually succeed. When Switzerland-based BMC set out to make the Trailfox, that's exactly what they had in mind, but did they pull it off? We invited the company to send over their mid-range TF02 model to find out during Read More »
Rate review: +6 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6059 1040 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 265 1148 2139 130 39

2013 Norco Range Killer B-2

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Norco Range Killer B-2”

C138_064810_13_01_range2_blk_blu
Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Joe Schneider, and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman For 2013, Norco has eliminated the 26-inch version of the Range in favor of a new 650B "Killer B" version. Yes, you read that right, another victim of the big wheel. They didn't do it to spite the 26-inch lovers among us, though. The reasoning behind the switch, according to Norco, was simply in the pursuit of making the best all-mountain bike. In their eyes the way to do that just happened to be with the 650B wheel size, so they rolled with it. The end result is this beauty - a 160mm travel do-it-all shred sled. It Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6059 1040 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 265 1148 2139 130 39

RockShox Vivid Air R2C Rear Shock

Featured Review

“Vivid Air is a Step in the Right Direction”

C138_vva

The Good:

-Light for a DH/Freeride shock
-High volume air can for a less progressive feel
-Sag indicators
-Dual-rebound adjustment.

The Bad:

-Not as smooth as coil shocks
-Air can valve can be a pain to get to

Overall Review: When I bought this shock, I was on a weight loss kick for my rig. Basically I wanted my baby to slim down without loosing performance. At the time, the Vivid Air R2C was the only air shock that I was considering since it has a larger air can, and is built from the ground up to be put on a DH/Freeride bike. The Vivid Air comes in three different compression tunes to match the travel ratio of your bike. The problem I had with this, is that Rockshox doesn't make it very easy to find out which tune fits which travel ratio. After a few weeks of searching and comparing forum results, I found that my bike could run either Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MTB member taldfind
17596 taldfind http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17596/avatar/c50_DSC07817.jpg?1351478221 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/all 08/06/12 1 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/setup 30 60 8 1

Royal 2014 Signature Shorts

Vital Review

“Tested: Royal Racing Signature Short”

C138_signature_short_red_f
by AJ Barlas Up until a few years ago, the majority of the Royal range was aimed at downhill riders, but the range has grown alongside the sport. Their riding short range saw the introduction of the Matrix a couple of years back, then came the Hexlite and MW365, and for 2013 the Esquire and Signature shorts were added to the list—all with a goal of being lightweight, comfortable and functional. The Signature Short is specifically aimed at the Trail rider—the guys (and ladies) that just want to ride bikes, whether it be a shuttle, pedal, hike-a-bike, whatever. The premise for the short is to keep you Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MTB member ardor
19406 ardor http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/19406/avatar/c50_ardor_avatar_1435645277.jpg?1435644564 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/all 10/30/12 5 3 312 4 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/ardor,19406/setup 2 24 1 92 31 4

2013 Giant Trance X 29er 0

Vital Review

“2013 Test Sessions: Giant Trance X 29 0”

C138_2013_trance_x_29er_0
Reviewed by Steve Wentz, Joe Schneider, and Brandon Turman // Photos by Shawn Spomer and Brandon Turman Dubbed the "Ultimate Trail Bike" and developed in conjunction with super-everything champion Adam Craig, Giant's 2013 Trance X 29er is the latest evolution of the original Trance X trail bike, but re-engineered for 29-inch wheels. The bike grew a little, sprouted bigger wheels, 5-inches of Maestro driven suspension, Giant's OverDrive 2 headtube, and the relatively new Contact Switch adjustable seatpost. With the increased popularity of Enduro races, this bike comes at a time when people are searching for seconds, trying Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member bturman
109 bturman http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/109/avatar/c50_twitter3_1382472127.jpg?1382471385 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/all 08/01/09 1156 94 6059 1040 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/bturman,109/setup 265 1148 2139 130 39

Manitou Dorado Pro Downhill Fork

“Racer feel with a freeride package”

C138_manitou_dorado_2010_29er_fork_1

The Good:

small bump compliance is amazing. there are so many adjustments so getting it dialed is a snap. SUPER stable on the big hits

The Bad:

honestly nothing

Overall Review: Better than fox rockshox marzocchi and DVO. i have tried all of these extensively and this is truely the best downhill fork ever made.
Rate review: -2 Up Down
Vital MTB member Billy3197
11757 Billy3197 /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/Billy3197,11757/all 11/20/11 1 6 4 21 15 1

e*thirteen LG1+ Crank

Vital Review

“Tested: e*thirteen LG1+ Cranks and Guidering”

C138_ethirteen_lg1_crank
Review and photos by Johan Hjord e*thirteen is a brand that most people will associate with chain retention systems (aka chainguides), and rightfully so – the original e*thirteen guide and bash combos were certainly among the most innovative designs out there at the time, and could be found on many a bike whether it was at a World Cup race or at weekend warrior basecamp. In 2010, e*thirteen was acquired by and became part of The Hive, a company that was at the time mainly producing cranks. The e*thirteen brand was kept alive, and has since then grown to include not only guides but also cranks, wheels, and pedals. e*thirteen is Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MTB member iceman2058
94 iceman2058 http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/94/avatar/c50_johan_1385064431.jpg?1385063576 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/all 08/01/09 781 70 820 1743 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/iceman2058,94/setup 48 295 3530 84 27

FOX DHX RC4 Rear Shock

“Best Rear Shock I have owned to date!”

C138_97854910_1265256421

The Good:

Smooth.
Easy to tune.
Amazing Damping.

The Bad:

Only that it took me soo long to wake up and buy one.

Overall Review: The Fox DHX RC4 is the third shock that I have run on my current rig. And let me start byapologizingto my bike for not buying this shock right away. Okay, so for the experiences. As soon as I installed it, Ipromptlytook this shock up to one of my favorite trails. The trail has somegnarlyrock sections, with some nice big drops too. Perfect for tuning. I had found and copied the Fox tuning guide for the RC4, and found their instructions and suggestions perfect for helping me quickly and accurately fine tune the settings. After about an hour, I had my rear shock dialed in to perfection. The RC4 takes all the hits I Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MTB member taldfind
17596 taldfind http://p.vitalmtb.com/photos/users/17596/avatar/c50_DSC07817.jpg?1351478221 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/all 08/06/12 1 5 http://www.vitalmtb.com/community/taldfind,17596/setup 30 60 8 1